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January 23, 2013

Search Engine Marketing
Today’s Presenters




         Tim Metzner                         Connie Ross
   Digital Marketing Consultant            Associate Director
 Former VP Marketing, SparkPeople          Search Marketing,
   Startup Weekend Organizer            Empower MediaMarketing



                                    2
Our Experience:
Startups – Regional Co.'s – Global Brands
Empower Media Marketing Vitals
Âť Full Service Media Agency
Âť Founded in 1985
Âť P&G Roots
Âť 140 Employees
Âť Independently owned
Âť Women Owned and Certified
Âť Nationally Recognized Excellence
Agenda
Âť What is Search Engine Marketing?
Âť Overview of the Categories
  • Paid Search
  • Local Search
  • Organic Search
  • Mobile Search




                       5
What is Search Engine Marketing?
Search Is a Core Behavior




                                  Now
                            4 billion
                             searches per day…
                                and growing      7
Search Engine Marketing Outlook
Âť Paid Search Spending is expected to top $18 billion by 2013
Âť Mobile Ad Spending is expected to see the largest growth for digital in the next 2
   years followed by Video & Social

 Digital Media    2011 (billions)   2012 (billions)       2013 (billions)                            % change
                                                                                                       2011 - 2013

  Paid Search         $14.38            $17.03                     $18.85                                  31%
 Online Display       $7.61             $8.94                       $9.93                                  30%
  Social Media        $1.00             $1.23                       $1.66                                  66%
    Mobile            $1.23             $1.80                       $2.52                                 105%
     Video            $2.16             $3.09                       $4.20                                  94%




                                                  Source: eMarketer - The Global Media Intelligence Report: North America, October 2011


                                          8
Search Engine Marketing
» For Searchers…
 • It’s about Better Research
 • It’s about Convenience


» For Advertisers…
 • It’s about Being Found
 • It’s about Being Relevant



                          9
SEM Terminology
              Search Engine
                Marketing
                  (SEM)

                          Search Engine
    Paid Search           Optimization
       (PPC)
                                (SEO)
       Paid                   Owned & Earned
 Paid Media
                   10
Search Engine Marketing Categories

 Paid Search (PPC)     • Keyword buys on all engines, mainly Google & Yahoo/Bing


                       • Appearing when a consumer searches for localized
    Local Search         information (i.e. Family Entertainment in Branson, MO)

                       • Process of improving the visibility of a website in search
Organic Search (SEO)     engines via the "natural" or organic search results

                       • Keyword buys on all engines, appearing specifically on
   Mobile Search         mobile devices

                       • Focuses on Industry specific content (i.e. Banking,
  Vertical Search        Shopping, Travel, etc.)



                                 11
Anatomy of a Search Engine Results Page
                         Query


                                                 Local
      Paid Ad                                 Listings




                                    Paid Ad

Organic Results




Local Listings

                    12
Search Engine Market Share
Âť Google remains the leader in the search space
                                Percent of U.S. Search Queries
  Search Alliance – 29%

                                          3%   2%
                          14%



                                                                                 Google

         15%                                                                     Yahoo!

                                                                                 Bing

                                                                           67%
                                                                                 Ask

                                                                                 Aol




                                    Source: comScore Marketer, July 2012
                                                    13
Paid Search (PPC)
What is Paid Search?
                         Query


                                              Local
      Paid Ad                              Listings




                                 Paid Ad

Organic Results




Local Listings

                    15
Relevancy is King
 Âť Ads are ranked based on many factors

                   Text Ad         Keyword
  Amount                                        Ranking on
    You’re                                        Search
Willing to Pay                                  Results Page
                   Landing          Account
                    Page          History/CTR



 Maximum CPC Bid     Relevancy/Quality Score


                             16
Paid Search Ad Rank
» Max CPC bid × Quality Score = Ad Rank

Competitor   Max CPC Bid       Ad Quality       Ad Rank   Position

    A            $4        x       1        =      4         4

    B            $3        x       3        =      9         2

    C            $2        x       6        =     12         1

    D            $1        x       8        =      8         3
Adjusting Match Types

Broad                   +Broad Modified          “Phrase”                  [Exact]                -Negative

  •Any query                •Any query             •Query must                •Ad only appears        •Query can not
   containing the            containing the         contain the words          if the query is         contain the
   terms in any order        term or close          in the order you           exactly what is         term or
   and along with            variation              have them                  contained in the        phrase
   other terms               following the         •Somewhat limits            brackets               •Ads will not
  •Earns a LOT of            “+” symbol             impressions and           •Least amount of         display
   impressions and          •Limits the             can increase               impressions
   may be less               amount of              CTR%
   relevant                  impressions
                             typically
                             generated



  Instant Oil Changes   +Instant +Oil +Changes   “Instant Oil Changes”     [Instant Oil Change]        -Cheap

                        Instant and Speedy Oil   Inexpensive instant oil
        Instant Oil                                                         Instant Oil change    Cheap Oil Changes
                               Changes                 changes

    Instant Changes



                                                       18
Anatomy of a Text Ad

                                             Text Ad Elements & Character Limits
                                             Headline –             25 Characters
                                             Description Line 1 –   35 Characters
                                             Description Line 2 –   35 Characters
                                             Display URL –          35 Characters




DO’s                                           DON’Ts
•Provide a strong call-to-action               •No superlatives (best, cheapest) unless
•Make a compelling offer                       verified within 2 clicks of landing page
•Ensure it’s relevant to the ad group          •No words in all CAPS
•Write in proper text format                   •No more than one “!” in description
•Look at competitors for inspiration           •Display URL must match Destination URL




                                        19
Anatomy of a Text Ad




   Sitelinks           Location Extensions



                 20
Campaign Optimizations
           • High CTR means the terms are relevant & have strong quality
             score. Good scores are awarded lower CPC’s
 CTR%      • Low CTR terms need adjusted match types or to be paused


           • High CPC’s spend budget quickly, so finding optimal selection
             of low cost terms is the ultimate goal
 CPC$      • Noting high CPC terms, increase match type or pause


           • High position (3+) may have poor metrics: sort by highest
             positions and consider increasing match type or pausing
Avg. Pos   • Increase Max CPC bid for a term to influence positioning




                                   21
Local Search
What is Local Search?
                          Query


                                               Local
      Paid Ad                               Listings




                                  Paid Ad

Organic Results




Local Listings

                     23
What is Local Search
Local Listings Management
Âť 97% of Consumers search for local businesses online
  can be there when their customers need them
Âť Manage the top 100 local listing sites including
  Google+ for businesses, Bing Local, Yelp, etc.




March 2012 BIA/Kelsey's User View Wave VII Report


                                                    25
SEO
What is Search Engine Optimization?
                         Query


                                                 Local
      Paid Ad                                 Listings




                                    Paid Ad

Organic Results




Local Listings

                    27
How Do Search Engines Create Rankings?




                 28
Three Optimization Areas for SEO
   1. Content Optimization
       •    New Content
       •    Updated Content
   2. HTML Code Optimization
       •   Title tags
       •   Meta tags
       •   Header tags
       •   Image ALT tags

   3. Inbound Marketing
       •   Influencing other channels
       •   Increasing links back to site

*IMPORTANT NOTE: All aspects of SEO are informed by Keyword Research.
                                           29
Mobile


30
What is Mobile Search?

                                 Local Listings




Paid Ads
           Paid Ads




                       Organic
                       Results



                      31
Mobile Search Facts
Âť Google controls 93% of the mobile paid search market

Âť 70% of desktop searches lead to an action within 1 month. 70%
  of mobile searches lead to an action within 1 hour.

Âť Worldwide mobile advertising will reach $11.4 billion in 2013.




                      Sources: Internet Retailer & SocialMediaToday.com




                                       32
Q&A…
Thank you for attending!

• If you have follow-up questions or want more
  information, please contact us:

     Tim Metzner: http://linkedin.com/in/timmetzner
     Connie Ross: http: http://linkedin.com/pub/connie-
       ross/3/48a/448
Important Terms
Âť Search Engine: A program or tool that helps users locate information or
    documents using keywords.
Âť   Search Engine Marketing (SEM): Paid advertising on a search engine.
Âť   Search Engine Optimization (SEO): Organic listings on a search engine.
Âť   Keyword: Specific word(s) provided as an index to identify specific records or
    documents, usually to facility search engines on the web.
Âť   Visit Duration: Length of time a visitor is exposed to a an advertisement during an
    online session.
Âť   Tracking Pixel (Beacon): A measure whether the ad, page or email was successfully
    viewed and other tracking purposes.
Âť   Click-Stream: The navigational path or sequence of activity a user initiates while
    online.
»   Cookie: A file transmitted to a user’s browser to uniquely identify the user’s
    browser.




                                          34
Key Resources Inform Search Plans
                           Industry-Leading Tools
 Campaign           Industry            Search                                   SEO
                                                      Keyword Research
Automation           Trends          Intelligence                              Analysis




                           Strategic Partnerships
 Certified Agency       Search Engines      Local Listings Database   Web Analytics Vendors




              Uncover Consumer Insights through Search Behavior
                                           35

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Sem 101 presentation

  • 1. January 23, 2013 Search Engine Marketing
  • 2. Today’s Presenters Tim Metzner Connie Ross Digital Marketing Consultant Associate Director Former VP Marketing, SparkPeople Search Marketing, Startup Weekend Organizer Empower MediaMarketing 2
  • 3. Our Experience: Startups – Regional Co.'s – Global Brands
  • 4. Empower Media Marketing Vitals Âť Full Service Media Agency Âť Founded in 1985 Âť P&G Roots Âť 140 Employees Âť Independently owned Âť Women Owned and Certified Âť Nationally Recognized Excellence
  • 5. Agenda Âť What is Search Engine Marketing? Âť Overview of the Categories • Paid Search • Local Search • Organic Search • Mobile Search 5
  • 6. What is Search Engine Marketing?
  • 7. Search Is a Core Behavior Now 4 billion searches per day… and growing 7
  • 8. Search Engine Marketing Outlook Âť Paid Search Spending is expected to top $18 billion by 2013 Âť Mobile Ad Spending is expected to see the largest growth for digital in the next 2 years followed by Video & Social Digital Media 2011 (billions) 2012 (billions) 2013 (billions) % change 2011 - 2013 Paid Search $14.38 $17.03 $18.85 31% Online Display $7.61 $8.94 $9.93 30% Social Media $1.00 $1.23 $1.66 66% Mobile $1.23 $1.80 $2.52 105% Video $2.16 $3.09 $4.20 94% Source: eMarketer - The Global Media Intelligence Report: North America, October 2011 8
  • 9. Search Engine Marketing Âť For Searchers… • It’s about Better Research • It’s about Convenience Âť For Advertisers… • It’s about Being Found • It’s about Being Relevant 9
  • 10. SEM Terminology Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Search Engine Paid Search Optimization (PPC) (SEO) Paid Owned & Earned Paid Media 10
  • 11. Search Engine Marketing Categories Paid Search (PPC) • Keyword buys on all engines, mainly Google & Yahoo/Bing • Appearing when a consumer searches for localized Local Search information (i.e. Family Entertainment in Branson, MO) • Process of improving the visibility of a website in search Organic Search (SEO) engines via the "natural" or organic search results • Keyword buys on all engines, appearing specifically on Mobile Search mobile devices • Focuses on Industry specific content (i.e. Banking, Vertical Search Shopping, Travel, etc.) 11
  • 12. Anatomy of a Search Engine Results Page Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid Ad Organic Results Local Listings 12
  • 13. Search Engine Market Share Âť Google remains the leader in the search space Percent of U.S. Search Queries Search Alliance – 29% 3% 2% 14% Google 15% Yahoo! Bing 67% Ask Aol Source: comScore Marketer, July 2012 13
  • 15. What is Paid Search? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid Ad Organic Results Local Listings 15
  • 16. Relevancy is King Âť Ads are ranked based on many factors Text Ad Keyword Amount Ranking on You’re Search Willing to Pay Results Page Landing Account Page History/CTR Maximum CPC Bid Relevancy/Quality Score 16
  • 17. Paid Search Ad Rank Âť Max CPC bid × Quality Score = Ad Rank Competitor Max CPC Bid Ad Quality Ad Rank Position A $4 x 1 = 4 4 B $3 x 3 = 9 2 C $2 x 6 = 12 1 D $1 x 8 = 8 3
  • 18. Adjusting Match Types Broad +Broad Modified “Phrase” [Exact] -Negative •Any query •Any query •Query must •Ad only appears •Query can not containing the containing the contain the words if the query is contain the terms in any order term or close in the order you exactly what is term or and along with variation have them contained in the phrase other terms following the •Somewhat limits brackets •Ads will not •Earns a LOT of “+” symbol impressions and •Least amount of display impressions and •Limits the can increase impressions may be less amount of CTR% relevant impressions typically generated Instant Oil Changes +Instant +Oil +Changes “Instant Oil Changes” [Instant Oil Change] -Cheap Instant and Speedy Oil Inexpensive instant oil Instant Oil Instant Oil change Cheap Oil Changes Changes changes Instant Changes 18
  • 19. Anatomy of a Text Ad Text Ad Elements & Character Limits Headline – 25 Characters Description Line 1 – 35 Characters Description Line 2 – 35 Characters Display URL – 35 Characters DO’s DON’Ts •Provide a strong call-to-action •No superlatives (best, cheapest) unless •Make a compelling offer verified within 2 clicks of landing page •Ensure it’s relevant to the ad group •No words in all CAPS •Write in proper text format •No more than one “!” in description •Look at competitors for inspiration •Display URL must match Destination URL 19
  • 20. Anatomy of a Text Ad Sitelinks Location Extensions 20
  • 21. Campaign Optimizations • High CTR means the terms are relevant & have strong quality score. Good scores are awarded lower CPC’s CTR% • Low CTR terms need adjusted match types or to be paused • High CPC’s spend budget quickly, so finding optimal selection of low cost terms is the ultimate goal CPC$ • Noting high CPC terms, increase match type or pause • High position (3+) may have poor metrics: sort by highest positions and consider increasing match type or pausing Avg. Pos • Increase Max CPC bid for a term to influence positioning 21
  • 23. What is Local Search? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid Ad Organic Results Local Listings 23
  • 24. What is Local Search
  • 25. Local Listings Management Âť 97% of Consumers search for local businesses online can be there when their customers need them Âť Manage the top 100 local listing sites including Google+ for businesses, Bing Local, Yelp, etc. March 2012 BIA/Kelsey's User View Wave VII Report 25
  • 26. SEO
  • 27. What is Search Engine Optimization? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid Ad Organic Results Local Listings 27
  • 28. How Do Search Engines Create Rankings? 28
  • 29. Three Optimization Areas for SEO 1. Content Optimization • New Content • Updated Content 2. HTML Code Optimization • Title tags • Meta tags • Header tags • Image ALT tags 3. Inbound Marketing • Influencing other channels • Increasing links back to site *IMPORTANT NOTE: All aspects of SEO are informed by Keyword Research. 29
  • 31. What is Mobile Search? Local Listings Paid Ads Paid Ads Organic Results 31
  • 32. Mobile Search Facts Âť Google controls 93% of the mobile paid search market Âť 70% of desktop searches lead to an action within 1 month. 70% of mobile searches lead to an action within 1 hour. Âť Worldwide mobile advertising will reach $11.4 billion in 2013. Sources: Internet Retailer & SocialMediaToday.com 32
  • 33. Q&A… Thank you for attending! • If you have follow-up questions or want more information, please contact us: Tim Metzner: http://linkedin.com/in/timmetzner Connie Ross: http: http://linkedin.com/pub/connie- ross/3/48a/448
  • 34. Important Terms Âť Search Engine: A program or tool that helps users locate information or documents using keywords. Âť Search Engine Marketing (SEM): Paid advertising on a search engine. Âť Search Engine Optimization (SEO): Organic listings on a search engine. Âť Keyword: Specific word(s) provided as an index to identify specific records or documents, usually to facility search engines on the web. Âť Visit Duration: Length of time a visitor is exposed to a an advertisement during an online session. Âť Tracking Pixel (Beacon): A measure whether the ad, page or email was successfully viewed and other tracking purposes. Âť Click-Stream: The navigational path or sequence of activity a user initiates while online. Âť Cookie: A file transmitted to a user’s browser to uniquely identify the user’s browser. 34
  • 35. Key Resources Inform Search Plans Industry-Leading Tools Campaign Industry Search SEO Keyword Research Automation Trends Intelligence Analysis Strategic Partnerships Certified Agency Search Engines Local Listings Database Web Analytics Vendors Uncover Consumer Insights through Search Behavior 35