Facebook ads are hard to miss. They’re on your newsfeed, in the sidebar, on your mobile device, and on your logout screen. Yet few companies, nonprofits, or government agencies use Facebook advertising as part of their social media strategy. The good news is that you don’t need a six-figure budget to run an effective Facebook ad campaign.
Facebook’s “social ads” take advantage of social context by highlighting friends’ interactions with content. Social context paired with advanced targeting capabilities allow savvy marketers the opportunity to push content directly to the Facebook users they want to reach. This increases ad effectiveness and engagement while it dramatically reduces the cost of your ad buy.
In this session, we’ll discuss and show how to identify and reach your target audiences, test message effectiveness, analyze performance, and optimize your results. Speakers include Reingold Partner Jack Benson, Senior Social Media Associate Erin Fenn, and Senior Digital Marketing Associate Brooks Lape.
2. Session Format and Rules
40 minutes of presentation, 20 minutes of Q&A.
Please feel free to ask questions during the session.
Please stay after the session for informal networking.
2
4. We’re on a mission. Yours.
National, full-service strategic communications firm with
more than 25 years of experience helping clients succeed
Big firm capabilities, small firm attention
Expertise in implementing data-driven, behavior-changing
campaigns with effective stakeholder engagement
Awards for strategy, campaign efficacy, creative
development, graphic design, video, and digital media
95% of portfolio is nonprofit and public sector; focus on
health, education, Veterans, transportation
4
7. An Integrated Approach to Communications
Leveraged Traditional
SEO Advertisin
Social media Online &
g/PSA
Online advertising Digital
Media
Relations
Integrated
Events Messaging
Campaign
Direct
Marketing
Stakeholder
Outreach
Partnerships
7
10. Online Search: How We Find Information
% of Internet users who do each activity
Source: Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project tracking surveys, 2002-2012.
10
11. Champagne Campaign on a Beer Budget: How Digital
Media Has Transformed The Marketing Landscape
Then Now
Significant entry costs Lower barriers to entry
Expensive to create and run Budgets are more scalable
Broad targeting Precise targeting
Long response times Real time feedback
Few insights into effectiveness Real insights
High complexity Ability to efficiently pilot/test
Harder to adjust strategy Ability to quickly adjust tactics
and strategies
11
12. Facebook is a major force in today’s digital
marketing landscape with over 1 billion users…
Source: The Next Web
12
13. …with strong coverage across all demographics.
Source: Pew Research Center’s Internet and American Life Project, December 2012
13
14. Growing and maintaining your Facebook community
requires attention to each stage of engagement.
Build Engage Influence
Building and enhancing Getting them to interact and Empowering them to take
your audience join the conversation key actions
14
17. The news feed is the hub for serving page content and ads.
Marketplace Ads
Ads Inside
CPM or CPC
News Feed
~$7-$8 CMP ~$0.20 CPM
1%-5% CTR .04%-.06% CTR
Organic: Posts
from friends
and pages
17
18. Facebook “social” ads prioritize connections and content.
Ads have heightened social
context – Facebook friends
as trusted messengers
Provide more points of
engagement for fans
18
19. Only a small percentage of your fans see your content.
Fans Friends of Fans
19
20. Ads expand the reach and effectiveness of your content.
Fans Friends of Fans
20
22. Segmenting your audience requires a matrix of proxies
based upon affinity, location, and demographics.
Targeting Criteria “Veterans” on Facebook
Affinities with others
Affinities with groups
Demographics
Employment
Education
Location
22
23. The larger the audience you are targeting, the less precise
your targeting will likely be.
Directly in your target group
U.S. Army listed as past employer
Liked VSO page
Potentially in your target group
5M Liked “Support the Troops”
Geo target in high veteran population areas
12M
Influencers or friends of target group
Liked lifestyle pages
30M
23
25. Goal Setting and Content Strategy
Key considerations
Who are you trying to reach?
What content do you have?
Messaging Mix
• Inform
What is the conversation you • Engage
want to start? • Influence
How can you engage your target Content Mix
audience in that conversation?
Metrics
What do you want the outcome
to be?
Recruitment vs. retention
25
26. Content calendars map out messaging to goals and
performance over time.
Goals:
Inform
Engage
Influence
26
30. Successful social media campaigns are conversational.
Know your audience
Ensure relevance – make it about your audience
Highlight the cause – reinforce messages and value
Use rich images and varied content
Keep your copy short and sweet
Elicit a lightweight response
30
32. Decide what content you want to prioritize in ads.
Build Engage Influence
Do you want to build a
Do you want Do you want your
stronger relationship with
more fans? fans to take action?
existing fans?
32
33. Estimating Cost: Fan Acquisition
Start with users directly in
your target group Metric Estimate
Living in Chesapeake bay area and Targeted population 50,000
affiliated with environmental groups
Percent acquired 5%-10%
Cost per fan $0.25 - $3.00
Cost for 5,000 Fans
50,000 * 10% * $0.75 = $3,750
33
34. Run like ads to target audiences and build fans.
Start with core audience, then
expand pool of proxies
Monitor cost per desired action
Test messages, targeting
options, and audiences
Start spend low
34
35. Gradually increase your investment in like ads to optimize
your spend and leverage early insights.
Source: Facebook
35
36. Estimating Cost: Expanding Fan Engagement
~15% ~50%
Metric Estimate
Fans 20,000
Paid Impressions Per Post
Desired reach to fans 50%
20,000 fans * (50% - 15%) = 7,000 impressions
% fans seeing your content organically 15%
Cost per thousand impressions $8.00 Paid Impressions Per Month
Posts per month 15 15 posts/month * 7,000 = 105,000 impressions
Monthly Engagement Support Cost
(105,000 impressions / 1,000) * $8.00 per thousand = $840/month
36
37. Estimating Cost: The Big Push
~15% ~40%
~100%
Metric Estimate
Fans 20,000
Paid Fan Impressions
Desired fan reach 100%
20,000 fans * (100% - 15%) = 17,000 impressions
Organic fan reach 15%
Friends of fans meeting targeting criteria 100,000
Paid FoF Impressions
Desired selected friends of fans reach 40% 100,000 FoFs * 40% = 40,000 impressions
Cost per thousand impressions $8.00
Big Push Cost
(17,000 + 40,000) / 1,000* $8.00 per thousand = $456
37
39. Fan Engagement Strategy
Facebook Ad algorithm will show to most engaged fans first
Only promote your best posts, leverage initial virality
Optimize to cost per action per ad objective
Stay true to your overall content strategy
Monitor negative feedback
Dollar for dollar, small campaigns will be more effective
39
40. Key Tips For Managing Paid Campaigns
Structure your campaigns well
Start slow
Optimize to CPA
Focus on budget distributions
As you progress, move into Excel
Organize your adds for easier analysis
40
41. “My only regret in life is that I didn’t drink enough Champagne.”
John Maynard Keynes
Set your Facebook goals
Segment your audience
Manage your message and content mix
Start slow
Optimize around cost per desired action
Smaller campaigns are better
41
We live in a multi-screen world where on average 90% of our media interactions are on a device with a screen
2012 surpassed printCurrently 70% the size of tvMany campaigns 20-605 onlineWhat percent of your campaigns are digital
How we find information online. Be there at the right time when people are searching for what you do.
Steady growth over time over the last 3 years
Women are slightly more active than menYounger adults are more active, but the older population is one of the fastest growing segmentsUse across income levels, educational attainment, and urbanity is similar
Attracting your audienceGetting them to interact with page contentEmpowering them to actCan continue to build new and engage existingEach phase reinforces the nextInfluencing fans can help build new fans
Focus on content sharingFacebook’s ad platform leverages content and social connectionsAll about putting relevant stories in front of usersEvolution of content over time
Page and news feed reinforcing each other --- how users see and consume content
Credible messengers through friends
Reach and engage existing fansReach new fans
Hitting goalsBalancing post typeDriving key actions
5 Key things:Multimedia use – short copy with teasersVaried content to start conversationsFocus on audience and allow users to share contentReinforce brand/mission by highlighting other relevant contentElicit a lightweight response
5 Key things:Multimedia use – short copy with teasersVaried content to start conversationsFocus on audience and allow users to share contentReinforce brand/mission by highlighting other relevant contentElicit a lightweight response
Focus on content sharingFacebook’s ad platform leverages content and social connectionsAll about putting relevant stories in front of usersEvolution of content over time
Ad optimization
Ad optimization
Ad optimization
Start spend low and turn up the dialOptimize so all campaigns achieve the same cost per desired action