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Creating a Data-Driven
Digital Marketing Strategy
Lecturer: Sal Maiorano
Date: 17 Apr 2019
Content
● Define a digital marketing strategy
● Illustrate key elements of PPC campaign
● Classify the metrics and KPIs of digital marketing
● Develop a Social Media campaign
● Use Acquisition report in Google Analytics
● Analyse the key areas of data-driven strategy
What is a Digital
Marketing
Strategy?
A digital marketing
strategy is the series of
actions that help you
achieve your company
goals through carefully
selected online
marketing channels.
The Marketing Tactics
The 7 Ps are a set of recognised
marketing tactics, which you can use in
any combination to satisfy customers
in your target market.
Combining these different marketing
tactics to meet your customers' needs
and wants is known as using a 'tactical
marketing mix'.
The evolution of the Customer Buying Cycle
The 3 pillars of a Data-Drive Marketing Strategy
Select Your KPIsThe right data Put data in context
Measuring outcomes
In the online world, the website fulfil five common business objectives:
1. Ecommerce sites - sell products or services.
2. Lead generation sites - collect user information for sales teams to connect
with potential leads.
3. Content publishers - encourage engagement and frequent visitation.
4. Online informational or support sites - helping users find the information
they need.
5. Branding - drive awareness, engagement and loyalty.
Group Work 1
Think about your business or one you are familiar with and write the main
objective of the website.
PPC Pay Per Click
PPC stands for pay-per-click
PPC is a model of internet
marketing in which advertisers pay
a fee each time one of their ads is
clicked.
Google's revenue worldwide from 2002 to 2018 (in
billion U.S. dollars)
Advertising
revenue of
Google in 2018
85.3%
Campaign Setup Process
AD
Each Advert contains its own keywords.
AD GROUP
Group of Ads for quality and/or subject
CAMPAIGN
Configure language, geographic targeting and budget.
Campaigns contains multiple ad Groups
Campaign
AD
GROUP
AD
GROUP
AD AD AD AD AD
1. Campaign Architecture
2. Ad Group
3. Keyword selection and Ad Copies
4. Landing page
Campaign Organisation
Every account starts with a single campaign
Ask yourself, “What do I want to achieve with this campaign?” Your answer
might be to sell more coffee beans or gift baskets, for example.
Separate campaigns by theme or product line (such as coffee beans,
coffee gifts, teas). Or use the same structure for your campaigns as you do
for your website. If your website is already grouped into categories, your
job is almost done. Map your structure on paper first.
Ad Groups
An ad group contains one or more ads which target a shared set of keywords.
Each of your campaigns is made up of one or more ad groups.
Use ad groups to organise your ads by a common theme. For example, try
separating ad groups into the different product or service types you offer.
Keywords research
Keyword research is: “The process of defining the search terms we most want
target. Identifies the scale and volume of searches being performed for a
particular phrase”.
This is what Google says:
“Write down the main categories of your business and the terms or phrases that
might fall under each of those categories. Include terms or phrases your
customers would use to describe your products or services.”
New Campaign Set up
New Campaign Set up
New Campaign Set up
New Campaign Set up
PPC Metrics and KPIs
PPC Metrics and KPIs
• Clicks - When someone clicks your ad, like on the blue headline of a text ad,
Google Ads counts that as a click.
• Impressions - How often your ad is shown. An impression is counted each time
your ad is shown on a search result page or other site on the Google Network
• Click-Through Rate (CTR) - A ratio showing how often people who see your ad
end up clicking it. CTR is the number of clicks that your ad receives divided by the
number of times your ad is shown: clicks ÷ impressions = CTR. For example, if you
had 5 clicks and 100 impressions, then your CTR would be 5%.
PPC Metrics and KPIs
• Average CPC - It is s based on your actual cost per click (actual CPC), which is the
actual amount you're charged for a click on your ad.
• Cost – It is the media spend you accrued over a period of time
PPC Metrics and KPIs
• Conversion - An action that's counted when someone interacts with your ad and
then takes an action that you’ve defined as valuable to your business, such as an
online purchase.
• Cost per conversion (Cost/Con) - It is simply your ad spend divided by the
number of conversions. It is also known as CPA Cost Per Acquisition.
• Conversion Rate - It is calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and
dividing that by the number of total clicks. For example, if you had 50 conversions
from 1,000 clicks, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.
Group Work 2
● Download “CTR, Cost/Con and Conversion Rate Analysis” file and fill the
missing KPIs
● What are the KWs with the worst CTR? What element of the PPC campaign
will you review in order to improve it?
● What are the KW with the worst Cost/Cov? What will you do to improve it?
Campaign View
Ad Group View
Questions
• What is the missing metric?
• What is the missing KPI?
Social MediaSocial Media
Social Media Strategy
● Is my audience on Social Media?
● What are my goals?
● What is the strategy to achieve those goals?
● How will I measure success?
● What existing content do I have to share?
● What kinds of content will I need to create?
● Who will manage it all?
● What incentive is there for people to become a fan of my Page? How
can I add value?
Content Audience Relevance Evaluation
How do we want to be
perceived?
What are we going to say,
share, comment on?
How are we going to do it?
Who do we want to be
associated with?
Who do we want to
influence?
Who do we want to engage?
What are important issues to
our audience?
How can we help, advise, add
value?
Can we do this frequently?
Can we measure if / how our
content matters?
How are we going to measure
if audiences care?
How are we going to measure
our relevance?
Do you (or can you) CARE?
10 Likes Work colleague
70 Likes
150 Likes
300 Likes
Parents/sibling
Room mate
Spouse
https://www.nytimes.com/2015/01/20/science/facebook-knows-you-better-than-anyone-else.html
Group Work 3
You need to launch a Facebook Paid Ads campaign for the University of
Piemonte Orientale.
Please fill the brief (download Social Media Campaign Brief), and send it to the
Media Agency.
Improve buyer persona & targeting
Understating you Audience is key on Social Media Strategy:
● What is the demographics of your social audience?
● Where your audience are physically?
● What platforms are your audience using?
● What are their interests?
● Behaviour?
Facebook Ads – Campaign Set up
Facebook Ads – Create an Ad Set
Facebook Ads – Create an Ad Set - Targeting
Facebook Ads – Create an Ad Set - Platform
Facebook Ads – Create an Ad Set - Budget
Facebook Ads Metrics
Google Analytics
Defining “digital analytics”
Digital analytics is the analysis of quantitative data from your business or mobile
app to drive a continual improvement of the online experience that your
customers and potential customers have which translates to your desired
outcomes.
Create a Demo Account
1. Go to bit.ly/2VzrM8h
2. Click on
3. Sign in with your Gmail account
A quick overview
Key metrics and dimensions
● Dimensions - Describe characteristics of your users, their sessions and
actions
● Metrics - These are simply the quantitative measurements of users, sessions
and actions. Metrics are numerical data. They’re numbers.
Dimensions
Dimensions describe the data. They are the labels in the
rows of your reports. Think of a dimension as describing the
“what,” as in “what keyword did they use” or “what city is the
visitor from” or “what pages were viewed.”
Metrics
Metrics measure the data. Metrics are elements about a
dimension that can be measured. Think of a metric as
answering “how many” or “how long,” as in “how many visits”
or “how long a visitor was on the site.”
Dimensions and Metrics in the report
● Users (Visitors ) -The metric called “Users” measures the number of unique users that visit your site during
a certain time period.
● Sessions (Visits), are defined as a period of consecutive activity by the same user.
● Time based metrics “visit duration” or “time on page”.
● Bounce rate is the percentage of sessions with only one user interaction.
Acquisition Metrics Behavior Metrics Conversions Metrics
Acquisition reports
The Acquisition section helps you understand how people find your website.
These reports are valuable because they can help any business understand their
investment in digital marketing.
● What channels are driving the most traffic?
● Which sites are sending traffic to your site?
● Which campaigns are driving the most traffic?
Acquisition - Channel
Segmenting by Source and Medium
● Source: the origin of your traffic, such as a search
engine (for example, google) or a domain
(example.com).
● Medium: the general category of the source, for
example, organic search (organic), cost-per-click paid
search (cpc), web referral (referral).
Source/Medium View
Google Ads (PPC)
You can connect your Google Ads (PPC campaigns) to GA.
You will see the performance here
Group Exercise 4
● Download ABV, ROAS Analysis and fill the file with the missing metrics KPIS
Return On Ad Spend (ROAS) - It is one of the most important metrics for online
advertisers.
ROAS = (Revenue – Cost) / Cost
Average Basket Value (ABV) – it tracks the average €/$/£ amount spent each
time a customer places an order on a website or mobile app.
ABV = Total revenue / the number of orders.
Digital Marketing Strategy
What is digital marketing strategy?
Your digital marketing strategy is the series of actions that help you achieve your
company goals through carefully selected online marketing channels.
These channels include paid, earned, and owned media.
The SOSTAC Model
Group Work 5
Transform the Business Objective you set earlier on, into a SMART Objective.
● Specific
● Measurable
● Achievable
● Realistic
● Timing
Typical KPIs
Commerce website
● conversion rates
● average order value
● Conversions
Lead Generation Website
● conversion rate
● cost-per-lead
● Numbers of leads
Content publisher Website
● depth of visit
● new visitors percentage
● page/content depth
Informational Website
● length of visit and content depth
● percent of visit under 90 seconds
● top internal search phrases
The Digital Marketing Mix
The Conversion Funnel
Media Coverage
Awareness
Consideration
Conversion
Remarketing
Paid Influencers
Native Ads
Paid Social
Retargeting
Pay Per Click
Display Ads
Blog
Guest Posts
SEOEmail
CostPerAcquisition
Very
High
Great
TrafficScalability
Very
Reactive or Very Limited
Group Work 6
Based on the Digital Strategy file, create allocate €1mil marketing budget for the
next financial year.
Measuring Performance
What do we
want to achieve?
What is
happening?
Why is it
happening?
What should we
do about it?
Goal setting
Performance Measurement
Performance diagnosis
Corrective action
CONTROL
Who?
MEASURE
Who?
When?
How?
REVIEW
Who?
When?
Presenting results
How you present your results should be decided based on:
● Knowing the audience and responding to their needs (format, frequency, level
of details, use of jargon/abbreviations)
● Being easily able to update them to keep them useful
● Making them easy to share
● Knowing that the data is sound and that any interpretation required is available
within the report
“Without data, you're just another
person with an opinion.”
W. Edwards Deming (1982).

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Data Driven Digital Marketing Strategy

  • 1. Creating a Data-Driven Digital Marketing Strategy Lecturer: Sal Maiorano Date: 17 Apr 2019
  • 2. Content ● Define a digital marketing strategy ● Illustrate key elements of PPC campaign ● Classify the metrics and KPIs of digital marketing ● Develop a Social Media campaign ● Use Acquisition report in Google Analytics ● Analyse the key areas of data-driven strategy
  • 3. What is a Digital Marketing Strategy? A digital marketing strategy is the series of actions that help you achieve your company goals through carefully selected online marketing channels.
  • 4. The Marketing Tactics The 7 Ps are a set of recognised marketing tactics, which you can use in any combination to satisfy customers in your target market. Combining these different marketing tactics to meet your customers' needs and wants is known as using a 'tactical marketing mix'.
  • 5. The evolution of the Customer Buying Cycle
  • 6. The 3 pillars of a Data-Drive Marketing Strategy Select Your KPIsThe right data Put data in context
  • 7. Measuring outcomes In the online world, the website fulfil five common business objectives: 1. Ecommerce sites - sell products or services. 2. Lead generation sites - collect user information for sales teams to connect with potential leads. 3. Content publishers - encourage engagement and frequent visitation. 4. Online informational or support sites - helping users find the information they need. 5. Branding - drive awareness, engagement and loyalty.
  • 8. Group Work 1 Think about your business or one you are familiar with and write the main objective of the website.
  • 9. PPC Pay Per Click
  • 10. PPC stands for pay-per-click PPC is a model of internet marketing in which advertisers pay a fee each time one of their ads is clicked.
  • 11. Google's revenue worldwide from 2002 to 2018 (in billion U.S. dollars) Advertising revenue of Google in 2018 85.3%
  • 12. Campaign Setup Process AD Each Advert contains its own keywords. AD GROUP Group of Ads for quality and/or subject CAMPAIGN Configure language, geographic targeting and budget. Campaigns contains multiple ad Groups Campaign AD GROUP AD GROUP AD AD AD AD AD 1. Campaign Architecture 2. Ad Group 3. Keyword selection and Ad Copies 4. Landing page
  • 13. Campaign Organisation Every account starts with a single campaign Ask yourself, “What do I want to achieve with this campaign?” Your answer might be to sell more coffee beans or gift baskets, for example. Separate campaigns by theme or product line (such as coffee beans, coffee gifts, teas). Or use the same structure for your campaigns as you do for your website. If your website is already grouped into categories, your job is almost done. Map your structure on paper first.
  • 14. Ad Groups An ad group contains one or more ads which target a shared set of keywords. Each of your campaigns is made up of one or more ad groups. Use ad groups to organise your ads by a common theme. For example, try separating ad groups into the different product or service types you offer.
  • 15. Keywords research Keyword research is: “The process of defining the search terms we most want target. Identifies the scale and volume of searches being performed for a particular phrase”. This is what Google says: “Write down the main categories of your business and the terms or phrases that might fall under each of those categories. Include terms or phrases your customers would use to describe your products or services.”
  • 21. PPC Metrics and KPIs • Clicks - When someone clicks your ad, like on the blue headline of a text ad, Google Ads counts that as a click. • Impressions - How often your ad is shown. An impression is counted each time your ad is shown on a search result page or other site on the Google Network • Click-Through Rate (CTR) - A ratio showing how often people who see your ad end up clicking it. CTR is the number of clicks that your ad receives divided by the number of times your ad is shown: clicks ÷ impressions = CTR. For example, if you had 5 clicks and 100 impressions, then your CTR would be 5%.
  • 22. PPC Metrics and KPIs • Average CPC - It is s based on your actual cost per click (actual CPC), which is the actual amount you're charged for a click on your ad. • Cost – It is the media spend you accrued over a period of time
  • 23. PPC Metrics and KPIs • Conversion - An action that's counted when someone interacts with your ad and then takes an action that you’ve defined as valuable to your business, such as an online purchase. • Cost per conversion (Cost/Con) - It is simply your ad spend divided by the number of conversions. It is also known as CPA Cost Per Acquisition. • Conversion Rate - It is calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total clicks. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 clicks, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.
  • 24. Group Work 2 ● Download “CTR, Cost/Con and Conversion Rate Analysis” file and fill the missing KPIs ● What are the KWs with the worst CTR? What element of the PPC campaign will you review in order to improve it? ● What are the KW with the worst Cost/Cov? What will you do to improve it?
  • 27. Questions • What is the missing metric? • What is the missing KPI?
  • 29. Social Media Strategy ● Is my audience on Social Media? ● What are my goals? ● What is the strategy to achieve those goals? ● How will I measure success? ● What existing content do I have to share? ● What kinds of content will I need to create? ● Who will manage it all? ● What incentive is there for people to become a fan of my Page? How can I add value?
  • 30. Content Audience Relevance Evaluation How do we want to be perceived? What are we going to say, share, comment on? How are we going to do it? Who do we want to be associated with? Who do we want to influence? Who do we want to engage? What are important issues to our audience? How can we help, advise, add value? Can we do this frequently? Can we measure if / how our content matters? How are we going to measure if audiences care? How are we going to measure our relevance? Do you (or can you) CARE?
  • 31. 10 Likes Work colleague 70 Likes 150 Likes 300 Likes Parents/sibling Room mate Spouse https://www.nytimes.com/2015/01/20/science/facebook-knows-you-better-than-anyone-else.html
  • 32. Group Work 3 You need to launch a Facebook Paid Ads campaign for the University of Piemonte Orientale. Please fill the brief (download Social Media Campaign Brief), and send it to the Media Agency.
  • 33. Improve buyer persona & targeting Understating you Audience is key on Social Media Strategy: ● What is the demographics of your social audience? ● Where your audience are physically? ● What platforms are your audience using? ● What are their interests? ● Behaviour?
  • 34. Facebook Ads – Campaign Set up
  • 35. Facebook Ads – Create an Ad Set
  • 36. Facebook Ads – Create an Ad Set - Targeting
  • 37. Facebook Ads – Create an Ad Set - Platform
  • 38. Facebook Ads – Create an Ad Set - Budget
  • 41. Defining “digital analytics” Digital analytics is the analysis of quantitative data from your business or mobile app to drive a continual improvement of the online experience that your customers and potential customers have which translates to your desired outcomes.
  • 42. Create a Demo Account 1. Go to bit.ly/2VzrM8h 2. Click on 3. Sign in with your Gmail account
  • 44. Key metrics and dimensions ● Dimensions - Describe characteristics of your users, their sessions and actions ● Metrics - These are simply the quantitative measurements of users, sessions and actions. Metrics are numerical data. They’re numbers.
  • 45. Dimensions Dimensions describe the data. They are the labels in the rows of your reports. Think of a dimension as describing the “what,” as in “what keyword did they use” or “what city is the visitor from” or “what pages were viewed.”
  • 46. Metrics Metrics measure the data. Metrics are elements about a dimension that can be measured. Think of a metric as answering “how many” or “how long,” as in “how many visits” or “how long a visitor was on the site.”
  • 47. Dimensions and Metrics in the report ● Users (Visitors ) -The metric called “Users” measures the number of unique users that visit your site during a certain time period. ● Sessions (Visits), are defined as a period of consecutive activity by the same user. ● Time based metrics “visit duration” or “time on page”. ● Bounce rate is the percentage of sessions with only one user interaction. Acquisition Metrics Behavior Metrics Conversions Metrics
  • 48. Acquisition reports The Acquisition section helps you understand how people find your website. These reports are valuable because they can help any business understand their investment in digital marketing. ● What channels are driving the most traffic? ● Which sites are sending traffic to your site? ● Which campaigns are driving the most traffic?
  • 50. Segmenting by Source and Medium ● Source: the origin of your traffic, such as a search engine (for example, google) or a domain (example.com). ● Medium: the general category of the source, for example, organic search (organic), cost-per-click paid search (cpc), web referral (referral).
  • 52. Google Ads (PPC) You can connect your Google Ads (PPC campaigns) to GA. You will see the performance here
  • 53. Group Exercise 4 ● Download ABV, ROAS Analysis and fill the file with the missing metrics KPIS Return On Ad Spend (ROAS) - It is one of the most important metrics for online advertisers. ROAS = (Revenue – Cost) / Cost Average Basket Value (ABV) – it tracks the average €/$/£ amount spent each time a customer places an order on a website or mobile app. ABV = Total revenue / the number of orders.
  • 55. What is digital marketing strategy? Your digital marketing strategy is the series of actions that help you achieve your company goals through carefully selected online marketing channels. These channels include paid, earned, and owned media.
  • 57. Group Work 5 Transform the Business Objective you set earlier on, into a SMART Objective. ● Specific ● Measurable ● Achievable ● Realistic ● Timing
  • 58. Typical KPIs Commerce website ● conversion rates ● average order value ● Conversions Lead Generation Website ● conversion rate ● cost-per-lead ● Numbers of leads Content publisher Website ● depth of visit ● new visitors percentage ● page/content depth Informational Website ● length of visit and content depth ● percent of visit under 90 seconds ● top internal search phrases
  • 60. The Conversion Funnel Media Coverage Awareness Consideration Conversion Remarketing Paid Influencers Native Ads Paid Social Retargeting Pay Per Click Display Ads Blog Guest Posts SEOEmail CostPerAcquisition Very High Great TrafficScalability Very Reactive or Very Limited
  • 61. Group Work 6 Based on the Digital Strategy file, create allocate €1mil marketing budget for the next financial year.
  • 62. Measuring Performance What do we want to achieve? What is happening? Why is it happening? What should we do about it? Goal setting Performance Measurement Performance diagnosis Corrective action CONTROL Who? MEASURE Who? When? How? REVIEW Who? When?
  • 63. Presenting results How you present your results should be decided based on: ● Knowing the audience and responding to their needs (format, frequency, level of details, use of jargon/abbreviations) ● Being easily able to update them to keep them useful ● Making them easy to share ● Knowing that the data is sound and that any interpretation required is available within the report
  • 64. “Without data, you're just another person with an opinion.” W. Edwards Deming (1982).