2. WHAT IS PPC ADVERTISING?
_ PPC stands for “Pay-Per-Click”
_ PPC is an online advertising model where advertisers pay only
when an ad is clicked
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3. WHY USE PPC?
_ Instant first page placement
_ You only advertise to people who are looking for what you have
right now
_ You only pay when they respond - when they click through to
your site
_ Pricing is determined by an ongoing, real-time auction based on
true market values
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5. WHAT IS GOOGLE ADWORDS?
_ Adwords is a platform
Includes:
that allows advertisers _ Tesco
_ Ask.com
_ AOL
to display ads in search _ BT
_ Virgin Net Search
results or web content _ NTL World Partners Google
on a CPC or CPM basis Properties
Content
_ Adwords is for Publishers
Includes:
_ Google
_ Google
Advertisers, Adsense is Includes:
_ New York
Product Search
_ Gmail
Times Online _ YouTube
for Publishers _ NTL
_ Daily Mail
_ Virgin
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6. GOOGLE AD NETWORKS
Search Display Video Ads
Network Network
Display Ad
Search Ad (Image Ad)
Video Ad
(YouTube)
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7. ANATOMY OF A
SEARCH RESULTS PAGE
Search Query
Paid Search
Results
Organic
Search Results
(Ranking determined
by “relevance”)
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8. SEARCH CAMPAIGN
STRUCTURE
Geographic Targeting
Language Targeting
Campaign } Daily Budget
Device Targeting
Day Partitioning
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Text Ads Text Ads
Keywords Keywords
} 3 Critical Components
of an Adwords Campaign
KW Bids KW Bids
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11. GREAT AD GROUPS START
WITH KEYWORDS
_ Identify your ideal prospect
_ Do thorough keyword research
_ Look at your competition
_ Use proper match types
_ Use negative keywords
_ Keep ad groups “tightly targeted”
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12. GETTING STARTED
WITH KEYWORDS
_ Think of your ideal prospect (very specific)
_ Ex: “My ideal prospect is someone who has a large collection of
CDs, recently purchased an MP3 player, and wants someone
else to convert the CDs to MP3 for them.”
_ Write down a list of 10 keywords such that you believe one in
three people searching for each term would be your ideal
prospect
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13. BUILDING A KEYWORD LIST
Google Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Keyword Tool
Relative Search
Competition Volume
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14. BUILDING A KEYWORD LIST
Google Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Keyword Tool
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15. BUILDING A KEYWORD LIST
Google Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Traffic Estimator
Enter
Keywords
Enter a Max CPC
and budget
Set Geo &
Language Targeting
Estimated
Daily Cost
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16. KEYWORD
MATCHING OPTIONS
Match Type: Shows For Queries:
BROAD MATCH Red Shoes, Red, Shoes,
Ex. Red Shoes Green Shoes, Red Rocks
PHRASE MATCH Red Shoes, Nike Red Shoes,
Ex. “Red Shoes” Buy Red Shoes
EXACT MATCH Red Shoes
Ex. [Red Shoes]
Use Phrase and Exact Match to Improve CTR & ROI
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19. KEYWORD LIST
BUILDING STRATEGY
_ Start with a small list of 10-20 keywords that fit your ideal prospect
_ Use only “Phrase” and [Exact] match
_ Monitor your actual search terms
_ Add -Negative keywords where appropriate
_ Add additional [Exact] match keywords where appropriate
_ Repeat, Repeat, Repeat...
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23. SEARCH AD RANK
Ad Rank = Quality Score x Bid
ADVERTISER A ADVERTISER B ADVERTISER C
Bid = $0.75 Bid = $0.50 Bid = $1.00
QS = 7 QS = 10 QS = 4
AR = 0.75 x 7 AR = 0.50 x 10 AR = 1.00 x 4
AR = 5.25 AR = 5.00 AR = 4.00
POSITION #1 POSITION #2 POSITION #3
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24. HOW MUCH WILL I PAY?
Ranking Score of Position Below
Actual Cost = + $0.01
Quality Score of Your Ad
ADVERTISER A ADVERTISER B ADVERTISER C
Bid = $0.75 Bid = $0.50 Bid = $1.00
QS = 7 QS = 10 QS = 4
AR = 0.75 x 7 AR = 0.50 x 10 AR = 1.00 x 4
AR = 5.25 AR = 5.00 AR = 4.00
POSITION #1 POSITION #2 POSITION #3
(5.00/7)+0.01 (4.00/10-)+0.01 (2.50/4-)+0.01
CPC = 0.72 CPC = 0.41 CPC = 0.64
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25. HOW DO I ACHIEVE A HIGH QS?
_ Keep Ad Groups Small and Targeted
_ Write Targeted Ads
_ Landing Page Relevance
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26. WHAT IF ADVERTISER A
RAISES ITS QS TO 10?
BASELINE OPTIMIZED
Bid = $0.75 Bid = $0.75
QS = 7 QS = 10
AR = 0.75 x 7 AR = 0.75 x 10
AR = 5.25 AR = 7.50
VS.
POSITION #1 POSITION #1 A 29.2%
(5.00/7)+0.01 (5.00/10)+0.01 Reduction
in Cost!
CPC = 0.72 CPC = 0.51
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27. WRITING TARGETED ADS
_ Include keywords in the ad text
_ Include a differentiator
_ Include a call to action (if appropriate)
_ Choose the right landing page
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28. USE YOUR KEYWORDS
IN YOUR ADS
Search Terms are
bolded in ads
Include a
differentiator
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29. CHOOSE THE RIGHT
LANDING PAGE
_ Home Page or Deep Linking?
_ As a general rule, the fewest clicks to achieve a conversion is best.
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32. KEYWORD BIDDING STRATEGY
_ Know what a visitor to your site is worth
_ Calculate your break-even
_ Set a target ROI for your advertising
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33. WHAT IS A VISITOR WORTH?
_ Average Sale Revenue = $150
_ My Costs (Materials, Labor, Shipping) = $100
_ Average Margin = $50 per sale
_ Website Conversion Rate = 2%
_ Each visitor is worth $50 x 0.02 = $1.00 (This is your break-even)
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34. CALCULATING YOUR MAX CPC
_ Each visitor is worth $50 x 0.02 = $1.00
_ I want to make 30% ROI on my advertising $
_ My Max CPC should be $1 x (100% - 30%)
_ Max Bid = $0.70
TIP: Bid $0.02 above round numbers (Max Bid = $0.72)
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35. CAMPAIGN OPTIMIZATION
IMPRESSIONS Add Keywords to get more impressions
CTR
Optimize your ads to get more clicks
CLICKS _ Improve Quality Score
(Site Visits) _ Split Test Ad Copy
_ Adjust Keyword Bids
_ Utilize Position Prefs
CR
Optimize your landing page to get more conversions
_ Split Test Landing Page Copy
_ Improve Call to Action
_ Experiment with Deep Linking
CONVERSIONS _ Look at Bounce Rates
_ Look at Cart Abandonment
(Sales/Leads)
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36. QUESTIONS?
Scott Yacko - scott@vuurr.com - @scottmyacko
Jonathan Kressaty - jonathan@vuurr.com - @kressaty
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