Más contenido relacionado



  1. HINDUISM Let’s start a Journey to understand Hinduism
  2. • Hinduism is the oldest among all religions. • Jainism and Buddhism are said to have their beginnings in Hinduism, and so are called the ‘daughter religions’ of Hinduism. Hinduism Jainism Buddhism
  3. Sanaatana Dharma • The more appropriate name of hinduism is ‘Sanaatana Dharma’. • ‘Sanaatana’ means eternal or everlasting. • ‘Dharma’ means that which upholds or keeps together the creation ,sustain and protect it. • Hinduism is called Sanaatana Dharma as it teaches us ideals and values which are of eternal validity or which will last for ever.
  4. ROOT The religion has it’s roots in the vedas, which are scriptures of highest wisdom. So it is also called as Vedaanta or Vaidiki Dharma.This Vedaanta or Vaidaka Dharma lays down ways in which man has to conduct himself during his life’s journey.
  5. The Textbook meaning of word Hindu The word ‘Hindu’/’Indu’ was first used to describe people who lived near the banks of river Indus . BABA’s Version Baba gives it his divine touch , and explains it as ‘Hin’ means ‘himsaa’ and ‘du’ means ‘dur’. Thus ‘Hindu’ means people who do not hurt anyone (man or animal) by thought , word or deeds. The Basic Principles Ishaa Vaasyam Idam Sarvam Vasudaiva Kutumbakam
  6. Bhaa-Rati • Baba says ‘Bhaa’ means God and ‘Rati’ means love and attachment. • So Bhaarata means ‘Bhagwadrati’ land of people who are intensely god loving. • Love of all beings and Love for God is the main teaching of Hinduism. • So the meanings of the words ‘Bhaarata’ and Hindu sum up the whole essence of Hinduism.
  7. Main teachings of Hindu Religion • Natural Force are all but an expression of Divine It is believed natural forces like Sun, Fire, Earth, Wind etc. are all expressions of God. Though different deities are worshipped ,it is believed GOD IS ONE. Ekam Sat Vipraa Bahudha Vadanti
  8. • One’s innner self is also an expression and aspect of the Divine Just as external forces of nature are an expression of God, similarly God is present in each one of us in the form of individual Soul or AATMAN. • Many Forms of GOD God can be worshipped in any forms that one chooses- infinite are his forms and names. One can worship God in any form as per his liking i.e., his Isthadevataa
  9. • Unity of all existence of life: God is present in every being, whether big or small. Therefore, everything deserves our love and veneration. Ishaa Vaasyam Sarvam
  10. Hindu Ethics and Code of Duties • Great Rishis have laid down 4 main goals of life. They are called 4 ‘Purushaarthas’- 1. Dharma – Right conduct 2. Artha – Wealth 3. Kaama – Desire 4. Moksha – Liberation While acquiring wealth(Artha) and fullfilling one’s needs and desires(Kaama) one’s action must be in keeping with the principles of Dharma. One must always remember that the higher purpose of life is to attain Moksha or Liberation.
  11. The 4 Stages of Life 1. Brahmacharya : The student stage 2. Grihasthasrama: The householder stage 3. Vaanaprasthana: Retirement from wordly life and going to the forest. 4. Sannyaasaashrama: Total renunciation
  12. The Caste System The caste system was a cooperative division of labour for the common good of society. The 4 Castes – 1. Brahmins- were the spiritual guardians of the society e.g. priests. 2. Kshatriyas- physical guardian of society e.g. kings, noblemen and Princes. 3. Vaishyas- looking after commercial needs of the people e.g. Farmers, Traders, Merchants. 4. Shudras- The main workforce, the musclepower e.g. Cleaners, Sweepers.
  13. The work was done by each class was important. No work was high or low. Untouchability was practised by selfish men. All are equal in the eyes of GOD. Every Duty in every state of life must be governed by the important virtues of Sataya, Dharma, Shaanti, Prema and Ahimsa.
  14. Law Of Karma And Doctrine of Rebirth This is an important characteristic feature of the Hindu religion. Karma means action or work and its result. Good deeds bring peace and sin is followed by suffering. As a man sows, so shall he reap
  15. There are 3 types of Karma- 1. Praarabdha Karma-Man’s accumalted karma 2. Sanchita Karma- Name given to accumalted karma 3. Aagami Karma- Karma which is now created in present life and fruits of which be bore in next.
  16. The Concept Of Avatara This word is derived from the root word ‘Avatarana’ means ‘to descend’. In Bhagwad Geeta , Lord Krishna tells Arjuna that whenever Dharma is on decline, the Lord comes down again and again in human form to preserve dharma. Hinduism usually believes in 10 avatars of Vishnu. Now let’s have a small quiz. Let’s test your knowledge 
  17. Name the 10 Vishnu avatars
  18. Hindu Rituals Rituals or samskaaras are essential features of all religions. They help us to cleanse the mind, purify the heart and spiritualise the attitude of man. From birth to death, man had to undergo different samskaaras- • Jaatakarma & Aksharaabhyasa in childhood. • Upanayana in boyhood. • Marriage in manhood.
  19. Click here to watch Sri Sathya Sai Baba performing the Sacred Thread Ceremony Aksharaabhyasa
  20. Every man has to perform certain rites everyday. These are Sandhyaa Vandaana, Panch Yajnas etc. The Pancha Maha Yajnas are: • Brahma Yajna: Studying scriptures and holy texts. • Deva Yajnas: Offering worship to deities or isthadevata. • Priti Yajna: Grateful rememberance of ancestors and offering of obligations to their spirits. • Bhoota Yajna: Feeding of animals & birds. • Manushya Yajna: Offering of hospitality and food to the needy.
  21. The Hindu Saadhanas Saadhanaas means pathways to liberation. The main paths are- 1. Karma Yoga: Path of Action 2. Bhakti Yoga: Path of Devotion 3. Jnaana Yoga: Path of Knowledge 4. Dhyaana Yoga: Path of Meditation
  22. Karma Yoga Surrendering ourselves whole-heartedly to the lord and doing everything as an act of worship to the god, without expecting the fruits of action is karma yoga. This kind of action is called Nishkaama Karma. इदं शरीरं कौन्तेय क्षेत्रमित्यमिधीयते! एतद्यो वेमि तं प्राहुः क्षेत्रग्न इमत तमिदुः !!

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. Vasudeva kutumbakam
  2. Photos of swami conducting upanayana.