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Ryan Withop
Former Sr. Mgr. Analytics, Electronic Arts
Analytics Lead, Chosen.fm
@RyanWithop
Data Visualization & Storytelling Tips
SF Analytics Summit 03/16
Comments in gray were added post-facto to help Slideshare readers.
Source: Star Wars Battlefront, EA, DICE
Video game play recording of rwithopswag
This is what I was competing against visually at Electronic Arts.
Source: Charley Kyd, MBA
http://exceluser.com/training/reporting/dashboard-ebook.html
Great for Finance. Terrible for communicating action.
Source: James Gonzales, Ryan Withop
Electronic Arts (EA)
412,000
This is what is possible.
Coaching Youth Soccer
Coach’s Tip
Look for the Coach’s Tip logo signifying points to remember in
data communication.
It’s not about graphing,
it’s about
communicating.
Source: Github Kibana
https://www.mihneadb.net/a-github-river-for-elasticsearch/
Graphing
Thank You Email Drives 10% Lift
In 2nd Purchases
0%
5%
10%
15%
20%
25%
30%
Made a 2nd Purchase
(1/1 – 2/28/2015, n=11K)
+10%
Communicating.
1. Understandable at-a-glance
2. Tell a Story
3. Actionable
Thank You Email Drives 10% Lift
In 2nd Purchases
0%
5%
10%
15%
20%
25%
30%
Made a 2nd Purchase
(1/1 – 2/28/2015, n=11K)
+10%
Recommendation: Deploy “Thank You” emails across purchasing
system within one hour of first transaction
State the results at the top and provide next steps.
Common Mistakes
In Communicating
So small!
Source: Snellen Eye Chart
http://www.medicalsupplymegastore.com/snellen-eye-chart
Noise
Source: Grammar Tales Blog
https://grammartales.wordpress.com/category/signs/
Can you find 985 in just a couple seconds?
Poor Communication
Methods
Charades
Choosing the wrong means of communicating, such as
“Charades”, will also stifle action.
Data Analysts commit the
same mistakes.
So small!
$0.8
$0.9
$1.0
$1.1
$1.2
$1.3
$1.4
$1.5
$1.6
$1.7
$1.8
$1.9
$2.0
Millions
Revenue
Noise
Source: Dashboard Junkie
http://www.dashboardjunkie.com/social-media-dashboard
How should the Marketing Manager determine what to do next?
Too many signals.
Poor Communication Methods
0.0
0.1
0.2
0.3
0.4
0.5
0.6
Ellen Dance
Rock
Taylor Swift
Punjabi
Is this the best way to signify how Taylor Swift is performing?
1. Chart Type
2. Clean
3. Color
4. Size
The C’s of Data Visualization
1. Examples
2. C’s
3. Dashboarding
4. Trends in Visualization
Overview
• Tableau, Domo, Looker
• Geckoboard
• Amplitude Analytics
• Mixpanel, Kissmetrics
• JS: wrapboostrap
• Chart.io, QlikView
8+2 Visualization Solutions
These are the data platforms/visualization solutions I recently reviewed.
Ask me on twitter if you have questions about these for your business.
Examples of Great
Visualizations
Source: USA Today Super Bowl Ads 2014
http://visual.ly/m/portfolio/science-of-superbowl-ads-usa-today/
Easy to visually determine the ROI.
Source: Michael Carper, Apparatus
http://www.tableau.com/about/blog/2013/12/viz-hall-fame-27270
Interactive. Easy to see biggest companies by state.
Source: Michael Carper, Apparatus
http://www.tableau.com/about/blog/2013/12/viz-hall-fame-27270
Source: Diana Gosi, Fuze
http://visual.ly/ugly-truth-about-meetings
Time in Meetings
Simple use of color to highlight. Simplicity.
Source: Diana Gosi, Fuze
http://visual.ly/ugly-truth-about-meetings
Time in Meetings
0%
10%
20%
30%
40%
50%
60%
Total Org. Middle Mgmt Upper Mgmt
Management Time in Meetings
If story is that Upper Mgmt wastes the most time, this would be
more effective.
Source: Ryan Sleeper - Evolytics
https://public.tableau.com/profile/osmguy
$100K $483K $45K
Adding just a few visual elements, makes the data story more engaging.
Source: Arsenal
https://www.facebook.com/Arsenal/
This is really just one image and clever use of font sizes to make a point.
You can do this with very little effort.
Chosen – where selfies compete
Chosen
Example app used for the next series of charts. With some demo
data I show how to best express the app’s performance.
Chosen, Ellen Show
Source: TechCrunch, 12/4/2015
http://techcrunch.com/2015/12/04/the-ellen-showsen/
Chart Types
What is the Story?
0.0
0.1
0.2
0.3
0.4
0.5
0.6
Ellen Dance
Rock
Taylor Swift
Punjabi
It is not clear what we are trying to say here. Changing the chart
type will help us better communicate our message.
Vertical Column Charts
are for showing
volume
Horizontal Bar Charts
are for
comparisons
Ellen’s Dance Off Highest Retention
Last Month
25%
28%
36%
48%
0% 20% 40% 60%
Retention by Game
(08/01 – 08/30/2015, n= 4.5K)
Ellen Dance
Rock
Taylor Swift
Punjabi Prayer
Notice how horizontal charts make it appear like the categories
are competing against each other?
Pie Chart
N. America
Ellen Dance Off
Country
Rock
Pop
Taylor Swift
Ed Sheeran
R&B
Rap
Grunge
Europe
Ellen Dance Off
Country
Rock
Pop
Taylor Swift
Ed Sheeran
R&B
Rap
Grunge
Asia
Ellen Dance Off
Country
Rock
Pop
Taylor Swift
Ed Sheeran
R&B
Rap
Grunge
Pie is for
eating not charting
Source: James Wright - YouTube
Patti Labelle Sweet Potato Pie
Video of James Wright singing about pie.
Horizontal Stacked Bar Chart
0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100%
N.America
Asia
Players by Game
(11/2015, n=54K)
Ellen Dance Off
Country
Rock
Pop
Taylor Swift
Ed Sheeran
R&B
Rap
Grunge
Compared to pie charts, this is much easier to compare any
category between N.America and Asia.
Line graphs best for
trends
Trend Obvious
$0.8
$1.0
$1.2
$1.4
$1.6
$1.8
$2.0
Millions Revenue
Just OK At Comparison
0%
10%
20%
30%
40%
50%
60%
Retention by Game
Ellen Dance
Rock
Taylor Swift
Punjabi
Alternatives
0%
5%
10%
15%
20%
25%
Conversion
0
10,000
20,000
30,000
40,000
50,000
Visitors
75%
80%
85%
90%
95%
100%
Retention
$0.8
$1.0
$1.2
$1.4
$1.6
$1.8
$2.0
Janua…
Febru…
March
April
May
June
July
August
Septe…
Octob…
Millions
Revenue
Add a 60% area chart, and change the data point formatting to no
fill. See how your eyes no longer get lost on this page?
Too Many Bar Charts?
0
1
2
3
4
5
2014 2015 2016 Proj
Revenue YoY
2014
2015
2016 Proj
Sunrise Chart
$5.0M
$3.5M
$2.5M
Revenue YoY
2016 Proj
2015
2014
If you are demonstrating growth, here is an alternative. Y-axis is
the and revenue are driven by the revenue in that year.
Source: Nelson Minar, Windhistory.org using D3.js
http://windhistory.com/station.html?KSFO
How about a Rose Diagram to show multiple dimensions.
Source: XpertRule Decision Tree
http://www.xpertrule.com/pages/tech_da_engine.html
Data Scientists: nobody understands this Decision Tree but you.
5x
ARPU
1. Buy within 10mins
2. Come from a referral
If your conclusion from the Decision Tree is this, than just show
the results that matter.
Clean
Too Many Categories
0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100%
N.America
Asia
Players by Game
(11/2015, n=54K)
Ellen Dance Off
Country
Rock
Pop
Taylor Swift
Ed Sheeran
R&B
Rap
Grunge
Reduce to
5-6 categories
Horizontal Stacked Bar Chart
Reduce to five categories
0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100%
N.America
Asia
Players by Game
(11/2015, n=54K)
Ellen Dance Off
Country
Rock
Pop
Others
$0.8
$1.0
$1.2
$1.4
$1.6
$1.8
$2.0Millions
Revenue
$0.8
$1.0
$1.2
$1.4
$1.6
$1.8
$2.0Millions
Revenue
Removing unnecessary grid lines makes your chart easier to read.
Revenue ($M)
$1,538,212
Do you even need the axis if all they want to know is what is our
current value and are we improving?
0%
5%
10%
15%
20%
25%
Retention
75%
80%
85%
90%
95%
100%
Retention
0.8
1.0
1.2
1.4
1.6
1.8
2.0
Janua…
Febru…
March
April
May
June
July
August
Septe…
Octob…
Millions
Visitors
0%
5%
10%
15%
20%
25%
Conversion
23%
conversion rate
+2%
45,936
visitors
+5%
95%
retention rate
+3%
Most asked questions by decision makers are what is the current
value and are we improving. So why show line graphs (prev
slide) when we can show just what they want to see?
Color
Let the story
STAND OUT
Source: Github Kibana
https://www.mihneadb.net/a-github-river-for-elasticsearch/
Too Much Color
25%
28%
36%
48%
0% 20% 40% 60%
Retention by Game
(10/01 – 12/31/2015, n= 4.5K)
Ellen Dance
Rock
Taylor Swift
Punjabi Prayer
Gradient Colors
25%
28%
36%
48%
0% 20% 40% 60%
Retention by Game
(10/01 – 12/31/2015, n= 4.5K)
Ellen Dance
Rock
Taylor Swift
Punjabi Prayer
Simplifies the message. Darkest value gets the most attention.
Gradient Colors
25%
28%
36%
48%
0% 20% 40% 60%
Retention by Game
(10/01 – 12/31/2015, n= 4.5K)
Ellen Dance
Rock
Taylor Swift
Punjabi Prayer
1
1 5% improvement in Rock category
How to highlight an important result.
Which Games Should We Cross-Promote?
Which Games Should We Cross-Promote?
Dark Green is High Affinity
Removing the text and using affinity as the shading dimension, we
can now see that Ellen Dance Off and Taylor Swift should be
cross promoted.
Which Games Should We Cross-Promote?
Dark Green is High Affinity
Add values back if they are relevant to your decision makers.
Size
Can It Be Read From the Back?
16+pt axes fonts, 20-24pt title font
$0.8
$0.9
$1.0
$1.1
$1.2
$1.3
$1.4
$1.5
$1.6
$1.7
$1.8
$1.9
$2.0
Millions
Revenue
$1.0
$1.1
$1.2
$1.3
$1.4
$1.5
$1.6
$1.7
$1.8
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
Millions
Revenue
Does It Tell Your Story?
Scale Axes
0%
10%
20%
30%
40%
50%
60%
70%
80%
90%
100%
Made a 2nd Purchase
0%
5%
10%
15%
20%
25%
30%
Made a 2nd Purchase
+10%
Does Scale Change the Story?
1,500,000
1,550,000
1,600,000
1,650,000
1,700,000
1,750,000
1,800,000
NumberofUsers
New Users
Does Scale Change the Story?
1.00
1.10
1.20
1.30
1.40
1.50
1.60
1.70
1.80
NumberofUsers
Millions
New Users
The previous slide made it appear that every dip was important,
when these are actually normal deviations. Increase your y-axis
scale to tell the story that there is little change.
Animation
Show Change in Static Chart
0%
10%
20%
30%
40%
50%
60%
Retention
November October
Simple Animation
0%
10%
20%
30%
40%
50%
60%
Retention
November October
If showing change over time with animation, use Sequence Effect Options in
Excel or growth in D3.js.
Show Change in a Static Chart
$2.7
$3.2
$0.8$0.7
$-
$0.5
$1.0
$1.5
$2.0
$2.5
$3.0
$3.5
$4.0
0 1 2 3 4
Revenue($M)
Weeks Active
Change in Key Performance Metrics
You don’t need animations if you always show older values in a
more transparent color.
Source: C3.js on pubnub.com
https://www.pubnub.com/blog/2015-02-26-building-realtime-live-updating-animated-graphs-c3-js/
Animated Donut Chart - C3.js
Dashboarding
23%
conversion rate
+2%
45,936
visitors
+5%
95%
retention rate
+3%
Use size and contrast to draw focus. Dark colors are current
values, transparent colors are previous or unmet values.
1. What happened?
2. How did we do against our goals?
3. Are we getting better at this?
Dashboarding Guidelines
23%
conversion rate
+2%
visitors
+5%
95%
retention rate
+3%
45,936
50K
Encourage the team to meet their goals. Notice how you naturally
feel the need for the dark bars to complete the gray goals bar.
Establish a clear
GRID
Source: Color Admin Theme - wrapbootstrap
https://wrapbootstrap.com/themes
Poor gridding makes your eyes wander.
Source: Homer Theme - wrapbootstrap
https://wrapbootstrap.com/themes
Simple griding makes it easy to find information, esp. if grouped.
Draw in users eyes with
CONTRAST
Source: Cloudfront Theme - wrapbootstrap
https://wrapbootstrap.com/themes
Good contrast showing different data types above. Lower boxes
contrast is too high and competes for our attention.
Source: Github Kibana
https://www.mihneadb.net/a-github-river-for-elasticsearch/
What is important here?
Most important
information
TOP LEFT
Source: ClickTale Heatmap
http://www.clicktale.com
Web studies of our eye movements show the users mostly view the
top left of a page. This is where your most important results belong.
Simple use of color with this demo dashboard. How could it be
improved?
Jennifer Veesenmeyer
“How to Master the Art
of Dashboard Design”
@wholly_geek
Source: James Gonzales, Ryan Withop
Electronic Arts (EA)
412,000
Simple color scheme, bar chart for hitting goals, sizing metrics for
highlighting what is important, and a simple graphic.
You can do this too now.
Future of Visualization
• Open Source
• D3.js, Chart.js, Rmarkdown, ggplot2,
OpenStreetmap, wrapbootstrap
• Animation
• Easier creation of complex visualizations
1. Understandable at-a-glance
2. Tell a Story
3. Actionable
1. Chart Type
2. Clean
3. Color
4. Size
The C’s of Data Visualization
Doesn’t have to be beautiful,
but it does have to be
UNDERSTANDABLE
Ryan Withop
Former Sr. Mgr. Analytics, Electronic Arts
Analytics Lead, Chosen.fm
@RyanWithop
Data Visualization & Storytelling Tips
SF Analytics Summit 03/16

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Data Visualization & Storytelling Top Tips

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. This is what I had to compete with at EA – we show this at quarterly meetings, and then we show my line graphs and bar graphs?
  2. Can’t present this
  3. When I could present this
  4. Construct – see icon top – Used on field – stop play – one tip to refocus and restart
  5. Communicate the intended message
  6. Graphing
  7. Communicating
  8. Communicate the intended message
  9. Volunteer 2nd row – 6th line – get a shirt Great Christmas present if you want it - $10.20
  10. Lots among a forest, road sign
  11. Mining crafting
  12. Too much asking for my attention
  13. What is the story here? – poor choice of charts
  14. Explain – Super bowl ads Bigger text in bar chart, use of red text?
  15. Interactive - Click a state or industry to filter down the blob of biggest company bubbles
  16. Interactive – Human Resources selected – note the filtering
  17. Few simple elements – wise use of color to emphasize Multiple clicks
  18. She could have just shown this – but this probably wouldn’t live beyond her presentation
  19. Just a couple visual elements totally changes this Broke boring bar chart into little bricks – explaining the brick Would have added the totals
  20. My favorite Really just numbers and text – but creative use of text size to make more readable
  21. Not talented – maybe you are great at spotting talent heart – vote up, vote down, share, follow Construct – games, videos, voting, events
  22. Ellen became investor – yesterday launched the app on her show – entrants in her dance competition – appearance on show Missy Elliot – launched a game Fox’s TV Show Empire Future platform – anyone in the world create a game
  23. Not clear what trying to say with this chart
  24. Communicate the intended message
  25. Communicate the intended message
  26. Our eyes are better at estimating size – horizontally Notice how it almost feels like these categories are racing each other? (BTW: we will work on these colors later – yuck!)
  27. Is Taylor Swift Bigger than pop? Taylor more popular in N. America or Europe? Problem with Area Charts – people are bad at judging size in circular fashion
  28. Communicate the intended message
  29. How much easier it is to see the size difference between any individual item across Asia vs N.America?
  30. Can see the trend really well, but comparison just ok
  31. Area Chart – make the fill color semi-transparent – “More Fill Colors” -> Transparency=60% If your charting does not give you the actual points too….copy the data points, add in as a second series but change chart type to line with data points, change the outline color…green and fill color to white
  32. Set the x-axis the same Revenue is the size dimension Y-axis is half the size dimension
  33. Wind Rose – height is the # of times in that direction, text is current value, radial placement – direction I think color was the strength of the wind – 4 dimensions – easy to understand
  34. Hard to explain to non-technical – too many stats
  35. Get to the point for business users
  36. Too Many Categories
  37. Reduced to 5-6 categories Clear that Asia has more variety in their choice of game and Ellen, Country less popular there
  38. Removed grid lines
  39. Do you even need the axes – if only current value and trajectory are necessary for your story?
  40. Lots of white space and variety More on this dashboard I created later
  41. What’s important here? – I can’t tell – all screaming for my attention
  42. How quickly you can identify overlap in games
  43. Can even add value back – doesn’t hurt much
  44. 16-18 pt font on the axes and axes labels 20-24 pt title font
  45. If 10% is meaningful to your company – then disservice to present it the way shown in blue
  46. If change in number of users here not significant, don’t show it in a scale that makes look significant Only asking to have to spend time researching cause behind every dip
  47. Wipe from Bottom Animate by Element in Series – PowerPoint option
  48. Using R or Tableau type tool – just make chart previous value in lighter or more transparent color Clearly see purple dropping in value and blue rising in value
  49. ere? – I can’t tell – all screaming for my attention
  50. Use of size and contrast and light use of color to draw focus Mostly asked about the current value anyway
  51. Grey – goal – feel pressured to meet the goal Hor bar feels like progress and pressure Spark instead of trend lines to show getting better
  52. Like the coloring – not a bad dashboard – could be better with a little more alignment
  53. Like the Grid system – easy for eyes to move from section to section I added color to top to make it stand out Organized incorrectly, put the income together with income related items beneath it, “LAST ACTIVITY” move under the colored activity sections – so just look down
  54. Good amount of contrast, maybe too much with bottom group of text boxes competing for attention
  55. What’s important here? – I can’t tell – all screaming for my attention and not screaming at the same time
  56. he intended message
  57. Top left most important Most put logo there – what percentage of your employees don’t know what company they work for? – move it to the bottom
  58. In this case – new partnership – maybe want to highlight how many users we are getting (fake data) Maybe better if I can get a smaller logo – hold grid better How to make the funnel
  59. See her
  60. Back to beginning of our presentation See how this is actually simple – only a few elements
  61. Communicate the intended message