SlideShare ist ein Scribd-Unternehmen logo
1 von 85
Google Analytics:
Overview & Customization
Thursday, May 12th, 2016
Anneline Breetzke
#mktgacademy @mktgacademy
Thank you to our sponsor
www.inschoolwear.com
Content
 Introduction : Why Google Analytics?
 Overview : reports layout & key metrics
 4 Main Reports : Understand each category & the data they provide
 Goal Conversions : Activities Important to Your Success
 Customization
 Segments
 Dashboards
 Questions
Introduction
Why Google Analytics?
Why Google Analytics?
Without data analytics, companies are
blind and deaf, wandering out onto the
Web like deer on a freeway.
- Geoffrey Moore
“
Question
e.g. Did the website changes
increase customer retention?
Look for the report that
provides the answer.
e.g. compare avg time on site
Marketing Idea
e.g. Redesigning the landing
page of your website.
Reject Improve Keep
Measure & Analyze
Make recommendations & TAKE ACTION
Why Google Analytics?
 How many people visit my website?
 How many visitors are local / national / international?
 Do I need a mobile-friendly website?
 What paid referral partners must I keep?
 What marketing campaigns drive the most traffic to my website?
 What times in the day are people reading my blog?
 How many visitors have I converted into leads or customers?
 Which social network drives the most traffic?
Why Google Analytics?
It can answer questions like…
It does not answer WHY…
Overview
A look at the default report layout
Four main
reports.
Seven key metrics.
Set regular emails of the data.
Export to Excel etc.
Specify date ranges, including
the ability to compare timelines.
View the data in
different increments.
Main navigation menu.
7 most important website statistics
Key Metrics
Sessions
A group of interactions that take place on your website within a
given time frame (30 min). A user can have multiple sessions.
Users The unique individual (unique IP address) that visits your site.
Pageviews
An instance of a page being loaded by a browser. The total
number of pages viewed; repeated views of a single page are
also counted.
Pages/Session
The average number of pages seen per session. Sign of how
curious people are about your school/camp.
Avg. Session
Duration
The amount of time spent on your site per session.
Bounce Rate
The percentage of single page visits (or web sessions). The
number of visits in which a person leaves your website from the
landing page without browsing any further.
% New Sessions Percentage of new visitors (vs returning visitors) to your site.
Key Metrics
“Microsoft study finds human attention
span has dropped to just 8 seconds.”
- Indo Asian News Service , 18 May 2015
Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
 Bounces will never turn into conversions.
 The lower the bounce rate, the higher the pool of
potential conversions.
Why do you want a lower bounce rate?
Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
Example 1
 100 users visited your site
 60% of those 100 bounced
= 60 bounced sessions
 100 users – 60 = 40 engaged visits
= 40 potential conversions
100
60.06%
75%
increase
in sales!
Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
Example 2
100
30%
 100 users visited your site
 30% of those 100 bounced
= 30 bounced sessions
 100 users – 30 = 70 engaged visits
= 70 potential conversions
You can increase your conversions for
the same amount of advertising spend.
Tip: Paid bounce rate should be lower than your organic bounce rates.
Analyze your bounce rates with all your advertising referral partners.
Why do you want a lower bounce rate?
Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
Example
Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
4 Main Reports
Understand each category
& the data they provide
Audience
Who is coming to
your site?
Acquisition
Where are they
coming from?
Behavior
What are they doing
on your site?
Conversions
What is working and
what isn’t?
Audience
4 Main Reports — Audience
Location
Country?
Province? City?
Mobile/Device
Desktop? Phone? Tablet?
Demographics
Gender? Age? Language?
Interests
Movie Lovers? In-
market Segments?
(Adwords)
Browser/OS
Chrome/Safari?
iOS/Android?
Frequency
New vs Returning?
Visits? Pageviews?
Time on site?
Who is coming
to your site?
Approach Google Analytics with a question:
What percent of our users access our site
via their mobile device?
4 Main Reports — Audience
That leads to another question:
Are mobile visitors less or
more engaged?
4 Main Reports — Audience
 View your mobile site landing pages
 Consider areas to improve
 Set up a schedule to test those changes
 Analyze the data
…and start the process again.
What action steps can we take to improve mobile phone
engagement?
4 Main Reports — Audience
Traffic Sources/
Channels
Organic/Paid? Social
Media? Referrals?
Engagement
Bounce Rate?
Pages/Session?
Adwords
Campaigns?
Keywords?
SEO
What queries users
typed to reach your
site? Landing pages?
Social
How many people
shared your page on
Facebook? (Goals)
Acquisition
How are they getting
to your site?
4 Main Reports — Acquisition
Source
Origin of your website traffic (includes custom utm_source
traffic)
google / organic
bing / cpc
ourkids.net / referral
expatarrivals.com / referral
Medium
The category of the traffic source (includes custom
utm_medium traffic)
google / organic
bing / cpc
ourkids.net / referral
expatarrivals.com / referral
Understand your traffic
4 Main Reports — Acquisition
Organic Search SEO traffic from unpaid search engines (e.g. Google or Bing)
Direct Users type your URL directly into their browser (or from a bookmark)
Referral Visitors referred by links on other websites (that are not social networks)
Email Sessions that have a medium of “email” – custom: utm_medium=email
Social
Traffic from approximately 400 social networks (that are not tagged as ads).
Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn etc.
Display
Paid – can be made up of any number of traffic sources as long as the medium is
“display”, “cpm” or ”banner”.
Paid Search
Paid – where the medium is “cpc” or “ppc”.
Google Adwords, Bing Ads, Facebook Ads etc.
7 Default Marketing Channels
4 Main Reports — Acquisition
Behavior Flow
Visualize the path
users take from one
page/event to another?
Site Content
How often do users
enter/exit this page?
Site Speed
Which pages are
taking too long to
load?
Site Search
What are users entering
in the search box on your
site?
Events
How many clicks on a
link/button or video
player?
Experiments
Which version of a
page performs
best?
4 Main Reports — Behavior
Behavior
What are they doing
on your site?
Goals
How many users signed
up for your newsletter?
Funnel
Visualization
Where did users exit the
funnel before reaching the
Destination goal?
eCommerce
Why are users exiting
before they checkout?
Conversions
How many conversions?
Conversion Rate? Compare
campaigns.
4 Main Reports —
Conversions
Conversions
What is working on
your site?
Activities important to your
success
Goal Conversions
A goal is a completed activity on your site
(a conversion)
 a completed sign up form
 a completed purchase (eCommerce sites)
 a click to play a video
Goal Conversions
Goals provide essential information
Without this information it is
almost impossible to evaluate the
effectiveness of your online business
and online marketing campaigns.
Goal Conversions
Goals provide essential information
 You can track different types of goals
The Destination goal is the easiest
to implement and track.
Once a specific page is loaded
(e.g. Thank you for registering!
page), the goal is completed.
 For the Destination goal you need a destination URL that loads
after a user completes the action.
Goal Conversions
Type of goals
Goal Conversions
Destination goals
1. Click on Admin > Goals (under View)
Goal Conversions
Setting up goals
2. Click on +NEW GOAL
Goal Conversions
Setting up goals
3. Click on Custom >
Continue
Goal Conversions
Setting up goals
4. Name your goal
something descriptive
> Select Destination
> Select Continue
Goal Conversions
Setting up goals
5. Enter your destination page’s URI (the piece of the URL that
comes after the .com or .ca of your domain) E.g. /thankyou.html
> Choose Begins with
> Click Save
Goal Conversions
Setting up goals
6. Assign a monetary value (filling this in populates reports in analytics that are
otherwise empty, and it helps in calculating ROI)
GA does not update values retrospectively. Choose
your value system upfront, or make a note if you
change it.
Goal Conversions
Setting up goals
• Google Analytics Gallery Import
• Setup Custom Segments
• Setup Custom Dashboards
Customization
Google Analytics Gallery
Google Analytics Gallery
Google Analytics Gallery
Occam’s Razor Awesomeness – Segments, Reports & Dashboards
Google Analytics Gallery
Occam’s Razor Awesomeness –
Segments, Reports & Dashboards
These customizations can
be deleted/removed from
your view if you no longer
want to use them.
Google Analytics Gallery
Occam’s Razor Awesomeness – Segments, Reports & Dashboards
Again, you approach with a question:
What is the number of users per
operating system on mobile devices?
Google Analytics Gallery
Custom reports - AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2 vs standard Devices
Custom report: AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2
Google Analytics Gallery
Custom reports - AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2 vs standard Devices
Standard Devices report: Acquisition > Mobile > Devices
Custom report: AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2
Google Analytics Gallery
Custom reports - AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2 vs standard Devices
Setup Custom Segments
Setup Custom Segments
Think of segments as filters – viewing your data based on specific criteria
Approach with your question:
How many visitors are
highly interested in my
content/site?
Setup Custom Segments
Think of segments as filters – viewing your data based on specific criteria
Setup Custom Segments
Think of segments as filters – viewing your data based on specific criteria
Setup Custom Segments
Think of segments as filters – you can add multiple filters
Setup Custom Segments
Segments are easy to remove (they don’t delete or change your data)
 https://searchenginewatch.com/sew/how-to/2268458/16-secret-
google-analytics-advanced-segments-worth-their-weight-in-gold
 https://www.koozai.com/blog/analytics/top-15-most-useful-
advanced-segments-in-google-analytics/
Setup Custom Segments
Bonus – Custom Segments to get your started
Setup Custom Dashboards
Setup Custom Dashboards
Dashboards are a collection of reports that you can view in one glance.
Dashboards are comprised of widgets.
Setup Custom Dashboards
Dashboards are a collection of reports that you can view in one glance.
Setup Custom Dashboards
Dashboards are a collection of reports that you can view in one glance.
 Metric. This widget displays as a single number, with or without decimals depending
on the metric.
 Timeline. This widget uses a line graph to display how a metric changes over time.
It can even be used to compare two metrics against each other.
 Geomap. This widget displays a plain white atlas of the world and uses various
shades of blue to show which country each metric occurs in.
When you create a new dashboard, you’re prompted to add a widget to it right
away. Let’s take a moment to go over what each widget does:
 Table. This widget displays a simple
table; max 2 columns and 10 rows.
 Pie. This widget displays a simple pie
chart that can have as many as 6 slices.
 Bar. This widget displays a typical bar
graph that can have as many as 9 bars.
Setup Custom Dashboards
Setup Custom Dashboards
What are common questions you ask:
Who are my top referrals?
How many visitors from a specific city?
How many visitors completed a goal?
How many visitors came from your newsletter?
Visits by social network?
Dashboards are a collection of reports that you can view in one glance.
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Who are my top referrals?
Which ‘person’ (source) is
referring (medium) the most
traffic (sessions) to my site?
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Who are my top referrals?
Which ‘person’ (source) is
referring (medium) the most
traffic (sessions) to my site?
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Which ‘person’ (source) is
referring (medium) the most
traffic (sessions) to my site?
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Top referrals widget example
Setup Custom Dashboards
Keep adding widgets that answer your questions
 Monthly Summary –
https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=3kH8xmYaQ2SRnEx_NjxgAA
 SEO Dashboard –
https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=7ZlJXPE7Rh6D4h8nI6QFWw
 Mobile Analytics –
https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=VWZQkJEGRHaZBhNLhO2w-A
 Site Performance –
https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=zghuZw7cQtugzNBSbDAWqw
 Social Media –
https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=2qZVTPjsQ9GJE98fzFL6bQ
 Visitors Technology –
https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=NZZ00lHtSWqyzlO1N9F24w
Setup Custom Dashboards
Bonus – Custom Dashboards to get your started
Our Kids vs Google Adwords
Article with step-by-step case study is
available as a free download on the
Marketing Academy website along with
the replay of the webinar.
Thank you to our sponsor
www.inschoolwear.com
Brand, brand, everywhere!
Questions?
Contact:
Anneline Breetzke
anneline@ourkidsmedia.com
#mktgacademy
@mktgacademy
The slides will be available in
a few days at:
ourkidsmedia.com/marketing
Our Kids Marketing Academy — for Camps & Private Schools · www.ourkidsmedia.com/marketing

Weitere ähnliche Inhalte

Was ist angesagt?

Was ist angesagt? (20)

Powerful Flexible Intelligent
Powerful Flexible IntelligentPowerful Flexible Intelligent
Powerful Flexible Intelligent
 
Form Tracking Case Study
Form Tracking Case StudyForm Tracking Case Study
Form Tracking Case Study
 
Google Analytics 101
Google Analytics 101Google Analytics 101
Google Analytics 101
 
Google Analytics / Adwords Digital Marketing Presentation
Google Analytics / Adwords Digital Marketing Presentation Google Analytics / Adwords Digital Marketing Presentation
Google Analytics / Adwords Digital Marketing Presentation
 
Introduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google AnalyticsIntroduction to Google Analytics
Introduction to Google Analytics
 
Web Analytics 101
Web Analytics 101Web Analytics 101
Web Analytics 101
 
Google Analytics & Web Masters Tools - GBG Mumbai
Google Analytics & Web Masters Tools - GBG MumbaiGoogle Analytics & Web Masters Tools - GBG Mumbai
Google Analytics & Web Masters Tools - GBG Mumbai
 
Google Analytics ppt
Google Analytics  pptGoogle Analytics  ppt
Google Analytics ppt
 
Google Analytics: The Basics
Google Analytics: The BasicsGoogle Analytics: The Basics
Google Analytics: The Basics
 
Google Analytics 101
Google Analytics 101Google Analytics 101
Google Analytics 101
 
Next Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh Egg
Next Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh EggNext Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh Egg
Next Generation Measurement with Google Analytics - Dara Fitzgerald, Fresh Egg
 
Website Optimization Using Google Analytics
Website Optimization Using Google AnalyticsWebsite Optimization Using Google Analytics
Website Optimization Using Google Analytics
 
Introduction to web analytics
Introduction to web analyticsIntroduction to web analytics
Introduction to web analytics
 
Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics
Boost Your Growth Engine with AnalyticsBoost Your Growth Engine with Analytics
Boost Your Growth Engine with Analytics
 
How To Mesure And Optimise Your Roi Using Web Analytics Google
How To Mesure And Optimise Your Roi Using Web Analytics GoogleHow To Mesure And Optimise Your Roi Using Web Analytics Google
How To Mesure And Optimise Your Roi Using Web Analytics Google
 
Topic 1 Introduction to web analytics
Topic  1   Introduction to web analytics Topic  1   Introduction to web analytics
Topic 1 Introduction to web analytics
 
Web Analytics Concepts & Theories
Web Analytics Concepts & TheoriesWeb Analytics Concepts & Theories
Web Analytics Concepts & Theories
 
Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017
Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017
Google Analytics 101 #SMAMI 2017
 
Website Analytics
Website AnalyticsWebsite Analytics
Website Analytics
 
A tutorial on Google Analytics 2017 melvinreceno the magnificent
A tutorial on Google Analytics 2017 melvinreceno the magnificentA tutorial on Google Analytics 2017 melvinreceno the magnificent
A tutorial on Google Analytics 2017 melvinreceno the magnificent
 

Andere mochten auch

Slides Festa Junina
Slides Festa JuninaSlides Festa Junina
Slides Festa Junina
katiaedidi
 
Максим Спиридонов. Практика развития веб-проектов: путь от идеи к сайту с мас...
Максим Спиридонов. Практика развития веб-проектов: путь от идеи к сайту с мас...Максим Спиридонов. Практика развития веб-проектов: путь от идеи к сайту с мас...
Максим Спиридонов. Практика развития веб-проектов: путь от идеи к сайту с мас...
Доп.Реальность
 

Andere mochten auch (20)

Slides Festa Junina
Slides Festa JuninaSlides Festa Junina
Slides Festa Junina
 
Facebook Marketing for Private Schools
Facebook Marketing for Private SchoolsFacebook Marketing for Private Schools
Facebook Marketing for Private Schools
 
Максим Спиридонов. Практика развития веб-проектов: путь от идеи к сайту с мас...
Максим Спиридонов. Практика развития веб-проектов: путь от идеи к сайту с мас...Максим Спиридонов. Практика развития веб-проектов: путь от идеи к сайту с мас...
Максим Спиридонов. Практика развития веб-проектов: путь от идеи к сайту с мас...
 
How To Get Media Coverage
How To Get Media Coverage How To Get Media Coverage
How To Get Media Coverage
 
Android momobxl
Android momobxlAndroid momobxl
Android momobxl
 
Антон Волнухин. Микроблоги и новое в социальных сетях: что в этом такого
Антон Волнухин.  Микроблоги и новое  в социальных сетях:  что в этом такогоАнтон Волнухин.  Микроблоги и новое  в социальных сетях:  что в этом такого
Антон Волнухин. Микроблоги и новое в социальных сетях: что в этом такого
 
Social Media for camps and schools
Social Media for camps and schoolsSocial Media for camps and schools
Social Media for camps and schools
 
Facebook webinar 7-6-10 slideshare
Facebook webinar   7-6-10 slideshareFacebook webinar   7-6-10 slideshare
Facebook webinar 7-6-10 slideshare
 
Top 5 Tips - Social Media for Your School
Top 5 Tips - Social Media for Your SchoolTop 5 Tips - Social Media for Your School
Top 5 Tips - Social Media for Your School
 
Integrating openSUSE Ceph Block Device & OpenStack
Integrating openSUSE Ceph Block Device & OpenStack Integrating openSUSE Ceph Block Device & OpenStack
Integrating openSUSE Ceph Block Device & OpenStack
 
ComfortLife Marketing Academy: Social value of community
ComfortLife Marketing Academy: Social value of communityComfortLife Marketing Academy: Social value of community
ComfortLife Marketing Academy: Social value of community
 
Social value of community
Social value of communitySocial value of community
Social value of community
 
Ольга Стерник. Измерения в социальных медиа: как, что, зачем?
Ольга Стерник. Измерения в социальных медиа: как, что, зачем?Ольга Стерник. Измерения в социальных медиа: как, что, зачем?
Ольга Стерник. Измерения в социальных медиа: как, что, зачем?
 
Social media tools for marketing retirement communities
Social media tools for marketing retirement communitiesSocial media tools for marketing retirement communities
Social media tools for marketing retirement communities
 
Online advertising
Online advertisingOnline advertising
Online advertising
 
Social Media for Independent Schools
Social Media for Independent SchoolsSocial Media for Independent Schools
Social Media for Independent Schools
 
Marketing Revised
Marketing RevisedMarketing Revised
Marketing Revised
 
How retirement homes can use social media to aid in marketing and communications
How retirement homes can use social media to aid in marketing and communicationsHow retirement homes can use social media to aid in marketing and communications
How retirement homes can use social media to aid in marketing and communications
 
Indonesia, Potential Host for GNOME Asia Summit 2015
Indonesia, Potential Host for GNOME Asia Summit 2015Indonesia, Potential Host for GNOME Asia Summit 2015
Indonesia, Potential Host for GNOME Asia Summit 2015
 
Increasing Engagement in Email Marketing and Social Media | Marketing Retirem...
Increasing Engagement in Email Marketing and Social Media | Marketing Retirem...Increasing Engagement in Email Marketing and Social Media | Marketing Retirem...
Increasing Engagement in Email Marketing and Social Media | Marketing Retirem...
 

Ähnlich wie Google Analytics : Overview & Customization

SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics PresentationSPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
Azul 7
 
Measuring Your Website Success - Analytics and more...
Measuring Your Website Success - Analytics and more...Measuring Your Website Success - Analytics and more...
Measuring Your Website Success - Analytics and more...
Key Multimedia Ltd
 
10 google analytics reports you need to have
10 google analytics reports you need to have10 google analytics reports you need to have
10 google analytics reports you need to have
Iris Schwaighofer
 
Stamats: Analytics Webinar
Stamats: Analytics WebinarStamats: Analytics Webinar
Stamats: Analytics Webinar
cjcunniff
 

Ähnlich wie Google Analytics : Overview & Customization (20)

Drive Your Business with Google Analytics
Drive Your Businesswith Google AnalyticsDrive Your Businesswith Google Analytics
Drive Your Business with Google Analytics
 
Digital Marketing Course Week 4: Digital Analytics
Digital Marketing Course Week 4: Digital AnalyticsDigital Marketing Course Week 4: Digital Analytics
Digital Marketing Course Week 4: Digital Analytics
 
Leveraging Web Analytics to Increase Conversion - Market STL Presentation
Leveraging Web Analytics to Increase Conversion - Market STL PresentationLeveraging Web Analytics to Increase Conversion - Market STL Presentation
Leveraging Web Analytics to Increase Conversion - Market STL Presentation
 
Digital measurement & analytics
Digital measurement & analyticsDigital measurement & analytics
Digital measurement & analytics
 
Google analytics
Google analytics Google analytics
Google analytics
 
7 essential google analytics reports
7 essential google analytics reports7 essential google analytics reports
7 essential google analytics reports
 
Conversion Optimization Framework to Build Sustainable and Repeat Growth
Conversion Optimization Framework to Build Sustainable and Repeat GrowthConversion Optimization Framework to Build Sustainable and Repeat Growth
Conversion Optimization Framework to Build Sustainable and Repeat Growth
 
Understanding google analytics
Understanding google analyticsUnderstanding google analytics
Understanding google analytics
 
Undestanding Google Analytic
Undestanding Google AnalyticUndestanding Google Analytic
Undestanding Google Analytic
 
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics PresentationSPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
SPACC IT Day Azul7 Analytics Presentation
 
Top 10 Things to Analyse with Google Anaytics on a Monthly Basis
Top 10 Things to Analyse with Google Anaytics on a Monthly BasisTop 10 Things to Analyse with Google Anaytics on a Monthly Basis
Top 10 Things to Analyse with Google Anaytics on a Monthly Basis
 
Google Analytics Beginners: How to Measure Your Homepage Design
Google Analytics Beginners: How to Measure Your Homepage DesignGoogle Analytics Beginners: How to Measure Your Homepage Design
Google Analytics Beginners: How to Measure Your Homepage Design
 
Seo workshop presentation june
Seo workshop presentation juneSeo workshop presentation june
Seo workshop presentation june
 
GCD-Measurement&Analytics-Week11
GCD-Measurement&Analytics-Week11GCD-Measurement&Analytics-Week11
GCD-Measurement&Analytics-Week11
 
Measuring Your Website Success - Analytics and more...
Measuring Your Website Success - Analytics and more...Measuring Your Website Success - Analytics and more...
Measuring Your Website Success - Analytics and more...
 
Post Click Marketing: Optimizing Conversions
Post Click Marketing: Optimizing ConversionsPost Click Marketing: Optimizing Conversions
Post Click Marketing: Optimizing Conversions
 
10 google analytics reports you need to have
10 google analytics reports you need to have10 google analytics reports you need to have
10 google analytics reports you need to have
 
Advanced Web Analytics - Penn State Web Conference 2010
Advanced Web Analytics - Penn State Web Conference 2010Advanced Web Analytics - Penn State Web Conference 2010
Advanced Web Analytics - Penn State Web Conference 2010
 
Stamats: Analytics Webinar
Stamats: Analytics WebinarStamats: Analytics Webinar
Stamats: Analytics Webinar
 
Introduction about Quora, Google analytics and Google Ad Words
Introduction about Quora, Google analytics and Google Ad WordsIntroduction about Quora, Google analytics and Google Ad Words
Introduction about Quora, Google analytics and Google Ad Words
 

Mehr von Our Kids Media

Mehr von Our Kids Media (20)

Digital marketing from a human perspective: For schools and camps
Digital marketing from a human perspective: For schools and campsDigital marketing from a human perspective: For schools and camps
Digital marketing from a human perspective: For schools and camps
 
Email marketing for private schools, summer camps and kids programs
Email marketing for private schools, summer camps and kids programsEmail marketing for private schools, summer camps and kids programs
Email marketing for private schools, summer camps and kids programs
 
Inbound Content Marketing for Retirement Living: What, Why, How?
Inbound Content Marketing for Retirement Living: What, Why, How?Inbound Content Marketing for Retirement Living: What, Why, How?
Inbound Content Marketing for Retirement Living: What, Why, How?
 
Brand Management - 5 Steps to Effectively Leverage Your Brand
Brand Management - 5 Steps to Effectively Leverage Your BrandBrand Management - 5 Steps to Effectively Leverage Your Brand
Brand Management - 5 Steps to Effectively Leverage Your Brand
 
How to maximize senior living leads from online sources and directories
How to maximize senior living leads from online sources and directoriesHow to maximize senior living leads from online sources and directories
How to maximize senior living leads from online sources and directories
 
Social media for retirement homes: Calculating return on investment (ROI)
Social media for retirement homes: Calculating return on investment (ROI) Social media for retirement homes: Calculating return on investment (ROI)
Social media for retirement homes: Calculating return on investment (ROI)
 
Creating Killer Ad Creative For Private Schools & Summer Camps
Creating Killer Ad Creative For Private Schools & Summer CampsCreating Killer Ad Creative For Private Schools & Summer Camps
Creating Killer Ad Creative For Private Schools & Summer Camps
 
Retirement home marketing: shifts in the online advertising
Retirement home marketing: shifts in the online advertisingRetirement home marketing: shifts in the online advertising
Retirement home marketing: shifts in the online advertising
 
2015's Biggest Digital Marketing Trends | Private School & Summer Camp Marketing
2015's Biggest Digital Marketing Trends | Private School & Summer Camp Marketing2015's Biggest Digital Marketing Trends | Private School & Summer Camp Marketing
2015's Biggest Digital Marketing Trends | Private School & Summer Camp Marketing
 
How to Maximize your Retirement Community Sales Funnel
How to Maximize your Retirement Community Sales FunnelHow to Maximize your Retirement Community Sales Funnel
How to Maximize your Retirement Community Sales Funnel
 
Marketing Retirement Homes & Senior Care - Integrated Multichannel Marketing
Marketing Retirement Homes & Senior Care - Integrated Multichannel MarketingMarketing Retirement Homes & Senior Care - Integrated Multichannel Marketing
Marketing Retirement Homes & Senior Care - Integrated Multichannel Marketing
 
Marketing Private Schools & Camps - Integrated multichannel marketing
Marketing Private Schools & Camps - Integrated multichannel marketing Marketing Private Schools & Camps - Integrated multichannel marketing
Marketing Private Schools & Camps - Integrated multichannel marketing
 
How to Use and Track New Media - Marketing Schools, Programs & Kids Camps
How to Use and Track New Media - Marketing Schools, Programs & Kids CampsHow to Use and Track New Media - Marketing Schools, Programs & Kids Camps
How to Use and Track New Media - Marketing Schools, Programs & Kids Camps
 
Using & Tracking New Media - Marketing Retirement Homes & Senior Care
Using & Tracking New Media - Marketing Retirement Homes & Senior CareUsing & Tracking New Media - Marketing Retirement Homes & Senior Care
Using & Tracking New Media - Marketing Retirement Homes & Senior Care
 
Recruitment Retention & Referrals | For Private Schools & Summer Camps
Recruitment Retention & Referrals | For Private Schools & Summer CampsRecruitment Retention & Referrals | For Private Schools & Summer Camps
Recruitment Retention & Referrals | For Private Schools & Summer Camps
 
Marketing Retirement Homes: What do Seniors Really Want and Search For? [SEMI...
Marketing Retirement Homes: What do Seniors Really Want and Search For? [SEMI...Marketing Retirement Homes: What do Seniors Really Want and Search For? [SEMI...
Marketing Retirement Homes: What do Seniors Really Want and Search For? [SEMI...
 
Social Media Marketing and Advertising for Summer Camps
Social Media Marketing and Advertising for Summer CampsSocial Media Marketing and Advertising for Summer Camps
Social Media Marketing and Advertising for Summer Camps
 
Private School Online Marketing Campaign
Private School Online Marketing CampaignPrivate School Online Marketing Campaign
Private School Online Marketing Campaign
 
Advertising & Marketing Trends 2014 | Marketing Retirement Communities and Se...
Advertising & Marketing Trends 2014 | Marketing Retirement Communities and Se...Advertising & Marketing Trends 2014 | Marketing Retirement Communities and Se...
Advertising & Marketing Trends 2014 | Marketing Retirement Communities and Se...
 
Increasing Engagement in Email Marketing and Social Media | Marketing Private...
Increasing Engagement in Email Marketing and Social Media | Marketing Private...Increasing Engagement in Email Marketing and Social Media | Marketing Private...
Increasing Engagement in Email Marketing and Social Media | Marketing Private...
 

Kürzlich hochgeladen

FESE Capital Markets Fact Sheet 2024 Q1.pdf
FESE Capital Markets Fact Sheet 2024 Q1.pdfFESE Capital Markets Fact Sheet 2024 Q1.pdf
FESE Capital Markets Fact Sheet 2024 Q1.pdf
MarinCaroMartnezBerg
 
Mg Road Call Girls Service: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Banga...
Mg Road Call Girls Service: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Banga...Mg Road Call Girls Service: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Banga...
Mg Road Call Girls Service: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Banga...
amitlee9823
 
Vip Mumbai Call Girls Marol Naka Call On 9920725232 With Body to body massage...
Vip Mumbai Call Girls Marol Naka Call On 9920725232 With Body to body massage...Vip Mumbai Call Girls Marol Naka Call On 9920725232 With Body to body massage...
Vip Mumbai Call Girls Marol Naka Call On 9920725232 With Body to body massage...
amitlee9823
 
Call Girls In Doddaballapur Road ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Doddaballapur Road ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night StandCall Girls In Doddaballapur Road ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Doddaballapur Road ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
amitlee9823
 
Junnasandra Call Girls: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Bangalore...
Junnasandra Call Girls: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Bangalore...Junnasandra Call Girls: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Bangalore...
Junnasandra Call Girls: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Bangalore...
amitlee9823
 
Call Girls In Attibele ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Attibele ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night StandCall Girls In Attibele ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Attibele ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
amitlee9823
 
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
amitlee9823
 
➥🔝 7737669865 🔝▻ malwa Call-girls in Women Seeking Men 🔝malwa🔝 Escorts Ser...
➥🔝 7737669865 🔝▻ malwa Call-girls in Women Seeking Men  🔝malwa🔝   Escorts Ser...➥🔝 7737669865 🔝▻ malwa Call-girls in Women Seeking Men  🔝malwa🔝   Escorts Ser...
➥🔝 7737669865 🔝▻ malwa Call-girls in Women Seeking Men 🔝malwa🔝 Escorts Ser...
amitlee9823
 
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 9155563397 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 9155563397 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 9155563397 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 9155563397 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
only4webmaster01
 
Escorts Service Kumaraswamy Layout ☎ 7737669865☎ Book Your One night Stand (B...
Escorts Service Kumaraswamy Layout ☎ 7737669865☎ Book Your One night Stand (B...Escorts Service Kumaraswamy Layout ☎ 7737669865☎ Book Your One night Stand (B...
Escorts Service Kumaraswamy Layout ☎ 7737669865☎ Book Your One night Stand (B...
amitlee9823
 
Call Girls In Hsr Layout ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Hsr Layout ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night StandCall Girls In Hsr Layout ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Hsr Layout ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
amitlee9823
 
Call Girls Bommasandra Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Bommasandra Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...Call Girls Bommasandra Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Bommasandra Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
amitlee9823
 
CHEAP Call Girls in Saket (-DELHI )🔝 9953056974🔝(=)/CALL GIRLS SERVICE
CHEAP Call Girls in Saket (-DELHI )🔝 9953056974🔝(=)/CALL GIRLS SERVICECHEAP Call Girls in Saket (-DELHI )🔝 9953056974🔝(=)/CALL GIRLS SERVICE
CHEAP Call Girls in Saket (-DELHI )🔝 9953056974🔝(=)/CALL GIRLS SERVICE
9953056974 Low Rate Call Girls In Saket, Delhi NCR
 

Kürzlich hochgeladen (20)

FESE Capital Markets Fact Sheet 2024 Q1.pdf
FESE Capital Markets Fact Sheet 2024 Q1.pdfFESE Capital Markets Fact Sheet 2024 Q1.pdf
FESE Capital Markets Fact Sheet 2024 Q1.pdf
 
Mg Road Call Girls Service: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Banga...
Mg Road Call Girls Service: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Banga...Mg Road Call Girls Service: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Banga...
Mg Road Call Girls Service: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Banga...
 
Vip Mumbai Call Girls Marol Naka Call On 9920725232 With Body to body massage...
Vip Mumbai Call Girls Marol Naka Call On 9920725232 With Body to body massage...Vip Mumbai Call Girls Marol Naka Call On 9920725232 With Body to body massage...
Vip Mumbai Call Girls Marol Naka Call On 9920725232 With Body to body massage...
 
Call Girls In Doddaballapur Road ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Doddaballapur Road ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night StandCall Girls In Doddaballapur Road ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Doddaballapur Road ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
 
Invezz.com - Grow your wealth with trading signals
Invezz.com - Grow your wealth with trading signalsInvezz.com - Grow your wealth with trading signals
Invezz.com - Grow your wealth with trading signals
 
Midocean dropshipping via API with DroFx
Midocean dropshipping via API with DroFxMidocean dropshipping via API with DroFx
Midocean dropshipping via API with DroFx
 
Junnasandra Call Girls: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Bangalore...
Junnasandra Call Girls: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Bangalore...Junnasandra Call Girls: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Bangalore...
Junnasandra Call Girls: 🍓 7737669865 🍓 High Profile Model Escorts | Bangalore...
 
VIP Model Call Girls Hinjewadi ( Pune ) Call ON 8005736733 Starting From 5K t...
VIP Model Call Girls Hinjewadi ( Pune ) Call ON 8005736733 Starting From 5K t...VIP Model Call Girls Hinjewadi ( Pune ) Call ON 8005736733 Starting From 5K t...
VIP Model Call Girls Hinjewadi ( Pune ) Call ON 8005736733 Starting From 5K t...
 
Call Girls in Sarai Kale Khan Delhi 💯 Call Us 🔝9205541914 🔝( Delhi) Escorts S...
Call Girls in Sarai Kale Khan Delhi 💯 Call Us 🔝9205541914 🔝( Delhi) Escorts S...Call Girls in Sarai Kale Khan Delhi 💯 Call Us 🔝9205541914 🔝( Delhi) Escorts S...
Call Girls in Sarai Kale Khan Delhi 💯 Call Us 🔝9205541914 🔝( Delhi) Escorts S...
 
Anomaly detection and data imputation within time series
Anomaly detection and data imputation within time seriesAnomaly detection and data imputation within time series
Anomaly detection and data imputation within time series
 
Call Girls In Attibele ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Attibele ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night StandCall Girls In Attibele ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Attibele ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
 
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
 
➥🔝 7737669865 🔝▻ malwa Call-girls in Women Seeking Men 🔝malwa🔝 Escorts Ser...
➥🔝 7737669865 🔝▻ malwa Call-girls in Women Seeking Men  🔝malwa🔝   Escorts Ser...➥🔝 7737669865 🔝▻ malwa Call-girls in Women Seeking Men  🔝malwa🔝   Escorts Ser...
➥🔝 7737669865 🔝▻ malwa Call-girls in Women Seeking Men 🔝malwa🔝 Escorts Ser...
 
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 9155563397 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 9155563397 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 9155563397 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Indiranagar Just Call 👗 9155563397 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
 
Escorts Service Kumaraswamy Layout ☎ 7737669865☎ Book Your One night Stand (B...
Escorts Service Kumaraswamy Layout ☎ 7737669865☎ Book Your One night Stand (B...Escorts Service Kumaraswamy Layout ☎ 7737669865☎ Book Your One night Stand (B...
Escorts Service Kumaraswamy Layout ☎ 7737669865☎ Book Your One night Stand (B...
 
Call me @ 9892124323 Cheap Rate Call Girls in Vashi with Real Photo 100% Secure
Call me @ 9892124323  Cheap Rate Call Girls in Vashi with Real Photo 100% SecureCall me @ 9892124323  Cheap Rate Call Girls in Vashi with Real Photo 100% Secure
Call me @ 9892124323 Cheap Rate Call Girls in Vashi with Real Photo 100% Secure
 
Call Girls In Hsr Layout ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Hsr Layout ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night StandCall Girls In Hsr Layout ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
Call Girls In Hsr Layout ☎ 7737669865 🥵 Book Your One night Stand
 
Call Girls Bommasandra Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Bommasandra Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...Call Girls Bommasandra Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
Call Girls Bommasandra Just Call 👗 7737669865 👗 Top Class Call Girl Service B...
 
BigBuy dropshipping via API with DroFx.pptx
BigBuy dropshipping via API with DroFx.pptxBigBuy dropshipping via API with DroFx.pptx
BigBuy dropshipping via API with DroFx.pptx
 
CHEAP Call Girls in Saket (-DELHI )🔝 9953056974🔝(=)/CALL GIRLS SERVICE
CHEAP Call Girls in Saket (-DELHI )🔝 9953056974🔝(=)/CALL GIRLS SERVICECHEAP Call Girls in Saket (-DELHI )🔝 9953056974🔝(=)/CALL GIRLS SERVICE
CHEAP Call Girls in Saket (-DELHI )🔝 9953056974🔝(=)/CALL GIRLS SERVICE
 

Google Analytics : Overview & Customization

  • 1. Google Analytics: Overview & Customization Thursday, May 12th, 2016 Anneline Breetzke #mktgacademy @mktgacademy
  • 2. Thank you to our sponsor www.inschoolwear.com
  • 3. Content  Introduction : Why Google Analytics?  Overview : reports layout & key metrics  4 Main Reports : Understand each category & the data they provide  Goal Conversions : Activities Important to Your Success  Customization  Segments  Dashboards  Questions
  • 5. Why Google Analytics? Without data analytics, companies are blind and deaf, wandering out onto the Web like deer on a freeway. - Geoffrey Moore “
  • 6. Question e.g. Did the website changes increase customer retention? Look for the report that provides the answer. e.g. compare avg time on site Marketing Idea e.g. Redesigning the landing page of your website. Reject Improve Keep Measure & Analyze Make recommendations & TAKE ACTION Why Google Analytics?
  • 7.  How many people visit my website?  How many visitors are local / national / international?  Do I need a mobile-friendly website?  What paid referral partners must I keep?  What marketing campaigns drive the most traffic to my website?  What times in the day are people reading my blog?  How many visitors have I converted into leads or customers?  Which social network drives the most traffic? Why Google Analytics? It can answer questions like… It does not answer WHY…
  • 8. Overview A look at the default report layout
  • 9. Four main reports. Seven key metrics. Set regular emails of the data. Export to Excel etc. Specify date ranges, including the ability to compare timelines. View the data in different increments. Main navigation menu.
  • 10. 7 most important website statistics Key Metrics
  • 11. Sessions A group of interactions that take place on your website within a given time frame (30 min). A user can have multiple sessions. Users The unique individual (unique IP address) that visits your site. Pageviews An instance of a page being loaded by a browser. The total number of pages viewed; repeated views of a single page are also counted. Pages/Session The average number of pages seen per session. Sign of how curious people are about your school/camp. Avg. Session Duration The amount of time spent on your site per session. Bounce Rate The percentage of single page visits (or web sessions). The number of visits in which a person leaves your website from the landing page without browsing any further. % New Sessions Percentage of new visitors (vs returning visitors) to your site. Key Metrics
  • 12. “Microsoft study finds human attention span has dropped to just 8 seconds.” - Indo Asian News Service , 18 May 2015 Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
  • 13.  Bounces will never turn into conversions.  The lower the bounce rate, the higher the pool of potential conversions. Why do you want a lower bounce rate? Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
  • 14. Key Metrics — Bounce Rate Example 1  100 users visited your site  60% of those 100 bounced = 60 bounced sessions  100 users – 60 = 40 engaged visits = 40 potential conversions 100 60.06%
  • 15. 75% increase in sales! Key Metrics — Bounce Rate Example 2 100 30%  100 users visited your site  30% of those 100 bounced = 30 bounced sessions  100 users – 30 = 70 engaged visits = 70 potential conversions
  • 16. You can increase your conversions for the same amount of advertising spend. Tip: Paid bounce rate should be lower than your organic bounce rates. Analyze your bounce rates with all your advertising referral partners. Why do you want a lower bounce rate? Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
  • 17. Example Key Metrics — Bounce Rate
  • 18. 4 Main Reports Understand each category & the data they provide
  • 19. Audience Who is coming to your site? Acquisition Where are they coming from? Behavior What are they doing on your site? Conversions What is working and what isn’t?
  • 20. Audience 4 Main Reports — Audience Location Country? Province? City? Mobile/Device Desktop? Phone? Tablet? Demographics Gender? Age? Language? Interests Movie Lovers? In- market Segments? (Adwords) Browser/OS Chrome/Safari? iOS/Android? Frequency New vs Returning? Visits? Pageviews? Time on site? Who is coming to your site?
  • 21.
  • 22. Approach Google Analytics with a question: What percent of our users access our site via their mobile device? 4 Main Reports — Audience
  • 23.
  • 24. That leads to another question: Are mobile visitors less or more engaged? 4 Main Reports — Audience
  • 25.
  • 26.
  • 27.  View your mobile site landing pages  Consider areas to improve  Set up a schedule to test those changes  Analyze the data …and start the process again. What action steps can we take to improve mobile phone engagement? 4 Main Reports — Audience
  • 28. Traffic Sources/ Channels Organic/Paid? Social Media? Referrals? Engagement Bounce Rate? Pages/Session? Adwords Campaigns? Keywords? SEO What queries users typed to reach your site? Landing pages? Social How many people shared your page on Facebook? (Goals) Acquisition How are they getting to your site? 4 Main Reports — Acquisition
  • 29. Source Origin of your website traffic (includes custom utm_source traffic) google / organic bing / cpc ourkids.net / referral expatarrivals.com / referral Medium The category of the traffic source (includes custom utm_medium traffic) google / organic bing / cpc ourkids.net / referral expatarrivals.com / referral Understand your traffic 4 Main Reports — Acquisition
  • 30.
  • 31. Organic Search SEO traffic from unpaid search engines (e.g. Google or Bing) Direct Users type your URL directly into their browser (or from a bookmark) Referral Visitors referred by links on other websites (that are not social networks) Email Sessions that have a medium of “email” – custom: utm_medium=email Social Traffic from approximately 400 social networks (that are not tagged as ads). Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn etc. Display Paid – can be made up of any number of traffic sources as long as the medium is “display”, “cpm” or ”banner”. Paid Search Paid – where the medium is “cpc” or “ppc”. Google Adwords, Bing Ads, Facebook Ads etc. 7 Default Marketing Channels 4 Main Reports — Acquisition
  • 32. Behavior Flow Visualize the path users take from one page/event to another? Site Content How often do users enter/exit this page? Site Speed Which pages are taking too long to load? Site Search What are users entering in the search box on your site? Events How many clicks on a link/button or video player? Experiments Which version of a page performs best? 4 Main Reports — Behavior Behavior What are they doing on your site?
  • 33.
  • 34.
  • 35. Goals How many users signed up for your newsletter? Funnel Visualization Where did users exit the funnel before reaching the Destination goal? eCommerce Why are users exiting before they checkout? Conversions How many conversions? Conversion Rate? Compare campaigns. 4 Main Reports — Conversions Conversions What is working on your site?
  • 36. Activities important to your success Goal Conversions
  • 37. A goal is a completed activity on your site (a conversion)  a completed sign up form  a completed purchase (eCommerce sites)  a click to play a video Goal Conversions Goals provide essential information
  • 38. Without this information it is almost impossible to evaluate the effectiveness of your online business and online marketing campaigns. Goal Conversions Goals provide essential information
  • 39.  You can track different types of goals The Destination goal is the easiest to implement and track. Once a specific page is loaded (e.g. Thank you for registering! page), the goal is completed.  For the Destination goal you need a destination URL that loads after a user completes the action. Goal Conversions Type of goals
  • 41. 1. Click on Admin > Goals (under View) Goal Conversions Setting up goals
  • 42. 2. Click on +NEW GOAL Goal Conversions Setting up goals
  • 43. 3. Click on Custom > Continue Goal Conversions Setting up goals
  • 44. 4. Name your goal something descriptive > Select Destination > Select Continue Goal Conversions Setting up goals
  • 45. 5. Enter your destination page’s URI (the piece of the URL that comes after the .com or .ca of your domain) E.g. /thankyou.html > Choose Begins with > Click Save Goal Conversions Setting up goals
  • 46. 6. Assign a monetary value (filling this in populates reports in analytics that are otherwise empty, and it helps in calculating ROI) GA does not update values retrospectively. Choose your value system upfront, or make a note if you change it. Goal Conversions Setting up goals
  • 47. • Google Analytics Gallery Import • Setup Custom Segments • Setup Custom Dashboards Customization
  • 50. Google Analytics Gallery Occam’s Razor Awesomeness – Segments, Reports & Dashboards
  • 51. Google Analytics Gallery Occam’s Razor Awesomeness – Segments, Reports & Dashboards These customizations can be deleted/removed from your view if you no longer want to use them.
  • 52. Google Analytics Gallery Occam’s Razor Awesomeness – Segments, Reports & Dashboards
  • 53. Again, you approach with a question: What is the number of users per operating system on mobile devices? Google Analytics Gallery Custom reports - AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2 vs standard Devices
  • 54. Custom report: AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2 Google Analytics Gallery Custom reports - AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2 vs standard Devices Standard Devices report: Acquisition > Mobile > Devices
  • 55. Custom report: AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2 Google Analytics Gallery Custom reports - AK: Mobile Performance Analysis v2 vs standard Devices
  • 57. Setup Custom Segments Think of segments as filters – viewing your data based on specific criteria Approach with your question: How many visitors are highly interested in my content/site?
  • 58. Setup Custom Segments Think of segments as filters – viewing your data based on specific criteria
  • 59. Setup Custom Segments Think of segments as filters – viewing your data based on specific criteria
  • 60. Setup Custom Segments Think of segments as filters – you can add multiple filters
  • 61. Setup Custom Segments Segments are easy to remove (they don’t delete or change your data)
  • 64. Setup Custom Dashboards Dashboards are a collection of reports that you can view in one glance. Dashboards are comprised of widgets.
  • 65. Setup Custom Dashboards Dashboards are a collection of reports that you can view in one glance.
  • 66. Setup Custom Dashboards Dashboards are a collection of reports that you can view in one glance.
  • 67.  Metric. This widget displays as a single number, with or without decimals depending on the metric.  Timeline. This widget uses a line graph to display how a metric changes over time. It can even be used to compare two metrics against each other.  Geomap. This widget displays a plain white atlas of the world and uses various shades of blue to show which country each metric occurs in. When you create a new dashboard, you’re prompted to add a widget to it right away. Let’s take a moment to go over what each widget does:  Table. This widget displays a simple table; max 2 columns and 10 rows.  Pie. This widget displays a simple pie chart that can have as many as 6 slices.  Bar. This widget displays a typical bar graph that can have as many as 9 bars. Setup Custom Dashboards
  • 68. Setup Custom Dashboards What are common questions you ask: Who are my top referrals? How many visitors from a specific city? How many visitors completed a goal? How many visitors came from your newsletter? Visits by social network? Dashboards are a collection of reports that you can view in one glance.
  • 69. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 70. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example Who are my top referrals? Which ‘person’ (source) is referring (medium) the most traffic (sessions) to my site?
  • 71. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example Who are my top referrals? Which ‘person’ (source) is referring (medium) the most traffic (sessions) to my site?
  • 72. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 73. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example Which ‘person’ (source) is referring (medium) the most traffic (sessions) to my site?
  • 74. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 75. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 76. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 77. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 78. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 79. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 80. Setup Custom Dashboards Top referrals widget example
  • 81. Setup Custom Dashboards Keep adding widgets that answer your questions
  • 82.  Monthly Summary – https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=3kH8xmYaQ2SRnEx_NjxgAA  SEO Dashboard – https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=7ZlJXPE7Rh6D4h8nI6QFWw  Mobile Analytics – https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=VWZQkJEGRHaZBhNLhO2w-A  Site Performance – https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=zghuZw7cQtugzNBSbDAWqw  Social Media – https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=2qZVTPjsQ9GJE98fzFL6bQ  Visitors Technology – https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/template?uid=NZZ00lHtSWqyzlO1N9F24w Setup Custom Dashboards Bonus – Custom Dashboards to get your started
  • 83. Our Kids vs Google Adwords Article with step-by-step case study is available as a free download on the Marketing Academy website along with the replay of the webinar.
  • 84. Thank you to our sponsor www.inschoolwear.com
  • 85. Brand, brand, everywhere! Questions? Contact: Anneline Breetzke anneline@ourkidsmedia.com #mktgacademy @mktgacademy The slides will be available in a few days at: ourkidsmedia.com/marketing Our Kids Marketing Academy — for Camps & Private Schools · www.ourkidsmedia.com/marketing

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. One of the biggest skills gaps is analytics… the ability to measure results and understand data into actionable steps. Often read reports incorrectly. Line going up = happy, going down = unhappy. That is just reporting – it isn’t using the data to make changes. For any online venture, data is precious. It can give you insights which can turn fortunes for your business and break a lot of myths for you. Companies keep on wasting money on marketing, shuffling between agencies, hiring and firing them when they don’t deliver results. They neglect the fact that a simple answer might have been residing in the data.
  2. Use the tool WITH A PURPOSE Ask a question and find the report that answers it (test) Your marketing is only affected when you take an action based on data reports Analysis is when you make a recommendation based on the data (actionable steps) DECISION SUPPORT TOOL Question – Answer - Action
  3. But the answers are only ‘interesting’ they don’t change anything. You use the answers to make decisions, to take actions.
  4. Who is coming? Where are they coming from? What are they doing? What’s working? Visitor = User Visit = Session
  5. Who is coming? Where are they coming from? What are they doing? What’s working? Visitor = User Visit = Session
  6. Desktop 84% Mobile 13% Tablet 4%
  7. Who is coming? Where are they coming from? What are they doing? What’s working? Visitor = User Visit = Session
  8. ENGAGMENT METRICS – from the Behavior Reports Bounce Rate Pages / Session Avg. Session Duration Tablet – less bounce and longer on site
  9. ENGAGMENT METRICS – from the Behavior Reports Bounce Rate --- tablet much less than the average Avg. Session Duration --- longer on the site Pages / Session --- tablet quite a few more pages than the others Tablet – tend to be night time visitors What next?
  10. Check the landing pages design for mobile visitors Consider which changes to make to improve engagement Create a schedule for testing
  11. Source: Every referral to a website has an origin, or source. Possible sources include: Google (the name of a search engine), facebook.com (the name of a referring site), the name of one of your newsletters, and direct (visits from people who typed your URL directly into their browser, or who had bookmarked your site).   Medium: Every referral to a website also has a medium. Possible mediums include: organic (unpaid search), cpc (cost per click, i.e. paid search), referral (a website linking to yours), email (the name of a custom medium you can create), none (direct visits have a medium of none).   Keyword: The keywords that visitors searched are usually captured in the case of search engine referrals. This is true for both organic and paid search. If the visitor is signed into a Google account, however, Keyword will have the value (not provided).   Campaign: is the name of the referring AdWords campaign (if you are running paid search ads) or a custom campaign that you have created.
  12. There are two types of channels in Google Analytics: #1 Default marketing channels (or default channels) #2 Custom marketing channels (or custom channels) Following are default marketing channels: 1. Organic Search 2. Paid Search 3. Display 4. Direct 5. Referral 6. Social 7. Email 8. (Other) -- utm_medium=(not set)
  13. Publish more content on those topics or make sure you’re linking from your high traffic pages to these very engaging pages.
  14. What is the top path through your website – if your website were a store, you’d be able to see the most popular path people take through your retail section. City – you’d know where the busier parts are, which are the most common exit ramps etc. You should know what your most popular path is through your website. Combines data from several reports (drop offs, homepage is a /) Shows you your top page paths… ACTIONS: Polish up the pages in that top path – if you only have 10mins to work on your website this month, work on those Rebalance your navigation – consider removing your least popular navigation, or rename it?? Make sure the billboards are on the highway (videos, testimonials….) Most powerful content are video testimonials. Put them on the most popular pages. Get rid of your testimonials page
  15. Without this information it is almost impossible to evaluate the effectiveness of your online business and online marketing campaigns.
  16. Without this information it is almost impossible to evaluate the effectiveness of your online business and online marketing campaigns.
  17. Type #1 Destination Goals These Goals will allow you to track a specific URL, and each time someone goes to that URL, they initiate the Goal. This is a great tracking option for comment thank you pages and confirmation pages. Once you choose Destination, you will be taken to the Goals Details screen where you can get more specific. Type #2 Duration Goals This one is pretty self-explanatory – it allows you to track how many people stay on your site for a specified amount of time. Type #3 Pages/Screens Per Session The third type of Goal is similar to the duration goal, and easy to set up. Instead of tracking how long people are on your site, you will be tracking the number of pages they see before they bounce. Type #4 Event Goals The type of goal gives you lots of options, and is a bit more complicated than the last 2 we discussed. Tracking Goals requires a bit of JavaScript to be added to whatever it is you want to track. Find out how to set that up here. Once you have your events set up you can track elements such as: links, downloads, videos, widget usage.
  18. These Goals will allow you to track a specific URL, and each time someone goes to that URL, they initiate the Goal. This is a great tracking option for comment thank you pages and confirmation pages. Once you choose Destination, you will be taken to the Goals Details screen where you can get more specific.
  19. Click the Case Sensitive box ONLY if you have the lowercase and uppercase characters in your URL pointing to DIFFERENT pages. Most times you will leave this box unchecked. The funnel option - see exactly how people are moving through each step of your sales funnel. The funnel option really only works well if you require your readers to move through a series of pages to get to your specified URL.
  20. Eg. Out of 100 admission package requests, 1 of those enroll = avg conversion rate of 1% * Average tuition = $1000 * avg conversion rate (1) * avg tuition ($1000) = $1000 * Goal value = $1000/100 requests = $10 Average tuition x average conversion rate = goal value The funnel option really only works well if you require your readers to move through a series of pages to get to your specified URL.
  21. Google created the Solutions Gallery to help deepen the Google Analytics experience. It allows users to upload and download dashboards, custom reports, goals, and segments to form a public database with thousands of ways to look at your Google Analytics data. This enormous free resource allows people to capitalize on the work of others. http://www.wholewhale.com/tips/use-google-analytics-solutions-gallery/
  22. Who is coming? Where are they coming from? What are they doing? What’s working? Visitor = User Visit = Session