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Game Of Data
Data Driven Game Design
Tehran Game Convention 2018
Masih Alagheband
BI Manager at “Medrick Game Studio”
Opening Disclaimers
2
 This is a data talk and it’s about F2P games.
 If you don’t like graphs, numbers, and formulas
you’re not going to like this talk.
 You can get slides from my linkedin:
linkedin.com/masihalagheband
Which game idea
will be successful?
Let’s analyse your problems…
3
Which core game-play
can satisfy most of our
target audience?
4
What’s the
Core Game-play?
Core game-play:
Management+attack/defence
Features:
Competition: -Leauge
Exploration: -Goblin camps
Collection: -M.M.
Socialization: -Clan
5
Main Gameplay: Waterfall
6
Core Gameplay; Features++: Agile
Requirements
Design
Development
Testing
Deployment
Risk
RiskRisk Risk
Why core gameplay is
important?
7
8
1. We can establish our organic players as the
loyal players in our games and expanding
our core game-play.
9
2. Core game-play’s attraction
is one of the main monetization
stratgies alongside meta game.
Day 1 Day 3 Day 7 Day 14 Day 30
22% 11% 9% 7% 4%
64% 53% 47% 42% 34%Clash Royale
Lords Mobile1
2
How can we analyze
core gameplay?
10
AcqusitionRetentionEngagementMonetization Funnle
11
Concept
Engagement
Retention
Launch Hit
LTV > CAC
Monetize
Strategy
Fake Launch Soft Launch
Pre
Production
Data Is
Coming…
12
Retention
Churn
FTUE
DAU
Session
0.
ARPU
ARPPU
ARPDAU
Convertion Rate
LTV
CAC
?
Gone in 60 Seconds !!!
1.
HOW TO KEEP NEW PLAYERS HAPPY IN F2P?
3 Sesions x 3 Days
%who will Churn
15
30% 85%
60Secs 3Sessions 3Days 30Days 90Days
70%50%
Days
75
60
52
46
41 37 34 31 29
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
%Whowillchurn
# Sessions
3X3 Rule
The more session, less churn Sessions
10%
1 2 3
4 5 6
7 8 9
Understanding Day1
Retention
First Time User Experience(FTUE) in your game Analysis
2.
17
Day2
Retention
Is King !!!
Retention
20% 20.40% 20.60% 21.50% 21.70% 22.20% 23.20%
25%
Install Home Screen Start Tutorial Complete
Tutorial
First Leve Up Claim 1st
Reward
Start Mission
1
Compelete
Mission 1
%Day1 retention for players that reach each FTUE step
#Player Day n
Played tournament 500 35%
Level 5 & Didn’t
play tournament 300 30%
25%
31.00%
18.00%
Compelete
Mission 2
Upgrade
Character
Side Mission
%Day1 retention for cohorts post FTUE
Why day7 retention is just
as important as day1?
Players who pay later, pay more
3.
19
Day2
▪ There are more payers on day 7 than on day 1
▪ People who pay later are more valuable
▪ Day 1 is a measure of FTUE, day 7 is a measure
of overall game enjoyment
You need a D7 retention rate
of at least 10%, with 10% of
these players being payers
1M installs in 1Month
We are not just ‘buying’ single users.
Those users are people with their own social networks
4.
K= Number of Invites x Conversion Rate
K = 10 x 5% = 0.5
21
Exclude organic growth, cross-promotion, paid installs and app store influence
Hunting whales
 Whales can spend $100 to $1000s
in their lifespam!(5% of Spenders)
 Whales can be anyone; but they may not even know
that they are whales!
5.
23
ARPU= 2%(Paid Share) x $5 = $0.10
24
Maximize the potential of
whales strategy:
 Focus on building better
long term engagement
 Creating rewarding
experience for all
spenders as an effective
strategy (PRM)
More Payments
More Whales
One-size-fits-all
approach just won’t work!
 Player Segmentation
 PRM: Player Relation Management
6.
26
Determine which criteria you want to segment:
 Low day1 retention: on-boarding
 Retention on level3: analyze the health levels of
players entering the level
Create your segments with
measure of competency:
 Acquiring XP
 Competitive players
 Resource usage
 Purchase decisions
 Momentum
 Reward outcomes
 Collaboration
Red players are loosing lives and failing to complete missions
$ PRM $
Data
Validation
27
27
 Users: only your target Audience
and your target market.
 Cohort size: 1K for engagement
and 3K for monetization
 Definitions: for example different
ways for retention calculation
 Event Structures: SDK integration
and event tracking
WORK WITH
RAW DATA
Add a “Game Analyst”
to yor team
29
Thanks!
Any questions?
You can find me at
▪ Linkedin.com/masih.alagheband
▪ M.alagheband@medrick.info
▪ Skype: masih.alagheband
30

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Game of data: Data driven game design

  • 1. Game Of Data Data Driven Game Design Tehran Game Convention 2018 Masih Alagheband BI Manager at “Medrick Game Studio”
  • 2. Opening Disclaimers 2  This is a data talk and it’s about F2P games.  If you don’t like graphs, numbers, and formulas you’re not going to like this talk.  You can get slides from my linkedin: linkedin.com/masihalagheband
  • 3. Which game idea will be successful? Let’s analyse your problems… 3
  • 4. Which core game-play can satisfy most of our target audience? 4
  • 5. What’s the Core Game-play? Core game-play: Management+attack/defence Features: Competition: -Leauge Exploration: -Goblin camps Collection: -M.M. Socialization: -Clan 5
  • 6. Main Gameplay: Waterfall 6 Core Gameplay; Features++: Agile Requirements Design Development Testing Deployment Risk RiskRisk Risk
  • 7. Why core gameplay is important? 7
  • 8. 8 1. We can establish our organic players as the loyal players in our games and expanding our core game-play.
  • 9. 9 2. Core game-play’s attraction is one of the main monetization stratgies alongside meta game. Day 1 Day 3 Day 7 Day 14 Day 30 22% 11% 9% 7% 4% 64% 53% 47% 42% 34%Clash Royale Lords Mobile1 2
  • 10. How can we analyze core gameplay? 10
  • 11. AcqusitionRetentionEngagementMonetization Funnle 11 Concept Engagement Retention Launch Hit LTV > CAC Monetize Strategy Fake Launch Soft Launch Pre Production
  • 14. Gone in 60 Seconds !!! 1. HOW TO KEEP NEW PLAYERS HAPPY IN F2P?
  • 15. 3 Sesions x 3 Days %who will Churn 15 30% 85% 60Secs 3Sessions 3Days 30Days 90Days 70%50% Days 75 60 52 46 41 37 34 31 29 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 %Whowillchurn # Sessions 3X3 Rule The more session, less churn Sessions 10% 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
  • 16. Understanding Day1 Retention First Time User Experience(FTUE) in your game Analysis 2.
  • 17. 17 Day2 Retention Is King !!! Retention 20% 20.40% 20.60% 21.50% 21.70% 22.20% 23.20% 25% Install Home Screen Start Tutorial Complete Tutorial First Leve Up Claim 1st Reward Start Mission 1 Compelete Mission 1 %Day1 retention for players that reach each FTUE step #Player Day n Played tournament 500 35% Level 5 & Didn’t play tournament 300 30% 25% 31.00% 18.00% Compelete Mission 2 Upgrade Character Side Mission %Day1 retention for cohorts post FTUE
  • 18. Why day7 retention is just as important as day1? Players who pay later, pay more 3.
  • 19. 19 Day2 ▪ There are more payers on day 7 than on day 1 ▪ People who pay later are more valuable ▪ Day 1 is a measure of FTUE, day 7 is a measure of overall game enjoyment You need a D7 retention rate of at least 10%, with 10% of these players being payers
  • 20. 1M installs in 1Month We are not just ‘buying’ single users. Those users are people with their own social networks 4. K= Number of Invites x Conversion Rate K = 10 x 5% = 0.5
  • 21. 21 Exclude organic growth, cross-promotion, paid installs and app store influence
  • 22. Hunting whales  Whales can spend $100 to $1000s in their lifespam!(5% of Spenders)  Whales can be anyone; but they may not even know that they are whales! 5.
  • 23. 23 ARPU= 2%(Paid Share) x $5 = $0.10
  • 24. 24 Maximize the potential of whales strategy:  Focus on building better long term engagement  Creating rewarding experience for all spenders as an effective strategy (PRM) More Payments More Whales
  • 25. One-size-fits-all approach just won’t work!  Player Segmentation  PRM: Player Relation Management 6.
  • 26. 26 Determine which criteria you want to segment:  Low day1 retention: on-boarding  Retention on level3: analyze the health levels of players entering the level Create your segments with measure of competency:  Acquiring XP  Competitive players  Resource usage  Purchase decisions  Momentum  Reward outcomes  Collaboration Red players are loosing lives and failing to complete missions $ PRM $
  • 28. 27  Users: only your target Audience and your target market.  Cohort size: 1K for engagement and 3K for monetization  Definitions: for example different ways for retention calculation  Event Structures: SDK integration and event tracking WORK WITH RAW DATA
  • 29. Add a “Game Analyst” to yor team 29
  • 30. Thanks! Any questions? You can find me at ▪ Linkedin.com/masih.alagheband ▪ M.alagheband@medrick.info ▪ Skype: masih.alagheband 30

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. 54% game with d7 spenders only have ARPDAU 0.10$
  2. K=invites*convertion rate = 1 nafar = 5 nafar befreste * 20% yani yeki ghabul kne
  3. Wom – tracked referrals – increased search – untracked paid installs = increased app store discovery
  4. Whales spending patterns – 5% spenderha va 0.1% kolplayer ha – tasir promotion bar rooye revenue: life cycle, time, hang over effect
  5. Whales spending patterns – 5% spenderha va 0.1% kolplayer ha – tasir promotion bar rooye revenue: life cycle, time, hang over effect
  6. Red players are loosing lives and failing to complete missions. Mishe farziye dasht ke daran leaving game