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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
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A Guide to Creating Paid
Online Advertising Campaigns
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Introduction
Online advertising is a great way to
grow your small business and
increase your brand awareness.
By driving more traffic to your
website, you are increasing your
prospects and creating new
business opportunities.
2
Welcome!
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
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Introduction
This tutorial will provide learners the tools to fully understand,
and create online advertising campaigns. This can help
generate new business, and increase sales.
The objectives covered in the module will teach small business
employees and owners, the key vocabulary, tools, strategies,
and analysis techniques needed to create successful paid ad
campaigns.
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Introduction
Before starting this course, you should have basic knowledge of
how to use the following:
• Internet browsers
• Social media networks (Twitter and Facebook)
• Search engines (Google and Bing)
• Google Analytics
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
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Introduction
Before starting this course, you should have access to the
following:
• A computer or laptop
• A stable connection to the internet
• Pen and paper
• Access to Facebook, Twitter, Bing, and Google
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
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Introduction
Timing:
This tutorial is self-paced. Each unit is designed to take 5 minutes
to complete, so the entire tutorial should take 30 minutes.
Navigation:
• The list of orange buttons on the left hand side will allow you to
jump to different areas in the tutorial
• The green navigation buttons in the bottom right allow you to
move to the:
• Next slide
• Previous slide
• Tutorial Home
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Tutorial Guide
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
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Assessment
• The light bulb icon indicates you have reached an assessment
activity
• Some assessment items are brainstorming with pen and paper.
Others are multiple choice questions.
• Before moving to the following Unit, answer the assessment
questions to the best of your knowledge
• Correct answers will display a check
• Incorrect answers will display an X
• Once you have completed the assessment, click the right arrow
to move to the next unit.
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Tutorial Guide (Continued)
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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There are 5 units in this tutorial:
• Unit 1– Key Terms and Providers: You will be learning the vocabulary associated with
creating a online advertising campaign
• Unit 2 – Contextual Advertising Units: You will learn how to identity different types
on online advertising, and when they are most effective
• Unit 3 – Strategic Campaign Planning: You will learn how to decide on what kind of
campaign you need to create to meet your goals
• Unit 4 – Design and Copywriting: You will learn the best practices when creating
your advertising campaign assets
• Unit 5 – Gauging Ad Effectiveness: You will learn how to measure whether an ad is
successful, and is reaching your goals
8
Introduction
This tutorial is intended to teach the entire lifecycle of a paid online advertising campaign.
It is recommended to take each unit in order.
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9
Take Pre- Test
Please take a moment to take the pre-test to
see you existing knowledge of internet
advertising
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• Paid online advertising is a way for
small businesses to drive traffic and
increase brand exposure, by
promoting advertising to targeted
audiences.
• Paid online advertising is
also commonly know now
as Contextual Advertising10
Introduction
In this unit, you will be learning the foundation vocabulary
needed to understand paid online advertising.
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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Cost Structures
PPC: Pay Per Click- A cost structure used by advertising
networks in which the advertiser only pays when the ad being
promoted is clicked on
CPC: Cost Per Click- This is the amount you are charged each
time someone clicks on your ad. The cost is generally defined by
the amount of competition in a category, and the amount of
exposure you are willing to pay for. (Ad spend/clicks)
.
Example: I created a PPC ad and bid $15 for the day. Three
people clicked on my ad, so my CPC was $5
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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Cost Structures
Impressions- This is the amount views your ad receives
Campaign Reach- Generally used in Facebook, this is the amount of
individuals that view your ad
CPM: Cost per 1,000- This is a cost structure in which you pay
per every 1,000 impressions of your ad (Impressions/ad spend).
Example: I created an ad with a campaign reach of 2,000 people for
$100 dollars. My CPM is 50$
.
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
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Results Measurements
Conversion- This is a customer taking an action that you have set as
a pre-determined goal. For e-commerce this may be making a
purchase in your online store. For B2B this may be someone
completing a sign up form.
CPA: Cost Per Acquisition: This is how much it costs to get a
conversion from a viewer (ad spend/conversion).
Example: My conversion goal will be for viewers to click on my ad
and make a purchase from my online store. I paid 50$ for my ad,
and 2 viewers clicked on my ad and made a purchase in my store.
My CPA is 25$
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
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Results Measurements
CTR: Click through rate: This is the rate at which you ad was seen
and was clicked on (impressions/clicks). The higher the CTR, the
more effective your ad.
Example: My ad received 1,000 impressions and 100 people clicked
through. My CTR is 10%
.
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Contextual AdvertisingConversion Marketing
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
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Given the definition, match the correct term:
Online advertising is now commonly known as ________:
15
Assessment
Search Engine MarketingDisplay Advertising
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CTRCPA
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Assessment
SEMPPC
Given the selection of acronyms, match the correct
definition.
This cost structure of advertising is also known as “Paid
Search”, this is within search engines:
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Assessment
SEMPPC
Given the selection of acronyms, match the correct
definition.
The percentage of viewers that click on an ad is known
as:
1/17
ConversionCompletion
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Assessment
Offer ClaimImpression
When a viewer completes an action you have set as a goal
it is referred to as a:
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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Contextual advertising consists of various ad platforms where
businesses can purchase ad space. Each platform offers unique
features, and types of advertisements.
Contextual ad networks are broken down into two main
categories:
• Search Engine Ad Networks – Ads are served within the search
engines, and websites the search engines have partnerships
with
• Social Media Ad Networks – Ads are served within the social
media platforms
By learning different ad unit options, you we be prepared to start
strategizing the best campaign for your business.
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Introduction
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
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SEM: Search
Engine Marketing-
Also known as
“Paid Search”, this
is paid promotion
of ads showing up
in the top,
bottom, or sidebar
of search results.
Types of Contextual Advertising
22
Click on the image to see the SEM ads
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Types of Contextual Advertising
Display ads- Often called “banner ads” these have an
image linking to the advertisers website
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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Owned by Google, AdWords serves paid ads through its
search engine. Ads are served on a CPC or CPM basis, with
the ability to target demographics, or devices.
Google AdWords
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
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SEM Ads
Google AdWords Ad Types
25
YouTube Ads – Google has now owns
YouTube and serves video ads through
the social media channel
Display Ads
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A starting guide to creating paid online
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Owned by a partnership with search engines Bing and Yahoo, this
platform is also known as the Yahoo! Bing network. Promoted ads are
served on both search engines. Ads are served on a CPC or CPM
basis, with the ability to target demographics, or devices.
Bing Ads
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
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Bing Ad Types
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SEM Ads Display Ads
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Assessment
SEMPromoted Trend
Identify the search engine ad unit based on the image
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Assessment
SEMPromoted Trend
Identify the search engine ad unit based on the image
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A starting guide to creating paid online
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This ad platform hosts ads either in the right-hand side bar of
viewers Facebook page, or as promoted content within a viewer’s
newsfeed. Ads are served on a CPC, CPA, or Campaign reach basis.
This can direct the viewer to the company’s Facebook page, or
website.
Facebook Ad Manager
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
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Facebook Ad Types
37
Promoted post-
Can pay to boost
content that you
post on your
company Facebook
page
Domain Ad– This
is a display ad in
the right side bar
that promotes
either a Facebook
page or website
Website
Conversion–
Encourages the
viewer to take
an action on
your website
Click to Website –
Gets people to
click through to
you website
A starting guide to creating paid online
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Facebook Ad Types
Event Response
Ad – Encourages
viewers to sign up
for your event 38
Video Ad –
Streaming
video ad
Offer Claims –
Can create offers
for people to
redeem in your
store
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
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Twitter Ads
This ad platform hosts ads in the right-hand side bar or within
the twitter feed.
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Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
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Twitter Ad Types
Promoted trends
– This appears
within the list of
what is trending
next to the
twitter timeline.
Trends are
tailored to the
viewer based on
their location and
who they follow
40
Promoted
account – This
encourages the
viewer to follow
your business
account, once
they become a
follower, they
will be able to
see all of your
tweets
Promoted tweets – This appears in
the viewer’s twitter feed, along
with regular tweets
Page Like AdDomain Ad
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Assessment
Website ConversionPromoted Trend
Identity the social media ad unit based on the image:
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Promoted PostPromoted Account
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Assessment
Promoted TweetPromoted Trend
Identity the social media ad unit based on the image:
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Introduction
Creating goals for your paid ads is crucial to you success
within online advertising. There are many considerations to
keep in mind when creating an advertising strategy.
These are the aspects of strategy this unit focuses on:
• Goals
• Audience
• Keywords
• Medium
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Goals
Decide what a conversion will be for your campaign, this will
ensure you can gauge the success of your campaign. Some
examples of conversions are:
• Completed sign-up form/email address capture
• Online purchase
• Increased social media following
• Increased traffic to your website
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Audience
Advertising to the correct demographic can help you from
wasting ad dollars. With paid ads, you can target your
general audience, or select specific sub-sets within that
audience.
Often the more targeted your ads, the more effective they
can be. If you are unsure as to who is visiting your website,
Google analytics help provide this insight.
Examples:
• General: People that have an interest in
Landrovers
• Subset: Males 25-45 within the Florida area that
have an interest in Landrovers 49
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Keywords
Keyword planning is especially important for SEM. By bidding on
keywords within search engines, you ad will be shown when
viewers key in those terms. You may have an idea of the
keywords your audience is searching. If not, here are some ways
to find them:
• Look at the keywords bringing in organic traffic in
Google Anaytics
• Use Google’s free Keyword Planner:
https://adwords.google.com/KeywordPlanner
Example keywords:
For a Landrover Parts Dealer these would be keywords:
Landrover, RangeRover, Rover Parts, Landrover Parts,
Landrover Engine, Landrover, Muffler, ect.
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Assessment
Using you pen and paper, come up with a list of
10 keywords that best describe your business
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Medium
Choose your medium: Now that you have identified the “what”
and “Whom” you need to choose how you are going to get your
message to your audience. Choose an advertising platform, and
ad type for you campaign. (See unit 3 for options).
Example:
• Website conversion ad on Facebook encouraging viewers to
sign-up for my email list
• SEM ad placed in Bing Ads
52
Completed Newsletter
Sign Up
Increased Social Media
Following
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Assessment
Completed Online
Purchase
Increased Organic
Website Traffic
When trying to increase your email database, identify the
most effective strategy:
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Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
55
Results
Incorrect, please try again.
Promoted trend on
Twitter
Facebook website
conversion ad
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 3: Strategic Planning
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
56
Assessment
SEM ad in Google,
targeting keywords
Display Ad on Columbia
tourism website
When trying to reach viewers looking for landscaping in
Columbia, S.C., identify the most effective strategy:
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
57
Results
Correct! Good Job!
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
58
Results
Incorrect, please try again.
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Introduction
After you have chosen what type of ad you want to create, you
need to think about what message and graphics will produce the
highest conversions.
In this unit, you will learn the best practices for ad design and
copywriting to help maximize click through rates
59
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Copywriting
Copywriting: Ad copy should be brief and to the point, given
most viewers will only glance at your ad. Most ads have
characters limits (ex. Adwords SEM ad headline allows for 25
characters), so it is important to have a strong call-to-action
(CTA).
Example:
RoverLand Parts- Low Prices, in stock, and ready to ship!
60
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Design
If you are using display advertising, your messaging needs to be
clear, and not lost within the graphic.
Considerations:
• Only use high-resolutions images, that are the correct
dimensions (this will be based on the type of ad and ad
platform selected)
• Keep typography in mind. You should have a clear easy to
read call to action, that encourages the viewer to convert.
• Be mindful of your audience, and that the image is
appropriate for the demographic you are targeting.
61
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Examples
62
Good Copywriting: Strong
CTA, brief and to the point
copy
Bad Copywriting: Too much
copy, no strong CTA
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Examples
63
Good Design: Graphic helps
sell the product with use of
typography and high
resolution image
Bad Design: No use of
typography, image does not
help sell the service
Have a strong CTAChoose an appropriate
hi-resolution image
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
64
Assessment
Reduce Ad Clutter
Use an appropriate
amount of characters
Given the ad below, identify the best option for producing a
higher CTR:
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
65
Results
Correct! Good Job!
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
66
Results
Incorrect, please try again.
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Assessment
Given the ad below, identify the best option for producing a
higher CTR:
Choose an appropriate
hi-resolution image
Have a strong CTA
Use an appropriate
amount of characters
Reduce ad clutter
67
Have a strong CTAChoose an appropriate
hi-resolution image
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
68
Assessment
Reduce Ad Clutter
Use an appropriate
amount of characters
Given the ad below, identify the best option for producing a
higher CTR:
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
69
Results
Correct! Good Job!
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
70
Results
Incorrect, please try again.
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Introduction
Now that you have implemented a campaign, you will need to
monitor your ad to measure the results. If the ad is not
producing the desired results, you will need to re-work the
campaign, or change the strategy.
In this unit we will focus on two aspects of measuring ad effectiveness:
• Monitoring
• Analyzing
71
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Introduction
Monitoring: All of the ad platforms covered have their own
internal monitoring tools that allow you to view the
effectiveness of you ad.
Considerations:
• Conversions
• CPC
• CTR
• CPA
• Spend (the total amount of you ad cost)
72
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Introduction
Analyzing: After your campaign has been running, or is finished,
it is helpful to get an overview of the overall effectiveness.
Google analytics is a helpful tool for getting this reporting.
Considerations:
• Increased conversions
• Increased web traffic
• Increased social media following
• Use of campaign specific promotion code
73
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Monitoring
All of the ad platforms covered have their own internal
monitoring tools that allow you to view the effectiveness of you
ad.
Considerations- Keep in mind the following when
monitoring your ad:
• Conversions – The higher the amount of conversions,
the better
• CPC – The lower the cost per click, the better
• Ex. A $1 CPC is better than a $5 CPC
• CTR – The higher the click through rate, the better
• A 5% CTR is better than a 1% CTR
• CPA – The lower the cost per acquisition the better
• Ex. A $1 CPA is better than $5
• Spend (the total amount of you ad cost) – This is
dependent on your goals
74
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Analyzing
After your campaign has been running, or is finished, it is helpful
to get an overview of the overall effectiveness. Google analytics
is a helpful tool for getting this reporting.
Considerations:
• Increased conversions
• Increased web traffic
• Increased social media following
• Use of campaign specific promotion code
75
Has a CTR of 10%Has a CTR of 0%
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
76
Assessment
Has a CTR of $5Has a CTR of $20
Identify the most successful ad campaign:
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
77
Results
Correct! Good Job!
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
78
Results
Incorrect, please try again.
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu
Unit 4
Home
Unit 4: Design and Copywriting
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
Assessment
Identify the most successful ad campaign:
• Ad has CPA of $2.00
• Ad has CPA of $15
• Ad has CPA of 5%
• Ad has CPA of 90%
79
Has a CPA of $15.00Has a CPA of $2.00
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
80
Assessment
Has a CPA of 90%Has a CPA of 5%
Identify the most successful ad campaign:
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
81
Results
Correct! Good Job!
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Unit 1: Key Terms
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
82
Results
Incorrect, please try again.
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
Home
Assessment
Unit 4
Introduction
Objectives
Unit 1
Unit 2
Unit 3
Unit 4
Unit 5
Assessment
Post-Test
83
Results
Please Take a moment to complete the survey about your
learning experience.
Take Survey
Contextual Advertising For Small Business
A starting guide to creating paid online
advertising campaigns
Unit 4
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Post-Test
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84
Take Post- Test
Congratulations! You have finished the tutorial!
Now you can take the post-test to see what you
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Contextual advertising for small business

  • 1. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 4 Introduction Overview Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test A Guide to Creating Paid Online Advertising Campaigns Next1 1/1
  • 2. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Next Unit 4 Home Unit 4 Introduction Overview Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Introduction Online advertising is a great way to grow your small business and increase your brand awareness. By driving more traffic to your website, you are increasing your prospects and creating new business opportunities. 2 Welcome! 1/2
  • 3. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Introduction This tutorial will provide learners the tools to fully understand, and create online advertising campaigns. This can help generate new business, and increase sales. The objectives covered in the module will teach small business employees and owners, the key vocabulary, tools, strategies, and analysis techniques needed to create successful paid ad campaigns. Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Next3 Overview 1/3
  • 4. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Introduction Before starting this course, you should have basic knowledge of how to use the following: • Internet browsers • Social media networks (Twitter and Facebook) • Search engines (Google and Bing) • Google Analytics Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Next What Your Should Know 1/4
  • 5. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Introduction Before starting this course, you should have access to the following: • A computer or laptop • A stable connection to the internet • Pen and paper • Access to Facebook, Twitter, Bing, and Google Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Next5 What Your Should Have 1/5
  • 6. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Introduction Timing: This tutorial is self-paced. Each unit is designed to take 5 minutes to complete, so the entire tutorial should take 30 minutes. Navigation: • The list of orange buttons on the left hand side will allow you to jump to different areas in the tutorial • The green navigation buttons in the bottom right allow you to move to the: • Next slide • Previous slide • Tutorial Home Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 6 Tutorial Guide 1/6
  • 7. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Introduction Assessment • The light bulb icon indicates you have reached an assessment activity • Some assessment items are brainstorming with pen and paper. Others are multiple choice questions. • Before moving to the following Unit, answer the assessment questions to the best of your knowledge • Correct answers will display a check • Incorrect answers will display an X • Once you have completed the assessment, click the right arrow to move to the next unit. Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 7 Tutorial Guide (Continued) 1/7
  • 8. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Objectives Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test There are 5 units in this tutorial: • Unit 1– Key Terms and Providers: You will be learning the vocabulary associated with creating a online advertising campaign • Unit 2 – Contextual Advertising Units: You will learn how to identity different types on online advertising, and when they are most effective • Unit 3 – Strategic Campaign Planning: You will learn how to decide on what kind of campaign you need to create to meet your goals • Unit 4 – Design and Copywriting: You will learn the best practices when creating your advertising campaign assets • Unit 5 – Gauging Ad Effectiveness: You will learn how to measure whether an ad is successful, and is reaching your goals 8 Introduction This tutorial is intended to teach the entire lifecycle of a paid online advertising campaign. It is recommended to take each unit in order. 1/8
  • 9. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Pre-Test Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 9 Take Pre- Test Please take a moment to take the pre-test to see you existing knowledge of internet advertising 1/9
  • 10. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test • Paid online advertising is a way for small businesses to drive traffic and increase brand exposure, by promoting advertising to targeted audiences. • Paid online advertising is also commonly know now as Contextual Advertising10 Introduction In this unit, you will be learning the foundation vocabulary needed to understand paid online advertising. 1/10
  • 11. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Cost Structures PPC: Pay Per Click- A cost structure used by advertising networks in which the advertiser only pays when the ad being promoted is clicked on CPC: Cost Per Click- This is the amount you are charged each time someone clicks on your ad. The cost is generally defined by the amount of competition in a category, and the amount of exposure you are willing to pay for. (Ad spend/clicks) . Example: I created a PPC ad and bid $15 for the day. Three people clicked on my ad, so my CPC was $5 11 1/11
  • 12. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Cost Structures Impressions- This is the amount views your ad receives Campaign Reach- Generally used in Facebook, this is the amount of individuals that view your ad CPM: Cost per 1,000- This is a cost structure in which you pay per every 1,000 impressions of your ad (Impressions/ad spend). Example: I created an ad with a campaign reach of 2,000 people for $100 dollars. My CPM is 50$ . 12 1/12
  • 13. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Results Measurements Conversion- This is a customer taking an action that you have set as a pre-determined goal. For e-commerce this may be making a purchase in your online store. For B2B this may be someone completing a sign up form. CPA: Cost Per Acquisition: This is how much it costs to get a conversion from a viewer (ad spend/conversion). Example: My conversion goal will be for viewers to click on my ad and make a purchase from my online store. I paid 50$ for my ad, and 2 viewers clicked on my ad and made a purchase in my store. My CPA is 25$ 13 1/13
  • 14. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Results Measurements CTR: Click through rate: This is the rate at which you ad was seen and was clicked on (impressions/clicks). The higher the CTR, the more effective your ad. Example: My ad received 1,000 impressions and 100 people clicked through. My CTR is 10% . 14 1/14
  • 15. Contextual AdvertisingConversion Marketing Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Given the definition, match the correct term: Online advertising is now commonly known as ________: 15 Assessment Search Engine MarketingDisplay Advertising 1/15
  • 16. CTRCPA Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 16 Assessment SEMPPC Given the selection of acronyms, match the correct definition. This cost structure of advertising is also known as “Paid Search”, this is within search engines: 1/16
  • 17. CTRCPA Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 17 Assessment SEMPPC Given the selection of acronyms, match the correct definition. The percentage of viewers that click on an ad is known as: 1/17
  • 18. ConversionCompletion Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 18 Assessment Offer ClaimImpression When a viewer completes an action you have set as a goal it is referred to as a: 1/18
  • 19. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 19 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 20. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 20 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 21. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Contextual advertising consists of various ad platforms where businesses can purchase ad space. Each platform offers unique features, and types of advertisements. Contextual ad networks are broken down into two main categories: • Search Engine Ad Networks – Ads are served within the search engines, and websites the search engines have partnerships with • Social Media Ad Networks – Ads are served within the social media platforms By learning different ad unit options, you we be prepared to start strategizing the best campaign for your business. 21 Introduction 1/19
  • 22. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test SEM: Search Engine Marketing- Also known as “Paid Search”, this is paid promotion of ads showing up in the top, bottom, or sidebar of search results. Types of Contextual Advertising 22 Click on the image to see the SEM ads 1/19
  • 23. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Types of Contextual Advertising Display ads- Often called “banner ads” these have an image linking to the advertisers website 1/20
  • 24. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Owned by Google, AdWords serves paid ads through its search engine. Ads are served on a CPC or CPM basis, with the ability to target demographics, or devices. Google AdWords 24 1/21
  • 25. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test SEM Ads Google AdWords Ad Types 25 YouTube Ads – Google has now owns YouTube and serves video ads through the social media channel Display Ads 1/22
  • 26. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Owned by a partnership with search engines Bing and Yahoo, this platform is also known as the Yahoo! Bing network. Promoted ads are served on both search engines. Ads are served on a CPC or CPM basis, with the ability to target demographics, or devices. Bing Ads 26 1/23
  • 27. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Bing Ad Types 27 SEM Ads Display Ads 1/24
  • 28. DisplayCPC Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 28 Assessment SEMPromoted Trend Identify the search engine ad unit based on the image 1/25
  • 29. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 29 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 30. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 30 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 31. DisplayCPC Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 31 Assessment SEMPromoted Trend Identify the search engine ad unit based on the image
  • 32. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 32 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 33. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 33 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 34. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 34 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 35. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 35 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 36. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test This ad platform hosts ads either in the right-hand side bar of viewers Facebook page, or as promoted content within a viewer’s newsfeed. Ads are served on a CPC, CPA, or Campaign reach basis. This can direct the viewer to the company’s Facebook page, or website. Facebook Ad Manager 36
  • 37. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Facebook Ad Types 37 Promoted post- Can pay to boost content that you post on your company Facebook page Domain Ad– This is a display ad in the right side bar that promotes either a Facebook page or website Website Conversion– Encourages the viewer to take an action on your website Click to Website – Gets people to click through to you website
  • 38. A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Social Media Platforms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Facebook Ad Types Event Response Ad – Encourages viewers to sign up for your event 38 Video Ad – Streaming video ad Offer Claims – Can create offers for people to redeem in your store Contextual Advertising For Small Business
  • 39. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Social Media Platforms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Twitter Ads This ad platform hosts ads in the right-hand side bar or within the twitter feed. 39
  • 40. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Social Media Platforms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Twitter Ad Types Promoted trends – This appears within the list of what is trending next to the twitter timeline. Trends are tailored to the viewer based on their location and who they follow 40 Promoted account – This encourages the viewer to follow your business account, once they become a follower, they will be able to see all of your tweets Promoted tweets – This appears in the viewer’s twitter feed, along with regular tweets
  • 41. Page Like AdDomain Ad Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 41 Assessment Website ConversionPromoted Trend Identity the social media ad unit based on the image:
  • 42. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 42 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 43. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 43 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 44. Promoted PostPromoted Account Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 2: Contextual Advertising Units Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 44 Assessment Promoted TweetPromoted Trend Identity the social media ad unit based on the image:
  • 45. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 45 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 46. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 46 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 47. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 3: Strategic Planning Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Introduction Creating goals for your paid ads is crucial to you success within online advertising. There are many considerations to keep in mind when creating an advertising strategy. These are the aspects of strategy this unit focuses on: • Goals • Audience • Keywords • Medium 47
  • 48. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 3: Strategic Planning Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Goals Decide what a conversion will be for your campaign, this will ensure you can gauge the success of your campaign. Some examples of conversions are: • Completed sign-up form/email address capture • Online purchase • Increased social media following • Increased traffic to your website 48
  • 49. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 3: Strategic Planning Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Audience Advertising to the correct demographic can help you from wasting ad dollars. With paid ads, you can target your general audience, or select specific sub-sets within that audience. Often the more targeted your ads, the more effective they can be. If you are unsure as to who is visiting your website, Google analytics help provide this insight. Examples: • General: People that have an interest in Landrovers • Subset: Males 25-45 within the Florida area that have an interest in Landrovers 49
  • 50. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 3: Strategic Planning Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Keywords Keyword planning is especially important for SEM. By bidding on keywords within search engines, you ad will be shown when viewers key in those terms. You may have an idea of the keywords your audience is searching. If not, here are some ways to find them: • Look at the keywords bringing in organic traffic in Google Anaytics • Use Google’s free Keyword Planner: https://adwords.google.com/KeywordPlanner Example keywords: For a Landrover Parts Dealer these would be keywords: Landrover, RangeRover, Rover Parts, Landrover Parts, Landrover Engine, Landrover, Muffler, ect. 50
  • 51. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 3: Strategic Planning Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Assessment Using you pen and paper, come up with a list of 10 keywords that best describe your business
  • 52. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 3: Strategic Planning Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Medium Choose your medium: Now that you have identified the “what” and “Whom” you need to choose how you are going to get your message to your audience. Choose an advertising platform, and ad type for you campaign. (See unit 3 for options). Example: • Website conversion ad on Facebook encouraging viewers to sign-up for my email list • SEM ad placed in Bing Ads 52
  • 53. Completed Newsletter Sign Up Increased Social Media Following Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 3: Strategic Planning Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 53 Assessment Completed Online Purchase Increased Organic Website Traffic When trying to increase your email database, identify the most effective strategy:
  • 54. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 54 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 55. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 55 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 56. Promoted trend on Twitter Facebook website conversion ad Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 3: Strategic Planning Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 56 Assessment SEM ad in Google, targeting keywords Display Ad on Columbia tourism website When trying to reach viewers looking for landscaping in Columbia, S.C., identify the most effective strategy:
  • 57. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 57 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 58. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 58 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 59. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Introduction After you have chosen what type of ad you want to create, you need to think about what message and graphics will produce the highest conversions. In this unit, you will learn the best practices for ad design and copywriting to help maximize click through rates 59
  • 60. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Copywriting Copywriting: Ad copy should be brief and to the point, given most viewers will only glance at your ad. Most ads have characters limits (ex. Adwords SEM ad headline allows for 25 characters), so it is important to have a strong call-to-action (CTA). Example: RoverLand Parts- Low Prices, in stock, and ready to ship! 60
  • 61. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Design If you are using display advertising, your messaging needs to be clear, and not lost within the graphic. Considerations: • Only use high-resolutions images, that are the correct dimensions (this will be based on the type of ad and ad platform selected) • Keep typography in mind. You should have a clear easy to read call to action, that encourages the viewer to convert. • Be mindful of your audience, and that the image is appropriate for the demographic you are targeting. 61
  • 62. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Examples 62 Good Copywriting: Strong CTA, brief and to the point copy Bad Copywriting: Too much copy, no strong CTA
  • 63. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Examples 63 Good Design: Graphic helps sell the product with use of typography and high resolution image Bad Design: No use of typography, image does not help sell the service
  • 64. Have a strong CTAChoose an appropriate hi-resolution image Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 64 Assessment Reduce Ad Clutter Use an appropriate amount of characters Given the ad below, identify the best option for producing a higher CTR:
  • 65. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 65 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 66. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 66 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 67. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Assessment Given the ad below, identify the best option for producing a higher CTR: Choose an appropriate hi-resolution image Have a strong CTA Use an appropriate amount of characters Reduce ad clutter 67
  • 68. Have a strong CTAChoose an appropriate hi-resolution image Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 68 Assessment Reduce Ad Clutter Use an appropriate amount of characters Given the ad below, identify the best option for producing a higher CTR:
  • 69. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 69 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 70. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 70 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 71. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Introduction Now that you have implemented a campaign, you will need to monitor your ad to measure the results. If the ad is not producing the desired results, you will need to re-work the campaign, or change the strategy. In this unit we will focus on two aspects of measuring ad effectiveness: • Monitoring • Analyzing 71
  • 72. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Introduction Monitoring: All of the ad platforms covered have their own internal monitoring tools that allow you to view the effectiveness of you ad. Considerations: • Conversions • CPC • CTR • CPA • Spend (the total amount of you ad cost) 72
  • 73. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Introduction Analyzing: After your campaign has been running, or is finished, it is helpful to get an overview of the overall effectiveness. Google analytics is a helpful tool for getting this reporting. Considerations: • Increased conversions • Increased web traffic • Increased social media following • Use of campaign specific promotion code 73
  • 74. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Monitoring All of the ad platforms covered have their own internal monitoring tools that allow you to view the effectiveness of you ad. Considerations- Keep in mind the following when monitoring your ad: • Conversions – The higher the amount of conversions, the better • CPC – The lower the cost per click, the better • Ex. A $1 CPC is better than a $5 CPC • CTR – The higher the click through rate, the better • A 5% CTR is better than a 1% CTR • CPA – The lower the cost per acquisition the better • Ex. A $1 CPA is better than $5 • Spend (the total amount of you ad cost) – This is dependent on your goals 74
  • 75. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Analyzing After your campaign has been running, or is finished, it is helpful to get an overview of the overall effectiveness. Google analytics is a helpful tool for getting this reporting. Considerations: • Increased conversions • Increased web traffic • Increased social media following • Use of campaign specific promotion code 75
  • 76. Has a CTR of 10%Has a CTR of 0% Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 76 Assessment Has a CTR of $5Has a CTR of $20 Identify the most successful ad campaign:
  • 77. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 77 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 78. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 78 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 79. Contextual Advertising For Small Business Katie Head EDET 722 J50-061 headl@email.sc.edu Unit 4 Home Unit 4: Design and Copywriting Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test Assessment Identify the most successful ad campaign: • Ad has CPA of $2.00 • Ad has CPA of $15 • Ad has CPA of 5% • Ad has CPA of 90% 79
  • 80. Has a CPA of $15.00Has a CPA of $2.00 Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 5: Gauging Ad Effectiveness Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 80 Assessment Has a CPA of 90%Has a CPA of 5% Identify the most successful ad campaign:
  • 81. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 81 Results Correct! Good Job!
  • 82. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Unit 1: Key Terms Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 82 Results Incorrect, please try again.
  • 83. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Assessment Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 83 Results Please Take a moment to complete the survey about your learning experience. Take Survey
  • 84. Contextual Advertising For Small Business A starting guide to creating paid online advertising campaigns Unit 4 Home Post-Test Unit 4 Introduction Objectives Unit 1 Unit 2 Unit 3 Unit 4 Unit 5 Assessment Post-Test 84 Take Post- Test Congratulations! You have finished the tutorial! Now you can take the post-test to see what you have learned.