SlideShare ist ein Scribd-Unternehmen logo
1 von 26
#thinkppc
&HOSTED BY:
EIGHT
THINGS
YOU
DIDN’T
KNOW
ABOUT
PPC & SEO
#thinkppc
Presenters
• Erik Dafforn
– President of Intrapromote
– @erikdafforn
• Jacob Fairclough
– Account Manager at Hanapin Marketing.
– @realsecretjake
#thinkppc
Join the conversation
• Include the hashtag #thinkppc in your
Twitter tweets.
Or use the webinar question box to send
us questions.
#thinkppc
Live Poll Question #1
How long have you been in Search Marketing?
#thinkppc
A. Less than 1 year
B. 1-3 years
C. 3-5 years
D. 5+ years
#thinkppc
Live Poll Question #2
How do you manage your account(s)?
#thinkppc
a) I manage it myself.
b) I’m part of a team that manages it.
c) I outsource my account management.
d) I’m rethinking how my account is managed.
#thinkppc
PPC #1: It’s Just Keywords
• On the outside PPC is just about selecting the right
keywords, right?
– “Can’t you just add these 5,000 keywords to the account?”
• Keywords are easy though, anyone can do those!
• This view neglects CRO, ad writing, all the modifiers,
the purchase cycle, closing rates, etc.
#thinkppc
SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
#thinkppc
SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
#thinkppc
SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
• Prior to the mid 90s, the Web was a mess
• Directories gave way to crawler-based engines
#thinkppc
PPC #2: You Need to Be In the Top Spots
• A lot of advertisers worry about losing top spots.
– “Won’t my CTR decrease?”
– “Won’t I lose traffic?”
– Yes you will. But…
• You don’t have to always be in the top spot to get
conversions. The top spots cost a lot more too.
#thinkppc
PPC #2 Continued
• Take a look at your metrics, segmented by position. You might
get a lot more traffic at the number 1 spot, but your CPA is
much lower in the 2 spot.
• Don’t bid higher just because you can. If you are worried
about CTR and quality score, it’s all calculated relative to
position.
#thinkppc
SEO #2: It’s Easier Than You Think
• Remember the Fundamentals!
#thinkppc
SEO #2: It’s Easier Than You Think
• Remember the Fundamentals!
Basic KPIs How to Measure
Crawling Crawler, Webmaster Tools
Indexing Webmaster Tools (Crawl >> Sitemaps)
Ranking Webmaster Tools (Search Traffic >> Search Queries),
SEO platform
Traffic Analytics (Channels)
Action Analytics (Goals, Funnels)
#thinkppc
Live Poll Question #3
How big a priority is your organic search?
#thinkppc
a) We watch it like a hawk
b) We watch it (but not like a hawk)
c) It's on the back-burner until we get time to deal with it
d) What's organic search?
#thinkppc
PPC #3: You Don’t Need to Bid on Brand
“Isn’t bidding on Brand just paying for traffic you should bring in
organically?”
• Don’t worry about it! Branded traffic is already qualified and
cheap.
• Bidding on brand allows you to take up more of the search
result space.
#thinkppc
PPC #3 Continued
• Brands are heavily favored in search results.
– Bidding on brand allows you to take the spot of
competitors who are bidding on your brand terms.
– You could see extremely low CPAs and high ROAS.
– Example: One E-Commerce client has an average CPA of
$30 and ROAS of 450%. The Brand campaign has a $1.26
CPA and an ROAS of 12,600%
– If you have a semi-known brand. Use it!
#thinkppc
SEO #3: It’s Harder Than You Think
#thinkppc
SEO #3: It’s Harder Than You Think
Advanced KPIs How to Measure
Crawling Crawl budget, robots.txt, noindex
Indexing site: command, canonical tags, parameter handling,
pagination tagging
Ranking Portfolio and keyword groups
Traffic Analytics (Landing page analysis, "not provided"
circumvention)
Action Analytics (Attribution models)
#thinkppc
PPC #4: PPC Just Doesn’t Work For Me
• Too often I see this mentioned when the advertiser
only took Google’s suggestions or used a budget of
$100 to test the waters.
• While Google tries to bring down the barrier to entry,
the game gets more and more competitive.
#thinkppc
PPC #4 Continued
• If you don’t invest in planning and organization, you
can’t expect great results.
• Don’t plan on winning right away but invest in
gaining actionable data.
• Even though PPC is heavily data driven and has a
wealth of metrics, it will always come down to being
able to interpret the data.
#thinkppc
SEO #4: It’s Not Going Anywhere
#thinkppc
SEO #4: (But It's Changing)
• 100 billion (with a "B") searches per month
• Are you ready for mobile?
• Are you an expert?
#thinkppc
Bonus Fact: You CAN Do Both
• Intrapromote webinars
• Hanapin webinars
• Slideshare
• YouTube
#thinkppc
Live Poll Question #4
a.) FREE Account Assessment from Hanapin
(for accounts spending more than 20K/mo)
b.) Free hour-long SEO consultation with Intrapromote
c.) Both
d.) No Thanks
Would you like help with your PPC/SEO
accounts and management? I’m interested in:
#thinkppc
Live Q&A Time!
#thinkppc
Have more questions?
Thank you for attending our webinar! #thinkppc
• Contact us Directly:
» Hanapin Feedback: marketing@hanapinmarketing.com
Intrapromote Feedback: erik@intrapromote.com

Weitere ähnliche Inhalte

Mehr von Hanapin Marketing

Mehr von Hanapin Marketing (20)

Last Click is Outdated: Learn to Use Google Analytics’ New Attribution Beta
Last Click is Outdated: Learn to Use Google Analytics’ New Attribution BetaLast Click is Outdated: Learn to Use Google Analytics’ New Attribution Beta
Last Click is Outdated: Learn to Use Google Analytics’ New Attribution Beta
 
5 Reasons to Use Amazon DSP in 2020
5 Reasons to Use Amazon DSP in 20205 Reasons to Use Amazon DSP in 2020
5 Reasons to Use Amazon DSP in 2020
 
Identify & Leverage YouTube Audiences for Organic & Paid Growth
Identify & Leverage YouTube Audiences for Organic & Paid GrowthIdentify & Leverage YouTube Audiences for Organic & Paid Growth
Identify & Leverage YouTube Audiences for Organic & Paid Growth
 
Connect the Likes: Tracking Visits to Improve Facebook Ads Performance
Connect the Likes: Tracking Visits to Improve Facebook Ads PerformanceConnect the Likes: Tracking Visits to Improve Facebook Ads Performance
Connect the Likes: Tracking Visits to Improve Facebook Ads Performance
 
Hiring a Marketing Agency? Critical Questions that Drive the Right Decision
Hiring a Marketing Agency? Critical Questions that Drive the Right DecisionHiring a Marketing Agency? Critical Questions that Drive the Right Decision
Hiring a Marketing Agency? Critical Questions that Drive the Right Decision
 
Diving Deeper into Programmatic: Succeeding Beyond the PPC Landscape
Diving Deeper into Programmatic: Succeeding Beyond the PPC LandscapeDiving Deeper into Programmatic: Succeeding Beyond the PPC Landscape
Diving Deeper into Programmatic: Succeeding Beyond the PPC Landscape
 
The Rise of Conversational Marketing - How to Leverage Chatbots for PPC
The Rise of Conversational Marketing - How to Leverage Chatbots for PPCThe Rise of Conversational Marketing - How to Leverage Chatbots for PPC
The Rise of Conversational Marketing - How to Leverage Chatbots for PPC
 
The Untapped Power of Quora Ads
The Untapped Power of Quora AdsThe Untapped Power of Quora Ads
The Untapped Power of Quora Ads
 
Google is Getting More Expensive - How to Get Around that with Better Audienc...
Google is Getting More Expensive - How to Get Around that with Better Audienc...Google is Getting More Expensive - How to Get Around that with Better Audienc...
Google is Getting More Expensive - How to Get Around that with Better Audienc...
 
Investing in Brand Campaigns? Post-Click Experience is Key
Investing in Brand Campaigns? Post-Click Experience is KeyInvesting in Brand Campaigns? Post-Click Experience is Key
Investing in Brand Campaigns? Post-Click Experience is Key
 
How to Maximize the Impact of Video Content with Retargeting
How to Maximize the Impact of Video Content with RetargetingHow to Maximize the Impact of Video Content with Retargeting
How to Maximize the Impact of Video Content with Retargeting
 
Machine Learning Tech You Could and Should Use Tomorrow
Machine Learning Tech You Could and Should Use TomorrowMachine Learning Tech You Could and Should Use Tomorrow
Machine Learning Tech You Could and Should Use Tomorrow
 
Create a PPC Playground For Your Clients: How To Co-Create Your Ad Customizers
Create a PPC Playground For Your Clients: How To Co-Create Your Ad CustomizersCreate a PPC Playground For Your Clients: How To Co-Create Your Ad Customizers
Create a PPC Playground For Your Clients: How To Co-Create Your Ad Customizers
 
Building Optimised Post-Click Experiences
Building Optimised Post-Click ExperiencesBuilding Optimised Post-Click Experiences
Building Optimised Post-Click Experiences
 
Keynote: Using Creativity in Advertising to Stay Ahead
Keynote: Using Creativity in Advertising to Stay AheadKeynote: Using Creativity in Advertising to Stay Ahead
Keynote: Using Creativity in Advertising to Stay Ahead
 
Keynote: How to Supercharge Your PPC Career
Keynote: How to Supercharge Your PPC CareerKeynote: How to Supercharge Your PPC Career
Keynote: How to Supercharge Your PPC Career
 
Ad Extensions as a Lever for Powerful Text Ads
Ad Extensions as a Lever for Powerful Text AdsAd Extensions as a Lever for Powerful Text Ads
Ad Extensions as a Lever for Powerful Text Ads
 
Why You Should (Not) be Using Automated Bidding Strategies
Why You Should (Not) be Using Automated Bidding StrategiesWhy You Should (Not) be Using Automated Bidding Strategies
Why You Should (Not) be Using Automated Bidding Strategies
 
What I Learned In One Year Marketing on Pinterest..Yes It Was Profitable
What I Learned In One Year Marketing on Pinterest..Yes It Was ProfitableWhat I Learned In One Year Marketing on Pinterest..Yes It Was Profitable
What I Learned In One Year Marketing on Pinterest..Yes It Was Profitable
 
Data Driven Advertising
Data Driven AdvertisingData Driven Advertising
Data Driven Advertising
 

KĂĽrzlich hochgeladen

4 TRIK CARA MENGGUGURKAN JANIN ATAU ABORSI KANDUNGAN
4 TRIK CARA MENGGUGURKAN JANIN ATAU ABORSI KANDUNGAN4 TRIK CARA MENGGUGURKAN JANIN ATAU ABORSI KANDUNGAN
4 TRIK CARA MENGGUGURKAN JANIN ATAU ABORSI KANDUNGAN
Cara Menggugurkan Kandungan 087776558899
 
Mastering Affiliate Marketing: A Comprehensive Guide to Success
Mastering Affiliate Marketing: A Comprehensive Guide to SuccessMastering Affiliate Marketing: A Comprehensive Guide to Success
Mastering Affiliate Marketing: A Comprehensive Guide to Success
Abdulsamad Lukman
 

KĂĽrzlich hochgeladen (20)

Micro-Choices, Max Impact Personalizing Your Journey, One Moment at a Time.pdf
Micro-Choices, Max Impact Personalizing Your Journey, One Moment at a Time.pdfMicro-Choices, Max Impact Personalizing Your Journey, One Moment at a Time.pdf
Micro-Choices, Max Impact Personalizing Your Journey, One Moment at a Time.pdf
 
Alpha Media March 2024 Buyers Guide.pptx
Alpha Media March 2024 Buyers Guide.pptxAlpha Media March 2024 Buyers Guide.pptx
Alpha Media March 2024 Buyers Guide.pptx
 
Elevating Your Digital Presence by Evitha.pdf
Elevating Your Digital Presence by Evitha.pdfElevating Your Digital Presence by Evitha.pdf
Elevating Your Digital Presence by Evitha.pdf
 
Social Media Marketing Portfolio - Maharsh Benday
Social Media Marketing Portfolio - Maharsh BendaySocial Media Marketing Portfolio - Maharsh Benday
Social Media Marketing Portfolio - Maharsh Benday
 
4 TRIK CARA MENGGUGURKAN JANIN ATAU ABORSI KANDUNGAN
4 TRIK CARA MENGGUGURKAN JANIN ATAU ABORSI KANDUNGAN4 TRIK CARA MENGGUGURKAN JANIN ATAU ABORSI KANDUNGAN
4 TRIK CARA MENGGUGURKAN JANIN ATAU ABORSI KANDUNGAN
 
Mastering Affiliate Marketing: A Comprehensive Guide to Success
Mastering Affiliate Marketing: A Comprehensive Guide to SuccessMastering Affiliate Marketing: A Comprehensive Guide to Success
Mastering Affiliate Marketing: A Comprehensive Guide to Success
 
Optimizing Your Marketing with AI-Powered Prompts
Optimizing Your Marketing with AI-Powered PromptsOptimizing Your Marketing with AI-Powered Prompts
Optimizing Your Marketing with AI-Powered Prompts
 
2024 Social Trends Report V4 from Later.com
2024 Social Trends Report V4 from Later.com2024 Social Trends Report V4 from Later.com
2024 Social Trends Report V4 from Later.com
 
TAM_AdEx-Cross_Media_Report-Banking_Finance_Investment_(BFSI)_2023.pdf
TAM_AdEx-Cross_Media_Report-Banking_Finance_Investment_(BFSI)_2023.pdfTAM_AdEx-Cross_Media_Report-Banking_Finance_Investment_(BFSI)_2023.pdf
TAM_AdEx-Cross_Media_Report-Banking_Finance_Investment_(BFSI)_2023.pdf
 
Resumé Karina Perez | Digital Strategist
Resumé Karina Perez | Digital StrategistResumé Karina Perez | Digital Strategist
Resumé Karina Perez | Digital Strategist
 
Best 5 Graphics Designing Course In Chandigarh
Best 5 Graphics Designing Course In ChandigarhBest 5 Graphics Designing Course In Chandigarh
Best 5 Graphics Designing Course In Chandigarh
 
VIP Call Girls Dongri WhatsApp +91-9833363713, Full Night Service
VIP Call Girls Dongri WhatsApp +91-9833363713, Full Night ServiceVIP Call Girls Dongri WhatsApp +91-9833363713, Full Night Service
VIP Call Girls Dongri WhatsApp +91-9833363713, Full Night Service
 
Gain potential customers through Lead Generation
Gain potential customers through Lead GenerationGain potential customers through Lead Generation
Gain potential customers through Lead Generation
 
The seven principles of persuasion by Dr. Robert Cialdini
The seven principles of persuasion by Dr. Robert CialdiniThe seven principles of persuasion by Dr. Robert Cialdini
The seven principles of persuasion by Dr. Robert Cialdini
 
Discover Ardency Elite: Elevate Your Lifestyle
Discover Ardency Elite: Elevate Your LifestyleDiscover Ardency Elite: Elevate Your Lifestyle
Discover Ardency Elite: Elevate Your Lifestyle
 
Social Media Marketing Portfolio - Maharsh Benday
Social Media Marketing Portfolio - Maharsh BendaySocial Media Marketing Portfolio - Maharsh Benday
Social Media Marketing Portfolio - Maharsh Benday
 
personal branding kit for music business
personal branding kit for music businesspersonal branding kit for music business
personal branding kit for music business
 
Distribution Ad Platform_ The Role of Distribution Ad Network.pdf
Distribution Ad Platform_ The Role of  Distribution Ad Network.pdfDistribution Ad Platform_ The Role of  Distribution Ad Network.pdf
Distribution Ad Platform_ The Role of Distribution Ad Network.pdf
 
Crypto Quantum Leap - Digital - membership area
Crypto Quantum Leap -  Digital - membership areaCrypto Quantum Leap -  Digital - membership area
Crypto Quantum Leap - Digital - membership area
 
[Expert Panel] New Google Shopping Ads Strategies Uncovered
[Expert Panel] New Google Shopping Ads Strategies Uncovered[Expert Panel] New Google Shopping Ads Strategies Uncovered
[Expert Panel] New Google Shopping Ads Strategies Uncovered
 

Eight Things You Didn't Know About PPC & SEO

  • 2. #thinkppc Presenters • Erik Dafforn – President of Intrapromote – @erikdafforn • Jacob Fairclough – Account Manager at Hanapin Marketing. – @realsecretjake
  • 3. #thinkppc Join the conversation • Include the hashtag #thinkppc in your Twitter tweets. Or use the webinar question box to send us questions.
  • 4. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #1 How long have you been in Search Marketing? #thinkppc A. Less than 1 year B. 1-3 years C. 3-5 years D. 5+ years
  • 5. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #2 How do you manage your account(s)? #thinkppc a) I manage it myself. b) I’m part of a team that manages it. c) I outsource my account management. d) I’m rethinking how my account is managed.
  • 6. #thinkppc PPC #1: It’s Just Keywords • On the outside PPC is just about selecting the right keywords, right? – “Can’t you just add these 5,000 keywords to the account?” • Keywords are easy though, anyone can do those! • This view neglects CRO, ad writing, all the modifiers, the purchase cycle, closing rates, etc.
  • 7. #thinkppc SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
  • 8. #thinkppc SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
  • 9. #thinkppc SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think • Prior to the mid 90s, the Web was a mess • Directories gave way to crawler-based engines
  • 10. #thinkppc PPC #2: You Need to Be In the Top Spots • A lot of advertisers worry about losing top spots. – “Won’t my CTR decrease?” – “Won’t I lose traffic?” – Yes you will. But… • You don’t have to always be in the top spot to get conversions. The top spots cost a lot more too.
  • 11. #thinkppc PPC #2 Continued • Take a look at your metrics, segmented by position. You might get a lot more traffic at the number 1 spot, but your CPA is much lower in the 2 spot. • Don’t bid higher just because you can. If you are worried about CTR and quality score, it’s all calculated relative to position.
  • 12. #thinkppc SEO #2: It’s Easier Than You Think • Remember the Fundamentals!
  • 13. #thinkppc SEO #2: It’s Easier Than You Think • Remember the Fundamentals! Basic KPIs How to Measure Crawling Crawler, Webmaster Tools Indexing Webmaster Tools (Crawl >> Sitemaps) Ranking Webmaster Tools (Search Traffic >> Search Queries), SEO platform Traffic Analytics (Channels) Action Analytics (Goals, Funnels)
  • 14. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #3 How big a priority is your organic search? #thinkppc a) We watch it like a hawk b) We watch it (but not like a hawk) c) It's on the back-burner until we get time to deal with it d) What's organic search?
  • 15. #thinkppc PPC #3: You Don’t Need to Bid on Brand “Isn’t bidding on Brand just paying for traffic you should bring in organically?” • Don’t worry about it! Branded traffic is already qualified and cheap. • Bidding on brand allows you to take up more of the search result space.
  • 16. #thinkppc PPC #3 Continued • Brands are heavily favored in search results. – Bidding on brand allows you to take the spot of competitors who are bidding on your brand terms. – You could see extremely low CPAs and high ROAS. – Example: One E-Commerce client has an average CPA of $30 and ROAS of 450%. The Brand campaign has a $1.26 CPA and an ROAS of 12,600% – If you have a semi-known brand. Use it!
  • 17. #thinkppc SEO #3: It’s Harder Than You Think
  • 18. #thinkppc SEO #3: It’s Harder Than You Think Advanced KPIs How to Measure Crawling Crawl budget, robots.txt, noindex Indexing site: command, canonical tags, parameter handling, pagination tagging Ranking Portfolio and keyword groups Traffic Analytics (Landing page analysis, "not provided" circumvention) Action Analytics (Attribution models)
  • 19. #thinkppc PPC #4: PPC Just Doesn’t Work For Me • Too often I see this mentioned when the advertiser only took Google’s suggestions or used a budget of $100 to test the waters. • While Google tries to bring down the barrier to entry, the game gets more and more competitive.
  • 20. #thinkppc PPC #4 Continued • If you don’t invest in planning and organization, you can’t expect great results. • Don’t plan on winning right away but invest in gaining actionable data. • Even though PPC is heavily data driven and has a wealth of metrics, it will always come down to being able to interpret the data.
  • 21. #thinkppc SEO #4: It’s Not Going Anywhere
  • 22. #thinkppc SEO #4: (But It's Changing) • 100 billion (with a "B") searches per month • Are you ready for mobile? • Are you an expert?
  • 23. #thinkppc Bonus Fact: You CAN Do Both • Intrapromote webinars • Hanapin webinars • Slideshare • YouTube
  • 24. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #4 a.) FREE Account Assessment from Hanapin (for accounts spending more than 20K/mo) b.) Free hour-long SEO consultation with Intrapromote c.) Both d.) No Thanks Would you like help with your PPC/SEO accounts and management? I’m interested in:
  • 26. #thinkppc Have more questions? Thank you for attending our webinar! #thinkppc • Contact us Directly: » Hanapin Feedback: marketing@hanapinmarketing.com Intrapromote Feedback: erik@intrapromote.com

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. Carrie
  2. Carrie – Introduce myself and then Susan talks about herself
  3. Carrie (unless Susan really wants to)
  4. Carrie does #1
  5. Susan does question #2
  6. Carrie reads/reports results, transition to RLSA strategy slide
  7. LEAVE OPEN IN Q&A