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How do you build a
world changing brand?
Hello!
I am Sean O’Connor
You can find me at
@aseoconnor or at
SeanOConn.org
Marketing manager for
the dig ed group
● Designed strategy
for new product
launch
First employee and head
of product at
Mentored.com
● Designed and built
2 products
● Signed up 60k
users
● Sold 4 b2b clients
Worked with Seth Godin
to design and launch
Krpyton.cc
● Built out 10
classes
● Enrolled 20k users
● Shut the project
down
What have I
done?
(aka why should
you listen to me)
“ Marketing is no longer about
the stuff that you make, but
about the stories you tell.
— Seth Godin
1
Who’s It For?
Who are you building
your product for?
Need vs.
Want
Marketers are in the wants business
● Delight
○ Can we make something that delights you?
● Fear
○ Can we create fear that if you don’t buy this
you will regret it
What kind of
emotions
connect to
people?
● Attention
○ The most scarce resource around
● Trust
○ Why should I believe you?
Why will
they listen?
2
What are you
changing?
Who are you building
your product for?
● Great companies and non profits
cause their customers to change
Who are you
changing
(and how)?
How does
Tom’s change
it’s
customers?
3
Permission to
Alert
Marketing is a
privilege, not a right
● Once you’ve changed someone
how do you build the privilege
(permission) to deliver your
message to them?
○ Anticipated, Personal, Relevant
Permission
Marketing
● Amazon
○ Has the trust necessary to
keep your CC on file, to
suggest products to you, etc.
● Cards Against Humanity
○ Launching successful product
after successful product
Examples of
Trust
4
Why will people
talk about it?
Remarkable
products spread
● Share
○ Instead of relying on paid media
to yell at people build something
that people talk about
● Warby Parker
○ When you buy a pair they give a
pair
■ That’s the story, the emotion
Stories that
spread
Stories that
spread
5
Action Theory
of Marketing
How do you market in the
connection economy?
● 1. Do you create an emotion?
○ If you don’t create a product that
delights or leverages fear in the
person who uses it, start over
● 2. Does that emotion change
someone?
○ Does it change them in a way
that moves them forward?
Action
theory of
marketing
● 3. Do you earn the privilege to alert
them?
● 4. Can you make it so that people
will choose to share it?
● 5. Is there urgency or scarcity?
Action
theory of
marketing
6
Marketing
Strategy
How are you driving
customers?
Most marketing
funnels are leaky.
1,000
500
100
5
Clicks on Ad
Views of Promo Video
Items Added to Shopping Cart
Items Purchased
What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC)
1,000
500
100
5
Clicks on Ad
Views of Promo Video
Items Added to Shopping Cart
Items Purchased
What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC)
1,000
500
100
5
$1 CPC $1,000 / $1000 = $1
$2 Cost Per View $1,000 / 500 = $2
$10 Cost Per Add to Cart $1,000 / 100 = $10
$200 Cost Per Purchase $1,000 / 5 = $200
7
Project Prompt
Let’s apply
these concepts
The Ready to
Drink Coffee
Market is
Booming
How can we
capture a
portion of this
market?
Americans spend $21.32/week on coffee.
Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts control ~50% of the
market. The Ready to Drink (RTD) coffee market is
growing at 10% per year.
How do we capture a portion of this?
Califia Farms
In the five years since
Califia farms launched
they’ve been growing at
over 100% YoY.
Receptive Market
Of the 76 percent of
Americans not drinking
cold brew coffees at home,
one third (33 percent) say
they have not tried but are
interested in doing so
Demo Trends
● Millennials
account for 55%
of the market
● Men are a key
demo
Competition
The
Coldbrew
Market
Starbucks
Starbucks sells coldbrew
in all of their stores, but
they do not yet sell it in
bottles (like their other
drinks)
Blue Bottle
Blue Bottle’s wholesale
operations account for
20% of their revenues.
High Growth
● 115% YoY growth
● Accounts for 0.4%
of the RTD market
● 24% of consumers
drink cold brew
Market Trends
Build a
strategy brief
Questions to Answer
● Who is the product for?
● What emotions are you using?
● What story are you telling?
● How can we gain permission to
market to people?
● Where will it be distributed?
● How much will it cost?
● How will people hear about it?
Thanks!
Any questions?
You can find me at
@aseoconnor, SeanOConn.org,
& aseoconnor@gmail.com
Go cause a ruckus.

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How do you build a world changing brand?

  • 1. How do you build a world changing brand?
  • 2. Hello! I am Sean O’Connor You can find me at @aseoconnor or at SeanOConn.org
  • 3. Marketing manager for the dig ed group ● Designed strategy for new product launch First employee and head of product at Mentored.com ● Designed and built 2 products ● Signed up 60k users ● Sold 4 b2b clients Worked with Seth Godin to design and launch Krpyton.cc ● Built out 10 classes ● Enrolled 20k users ● Shut the project down What have I done? (aka why should you listen to me)
  • 4. “ Marketing is no longer about the stuff that you make, but about the stories you tell. — Seth Godin
  • 5. 1 Who’s It For? Who are you building your product for?
  • 6. Need vs. Want Marketers are in the wants business
  • 7. ● Delight ○ Can we make something that delights you? ● Fear ○ Can we create fear that if you don’t buy this you will regret it What kind of emotions connect to people?
  • 8. ● Attention ○ The most scarce resource around ● Trust ○ Why should I believe you? Why will they listen?
  • 9. 2 What are you changing? Who are you building your product for?
  • 10. ● Great companies and non profits cause their customers to change Who are you changing (and how)?
  • 12. 3 Permission to Alert Marketing is a privilege, not a right
  • 13. ● Once you’ve changed someone how do you build the privilege (permission) to deliver your message to them? ○ Anticipated, Personal, Relevant Permission Marketing
  • 14. ● Amazon ○ Has the trust necessary to keep your CC on file, to suggest products to you, etc. ● Cards Against Humanity ○ Launching successful product after successful product Examples of Trust
  • 15. 4 Why will people talk about it? Remarkable products spread
  • 16. ● Share ○ Instead of relying on paid media to yell at people build something that people talk about ● Warby Parker ○ When you buy a pair they give a pair ■ That’s the story, the emotion Stories that spread
  • 18. 5 Action Theory of Marketing How do you market in the connection economy?
  • 19. ● 1. Do you create an emotion? ○ If you don’t create a product that delights or leverages fear in the person who uses it, start over ● 2. Does that emotion change someone? ○ Does it change them in a way that moves them forward? Action theory of marketing
  • 20. ● 3. Do you earn the privilege to alert them? ● 4. Can you make it so that people will choose to share it? ● 5. Is there urgency or scarcity? Action theory of marketing
  • 21. 6 Marketing Strategy How are you driving customers?
  • 23. 1,000 500 100 5 Clicks on Ad Views of Promo Video Items Added to Shopping Cart Items Purchased
  • 24. What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC) 1,000 500 100 5 Clicks on Ad Views of Promo Video Items Added to Shopping Cart Items Purchased
  • 25. What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC) 1,000 500 100 5 $1 CPC $1,000 / $1000 = $1 $2 Cost Per View $1,000 / 500 = $2 $10 Cost Per Add to Cart $1,000 / 100 = $10 $200 Cost Per Purchase $1,000 / 5 = $200
  • 27. The Ready to Drink Coffee Market is Booming
  • 28. How can we capture a portion of this market? Americans spend $21.32/week on coffee. Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts control ~50% of the market. The Ready to Drink (RTD) coffee market is growing at 10% per year. How do we capture a portion of this?
  • 29. Califia Farms In the five years since Califia farms launched they’ve been growing at over 100% YoY. Receptive Market Of the 76 percent of Americans not drinking cold brew coffees at home, one third (33 percent) say they have not tried but are interested in doing so Demo Trends ● Millennials account for 55% of the market ● Men are a key demo Competition The Coldbrew Market Starbucks Starbucks sells coldbrew in all of their stores, but they do not yet sell it in bottles (like their other drinks) Blue Bottle Blue Bottle’s wholesale operations account for 20% of their revenues. High Growth ● 115% YoY growth ● Accounts for 0.4% of the RTD market ● 24% of consumers drink cold brew Market Trends
  • 30. Build a strategy brief Questions to Answer ● Who is the product for? ● What emotions are you using? ● What story are you telling? ● How can we gain permission to market to people? ● Where will it be distributed? ● How much will it cost? ● How will people hear about it?
  • 31. Thanks! Any questions? You can find me at @aseoconnor, SeanOConn.org, & aseoconnor@gmail.com Go cause a ruckus.