Weitere ähnliche Inhalte
Ähnlich wie Chapter 9.ppt (20)
Kürzlich hochgeladen (20)
Chapter 9.ppt
- 1. Slide 9.1
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Chapter 9
Marketing communications
using digital media channels
- 2. Slide 9.2
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Learning objectives
• Distinguish between the different types of digital
media channels
• Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of
each digital media channel for marketing
communications
• Assess the suitability of different types of digital
media for different purposes
- 3. Slide 9.3
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Questions for marketers
• Which digital communications media should we
select for different types of campaign?
• Which are the success factors which will make
our campaigns more effective?
- 4. Slide 9.4
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.1 Average percentage of traffic from different sources referred to a website
Source: Smart Insights, 2011a
- 5. Slide 9.5
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.2 Percentage who consider different information sources as important when
researching or purchasing a product or service
Source: Nielsen (2011)
- 6. Slide 9.6
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.3 Search engine results pages in Google (www.google.co.uk) illustrating the
natural and paid listings
Source: Reprinted by permission of Google, Inc. Google™ search engine is a trademark of Google, Inc.
- 7. Slide 9.7
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.4 Click-through rates depending on position in the natural search results
Source: Optify (2011)
- 8. Slide 9.8
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Which SEO ranking factors should I focus on?
• On page optimisation:
– <title> tag = 4.9/5
– Keyword frequency and density = 3.7/5
– Keyword in headings = <h1> = 3.1, <h2> = 2.8
– Keyword in document name = 2.8
– Meta name description = 2/5
– Meta name keywords = 1/5
• Off-page optimisation:
– More backlinks (higher PageRank)= 4/5
– Link anchor text contains keyword = 4.4/5
– Page assessed as a hub = 3.5/5
– Page assessed as an authority = 3.5/5
– Link velocity (rate at which changes) = 3.5/5
– Social media signals (newer ranking signal)
See http: //www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors
- 9. Slide 9.9
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Which factors affect returns from paid search?
• Distribution of daily budget
• Amount bid (Max CPC).
• Clickthrough rate
• Creative quality including creative testing
• Campaign structure
• Match types especially negative matches
• Use of content network
• Time-of-day (day parting)
• Landing page quality
• Click fraud!
• * In Google AdWords, Live Search and Yahoo! Quality Score
especially important
- 10. Slide 9.10
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Online PR
• What it?
– ‘the management of reputation - the planned and
sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill
and mutual understanding between an
organisation and its publics”
The UK Institute of PR (IPR)
– ‘the managed process of communication
between one group and another … (it) is the
method of defining messages and communicating
them to target audiences in order to influence a
desired response’. Public Relationships Consultants Association (PRCA)
- 11. Slide 9.11
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
1
.
A
t
t
r
a
c
t
i
n
g
v
i
s
i
t
o
r
s
t
h
r
o
u
g
h
s
e
a
r
c
h
3
.
B
u
i
l
d
i
n
g
C
a
m
p
a
i
g
n
B
u
z
z
2
.
E
n
g
a
g
e
m
e
n
t
&
D
i
a
l
o
g
u
e
4
.
D
e
f
e
n
s
i
v
e
/
C
r
i
s
i
s
Online
PR
E-PR activities
o Surveys and polls
o Audience research:
o Social media inc
user-generated content
o Own blog
o Influencing media owners
E-PR activities
o Inbound link-building
o Content creation
o Blogs
o Feeds (RSS)
o Press releases
o Influencing media
owners
E-PR activities
o Brand protection
o Monitoring
and response:
o Social media
o Influencing media
owners
E-PR activities
o Propagating
‘big idea’
o Web editorial
contacts
o Viral agents
o Seeding viral
o Press releases
o Influencing media
owners
The key areas of online PR
- 12. Slide 9.12
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.5 Use of search engines for finding information related to product purchase
Source: Performics (2010)
- 13. Slide 9.13
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.6 Stages involved in producing a search engine listing for the natural
listings
- 14. Slide 9.14
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.7 Gatorade social media command centre video
- 15. Slide 9.15
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.8 Smart Insights blog (www.smartinsights.com) showing content available
from within a category of ‘social media marketing’
- 16. Slide 9.16
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.9 Popularity of social sharing services in France, Germany and the United
Kingdom
Source: http://www.addthis.com/services/compare-countries, accessed October 2011
- 17. Slide 9.17
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.10 The affiliate marketing model (note that the tracking software and fee
payment may be managed through an independent affiliate network manager)
- 18. Slide 9.18
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.11 Distribution of length of time against purchase
Source: Prussakov (2011b)
- 19. Slide 9.19
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.12 Behavioural ad targeting process
- 20. Slide 9.20
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.13 Banner blog (www.bannerblog.com.au) ad review site
- 21. Slide 9.21
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.14 Combination of touchpoints giving rise to sales
Source: ecircle (2011)
- 22. Slide 9.22
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.15 E-mail response measures
Source: GSI (2011) Whitepaper
- 23. Slide 9.23
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.16 E-mail service provider (www.emailreation.com)
Source: SmartFOCUS DIGITAL
- 24. Slide 9.24
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Figure 9.17 Sky spend by medium compared with market share of UK internet
searches, June 05–March 06
Source: The Hitwise UK Media Impact Report, September 2006
- 25. Slide 9.25
Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013
Table 9.4 Summary of the strengths and weaknesses of different communications
tools for promoting an online presence