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Mobile Bid Multiplier Strategies In An Enhanced Campaign World
1. Mobile Bid Multiplier Strategies In An
Enhanced Campaign World
Matthew Umbro
Director of Paid Search at Exclusive Concepts & Founder of PPC Chat
www.exclusiveconcepts.com
www.ppcchat.co
@Matt_Umbro #PPCchat
2. About Me
• Proud member of the PPC industry since
2007 and Director of Paid Search at Exclusive
Concepts. Have worked with clients across
multiple industries to attain profitable ROIs,
improved lead generation and better brand
awareness.
• Founded PPC Chat to connect industry
professionals across the world. Weekly topics
include principles such as writing effective
text ads and keyword bidding strategy to
PPC theory and advanced techniques.
• I’m getting married this October!
@Matt_Umbro #PPCchat
7. Before Switching…
• Determine whether you want to enter mobile space
• Define appropriate cost per conversion and revenue goals
• Review mobile specific campaign data
• If no mobile specific campaigns, review device segmentation report
• View keyword research tool
@Matt_Umbro #PPCchat
14. Conclusions
• Understand the challenges of Enhanced Campaigns
• Choose mobile bid multipliers based upon historical data
• Continue to create location specific campaigns
• Review your data
@Matt_Umbro #PPCchat
Session overviewEC ChallengesChoosing BidsBids and LocationsConclusionQ & A
We’re all used to a certain level of control with our PPC campaigns. Historically, we’ve created separate campaigns per device. In other words, 1 campaign for desktops, 1 campaign for tablets and 1 campaign for mobile devices. Aside from writing mobile specific ads, we could also set mobile specific bids. We still have the ability to write mobile specific ads within Enhanced Campaigns, but keyword level bidding has been taken away.
I do believe many of the EC improvements will be beneficial to PPC specialists. Ad group level sitelinks and call extensions are great and the idea of combining mobile and desktop is theoretically nice. The mobile bid multiplier is tough because instead of setting keyword level bids, you have to think of your mobile bids as a percentage of your desktop/tablet bids…which as PPCers isn’t something we are used to.
The truth is that some keywords work on computers and don’t on mobile. However, with EC we’re forced to keep a term for all 3 devices or none at all if we want to play in the mobile arena. Subsequently, whenever a computer bid changes, so does the mobile bid.
Before making the switch to enhanced campaigns, it’s important to review your data. If you had previously created mobile specific campaigns, utilize this data to determine what a good starting mobile bid adjustment will be. For example, say you have an average max CPC of $1.50 in a new Enhanced Campaign. From the historical mobile specific campaign, you had a max CPC of $0.50 and the average position was 1.2. You can probably then feel confident in setting you mobile bid adjustment between -65% and -70%. You have the data, use it!
Let’s take a look at this data from a legacy mobile campaign. The average cost per click in this campaign is $0.24 with an average cost per conversion of $18.28. In turn, the legacy computers campaign has an average cost per click of $0.49 with a cost per conversion of $14.68. If we wanted to hover around the same cost per click, we’d need a bid multiplier of roughly -50%. However, we also see that cost per conversion is higher on mobile devices so maybe we set the adjustment to -60%. The bottom line is to review your data so you are making an informed decision when switching to EC.
If you don’t have the data, the AdWords keyword research tool is a good start. It will give you the trends and data associated with the mobile keywords. Most importantly, it will give you a good place to start with your keywords bids. With whatever bid you use, make sure you are constantly checking the average position. With mobile, it’s extremely important to be one of the first two listings on the results page.
One way to avoid having to combine bids with locations and (potentially) confusing yourself is to still break out campaigns by different locations. Just because Google suggests you combine multiple locations doesn’t mean you have to. If you have separate campaigns for Texas and for Florida, you may have to migrate to Enhanced Campaigns and choose a mobile bid adjustment, but you don’t have to combine your campaigns. Additionally, separate locations can sometimes have regional differences that need to be highlighted in the keywords or ad copy.
If you do want to combine locations, again, look at the historical data from your mobile specific campaigns or the dimensions tab to see the effect of your bid multipliers. Having said this, you should also look at time of day and/or day of week to set the appropriate modifier here!
If you do want to combine locations, again, look at the historical data from your mobile specific campaigns or the dimensions tab to see the effect of your bid multipliers. Having said this, you should also look at time of day and/or day of week to set the appropriate modifier here!