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Facebook Ads 101
Daniela Pimentel Furtado
www.thisisdanielafurtado.com
Digital Marketing
Specialist
I work with a variety of digital marketing channels,
Facebook ads is one of them.
I specifically help SMEs with budgets of up to €10k. !
I can help you …
• Decide if Facebook is the best tactic for your
business
• Make the most of your marketing budget with
Facebook Ads
Who are you?!
!
Learn the absolute basics.
!!!
Before Starting a
Campaign
• Requirements
• Common Strategies
Today’s Game Plan
Setting Up a
Campaign
• Budget
• Objective
• Ad Formats
• Bidding
• Audience
Measuring a
Campaign
• Monitor
• Optimize
• Repeat!
Process
Create a
Facebook
Business Page
and Set Up Ad
Manager
Set Up a
Campaign
Facebook
Reviews Ads
Ad is Approved
and Published
Ads Runs
Analyze Ad
Performance
Repeat .. but
BeCer!
*
Set up
Facebook Pixel
Access Ad
Manager
Before Starting a
Campaign
✅ Must have a Facebook Business Page –
regardless number of followers
✅ Must have a credit card on file (Ad Manager)
✅ Must abide by Facebook’s policies
MUST HAVE Before Starting
https://www.facebook.com/policies/ads/
• Tobacco
• Drugs – illegal
• Weapons and explosives
• “Adult” products
• Multilevel marketing
• Diet and weight-loss products
• Surveillance equipment
• Short-term loans
• Spyware
! Prohibited Ad Content
Restricted Topics
• Alcohol
• Dating services
• Lotteries and gambling
• Drugs – over the counter
and prescription
• Social issues and politics
• Financial services
• Cryptocurrencies
Facebook will not approve ads related to these topics.
• Sensational content
• Shocking, scary or violent images
• Controversial political or social issues
• Bad grammar and punctuation.
• Minimal numbers and symbols.
• Low quality or non-functional landing page
• Mention of third-parties
• Excessive text (more than 20%) in ad images
Ads and Landing Page
Regardless of the topic, Facebook has quality standards.
• Personal attributes
• Use the word “other”
✅ Gay Dance Club
❎ Meet Other Lesbians
• Personalise to user
✅ Depression Counseling
❎ Is depression getting you down?
✅ Enable Facebook Pixels
✅ Have a strategy and objective
✅ Have solid offerings and a foundation
GOOD TO HAVE Before Starting
A code that you ad to your website <header> to track
users using cookies.
What does it do?
• Track conversions from Facebook Ads.
• Build highly targeted audiences for future ads, AKA
lookalike audiences.
• Remarket people who have already interacted with
your website.
• Allows you to track specific events, or “actions”.
Facebook Pixel
Events Manager – Add Data Source
✅ Promote a product or service – retarget
✅ Drive traffic to a webpage
✅ Prompt people to visit a physical business location
or an in-person event
✅ Increase your page followers*
The goal is to reach potential clients, and initiate a
relationship.
Common Strategies
✅ Suitable Audience
✅ Good Product, Service or Content
The foundation for a good
advertising campaign is …
Facebook Ads is not a magic pill. !
It is an amplifier.
If you forget everything
else, remember this.
⛔ Just launched a completely new
website or Facebook page
⛔ Just launched a brand new product
⛔ Just enabled Facebook Pixels
Not Recommended if You …
It takes time and money for
every business to find their
sweet spot. !
Setting Up a Campaign
from Nothing
Ad Manager – Campaign Dashboard
Campaign Structure
Clothes Winter 2020
Campaign
Portugal
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Spain
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Italy
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Campaign Structure
Clothes Winter 2020
Campaign
Portugal
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Spain
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Italy
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
BUDGET
!It depends!
“How much money
should I spend on
Facebook Ads?”
When you run an ad, you pay for either clicks or impressions.
CPC: Cost per Click
CPM: Cost per Mile or Cost per 1000 Impressions
The cost is never a fixed rate.
It depends on a gazillion factors, and how much you are willing to bid.
The minimum you can spend is €1 per day.
How much do
Facebook Ads cost?
1. The audience you are targeting
2. The time of year
3. Your campaign objective
4. The engagement levels and relevance score of your ad
5. The maturity of your Facebook pixel
What affects the
costs?
The more developed and tech savvy the country
or market, the more expensive the CPC.
The older the demographic, the more expensive
the CPC.
CPC for females are generally higher. CPC is highest around holiday season –
influenced by bidding.
The higher your relevance score, the lower the
CPC.
So many marketers have a slightly different answer to this
question.
Some say you should spend €1 a day for every 100
monthly website visitors.
Most say it depends on your CPA and CLV.
“How much money
should I spend on
Facebook Ads?” !
You will probably lose money on ads in the beginning but to make sure you
make money in the long run, you need to understand your CPA and CLV and
use them as benchmarks.
CPA: Cost per Acquisition
CLV: Customer Lifetime Value
Understand Your CPA
and CLV
Let’s say you are selling books for €25.
After running some tests, you get 1 sale for every 30 clicks and your average
CPC is €1.
Average No. Clicks per Sale x CPC = CPA
30 x €1 = €30
You lost money from this ad and sale, at least €5.
Cost per Acquisition (CPA)
Let’s say you run a retargeting ad, and this time the CPA is €5.
The ad successfully brings a former customer back to your website and they
buy another book for €25.
In order to sell €50 in books, you had to spend a total of €35 per customer
(total CPA) in ads. You made €15!
At this point, the customer will no longer go through ads and buy directly from
your website.
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
After acquiring a customer from ads, let’s say the customer sticks around for a
year and buys 3 more books.
Average Sale x No. of Sales per Year x No. of Years as a Customer = CLV
€25 per book x 5 books a year x 1 year as a customer = €125
CLV – Total CPA = Profit or ROI
€125 – €35 = €90
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
Use your CPA and CLV as benchmarks.
Use your CLV to calculate how many customers or sales you
need.
Then use your CPA to calculate how much you need to
spend to convert X amount of customers.
“How much money
should I spend on
Facebook Ads?”
OBJECTIVES & AD FORMATS
Key Points
• The cost increases from
one category to the next.
• Objectives in the
“Awareness” category are
charged by impressions,
not clicks.
• Test with Engagement to
see if they interact, or
Brand/Reach if you are in it
for the long-run.
Choose an objective that aligns with
your overall strategy and goal.
• Promote an in-person event.
• Increase traffic on a strategic blog post.
• Acquire email subscribers.
• Increase sales for a product.
• Increase engagement on a post.
• Test ads and your audience.
Which Facebook Ad objective would you choose?
Link Click Ads (Standard)
• Increase website traffic
• Capture leads like email subscribers – but not sales leads
Video Ads
• Show people how your product works.
• Up to 4GB, 120 min but optimal time is 30-90 sec
Boost Post (Standard)
• Boost posts that are well-performing organically
Carousel Ads
• Content marketers that want to promote multiple posts
Ad Formats – Drive Traffic
Ad Formats – Drive Traffic
Notice how the ads use short copy, and the images/videos have very little text. Instead the
multimedia SHOWS you what you can expect if you were to click.
Ad Formats – Drive Traffic and Leads (non-sales)
If you are using ads to fill a funnel and get email subscribers, again show people what they can
expect. Mock ups are great!
Carousel Ads
• eCommerce to promote multiple products
Dynamic Product Ads
• Like carousel, but remarketing. Customized
to user data, and shows items user has seen
and similar.
• Must have FB pixel and product catalog
uploaded.
Lead Generation Ads
• Capture information through built-in landing
page.
Ad Formats – Sales
Canvas Ads
• For Mobile, like carousel but more
interactive and dynamic
• Load 10 times faster than standard
ads
Collection Ads
• For Mobile, advertise collection of
products. Video or image
Ad Formats – Sales
Page Like Ads
• Get more likes on your FB page
Page Post / Video / Text Ads
• Encourage likes through
• Photos
• Video
• Text
• No CTA
Ad Formats – Engagement
Ad Formats – Engagement
Notice how there is no call to action? Oprah doesn’t want you to do anything but watch the
video and engage.
Event Ads
• Promote event on FB page
Offer Ads
• Offer discount and coupons to people in your area.
• Click ad and get an email with code to bring to physical store.
• Need at least 50 likes on your FB page.
Local Awareness Ads
• Like offer, except the CTA is to call or send message.
Ad Formats – Physical Visits or
Events
Ad Formats – Physical Visits or Events
BIDDING
“Which bid should I
use?”
When starting, it’s safer to just go with
lowest cost.
Lowest costs is automatic, and
Facebook will bid the lowest possible
cost per click.
AUDIENCE
• Custom and Lookalike
• Interest Based
• Remarketing Ads
We will focus on the custom and interest based
audiences.
There are 3 types of audience targeting.
Remember I said Facebook is a great amplifier? !
When you create a custom audience, you are giving Facebook user data
and telling Facebook to target those specific users.
A lookalike audience uses the data from your custom audience to predict
“lookalikes” to expand your reach based on proven pattern behaviours.
Create a Custom & Lookalike Audience
Go to Audience Manager
Go to Audience Manager
Custom Audience – Choose a Source
Lookalike Audience – Add to the Custom Audience
Lookalike Audience !
You must have a somewhat mature Facebook Pixel,
otherwise Facebook has very little to work with.
This is why you need a strong foundation.
Interest Based Audience
• Least Reliable
• Not based on users that are already
interacting with you.
• Based on your knowledge of your
users.
• If you don’t have a mature source or
Pixel, this is your only option.
• Tips to Reduce Guesswork
• Be specific as possible
• Look at Google Analytics
• Exclude people
• Choose active connections and fan
pages
Measuring a
Campaign’s
Performance
Remember, when you start using
Facebook Ads you are looking for the
sweet spot. !
You want to study what works on your audience, and what doesn’t.
What makes them stop scrolling and click?
What To Look For !
Ideally, you want to have a high engagement or click
through rate but a low CPC.
But you also want to study and test the differences
between different demographics.
What To Look For
What To Look For
Then Repeat! ♻
Now that you know what worked,
make some modifications to your ad and audience then
repeat the process!
When you’ve got a
hand of it, try using
Split Tests
The key is to test just one
element at a time.
Extra Resources
Study Your Competition
Facebook Blueprint
https://www.facebook.com/business/learn
AdEspresso
https://adespresso.com/blog/
Digital Marketer
https://www.digitalmarketer.com/blog/
Jon Loomer
https://www.jonloomer.com/
Where You Can Learn More
www.thisisdanielafurtado.com
danielapimentelfurtado@gmail.com

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Facebook Ads 101

  • 1. Facebook Ads 101 Daniela Pimentel Furtado www.thisisdanielafurtado.com
  • 2. Digital Marketing Specialist I work with a variety of digital marketing channels, Facebook ads is one of them. I specifically help SMEs with budgets of up to €10k. ! I can help you … • Decide if Facebook is the best tactic for your business • Make the most of your marketing budget with Facebook Ads
  • 4. Learn the absolute basics. !!!
  • 5. Before Starting a Campaign • Requirements • Common Strategies Today’s Game Plan Setting Up a Campaign • Budget • Objective • Ad Formats • Bidding • Audience Measuring a Campaign • Monitor • Optimize • Repeat!
  • 6. Process Create a Facebook Business Page and Set Up Ad Manager Set Up a Campaign Facebook Reviews Ads Ad is Approved and Published Ads Runs Analyze Ad Performance Repeat .. but BeCer! * Set up Facebook Pixel
  • 9. ✅ Must have a Facebook Business Page – regardless number of followers ✅ Must have a credit card on file (Ad Manager) ✅ Must abide by Facebook’s policies MUST HAVE Before Starting https://www.facebook.com/policies/ads/
  • 10. • Tobacco • Drugs – illegal • Weapons and explosives • “Adult” products • Multilevel marketing • Diet and weight-loss products • Surveillance equipment • Short-term loans • Spyware ! Prohibited Ad Content Restricted Topics • Alcohol • Dating services • Lotteries and gambling • Drugs – over the counter and prescription • Social issues and politics • Financial services • Cryptocurrencies Facebook will not approve ads related to these topics.
  • 11. • Sensational content • Shocking, scary or violent images • Controversial political or social issues • Bad grammar and punctuation. • Minimal numbers and symbols. • Low quality or non-functional landing page • Mention of third-parties • Excessive text (more than 20%) in ad images Ads and Landing Page Regardless of the topic, Facebook has quality standards. • Personal attributes • Use the word “other” ✅ Gay Dance Club ❎ Meet Other Lesbians • Personalise to user ✅ Depression Counseling ❎ Is depression getting you down?
  • 12. ✅ Enable Facebook Pixels ✅ Have a strategy and objective ✅ Have solid offerings and a foundation GOOD TO HAVE Before Starting
  • 13. A code that you ad to your website <header> to track users using cookies. What does it do? • Track conversions from Facebook Ads. • Build highly targeted audiences for future ads, AKA lookalike audiences. • Remarket people who have already interacted with your website. • Allows you to track specific events, or “actions”. Facebook Pixel
  • 14. Events Manager – Add Data Source
  • 15. ✅ Promote a product or service – retarget ✅ Drive traffic to a webpage ✅ Prompt people to visit a physical business location or an in-person event ✅ Increase your page followers* The goal is to reach potential clients, and initiate a relationship. Common Strategies
  • 16. ✅ Suitable Audience ✅ Good Product, Service or Content The foundation for a good advertising campaign is …
  • 17. Facebook Ads is not a magic pill. ! It is an amplifier. If you forget everything else, remember this.
  • 18. ⛔ Just launched a completely new website or Facebook page ⛔ Just launched a brand new product ⛔ Just enabled Facebook Pixels Not Recommended if You …
  • 19. It takes time and money for every business to find their sweet spot. !
  • 20. Setting Up a Campaign from Nothing
  • 21. Ad Manager – Campaign Dashboard
  • 22. Campaign Structure Clothes Winter 2020 Campaign Portugal Ad Set Shirts Ad Trousers Ad Socks Ad Spain Ad Set Shirts Ad Trousers Ad Socks Ad Italy Ad Set Shirts Ad Trousers Ad Socks Ad
  • 23. Campaign Structure Clothes Winter 2020 Campaign Portugal Ad Set Shirts Ad Trousers Ad Socks Ad Spain Ad Set Shirts Ad Trousers Ad Socks Ad Italy Ad Set Shirts Ad Trousers Ad Socks Ad
  • 25. !It depends! “How much money should I spend on Facebook Ads?”
  • 26. When you run an ad, you pay for either clicks or impressions. CPC: Cost per Click CPM: Cost per Mile or Cost per 1000 Impressions The cost is never a fixed rate. It depends on a gazillion factors, and how much you are willing to bid. The minimum you can spend is €1 per day. How much do Facebook Ads cost?
  • 27. 1. The audience you are targeting 2. The time of year 3. Your campaign objective 4. The engagement levels and relevance score of your ad 5. The maturity of your Facebook pixel What affects the costs?
  • 28. The more developed and tech savvy the country or market, the more expensive the CPC. The older the demographic, the more expensive the CPC.
  • 29. CPC for females are generally higher. CPC is highest around holiday season – influenced by bidding.
  • 30. The higher your relevance score, the lower the CPC.
  • 31. So many marketers have a slightly different answer to this question. Some say you should spend €1 a day for every 100 monthly website visitors. Most say it depends on your CPA and CLV. “How much money should I spend on Facebook Ads?” !
  • 32. You will probably lose money on ads in the beginning but to make sure you make money in the long run, you need to understand your CPA and CLV and use them as benchmarks. CPA: Cost per Acquisition CLV: Customer Lifetime Value Understand Your CPA and CLV
  • 33. Let’s say you are selling books for €25. After running some tests, you get 1 sale for every 30 clicks and your average CPC is €1. Average No. Clicks per Sale x CPC = CPA 30 x €1 = €30 You lost money from this ad and sale, at least €5. Cost per Acquisition (CPA)
  • 34. Let’s say you run a retargeting ad, and this time the CPA is €5. The ad successfully brings a former customer back to your website and they buy another book for €25. In order to sell €50 in books, you had to spend a total of €35 per customer (total CPA) in ads. You made €15! At this point, the customer will no longer go through ads and buy directly from your website. Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
  • 35. After acquiring a customer from ads, let’s say the customer sticks around for a year and buys 3 more books. Average Sale x No. of Sales per Year x No. of Years as a Customer = CLV €25 per book x 5 books a year x 1 year as a customer = €125 CLV – Total CPA = Profit or ROI €125 – €35 = €90 Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
  • 36. Use your CPA and CLV as benchmarks. Use your CLV to calculate how many customers or sales you need. Then use your CPA to calculate how much you need to spend to convert X amount of customers. “How much money should I spend on Facebook Ads?”
  • 37. OBJECTIVES & AD FORMATS
  • 38. Key Points • The cost increases from one category to the next. • Objectives in the “Awareness” category are charged by impressions, not clicks. • Test with Engagement to see if they interact, or Brand/Reach if you are in it for the long-run. Choose an objective that aligns with your overall strategy and goal.
  • 39. • Promote an in-person event. • Increase traffic on a strategic blog post. • Acquire email subscribers. • Increase sales for a product. • Increase engagement on a post. • Test ads and your audience. Which Facebook Ad objective would you choose?
  • 40. Link Click Ads (Standard) • Increase website traffic • Capture leads like email subscribers – but not sales leads Video Ads • Show people how your product works. • Up to 4GB, 120 min but optimal time is 30-90 sec Boost Post (Standard) • Boost posts that are well-performing organically Carousel Ads • Content marketers that want to promote multiple posts Ad Formats – Drive Traffic
  • 41. Ad Formats – Drive Traffic Notice how the ads use short copy, and the images/videos have very little text. Instead the multimedia SHOWS you what you can expect if you were to click.
  • 42. Ad Formats – Drive Traffic and Leads (non-sales) If you are using ads to fill a funnel and get email subscribers, again show people what they can expect. Mock ups are great!
  • 43. Carousel Ads • eCommerce to promote multiple products Dynamic Product Ads • Like carousel, but remarketing. Customized to user data, and shows items user has seen and similar. • Must have FB pixel and product catalog uploaded. Lead Generation Ads • Capture information through built-in landing page. Ad Formats – Sales Canvas Ads • For Mobile, like carousel but more interactive and dynamic • Load 10 times faster than standard ads Collection Ads • For Mobile, advertise collection of products. Video or image
  • 44. Ad Formats – Sales
  • 45. Page Like Ads • Get more likes on your FB page Page Post / Video / Text Ads • Encourage likes through • Photos • Video • Text • No CTA Ad Formats – Engagement
  • 46. Ad Formats – Engagement Notice how there is no call to action? Oprah doesn’t want you to do anything but watch the video and engage.
  • 47. Event Ads • Promote event on FB page Offer Ads • Offer discount and coupons to people in your area. • Click ad and get an email with code to bring to physical store. • Need at least 50 likes on your FB page. Local Awareness Ads • Like offer, except the CTA is to call or send message. Ad Formats – Physical Visits or Events
  • 48. Ad Formats – Physical Visits or Events
  • 50. “Which bid should I use?” When starting, it’s safer to just go with lowest cost. Lowest costs is automatic, and Facebook will bid the lowest possible cost per click.
  • 52. • Custom and Lookalike • Interest Based • Remarketing Ads We will focus on the custom and interest based audiences. There are 3 types of audience targeting.
  • 53. Remember I said Facebook is a great amplifier? ! When you create a custom audience, you are giving Facebook user data and telling Facebook to target those specific users. A lookalike audience uses the data from your custom audience to predict “lookalikes” to expand your reach based on proven pattern behaviours. Create a Custom & Lookalike Audience
  • 54. Go to Audience Manager
  • 55. Go to Audience Manager
  • 56. Custom Audience – Choose a Source
  • 57. Lookalike Audience – Add to the Custom Audience
  • 58. Lookalike Audience ! You must have a somewhat mature Facebook Pixel, otherwise Facebook has very little to work with. This is why you need a strong foundation.
  • 59. Interest Based Audience • Least Reliable • Not based on users that are already interacting with you. • Based on your knowledge of your users. • If you don’t have a mature source or Pixel, this is your only option. • Tips to Reduce Guesswork • Be specific as possible • Look at Google Analytics • Exclude people • Choose active connections and fan pages
  • 61. Remember, when you start using Facebook Ads you are looking for the sweet spot. ! You want to study what works on your audience, and what doesn’t. What makes them stop scrolling and click?
  • 62. What To Look For ! Ideally, you want to have a high engagement or click through rate but a low CPC. But you also want to study and test the differences between different demographics.
  • 65. Then Repeat! ♻ Now that you know what worked, make some modifications to your ad and audience then repeat the process!
  • 66. When you’ve got a hand of it, try using Split Tests The key is to test just one element at a time.
  • 69.