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MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The Content Formula
Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael
@BrennerMichael
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
Do stuff that matters
Make an impact!
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What’s The ROI of
Content Marketing?
Calculation OR Defense Mechanism
“
”
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that
grows over time.
Need proof . . .
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
-
100,000
200,000
300,000
400,000
500,000
600,000
0
100
200
300
400
500
600
Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15
Pageviews
#Articles
COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING
Marketing Has A
Marketing Problem
What is the ROI?
The First Banner Ad
(1994)
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Less likely
to click on a
banner than…
Content marketing trends
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
60-70% of marketing content
goes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Behind every piece
of bad content
is an executive
who asked for it.
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The ones who are crazy enough
to think that they can change the
world
are the ones who do.
”
“
Steve Jobs
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
We need to
push back
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The Art of Pushing Back
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing Requires Empathy
Content
Marketing
What
Brands
Publish
What
Customers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUPhttp://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/
The Difference Between “Content”
and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing is EASY!
“The Buyer Journey is nothing more
than a series of questions that
must be answered.”
~ IDC
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only!
Publish content to
primary channel
Distribute content
to earned media
Distribute content
to paid media
Measure ROI of
content marketing
Optimize and target
distribution
Optimize for
subscriptions
& offers
“The Buyer Journey is nothing more
than a series of questions that
must be answered.”
~ IDC
Documented
content marketing
strategy
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
WARNING!
Math ahead!
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
PART ONE
/ Build The
Business Case
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
1
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How Do You Sell
Empathy To
Executives Who
Don’t Have Any?
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Reach early
stage buyers
Engage new buyers
with your brand
Conversions you would
have never reached
= $
Build The Business Case
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
2011: SAP launches major new product
Marketing Budgets
Marketing Contribution
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Cluster Brand?
Total Monthly
Searches (est.)
Analytics Brand 458
30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761
Cloud Brand 398
10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460
Big Data Brand 28,884
218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967
Mobility Brand 12,488
28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598
CRM/Sales Brand 156,028
40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329
Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497
24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493
TOTAL Brand 1,688,883
130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715
Tried To Push Back With Data
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Our Website: Talking To Ourselves
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
168000
45000
48000
3400 228
Digital Share of Voice
– Brand Only
Comp #1
Comp #4
Comp #5
Comp #2
Client #3
25
18
15
23
20
Market Share
Comp #1
Comp #4
Comp #5
Comp #2
Client #3
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Late-Stage Content
66%Early-Stage Content
6%
Middle-Stage Content
28%
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The Math Didn’t Help
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The Power of Fear
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
IMAGINE: We own the category
www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
IMAGINE: We own the target audience
www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers
AMEXOPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
BUT: We had no budget
Engagement?
99% Bounce Rate
How Much COST?
$200,000
Search Traffic?
0, None, Nada, Zip
Social Shares?
Also ZERO
Conversions?
“This is an awareness
campaign”
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
SAP Digitalist Magazine
To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.
Engagement?
70%
How Much COST?
$100,000
Half the ad budget
Search Traffic?
50%
Social Shares?
10%
Conversions?
~1,000 in year 1
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Traffic from Organic, Social & Referrals
Organic Social SAP Owned Referrals
Reach and Engagement We Would Have
Never Seen
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Reach,
Engagement
and
Conversions
We Would Have
Never Seen
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your
Website?
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Early-stage Searches
Middle-stage
Brand Searches
Search/SocialVolume
What is Content Marketing?
(10-3000 X)
How do I succeed with
Content Marketing?
(2-10 X)
What tools can help
me with content
marketing?
(1)
How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Is There?
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
CONTENT MARKETING
Your Destination
Blogs
News
Infographics
Social Content
Video
Whitepapers
Webinars
Events
Newsletters
How-To Guides
Customer Profiles
PRODUCT MARKETING
Product content
Offers
Brochures
Customer Testimonials
Case studies
Ads
Reach, Engage and Convert Buyers You We Would Have
Never Seen
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
PART TWO
/ Find The
Budget
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
2
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Marketers Buy Tactics
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content
Used…
Content
Not Used
70%
Content Waste is a
$100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy
= $
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because
You Don’t Rank Organically?
30%70%
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because
You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
The average click-through rate of display ads is 0.1%.
(DoubleClick).1%
8% Only 8% of internet users account for 85% of clicks
on display ads (and some aren’t even humans!)
(comScore)
50% About 50% of clicks on mobile ads are accidental
(GoldSpot)
Reallocate Budget From Low Performing
Marketing Programs (Advertising?)
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low to High
=$
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing
Saved / invested in content marketing platform
$100,000 / $100,000
Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have
never seen.
1,000,000 Organic Visitors
10,000 Subscribers
1,000 Leads
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
What is “Guerilla” Marketing?
Re-Purpose
•Executive PowerPoints
•Whitepapers
•Customer Service and Sales FAQs
•Your emails = answers
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
OPP (OPC)
•Act as a journalists at events
•Cover competitor and industry research
•Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
Create Stuff Easy
• Create a list of top influencers
• best conferences
• best quotes
• best stats in your industry
• Extract the expertise inside your company
• What is…
• Why important...
• How to achieve success with ...
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
Keywordtooldominator.com
Ubersuggest.io
Keywordtool.io
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
PART
THREE
/ Measure
Results
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
3
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
How Do You Sell
Empathy To
Executives Who
Don’t Have Any?
@BrennerMichael
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Paid vs. Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Organic Search Share of Voice
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The Business Value of Content Marketing
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI – Reach / Awareness
TheValue of Organic Search =
(Paid Search CPC X Organic SearchTraffic)
TheValue of Unbranded SearchTraffic =
(Paid Search CPC X Unbranded SearchTraffic)
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI – Reach / Awareness
TheValue of Organic Search =
($2 X 500,000) = $1 Million
TheValue of Unbranded SearchTraffic =
($2 X 420,000) = $840,000
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Lyly Lepinay – Former Group Digital Content
Marketing Manager, Capgemini
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
CapGemini
Content-Loop.com
• LinkedIn Sponsored updates
• Drives to branded Content Hub
• Offers to deeper content
• Recommendations to connect with
experts
Results:
~1M visitors / year
+ 3K new LinkedIn followers per week
+ High Quality Leads
+ Sales / ROI
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Casper’s Van
Winkles
• Effortlessly combines national
housing news with articles on
inspirational interior design,
celebrity homes and company
updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large
audiences across Facebook,
Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter
and Google+
Casper’s Van
Winkles
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Paid vs. Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Organic Search Share of Voice
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
The Power of Subscriptions
Subscribers are
9x more likely to convert
than non-subscribers
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
TheValue of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads * Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
Content Marketing Direct $ales
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
TheValue of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads * Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000
$540,000
Content Marketing Direct $ales
3 e-store visits / week x $400 x 52 = $21,000
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI - Retention
TheValue of Retention=
LifetimeValue Content Customer vs. Non-ContentCustomers
Retention Rate vs. Non-Content Customers
Revenue per Content Customer vs. Non-ContentCustomers
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Lifetime Value:
Content consumers
spend more and are
more loyal customers.
Shane Jordan
Digital Marketing Manager
Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Show me the money!
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Content Marketing ROI
$100,000 saved in advertising landing page costs
$1 Million in search traffic
$250,000 in email list growth
$540,000 in lead conversion to sales
$21,000 in direct e-store sales
?? Click to call / chat
-------------
$1,911,000 inValue /
Investment= $100,000
19X ROI
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than
Fortune, Fast Company and more…
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
MARKETING INSIDER GROUPBUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
MARKETING INSIDER GROUP
Thank you!
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael

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Hvordan beregne avkastningen på din Content Marketing? Her er 10 formler!

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. We’ve all asked the question, why content marketing? To set the stage, there’s been a fundamental shift in the way we as consumers consume and share content. Momentous amount of content being created, consumed and shared. An amazing amount of content, the real question is how does a brand stand apart?