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Social Media
 ROI Reform
Measuring the success of your
hospital’s social media efforts
About me

 •   Director, Digital Marketing and
     Communications, Inova
 •   Advisory Board Member,
     Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media
 •   Worked with more than 100
     hospitals/physician practices
 •   www.christopherboyer.com
 •   @chrisboyer


                                       2
I feel sorry for traditional media
  • Badthe news in the NYT is at least a day old”
    “All
         timing


  • One-way conversation
  • Very expensive
    $114,174

  • Not personal
I feel sorry for traditional media
  • Badthe news in-the NYT is at least a day old”
    “All
         timing

  • Very expensive -
    $114,174

  • Not personal -
  • Broadcast
                                                    4
Social media
makes sense


  for patients
   and for us
But what
   exactly is
“social media”?


(a.k.a why are
we doing this)
A definition of social media
"A group of Internet-based applications that build on the
ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and
that allow the creation and exchange of user-generated
content."

   - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin
A definition of social media
"A group of Internet-based applications that build on the
ideological and technological foundations of
Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of
user-generated content."

   - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin
How I define social media

• Transparency
• Credibility
• Relevancy
• Trust
• “Communities of Interest”
Social media shouldn’t
force us to be transparent.

       We should.
Building credibility
• 57 % of people say a social media connection
   with a hospital has a strong impact on their
   decision to seek treatment


• 81% of consumers believe if a hospital has a
   strong social media presence, they are likely to
   be more cutting edge, creating a halo effect

Consumers’ Use, Preference and Expectations of Hospital Social Media
                   - YouGov Research, July 2011
The cornerstone
Continuum of “I-Don’t-Care”



  Don’t Care      Care somewhat
                                     Care deeply
(not engaged)     (kinda engaged)


                                          g Opi nions
                                    Sharin
                       esearching
                      R
     iscovering
   D
Social media provides relevant
     messages at the right time
Facebook
            Pinterest
                        Forums
  Twitter                        Flickr
            SMM    UStream                      Yelp!
Digg
            SlideShare       LinkedIn          Local     Angie’s List
   Wordpress      Tumblr                      Listings
                         Microsites                             g Op inions
Foursquare Google+                                       S harin
YouTube                          esearching
                               R
                           Blogs
      iscovering
    D
Social networks are
     how we connect.


Communities of interest are
   why we connect.
•   1500 “Find a Doctor” searches
•   800 eNewsletter subscribers
Multiple uses for social media
• Customer service/service recovery
  • Patient education
    • Real-time market research
      • Influencer engagement
         • Crisis management
          • Brand protection/equity
            • Word-of-mouth marketing
Social media has
changed everything
Which brings me
   to pants

Contrary to popular belief,
there is ROI in everything

 ...including social media.
Why does the
 discussion of social
media ROI sometimes
make me feel like this?




                   21
What’s the controversy?
We all should strive to:



  Provide             Build          Be
  the best           strong        fiscally
    care         relationships   responsible




                   Simple.
Our changing business...

• Tightening insurance reimbursements

• Public reporting of outcome data

• Shared-risk model:

   • Hospitals
   • Patients
   • Physicians

• “Go big or go home”
Not that this is a bad thing!

• Our goal is to improve health

• We want to provide access to high-quality care

• We do this because we want to help people

• Preventative health is part of our mission
Is it really – NO MARGIN, NO MISSION?
Where’s the




Talking about financial return seems cold and callous
Is social media ROI truly “ROI”?
• Return on Results (ROR)
• Return on Opportunity (ROO)
• Return on Engagement (ROE)
• Likes Accumulated from Facebook Followers (LAFF)
• Time We Invest in Twitter Spam (TWITS)
What can (or do) you measure?

•   Friends, fans & followers

•   Reach, relationship & reputation

•   Strength, sentiment & passion

•   100 ways to measure:
    http://bit.ly/100ways

                                       (R OI)?
ROI should always be tied to $$$
“Social Media ROI reflects any other marketing-related ROI:
the net financial revenue to the organization from the effort,
after having accounted for the effort's costs. 

FI-NAN-CIAL
money
dough
bottom line
coin
or, as I like to call it,
ROI”

             - Chris Bevolo @intervalchris
ROI = (financial gain/savings - cost)
                  cost
Why should we measure ROI?
• Only 27% of exec’s believe social media is strategic priority
 - Jive Social Business Index Survey


• 59% of marketers use social media 6 hours or more/week
  - Social Media Marketing Industry Report


• If you don’t measure, don’t worry: your successor will
 - Chris Boyer
1
    Profitable services
    Profitable patient revenue



Three ways
to measure
   ROI
Driving growth through social media
     • Use social media to lead to other marketing:
        • Websites
        • Seminars

    • Use tools to measure attribution

    • Lead social media fans to convert
        • Opt-in or provide information

    • Measure your results
“Driving growth goals” ROI chart
 Tool                   Function                      Measurement*
             • Create multiple pages, i.e.       • Click-throughs of links
                 “communities of interest”           from FB page
             •   Promote free ways to            •   CTR of FB ads
                 participate in campaigns/       •   Analytics on website to
                 seminars                            measure inbound links and
             •   Use events and polls to gain        avg. time on page
                 interaction                     •   Conversions
             •   Use Facebook advertising

             • Use claimed listings as ways to   • Analytics on website to
                 promote clinics                     measure inbound links and
             •   Ensure message is appropriate       avg. time on page
                 for employees and patients      •   Conversions
             •   Create specialized URL to
                 measure unique traffic



        * Always track back to financial measurement
Using Facebook to promote bariatrics
•   Identify Facebook audience interested in losing weight

•   Create ads promoting weight loss solutions
•   Direct ads to landing page that offers options to patients
•   $479 monthly spend
The results (from just 3 months):

•   296 clicks/month


•   30 seminar registrations


•   23% seminar registration/surgery conversion rate


•   Average $3,000 contribution margin from surgery


•   $20,700 margin originated from campaign
Calculating ROI

          ROI = (gain - cost)/cost


Gain: $20,700
Cost: $479 x 3 = $1,437


ROI = (20,700 - 1,437)/(1437) = 13.4 or 1340%
Wait a second...
 you didn’t tell me there
was going to be any math!
2   Lower costs
    Improve results
Lowering marketing &
       communication costs
• Compliment (or replace) traditional with low-cost
 social media

• Train others to assist with your social media efforts

• Encourage patients to tell/spread their story

• Measure the money or time you save
Lowering costs ROI chart
Tool                   Function                       Measurement*
            • Promote press stories to wide- •        RT’s
              spread audience                 •       # of inquiries from media
            • Real-time coverage of press     •       Earned media coverage
              events                          •       Traffic to website
            • Links back to press releases on •       Increased volume
                website




            • Video press releases and            • Video views
                statements                        • Click-throughs from
            •   Stories/testimonials                  YouTube URL to main site
            •   Create online video press site,   •   Cross-linking/embeds
                with top stories                  •   Increased utilization
            •   Every video SEO’d with CTA




       * Always track back to financial measurement
Mission Health blog
ROI through cost savings




                             Higher engagement, too!
 •   14,000 page views/mo
 •   5 pages/visit
 •   3:52 avg time on page
Viral promotion




• Dec 2010 – Back Pain lecture held by Spine Surgeon
• Event live-streamed and live-tweeted
• Watched by over 200 viewers online
• Picked up by local media – 200K media impressions
Live-tweeted the event
Six months later



 Question: Can you calculate ROI from this?

Answer: Yes.
(CM for neck surgery/rehabilitation - cost to live-stream/tweet) / cost


   A better success measurement: we improved their quality of life.
How do we
measure this?!?!?
What is the
lifetime value
 of a patient?




 Photo courtesy Ted Eytan, MD, www.tedeytan.com
To Facebook, we’re worth
              ~$81 apiece


Your friends are worth $.62

Your profile page is worth $1800




  But what’s a Facebook fan worth to us?
Using social media to increase
    satisfaction & loyalty
• Provide relevant information to “non-patients”

• Build wellness programs to increase relevance

• Patient education and compliance

• When measuring ROI, think correlation vs. causation
Loyalty & satisfaction “ROI” chart
    Tool               Function                     Measurement*
             • Share relevant wellness/health     • Fans/follower of all
             messages from other sources         communities
             • Create other “communities of      • Likes, reposts, interactivity
             interest” to encourage deeper       • Click-throughs of content
             engagement                          to your website
             • Use polls, photos to provide ways
             for two-way dialogue


             • Promote best-in-class              • Number of group
             opportunities to work                members
             • Create forums for physician        • Physician interaction
             leaders to highlight expertise       • Employment inquiries to
             • Link to top stories                HR




       * Always track back to financial measurement
Using social media to promote wellness




•   7,300 registrants

•   575 Facebook followers

•   5,000 updated CRM records (2,300 entirely new records)

•   500 cross-promoted into other eNewsletter programs
FitFor50 demographics




Age range
Revenue through FitFor50

•   325 participants enrolled in fitness run (ROI: $20 x 325 = $6500)

•   Life-to-date utilization (contribution margin):

     •   “New” patient CM: $38,000

     •   “Former” patient CM: $274,000

     •   Total CM: $305,600



                    Correlated vs. Causal ROI
Is wellness worth it?


 “worth it”: informal sufficiently good, enjoyable,
or successful to repay any effort, trouble, or expense
Changing the way we work

• Inbound vs. outbound tactics

• Measure engagement instead of growth

• Use CRM to measure patient & physician behavior

• Focus on measuring the lifetime value of the patient
Social Media ROI Reform


    Don’t Care             Care somewhat
                                                          Care deeply
  (not engaged)            (kinda engaged)


                                                        Referral to other svcs

                                                   Discharge compliance

      Fitness & community classes      Preparing for encounter

   Physicians building trust   Shift to low-cost marketing

Wellness messaging      Promote “patient choice” care
Questions?

    Chris Boyer
      @chrisboyer
 www.christopherboyer.com
Social Media ROI Charleston by Chris Boyer
Social Media ROI
It’s easy if you try
If you don’t measure it
Then why you doin’ it?

Social Media ROI
Those words shouldn’t make you cry
Grow your business,
Be cost effective
Or focus on loyalty

Set your goals
Then you’re set to go
Impress your CFO
It’s the only way to go
                                              62

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Texas Hospital Association - Social Media ROI Reform presentation

  • 1. Social Media ROI Reform Measuring the success of your hospital’s social media efforts
  • 2. About me • Director, Digital Marketing and Communications, Inova • Advisory Board Member, Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media • Worked with more than 100 hospitals/physician practices • www.christopherboyer.com • @chrisboyer 2
  • 3. I feel sorry for traditional media • Badthe news in the NYT is at least a day old” “All timing • One-way conversation • Very expensive $114,174 • Not personal
  • 4. I feel sorry for traditional media • Badthe news in-the NYT is at least a day old” “All timing • Very expensive - $114,174 • Not personal - • Broadcast 4
  • 5. Social media makes sense for patients and for us
  • 6. But what exactly is “social media”? (a.k.a why are we doing this)
  • 7. A definition of social media "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user-generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin
  • 8. A definition of social media "A group of Internet-based applications that build on the ideological and technological foundations of Web 2.0, and that allow the creation and exchange of user-generated content." - Andreas Kaplan & Michael Haenlin
  • 9. How I define social media • Transparency • Credibility • Relevancy • Trust • “Communities of Interest”
  • 10. Social media shouldn’t force us to be transparent. We should.
  • 11. Building credibility • 57 % of people say a social media connection with a hospital has a strong impact on their decision to seek treatment • 81% of consumers believe if a hospital has a strong social media presence, they are likely to be more cutting edge, creating a halo effect Consumers’ Use, Preference and Expectations of Hospital Social Media - YouGov Research, July 2011
  • 13. Continuum of “I-Don’t-Care” Don’t Care Care somewhat Care deeply (not engaged) (kinda engaged) g Opi nions Sharin esearching R iscovering D
  • 14. Social media provides relevant messages at the right time Facebook Pinterest Forums Twitter Flickr SMM UStream Yelp! Digg SlideShare LinkedIn Local Angie’s List Wordpress Tumblr Listings Microsites g Op inions Foursquare Google+ S harin YouTube esearching R Blogs iscovering D
  • 15. Social networks are how we connect. Communities of interest are why we connect.
  • 16.
  • 17. 1500 “Find a Doctor” searches • 800 eNewsletter subscribers
  • 18. Multiple uses for social media • Customer service/service recovery • Patient education • Real-time market research • Influencer engagement • Crisis management • Brand protection/equity • Word-of-mouth marketing
  • 20. Which brings me to pants Contrary to popular belief, there is ROI in everything ...including social media.
  • 21. Why does the discussion of social media ROI sometimes make me feel like this? 21
  • 22. What’s the controversy? We all should strive to: Provide Build Be the best strong fiscally care relationships responsible Simple.
  • 23. Our changing business... • Tightening insurance reimbursements • Public reporting of outcome data • Shared-risk model: • Hospitals • Patients • Physicians • “Go big or go home”
  • 24. Not that this is a bad thing! • Our goal is to improve health • We want to provide access to high-quality care • We do this because we want to help people • Preventative health is part of our mission
  • 25. Is it really – NO MARGIN, NO MISSION?
  • 26. Where’s the Talking about financial return seems cold and callous
  • 27. Is social media ROI truly “ROI”? • Return on Results (ROR) • Return on Opportunity (ROO) • Return on Engagement (ROE) • Likes Accumulated from Facebook Followers (LAFF) • Time We Invest in Twitter Spam (TWITS)
  • 28. What can (or do) you measure? • Friends, fans & followers • Reach, relationship & reputation • Strength, sentiment & passion • 100 ways to measure: http://bit.ly/100ways (R OI)?
  • 29. ROI should always be tied to $$$ “Social Media ROI reflects any other marketing-related ROI: the net financial revenue to the organization from the effort, after having accounted for the effort's costs.  FI-NAN-CIAL money dough bottom line coin or, as I like to call it, ROI” - Chris Bevolo @intervalchris
  • 30. ROI = (financial gain/savings - cost) cost
  • 31. Why should we measure ROI? • Only 27% of exec’s believe social media is strategic priority - Jive Social Business Index Survey • 59% of marketers use social media 6 hours or more/week - Social Media Marketing Industry Report • If you don’t measure, don’t worry: your successor will - Chris Boyer
  • 32. 1 Profitable services Profitable patient revenue Three ways to measure ROI
  • 33. Driving growth through social media • Use social media to lead to other marketing: • Websites • Seminars • Use tools to measure attribution • Lead social media fans to convert • Opt-in or provide information • Measure your results
  • 34. “Driving growth goals” ROI chart Tool Function Measurement* • Create multiple pages, i.e. • Click-throughs of links “communities of interest” from FB page • Promote free ways to • CTR of FB ads participate in campaigns/ • Analytics on website to seminars measure inbound links and • Use events and polls to gain avg. time on page interaction • Conversions • Use Facebook advertising • Use claimed listings as ways to • Analytics on website to promote clinics measure inbound links and • Ensure message is appropriate avg. time on page for employees and patients • Conversions • Create specialized URL to measure unique traffic * Always track back to financial measurement
  • 35. Using Facebook to promote bariatrics • Identify Facebook audience interested in losing weight • Create ads promoting weight loss solutions • Direct ads to landing page that offers options to patients • $479 monthly spend
  • 36. The results (from just 3 months): • 296 clicks/month • 30 seminar registrations • 23% seminar registration/surgery conversion rate • Average $3,000 contribution margin from surgery • $20,700 margin originated from campaign
  • 37. Calculating ROI ROI = (gain - cost)/cost Gain: $20,700 Cost: $479 x 3 = $1,437 ROI = (20,700 - 1,437)/(1437) = 13.4 or 1340%
  • 38. Wait a second... you didn’t tell me there was going to be any math!
  • 39. 2 Lower costs Improve results
  • 40. Lowering marketing & communication costs • Compliment (or replace) traditional with low-cost social media • Train others to assist with your social media efforts • Encourage patients to tell/spread their story • Measure the money or time you save
  • 41. Lowering costs ROI chart Tool Function Measurement* • Promote press stories to wide- • RT’s spread audience • # of inquiries from media • Real-time coverage of press • Earned media coverage events • Traffic to website • Links back to press releases on • Increased volume website • Video press releases and • Video views statements • Click-throughs from • Stories/testimonials YouTube URL to main site • Create online video press site, • Cross-linking/embeds with top stories • Increased utilization • Every video SEO’d with CTA * Always track back to financial measurement
  • 43. ROI through cost savings Higher engagement, too! • 14,000 page views/mo • 5 pages/visit • 3:52 avg time on page
  • 44. Viral promotion • Dec 2010 – Back Pain lecture held by Spine Surgeon • Event live-streamed and live-tweeted • Watched by over 200 viewers online • Picked up by local media – 200K media impressions
  • 46. Six months later Question: Can you calculate ROI from this? Answer: Yes. (CM for neck surgery/rehabilitation - cost to live-stream/tweet) / cost A better success measurement: we improved their quality of life.
  • 47. How do we measure this?!?!?
  • 48. What is the lifetime value of a patient? Photo courtesy Ted Eytan, MD, www.tedeytan.com
  • 49. To Facebook, we’re worth ~$81 apiece Your friends are worth $.62 Your profile page is worth $1800 But what’s a Facebook fan worth to us?
  • 50. Using social media to increase satisfaction & loyalty • Provide relevant information to “non-patients” • Build wellness programs to increase relevance • Patient education and compliance • When measuring ROI, think correlation vs. causation
  • 51. Loyalty & satisfaction “ROI” chart Tool Function Measurement* • Share relevant wellness/health • Fans/follower of all messages from other sources communities • Create other “communities of • Likes, reposts, interactivity interest” to encourage deeper • Click-throughs of content engagement to your website • Use polls, photos to provide ways for two-way dialogue • Promote best-in-class • Number of group opportunities to work members • Create forums for physician • Physician interaction leaders to highlight expertise • Employment inquiries to • Link to top stories HR * Always track back to financial measurement
  • 52. Using social media to promote wellness • 7,300 registrants • 575 Facebook followers • 5,000 updated CRM records (2,300 entirely new records) • 500 cross-promoted into other eNewsletter programs
  • 54. Revenue through FitFor50 • 325 participants enrolled in fitness run (ROI: $20 x 325 = $6500) • Life-to-date utilization (contribution margin): • “New” patient CM: $38,000 • “Former” patient CM: $274,000 • Total CM: $305,600 Correlated vs. Causal ROI
  • 55. Is wellness worth it? “worth it”: informal sufficiently good, enjoyable, or successful to repay any effort, trouble, or expense
  • 56.
  • 57.
  • 58.
  • 59. Changing the way we work • Inbound vs. outbound tactics • Measure engagement instead of growth • Use CRM to measure patient & physician behavior • Focus on measuring the lifetime value of the patient
  • 60. Social Media ROI Reform Don’t Care Care somewhat Care deeply (not engaged) (kinda engaged) Referral to other svcs Discharge compliance Fitness & community classes Preparing for encounter Physicians building trust Shift to low-cost marketing Wellness messaging Promote “patient choice” care
  • 61. Questions? Chris Boyer @chrisboyer www.christopherboyer.com
  • 62. Social Media ROI Charleston by Chris Boyer Social Media ROI It’s easy if you try If you don’t measure it Then why you doin’ it? Social Media ROI Those words shouldn’t make you cry Grow your business, Be cost effective Or focus on loyalty Set your goals Then you’re set to go Impress your CFO It’s the only way to go 62