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Secret Steps for Online Strategies June 2010
Today’s Agenda IntroductionWho uses the Internet?Steps for online successSummary
Some of our clients...
£4.5 billion imrg.org – April 2010
Why online marketing? If you want to grow your business, you need to grow your sales Millions use search engines to find your services online everyday Getting online marketing right can drive £££’s in sales
Who will get more sales? Vs
Who uses the Internet? 36,820,000 Internet users in the UK  – 72% of market 21.8 million use Internet everyday UK averages 34.5 hours per month per user vs EU average of 16 hrs!
Who uses the Internet?
Who uses the Internet?
So much potential… How can you capitalise?
Success!
Steps to online success £
To start your plan… What is your AOV (Average Order Value)  	- You need to know this! How much profit could you make on an average order? - Help decide how much to spend on marketing  How much do you want to grow your business? 		- Can you actually cope?
Steps to online success
How estimate traffic levels Google gives us a lot of tools to help us with this now 		- Take all numbers with a pinch of salt Consider SEO and local listing traffic as well 	- Free traffic and lots of it! Think about offline marketing (if you do any) 	- This can impact visitors to your website
http://www.google.com/trends
http://www.google.com/trends
http://www.google.co.uk
http://www.google.co.uk
https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal
Steps to online success
Conversion rate Two step process; 	- Conversion rate of people from SE to your site - Conversion rate of people on your site to enquiry Every site is different but we can use industry research to make educated guesses
Google’s golden triangle
Conversion rate From our own research we estimate about 2% click through rate on top positions on Google This is VERY industry specific and depends on numerous factors (0.6% to 78%!) Read more: http://blog.adido-solutions.com/2009/07/how-accurate-is-google-keywords-tool.html
Get better click through rates - SEO META descriptions 	- Used for search engine results pages 	- Good way to ‘hook’ users into your website TITLE tags 	- Most important thing to change 	- Good titles, help rankings. Fact. Change them!
Get better click through rates - PPC Top tips! 	- Include the phrase the you are targeting in the headline and / or description 	- Take the user to the most relevant page on your website
UK average conversion rates http://www.coremetrics.co.uk/solutions/industry-report.php
On site conversion rates Average UK online conversion rate is between 1% - 3% Again, this is VERY industry specific and depends on numerous factors (0.5% to 10%!) You have to measure this – website stats (Google Analytics)
How to improve conversion rates #1 tip : Check your website stats! 			- Which are pages going wrong? #2 tip : Make design changes 			- What is stopping people from buying 		- ASK PEOPLE! #3 tip : Review and continue to monitor 			- Look to make continual improvements
Top tip! - Check your bounce rate! Where are you losing clients?
How to improve conversion rates
How to improve conversion rates
How to improve conversion rates
Back to our scenario… Possible traffic on target phrases:		500,000 Average click through from Google:	2% of 500k = 10,000 Average conversion rate:			2% of 10,000 = 200 AOV:						£100 x 200 = £20,000
Steps to online success
How much to spend? Each industry is different so each click is worth very different amounts!
How much to spend? Each industry is different so each click is worth very different amounts! Make sure you get the best clicks possible! 		- ‘Mortgages’				£2.56 - £3.84 		- ‘Remortgages’ 			£9.71 - £14.57 		- ‘Bad Credit Remortgages’	£17.28 - £25.97 FOR ONE CLICK TO YOUR WEBSITE! http://www.clickconsult.com/Internet-Marketing-Blog/pay-per-click/pay-per-click-management/high-cost-per-click-keywords.html
How much to spend? If AOV is £100, how much can you spend to get a sale? Say, 30% net profit so 10% of total goes to ad spend - 10% of £20,000 = £2,000 (leaving £4,000 profit!) 	- To get 10,000 visitors to your site = ave 20p per visit Remember, SEO clicks are free!
Steps to online success £4,000
How far can you go? Lot of things we can do to get more sales / enquiries ,[object Object]
Improve engagement
Get clients to come back more often
Improve average order value
Offer something for free to entice more spending,[object Object]

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Secret steps to creating online sales strategies

  • 1. Secret Steps for Online Strategies June 2010
  • 2. Today’s Agenda IntroductionWho uses the Internet?Steps for online successSummary
  • 3. Some of our clients...
  • 4. £4.5 billion imrg.org – April 2010
  • 5. Why online marketing? If you want to grow your business, you need to grow your sales Millions use search engines to find your services online everyday Getting online marketing right can drive £££’s in sales
  • 6. Who will get more sales? Vs
  • 7. Who uses the Internet? 36,820,000 Internet users in the UK – 72% of market 21.8 million use Internet everyday UK averages 34.5 hours per month per user vs EU average of 16 hrs!
  • 8. Who uses the Internet?
  • 9. Who uses the Internet?
  • 10. So much potential… How can you capitalise?
  • 12. Steps to online success £
  • 13. To start your plan… What is your AOV (Average Order Value) - You need to know this! How much profit could you make on an average order? - Help decide how much to spend on marketing How much do you want to grow your business? - Can you actually cope?
  • 14. Steps to online success
  • 15. How estimate traffic levels Google gives us a lot of tools to help us with this now - Take all numbers with a pinch of salt Consider SEO and local listing traffic as well - Free traffic and lots of it! Think about offline marketing (if you do any) - This can impact visitors to your website
  • 21. Steps to online success
  • 22. Conversion rate Two step process; - Conversion rate of people from SE to your site - Conversion rate of people on your site to enquiry Every site is different but we can use industry research to make educated guesses
  • 23.
  • 25.
  • 26.
  • 27. Conversion rate From our own research we estimate about 2% click through rate on top positions on Google This is VERY industry specific and depends on numerous factors (0.6% to 78%!) Read more: http://blog.adido-solutions.com/2009/07/how-accurate-is-google-keywords-tool.html
  • 28. Get better click through rates - SEO META descriptions - Used for search engine results pages - Good way to ‘hook’ users into your website TITLE tags - Most important thing to change - Good titles, help rankings. Fact. Change them!
  • 29. Get better click through rates - PPC Top tips! - Include the phrase the you are targeting in the headline and / or description - Take the user to the most relevant page on your website
  • 30. UK average conversion rates http://www.coremetrics.co.uk/solutions/industry-report.php
  • 31. On site conversion rates Average UK online conversion rate is between 1% - 3% Again, this is VERY industry specific and depends on numerous factors (0.5% to 10%!) You have to measure this – website stats (Google Analytics)
  • 32. How to improve conversion rates #1 tip : Check your website stats! - Which are pages going wrong? #2 tip : Make design changes - What is stopping people from buying - ASK PEOPLE! #3 tip : Review and continue to monitor - Look to make continual improvements
  • 33. Top tip! - Check your bounce rate! Where are you losing clients?
  • 34. How to improve conversion rates
  • 35. How to improve conversion rates
  • 36. How to improve conversion rates
  • 37. Back to our scenario… Possible traffic on target phrases: 500,000 Average click through from Google: 2% of 500k = 10,000 Average conversion rate: 2% of 10,000 = 200 AOV: £100 x 200 = £20,000
  • 38. Steps to online success
  • 39. How much to spend? Each industry is different so each click is worth very different amounts!
  • 40. How much to spend? Each industry is different so each click is worth very different amounts! Make sure you get the best clicks possible! - ‘Mortgages’ £2.56 - £3.84 - ‘Remortgages’ £9.71 - £14.57 - ‘Bad Credit Remortgages’ £17.28 - £25.97 FOR ONE CLICK TO YOUR WEBSITE! http://www.clickconsult.com/Internet-Marketing-Blog/pay-per-click/pay-per-click-management/high-cost-per-click-keywords.html
  • 41. How much to spend? If AOV is £100, how much can you spend to get a sale? Say, 30% net profit so 10% of total goes to ad spend - 10% of £20,000 = £2,000 (leaving £4,000 profit!) - To get 10,000 visitors to your site = ave 20p per visit Remember, SEO clicks are free!
  • 42.
  • 43.
  • 44.
  • 45. Steps to online success £4,000
  • 46.
  • 48. Get clients to come back more often
  • 50.