Enhancing Worker Digital Experience: A Hands-on Workshop for Partners
Why You Should Have Paid Attention in Math
1. Why You Should Have Paid Attention in Math
Understanding Online Marketing Numbers and Data Tracking
SFU Summer 2011 Book Immersion July 22, 2011
Twitter @boxcarmarketing
2. Not everything that counts can be measured.
Not everything that can be measured counts.
Albert Einstein
Monique Trottier
@BoxcarMarketing
3. There are 2 things we like to measure:
Things that lead to sales
Sales
Monique Trottier
@BoxcarMarketing
5. What is a Conversion Rate
• Number of visitors who perform a desired action / Number of visitors to a page
• Desired action: buy a product, complete a form, etc.
• If there are 100 visitors to a particular web page and 5 people buy a book, then
the conversation rate is 5%
• (5/100) * 100 = 5%
• Abandonment Rate is calculated in the same way, but it’s the number of people
who do not complete a task divided by the total number of visitors
8. Things that lead to sales
Twitter Followers Customer Feedback
RTs
Facebook Fans
Email Opens
Website Visitors
Press Mentions
Sales
Monique Trottier
@BoxcarMarketing
9. Did we make money means what is the ROI?
• Return on Investment
• Did I make more money than I spent?
• Actually a tricky question: (Gross Profit - Marketing Investment)
Marketing Investment
• Gross Profit = Gross Revenue - Cost of Goods Sold <OR>
Gross Profit = Gross Revenue * Profit Margin (% of revenue that is actually profit)
• Invest $3,000 on marketing campaign and generate $30,000 gross revenue
(1,000 copies sold at $30), if profit margin is 10%, then
Gross Profit is $30,000 * 10% = $3,000
($3,000 - $3,000) / $3,000 = 0%
10. Things that lead to sales
Acquisition Website Visitors, time on site
Number of pageviews, repeat visits,
Activation subscription (email, blog), account
sign-up (profile data), Fan/Follower
Email Opens, Click-throughs,
Retention Repeat visits
Press Mention, RT,
Referral Refers 1+visitors to the site;
Refers 1+ visitors who activate
Sales
Monique Trottier
@BoxcarMarketing
11. What is Click Through Rate?
• CTR = Number of clicks on an ad / number of times the ad is shown
• Applies to ads, buttons, banners, etc.
• If banner ad is delivered 100 times (100 impressions) and receives 1 click, then
the CTR = 1%
12. If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will
get you there.
Misquote from Alice in Wonderland
Monique Trottier
@BoxcarMarketing
13. A simple Contest
• Reach a new audience or reinforce our connection to an existing audience
Goal Lifecycle Action Reaction Metrics
@ / RT / Comment
Response Visitors
Acquire Subscriptions
Reach a new Listen Visit to the site
Activate (email/RSS)
audience Introduce Subscribe Fan/Follower
Retain
Return Account sign-up
Return Visits
@ / RT / Comment
Response Repeat visits
Reinforce our Retain Talk Email opens
Visit the site
connection to Referral Pitch CTR / Goal Funnel
Act Mentions
existing audience Revenue Thank
Refer Referrals
Referrals who convert
17. A simple campaign to increase Online Sales
• Use Twitter or Facebook to inform prospects about special promotions.
• Exclusive, limited-customer/limited time offers.
Goal Metrics
Increase monthly sales monthly sales attributable directly to SMM
Segment & Funnel: new customers
Increase % value from new customers
attributable directly to campaign
Increase conversions from Segment & Funnel: monthly revenue
Twitter traffic generated from customers from Twitter
Repeat customers from that group
Retain X% of new customers
Unsubscribe rates
18. Cost per Lead > Cost per Conversion
• Cost per Lead = How much do I need to pay in order to get a visitor to my
site who will take one of those micro actions that lead to a sale
• Cost per Conversion = What does it cost me to acquire a customer?
Total cost of a campaign / Number of Conversions
19. Social Media Measurements
Content
Platform Ratio of Posts to X Peak Conversion
Resonance
Opens
Day
Email Opens CTR
Time of Day
Unsubscribes
RTs
Day
Twitter RTs @
Time of Day
Recos
Like
Day
Facebook Interactions Share
Time of Day
Comment
Monique Trottier
@BoxcarMarketing
20. Things that lead to sales
Acquisition Website Visitors, time on site
Number of pageviews, repeat visits,
Activation subscription (email, blog), account
sign-up (profile data), Fan/Follower
Email Opens, Click-throughs,
Retention Repeat visits
Press Mention, RT,
Referral Refers 1+visitors to the site;
Refers 1+ visitors who activate
Sales
Monique Trottier
@BoxcarMarketing