If your site were one second slower, how many of your visitors would bounce?
If your site were one second faster, how many additional orders would you receive?
Bottom line: Do you know what one second of latency is worth to your business?
Traditional approaches to performance monitoring are fatally flawed. They measure performance only in a silo, telling you how long key actions took but not putting that information into a context you can use to improve the one metric that ultimately matters: revenue. Bridging this gap requires the collection of performance and business data together, and then analyzing this data using the proper analytic methods.
Using modern Real User Monitoring (RUM) techniques, Buddy Brewer will show you how to quantify the impact even one second of latency has on key business metrics like bounce and conversion rate.
16. 13
What Are We Playing For?
Impact is Measurable and Significant
Total Conversion Rate: 2.7%
Best Case Conversion Rate: 4.9%
Conversion Gap: 2.2%
Visits: 25M
AOV: $100
17. 14
What Are We Playing For?
Impact is Measurable and Significant
(4.9% - 2.7%) * 25M * $100 =
$55M
18. 15
What Are We Playing For?
Impact is Measurable and Significant
1 second = $55M
20. 12
Potential vs Realistic Goals
Impossible to achieve ideal speed at 100th percentile
Median Load Time: 4.12s
Total Conversion Rate: 2.7%
Conversion Rate @ 3.0s: 4.9%
21. 13
Refining Performance Goals
We can make these more realistic and iterative
Target Load Time: 4 sec (vs 3 sec)
Percentile at 4 sec: 49
Target Percentile: 60th
Percentile Gap: 11%
22. 14
What Are We Playing For?
Impact is Measurable and Significant
(4.9% - 2.7%) * (11% * 25M) * $100 = $6M
27. 8
Customer Spotlight - Staples
Performance improvements lead to business gains
mPulse data led to changes in JavaScript, CSS
Reduced JavaScript size by 48%
Refactored CSS, reduced size by 83%
Shaved 1 full second off of Home page median load time
Shaved 6 seconds off the 98th percentile
Conversion improved by 10%