Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps

Social Media Manager um Our Kids Media
25. Apr 2016
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps
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Google Analytics: Overview & Key Metrics for Schools and Camps

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. One of the biggest skills gaps is analytics… the ability to measure results and understand data into actionable steps. Often read reports incorrectly. Line going up = happy, going down = unhappy. That is just reporting – it isn’t using the data to make changes. For any online venture, data is precious. It can give you insights which can turn fortunes for your business and break a lot of myths for you. Companies keep on wasting money on marketing, shuffling between agencies, hiring and firing them when they don’t deliver results. They neglect the fact that a simple answer might have been residing in the data.
  2. Use the tool WITH A PURPOSE Ask a question and find the report that answers it (test) Your marketing is only affected when you take an action based on data reports Analysis is when you make a recommendation based on the data (actionable steps) DECISION SUPPORT TOOL Question – Answer - Action
  3. But the answers are only ‘interesting’ they don’t change anything. You use the answers to make decisions, to take actions.
  4. Who is coming? Where are they coming from? What are they doing? What’s working? Visitor = User Visit = Session
  5. Who is coming? Where are they coming from? What are they doing? What’s working? Visitor = User Visit = Session
  6. Desktop 84% Mobile 13% Tablet 4%
  7. Who is coming? Where are they coming from? What are they doing? What’s working? Visitor = User Visit = Session
  8. ENGAGMENT METRICS – from the Behavior Reports Bounce Rate Pages / Session Avg. Session Duration Tablet – less bounce and longer on site
  9. ENGAGMENT METRICS – from the Behavior Reports Bounce Rate --- tablet much less than the average Avg. Session Duration --- longer on the site Pages / Session --- tablet quite a few more pages than the others Tablet – tend to be night time visitors What next?
  10. Check the landing pages design for mobile visitors Consider which changes to make to improve engagement Create a schedule for testing
  11. Source: Every referral to a website has an origin, or source. Possible sources include: Google (the name of a search engine), facebook.com (the name of a referring site), the name of one of your newsletters, and direct (visits from people who typed your URL directly into their browser, or who had bookmarked your site).   Medium: Every referral to a website also has a medium. Possible mediums include: organic (unpaid search), cpc (cost per click, i.e. paid search), referral (a website linking to yours), email (the name of a custom medium you can create), none (direct visits have a medium of none).   Keyword: The keywords that visitors searched are usually captured in the case of search engine referrals. This is true for both organic and paid search. If the visitor is signed into a Google account, however, Keyword will have the value (not provided).   Campaign: is the name of the referring AdWords campaign (if you are running paid search ads) or a custom campaign that you have created.
  12. There are two types of channels in Google Analytics: #1 Default marketing channels (or default channels) #2 Custom marketing channels (or custom channels) Following are default marketing channels: 1. Organic Search 2. Paid Search 3. Display 4. Direct 5. Referral 6. Social 7. Email 8. (Other) -- utm_medium=(not set)
  13. Publish more content on those topics or make sure you’re linking from your high traffic pages to these very engaging pages.
  14. What is the top path through your website – if your website were a store, you’d be able to see the most popular path people take through your retail section. City – you’d know where the busier parts are, which are the most common exit ramps etc. You should know what your most popular path is through your website. Combines data from several reports (drop offs, homepage is a /) Shows you your top page paths… ACTIONS: Polish up the pages in that top path – if you only have 10mins to work on your website this month, work on those Rebalance your navigation – consider removing your least popular navigation, or rename it?? Make sure the billboards are on the highway (videos, testimonials….) Most powerful content are video testimonials. Put them on the most popular pages. Get rid of your testimonials page
  15. Without this information it is almost impossible to evaluate the effectiveness of your online business and online marketing campaigns.
  16. Without this information it is almost impossible to evaluate the effectiveness of your online business and online marketing campaigns.
  17. Type #1 Destination Goals These Goals will allow you to track a specific URL, and each time someone goes to that URL, they initiate the Goal. This is a great tracking option for comment thank you pages and confirmation pages. Once you choose Destination, you will be taken to the Goals Details screen where you can get more specific. Type #2 Duration Goals This one is pretty self-explanatory – it allows you to track how many people stay on your site for a specified amount of time. Type #3 Pages/Screens Per Session The third type of Goal is similar to the duration goal, and easy to set up. Instead of tracking how long people are on your site, you will be tracking the number of pages they see before they bounce. Type #4 Event Goals The type of goal gives you lots of options, and is a bit more complicated than the last 2 we discussed. Tracking Goals requires a bit of JavaScript to be added to whatever it is you want to track. Find out how to set that up here. Once you have your events set up you can track elements such as: links, downloads, videos, widget usage.
  18. These Goals will allow you to track a specific URL, and each time someone goes to that URL, they initiate the Goal. This is a great tracking option for comment thank you pages and confirmation pages. Once you choose Destination, you will be taken to the Goals Details screen where you can get more specific.
  19. Click the Case Sensitive box ONLY if you have the lowercase and uppercase characters in your URL pointing to DIFFERENT pages. Most times you will leave this box unchecked. The funnel option - see exactly how people are moving through each step of your sales funnel. The funnel option really only works well if you require your readers to move through a series of pages to get to your specified URL.
  20. Eg. Out of 100 admission package requests, 1 of those enroll = avg conversion rate of 1% * Average tuition = $1000 * avg conversion rate (1) * avg tuition ($1000) = $1000 * Goal value = $1000/100 requests = $10 Average tuition x average conversion rate = goal value The funnel option really only works well if you require your readers to move through a series of pages to get to your specified URL.
  21. Without this information it is almost impossible to evaluate the effectiveness of your online business and online marketing campaigns. Traffic x Conversion Rate = Success! Some pages or posts result in a higher conversion than others… are much more inspiring for people to take action. Drive traffic to those posts/pages!! Rotate those in your social media streams or email campaigns. Publish more content om these topics. Connect your Traffic champions to your conversion champions – connect the two with CTAs in your website.