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How To Measure
Your Content Marketing
Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that
doesn’t make an impact!
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WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only!
Publish content to
primary channel
Distribute content
to earned media
Distribute content
to paid media
Measure ROI of
content marketing
Optimize and target
distribution
Optimize for
subscriptions
& offers
Marketing ROI
is the #1 Objective
for Marketers in 2016
Documented
content marketing
strategy
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PART ONE
/ Build The
Business Case
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
1
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CEOs and
Boards will no
longer accept
marketing that
doesn’t deliver
results!
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Less likely
to click on a
banner than…
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We need to stop interrupting what
people are interested in and
be what people are interested in!
Earn Your Audience’s Attention
vs.
Buying or Interrupting it.
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Reach early
stage buyers
Engage new buyers
with your brand
Conversions you would
have never reached
= $
Build The Business Case
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2011: SAP launches major new product
Marketing Budgets
Marketing Contribution
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Cluster Brand?
Total Monthly
Searches (est.)
Analytics Brand 458
30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761
Cloud Brand 398
10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460
Big Data Brand 28,884
218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967
Mobility Brand 12,488
28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598
CRM/Sales Brand 156,028
40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329
Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497
24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493
TOTAL Brand 1,688,883
130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715
Tried To Build The Business Case With Data
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Our Website: Talking To Ourselves
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Click to edit Master subtitle styleLate-Stage Content
66%Early-Stage Content
6%
Middle-Stage Content
28%
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The Math Didn’t Help
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The Power of Fear
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IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
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IMAGINE: We own the category
www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
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IMAGINE: We own the target audience
www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
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IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers
AMEXOPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
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Content Marketing Requires Empathy
Content
Marketing
What
Brands
Publish
What
Customers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
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BUT: We had no budget
Engagement?
99% Bounce Rate
How Much COST?
$200,000
Search Traffic?
0, None, Nada, Zip
Social Shares?
Also ZERO
Conversions?
“This is an awareness
campaign”
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SAP Digitalist Magazine
To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.
Engagement?
70%
How Much COST?
$100,000
Half the ad budget
Search Traffic?
50%
Social Shares?
10%
Conversions?
~1,000 in year 1
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0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
Reach and Engagement We Would Have
Never Seen
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SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune,
Fast Company and more…
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The buyer journey is nothing
more than a series of questions
that must be answered.
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How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic
Comes To Your Website?
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CONTENT MARKETING
Articles
News
Infographics
Social Content
Quizzes
Video
Whitepapers
Webinars
Podcasts
How-To Guides
Events
Newsletters
Customer Profiles
PRODUCT MARKETING
Product content
Offers
Brochures
Customer Testimonials
Case studies
Ads
Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?
100
1
10
5
15
80
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Early-stage Searches
Middle-stage
Brand Searches
Search/SocialVolume
What is Content Marketing?
(100 - 3000 X)
How do I succeed with
Content Marketing?
(2-10 X)
What tools can help
me with content
marketing?
(1)
Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?
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Customers Middle
Early
What is / are?
Why important
Late
Who?
How much?
Where?
1
StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index
100
How to?
10
Content Marketing is as simple as
answering your customers’ top questions
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PART TWO
/ Find The
Budget
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
2
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Marketers Love Buying Tactics
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The Explosion of
Marketing Channels
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What’s The ROI of
logos on
stadiums?@BrennerMichael
#BMA16
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60-70% of marketing content
goes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
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Behind every piece
of bad content
is an executive
who asked for it.
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The Easiest Way To
Find Budget For Content
Marketing . . .
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STOP Creating
Content No One
Wants
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Content
Used
30%
Content
Not
Used
70%
Content Waste is a
$100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy
= $
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Excuse me boss but. . .
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
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Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero
Measurable Results?
=$
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The average click-through rate of display ads
(DoubleClick).06%
10% Banner ad clicks by Bots
(comScore)
50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental
(GoldSpot)
What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
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What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because
You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
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Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing
Saved / invested in content marketing platform
$100,000 / $100,000
Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have
never seen.
1,000,000 Organic Visitors
10,000 Subscribers
1,000 Leads
OPP (OPC)
•Act as a journalists at events
•Cover competitor and industry research
•Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
Create Stuff Easy
• Create a list of top influencers
• best conferences
• best quotes
• best stats in your industry
• Extract the expertise inside your company
• What is…
• Why is this important...
• How to achieve success with ...
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
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Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that
grows over time.
Need proof . . .
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http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/
The Difference Between “Content”
and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
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ROI =
Investment
Return
What is ROI?
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ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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ROI =
With Less
Do More
What is ROI?
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ROI =
With Less
DoThe Same
What is ROI?
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How do you explain
the importance of
empathy
to executives who
don’t have any?
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Show me the money!
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
TheValue of Organic Search =
(Paid Search CPC X Organic SearchTraffic)
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
TheValue of Organic Search =
($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million
0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Casper’s Van
Winkles
• Effortlessly combines national
housing news with articles on
inspirational interior design,
celebrity homes and company
updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large
audiences across Facebook,
Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter
and Google+
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
Subscribers have value.
And are 9x more likely to convert
than non-subscribers
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CapGemini: Content-Loop.com
~1M visitors in 1st year
+ 3K new followers / week
+ High Quality Leads
+ Sales = ROI
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
TheValue of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
TheValue of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
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Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
TheValue of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads
X Conversion Rate
X Avg. Sale Price)
1,000 leads x 3% MQL
x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL)
x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL)
x 40% Closed /Won
x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000
($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing
customer than to acquire a new one.
A 5% increase in retention
= 95% increase in ROI.
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Content Marketing ROI:
Content consumers
spend 2x more and are 3x
more loyal.
Shane Jordan
Digital Marketing Manager
Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
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Content Marketing ROI - Retention
TheValue of Retention=
LifetimeValue $$$
Retention Rate $$$
Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers
vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that
doesn’t make an impact!
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BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
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Thank you!
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
@BrennerMichael
Hinweis der Redaktion
We’ve all asked the question, why content marketing?
To set the stage, there’s been a fundamental shift in the way we as consumers consume and share content. Momentous amount of content being created, consumed and shared. An amazing amount of content, the real question is how does a brand stand apart?