2. John Wanamaker – Revolutionized
marketing
“New Wanamaker era” – Era of
innovative advertising
In the beginning, online advertising
began with a commercial service called
Prodigy which went live in 1990 and
adopted advertising as a revenue source
1994 –Internet advertising started
gaining some foothold
1995 – Internet Advertising Council
decides on goals, objectives and
membership guidelines
Internet Advertising - ever growing
with a revenue potential of $428 billion
3. Advantages
Reaching wider audience at low cost
Quicker results
Easy and inexpensive to measure statistics
Option for consumer research before buying
Direct interaction with the advertisement
Customizing ads according to target audience
4. Drawbacks
Ethics a major issue in Internet advertising
Consumer’s inability to feel the product
The human factor is missing
Excessive use may lead to spamming
5. Used to match up buyers and sellers
within a limited geographic region
1st classified ad published in 1704 in
Boston News Letter
Craigslist.org - one of the first online
classified sites, grown to become the
largest classified source with 14
million unique visitors a month
Online classifieds -Tend to be longer
than print classified ads
Searchable, local and wider scope for
audience
6. Advantages
Most powerful tool of online advertising
over the internet
Gives the product a lot of exposure on the
World wide web.
Opens a massive global market for the
product.
Provides unlimited sources to gain profits
Inexpensive but has a high rate of return
Better and more targeted search capabilities
7. Shortcomings
An ad will expire quickly which requires constant
replacement
Advertising on one site is not enough to produce
great results. One must post to many classified sites
to see big results.
9. LOGOS
TEXT
PHOTO
MAPS GRAPHS
Contains texts, logos, photographs
location maps, and similar items
Online display advertising is the use
of the Internet as an advertising
medium where promotional
messages appear on other websites
and search engine results pages.
11. MAKE BIG WITH LITTLE
MONEY
PAY PER CLICK , COST PER
IMPRESSION MEANS
FLEXIBLITY IN INVESTMENT
EFFECTIVE DISPLAY
IMMEDIATE RESULTS
BRAND AWARENESS WITHIN
SECONDS
TRACEABLITY AND EASY TO
MONITOR
12. 52 % RESPOND TO DISPLAY ADS
31 % RESPOND BY CLICKING THE AD
38 % LEARN ABOUT A BRAND FOR THE FIRST
TIME
49 % SEARCH ABOUT A PRODUCT/COMPANY
AFTER SEEING IT IN DISPLAY AD
13. competitors can click on your
advertisement without
purchasing anything and thus
drive up your advertising costs
:D :D
Banner ads have experienced
declining click through rate
Segmenting has to be done
properly
Think well before you place it
15. form of advertising that utilizes
interactive digital
media, including
streaming, video and audio
More interactive
done to attract attention and to
stand out amongst the huge
volumes of ads and copy
powerful creative opportunity
16. In-Page Ads –show up in
various areas of a web page
in the form of a rectangle or
preset banner
Out-Of Page Ads –
Examples include Floating
Ads, Pop-Up Ads and
Expandable Ads
In-Stream Ads – These are
ads that involve either pre or
post roll videos
17. Higher interaction rate
Rich Media ads are measurable
and scalable
Higher performance levels
Brand awareness
User experience
Communicate more
information
More clicks
Collect more information
18. MAY SLOW DOWN A WEBSITE
MAY ANNOY
MORE DIFFICULT TO CREATE
MORE EXPENSIVE
MAY BE BLOCKED
WHERE INFORMATION
EXCHANGE IS THE DESIRE,
LEANER MEDIA TYPES CAN
OFFER MORE EFFICIENCY
19. •Act of converting customer who browses your site
to a
paying customer
•A marketing tactic that encourages a customer to
take a specific action
•This is measured by conversion rate.
Conversion rate = number of goal achievements
visits
20. Conversion process 10000 total
customers
You sell boots online.
Everytime you sell a pair of 100% of Total visitors
boots, u make profit.
Statistically, every 500 visitors to visitors
your website you sell 10 pair of
boots.
Avg cost per click = 0.25 rupees 60% Visit shopping are
500 clicks * 0.25 = 125 rupees
10 boot sales * 25 = 250 rupees
profit = 125 rupees.
30% Place item in cart
In other case, when you sell only
4 pair of boots,
Boot sales = 4 * 25 = 100 rupees. 3% Make a purchase
Loss = 25 rupees
21. Methods to increase conversion
rate:
• Generate user reviews for the product which
can accelerate conversion
• Show credibility signs like third-party
trusted logos and good site design to increase
trust level of visitor
• Good site navigation structure to help users
find and browse without thinking too much
about where to click
• Better content of the website
• Increase usability to reduce the barriers
towards the conversion
goal.
23. CLICK THROUGH MARKETING
•The process of a visitor clicking on a
web advertisement and going to the
advertiser's Web site.
•The click-through rate of an
advertisement is defined as the number
of clicks on an ad divided by the number
of times the ad is shown
•Pay per click (PPC) companies all over
the world are providing clients the
results they are looking for, launching
them to the top 10 or five results
•PPC management companies are
waging a constant bid war through
popular search engines like
Google, MSN and Bing
24. ADVANTAGES
•very beneficial to website owners and online
business owners when it is performed the right
way
•you don’t have to make any changes in your web
pages just to rank high on the search engines
•you can opt not to tweak your website’s pages in
pay per click
•process you will have to go through is so simple
•click is still a common resort for website
promotion and it can generate immediate results
25. DISADVANTAGES
•pay per click is the bidding war
•may be so expensive to maintain
•you need to be very targeted in
your choice of keywords and ads
creation