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Search and Your Marketing Mix
First Off... Who Am I?

 Co-author: The Art of SEO
 President: Stone Temple Consulting
  25+ person SEO and PPC firm
 Trainer: Instant E-Training
 Founder: Web Site Publishing Companies
  Publish web sites, grow them, then sell them
  2 significant exits so far
 Twitter: @stonetemple
 Google Plus: +Eric Enge


          @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Part 1

     Marketing Media




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Influence of Media on Decisions


              Source: Fleishman-Hilliard




   @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Selected Data on Media Consumption




                                   Source: Fleishman-
                                   Hilliard




      @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
TV / Print / Radio

   About branding
   Creates impressions
   Controlled Messaging
   Long established Cost / ROI Models
    




          @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Example Display Ad




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Online Display Advertising

   About branding
   Creates impressions
   Controlled Messaging
   Emerging Cost / ROI Models
     Comfortable for traditional marketers
     Similar return model to TV/Print/Radio
 Immediate action is an option
     But, “Interruption Mode”

           @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Classic Marketing Rule of Thumb

        7 impressions per sale




       @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
And What About Search?




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Are You In Control of the Message?




     @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Do You Interrupt The User?




 @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
No, The User Must Do 3 Things




11                   1 2          3
                                  1




     @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Search Step 1 – Go to a Search Engine




      @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Search Step 2 – Enter a Query




  @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Search Step 3 – Click on a Result




    @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Where is Search in the Conversion Funnel?


                 Marketing Campaigns

 Awareness
      Interest                         Search
       Evaluation                      Involved
                                       At Every
       Commitment
                                       Stage
             Referral
                 Repeat



         @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Search Always Starts With a Need
• I need:
  – Information
  – A product
  – A service
  – To be entertained




            @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Push vs. Pull
       MY BENEFITS!




       MY NEED!




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Harvesting Demand

 TV, Print, Radio                       Generic Demand

Diaper       Create                             Crying baby
Dry baby     Demand                             I need sleep


    Traditional          Harvest           Internet
      Outlets            Demand




           @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Why Are Facebook Shares Down?



$38.00



                                      $19.00




         @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Facebook Continued


 But Facebook offers all this amazing
  targeting, right?
 Yes, but it is a display ad network
 It is interruption based advertising




         @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Ads on my Wall




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Part 2

          SEO vs PPC




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Natural vs. Paid




                                  Paid
                                  Paid

                                         Paid
                                         Paid
                             Natural
                             Natural




25
     @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
PPC and SEO are Synergistic




Source: Brad Geddes on Search Engine Land




     @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Observation



 73% of clicks went to SEO
   One high volume keyword was used
   Similar data obtained in other tests




        @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Paid Vs. Organic Click Volume


        22%
        PPC                    2010 Data
                               PPC Share
                     78%       Growing
                     Organic   Over Time




  @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Paid vs. Organic Click Volume
                   All Relevant Keywords


            Keywords you            Keywords
 75%          rank for in           You Bid on
Of clicks   Organic Search                        100%
                                                 Of clicks
 25%
Of clicks




              @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Organic Ranking




Keyword      Create             Black Box
Research     Pages                 Algo

                                             Rank for
                                             terms as
                                            determined
                                              by Algo


           @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Paid Ranking
                              Quality Score
                                 Historical
                                    CTR
Keyword    AdWords                   +
Research   Account              Keyword &
                               Landing Page
                                Relevance
                                     +        Rank for terms
                               Landing Page   largely defined
                                Relevance         by you
                                     +
                                  Other

                                  Max Bid

           @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Part 3

        Justifying SEO




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
SEO Ranking Timeline



                                           6
                                         mos
 Create a   Black Box                    later
new page       Algo
                                                  Maybe rank
                                                 For something




            @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
• Classic SEO
                       Sales Pitch




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
1.I don’t know what
                      we are going to do
                      yet




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
1.I don’t know what
                      we are going to do
                      yet
                    2.I don’t know when
                      you are going to see
                      benefits




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
1.I don’t know what
                      we are going to do
                      yet
                    2.I don’t know when
                      you are going to see
                      benefits
                    3.I don’t know how
                      large the benefits
                      will be



@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Sign here, $10,000 a
                   month!




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Google AdWords Keyword Tool




  @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Bing Webmaster Tools




                  Real Numbers
                  for searches
                  at Bing.com!




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Wordtracker




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Coming Up with a Total




          @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Calculating
                             Search Potential
                               (Data from
                               Ahrefs.com)




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Do The Math!




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Alternate Method




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Not doing SEO? You’re Leaving
            Money on the Table
• Calculate the missed opportunity cost of not
  ranking well for products & services that you
  offer?
 # of people              engine share       expected click- average               average
 searching for your       (Google =          through rate    conversion rate       transaction
 keywords             x   70%)           x               x                     x   amount



      E.g.10,000/day x 70% x 10% x 5% x $100 = $3,500/day

searchengineland.com/selling-the-benefits-of-seo-in-a-large-enterprise-36189



  47
                           @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Show Competitors Winning




 @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Part 4

  Justifying Paid Search




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Setup An Account Today and …




  @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Get Traffic Today




@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Margin in Competitive DR Markets




Have to combat this with active optimization
Set it and forget it does not work



       @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
@stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Calculating ROI




Expense Happens Today
Revenue May Happen Over Time


       @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
Thank You!



Eric Enge
  eenge@stonetemple.com
  @stonetemple
  + Eric Enge
  (508) 485-7751
  www.stonetemple.com

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Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

  • 1. Search and Your Marketing Mix
  • 2. First Off... Who Am I?  Co-author: The Art of SEO  President: Stone Temple Consulting 25+ person SEO and PPC firm  Trainer: Instant E-Training  Founder: Web Site Publishing Companies Publish web sites, grow them, then sell them 2 significant exits so far  Twitter: @stonetemple  Google Plus: +Eric Enge @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 3. Part 1 Marketing Media @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 4. Influence of Media on Decisions Source: Fleishman-Hilliard @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 5. Selected Data on Media Consumption Source: Fleishman- Hilliard @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 6. TV / Print / Radio  About branding  Creates impressions  Controlled Messaging  Long established Cost / ROI Models  @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 8. Online Display Advertising  About branding  Creates impressions  Controlled Messaging  Emerging Cost / ROI Models  Comfortable for traditional marketers  Similar return model to TV/Print/Radio  Immediate action is an option  But, “Interruption Mode” @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 9. Classic Marketing Rule of Thumb 7 impressions per sale @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 10. And What About Search? @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 11. Are You In Control of the Message? @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 12. Do You Interrupt The User? @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 13. No, The User Must Do 3 Things 11 1 2 3 1 @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 14. Search Step 1 – Go to a Search Engine @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 15. Search Step 2 – Enter a Query @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 16. Search Step 3 – Click on a Result @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 17. Where is Search in the Conversion Funnel? Marketing Campaigns Awareness Interest Search Evaluation Involved At Every Commitment Stage Referral Repeat @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 18. Search Always Starts With a Need • I need: – Information – A product – A service – To be entertained @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 19. Push vs. Pull MY BENEFITS! MY NEED! @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 20. Harvesting Demand TV, Print, Radio Generic Demand Diaper Create Crying baby Dry baby Demand I need sleep Traditional Harvest Internet Outlets Demand @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 21. Why Are Facebook Shares Down? $38.00 $19.00 @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 22. Facebook Continued  But Facebook offers all this amazing targeting, right?  Yes, but it is a display ad network  It is interruption based advertising @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 23. Ads on my Wall @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 24. Part 2 SEO vs PPC @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 25. Natural vs. Paid Paid Paid Paid Paid Natural Natural 25 @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 26. PPC and SEO are Synergistic Source: Brad Geddes on Search Engine Land @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 27. Observation  73% of clicks went to SEO  One high volume keyword was used  Similar data obtained in other tests @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 28. Paid Vs. Organic Click Volume 22% PPC 2010 Data PPC Share 78% Growing Organic Over Time @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 29. Paid vs. Organic Click Volume All Relevant Keywords Keywords you Keywords 75% rank for in You Bid on Of clicks Organic Search 100% Of clicks 25% Of clicks @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 30. Organic Ranking Keyword Create Black Box Research Pages Algo Rank for terms as determined by Algo @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 31. Paid Ranking Quality Score Historical CTR Keyword AdWords + Research Account Keyword & Landing Page Relevance + Rank for terms Landing Page largely defined Relevance by you + Other Max Bid @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 32. Part 3 Justifying SEO @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 33. SEO Ranking Timeline 6 mos Create a Black Box later new page Algo Maybe rank For something @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 34. • Classic SEO Sales Pitch @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 35. 1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 36. 1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet 2.I don’t know when you are going to see benefits @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 37. 1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet 2.I don’t know when you are going to see benefits 3.I don’t know how large the benefits will be @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 38. Sign here, $10,000 a month! @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 39. Google AdWords Keyword Tool @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 40. Bing Webmaster Tools Real Numbers for searches at Bing.com! @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 42. Coming Up with a Total @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 43. @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 44. Calculating Search Potential (Data from Ahrefs.com) @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 45. Do The Math! @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 47. Not doing SEO? You’re Leaving Money on the Table • Calculate the missed opportunity cost of not ranking well for products & services that you offer? # of people engine share expected click- average average searching for your (Google = through rate conversion rate transaction keywords x 70%) x x x amount  E.g.10,000/day x 70% x 10% x 5% x $100 = $3,500/day searchengineland.com/selling-the-benefits-of-seo-in-a-large-enterprise-36189 47 @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 48. Show Competitors Winning @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 49. Part 4 Justifying Paid Search @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 50. Setup An Account Today and … @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 52. Margin in Competitive DR Markets Have to combat this with active optimization Set it and forget it does not work @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 53. @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 54. Calculating ROI Expense Happens Today Revenue May Happen Over Time @stonetemple / + Eric Enge
  • 55. Thank You! Eric Enge eenge@stonetemple.com @stonetemple + Eric Enge (508) 485-7751 www.stonetemple.com

Editor's Notes

  1. Or being outranked by affiliates of your own company name - like Bissell.com is for "Bissell cleaners” and LernerCatalog.com is for "Lerner catalog"?