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Closing the loop
Enhancing user experience
with Rewarded ad-monetization
Casual Connect Kiev, October 2017
Tal Shoham
VP International Business Development,
ironSource
Changing the focus
Ad
Monetization
Revenue
Attention for
IAPs
Attention Ad
Monetization
IAP
Revenue
Revenue Attention
How we analyze
IAP metrics
● % of paying users
● Retention rate
● Churn rate
● Average session duration
● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU
● Type of reward - virtual goods
● Timing
● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
How we analyze
IAP metrics
● % of paying users
● Retention rate
● Churn rate
● Average session duration
● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU
● Type of reward - virtual goods
● Timing
● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
Rewarded Ad Monetization Metrics
● ER / UR
● Retention rate
● Churn rate
● Average session duration
● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPDEU
● Type of reward
● Timing
● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
Engagement Rate and Usage Rate
Engagement Rate Usage Rate
6 Videos
100%
Users
40%
Users
1,000,000 DAU * 40% ER = 400,000 daily engaged users
400,000 * 6 (UR) = 2,400,000 daily video impressions
App A App B
7.0
6.0
5.0
4.0
3.0
2.0
1.0
53% 7
Engagement
Rate
Usage Rate
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
App A
7.0
6.0
5.0
4.0
3.0
2.0
1.0
12% 3
Engagement
Rate
Usage Rate
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
App B
7.0
6.0
5.0
4.0
3.0
2.0
1.0
6
Engagement
Rate
Usage Rate
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
Casino
subcategory average
31%
6X
How to improve
ER and UR?
Placement
● Test alternative placements - from storefront to natural breaks
in the app
● Maximise the ad’s visibility, discoverability with minimal number
of clicks for user
Reward
● How important is the currency to playing the game?
● Different currencies for each ad unit
User Flow
● Is the ad product integrated at the optimal trigger points?
● Ad units should be available exactly when users need rewards
Traffic Driver
● Where are your traffic drivers located?
● Are the traffic drivers clear and self explanatory?
● Give them a consistent look & feel
The Power of
Exponential Rewards
Case Study
Not Doppler
● Smart rewarding scheme matches in-game
economy for their game Earn To Die 2
● Video reward system adapted to player’s
in-game progress with exponential inflation
for upgrades in the app
● Benefits
○ Engagement rate increased to 25% - 38%
○ Earn to Die 2’s ER went above subcategory
average
UR increased from 4.5 to 6
● Engage Rate between 25% and 38% ● Market Benchmarks
Oct Nov
10%
20%
30%
40%
Boost ARPDAU with
New Ad Placements
Case Study
Fiveamp
● Wanted to boost monetization and ad
engagement without disrupting user
experience
● Added additional placement of RV
● Enhanced ad appeal and visibility by
offering users the choice between 1
reward, or watching an ad and receiving 3
● Benefits
○ ARPDAU increased x2.5
○ 165% increase in revenue
○ 94% boost to ER
Earnings Before Additional Placement Earnings with the Additional Placement
Revenue
Jumps 165%
● Revenue Growth
Segmentation
Not all users are equal, so don’t
treat them like they are
1 2 3
Paying vs. non-paying
users
Engaged with ads
vs. non engaged
users
Custom in-app event
i.e. Level 5 reached
Impressions
*
User quality for
advertisers
IPM
Implementation -
Placements, Flow
Engagement Rate
Usage Rate
(Imp/engaged user)
Visibility
Attractiveness
Timing
Alignment with virtual economy
eCPM
Revenue =
Thank You

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Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

  • 1. Closing the loop Enhancing user experience with Rewarded ad-monetization Casual Connect Kiev, October 2017 Tal Shoham VP International Business Development, ironSource
  • 2. Changing the focus Ad Monetization Revenue Attention for IAPs Attention Ad Monetization IAP Revenue Revenue Attention
  • 3. How we analyze IAP metrics ● % of paying users ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU ● Type of reward - virtual goods ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
  • 4. How we analyze IAP metrics ● % of paying users ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU ● Type of reward - virtual goods ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales Rewarded Ad Monetization Metrics ● ER / UR ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPDEU ● Type of reward ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
  • 5. Engagement Rate and Usage Rate Engagement Rate Usage Rate 6 Videos 100% Users 40% Users 1,000,000 DAU * 40% ER = 400,000 daily engaged users 400,000 * 6 (UR) = 2,400,000 daily video impressions
  • 7. 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 53% 7 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% App A 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 12% 3 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% App B 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 6 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% Casino subcategory average 31% 6X
  • 8. How to improve ER and UR? Placement ● Test alternative placements - from storefront to natural breaks in the app ● Maximise the ad’s visibility, discoverability with minimal number of clicks for user Reward ● How important is the currency to playing the game? ● Different currencies for each ad unit User Flow ● Is the ad product integrated at the optimal trigger points? ● Ad units should be available exactly when users need rewards Traffic Driver ● Where are your traffic drivers located? ● Are the traffic drivers clear and self explanatory? ● Give them a consistent look & feel
  • 10. Case Study Not Doppler ● Smart rewarding scheme matches in-game economy for their game Earn To Die 2 ● Video reward system adapted to player’s in-game progress with exponential inflation for upgrades in the app ● Benefits ○ Engagement rate increased to 25% - 38% ○ Earn to Die 2’s ER went above subcategory average UR increased from 4.5 to 6 ● Engage Rate between 25% and 38% ● Market Benchmarks Oct Nov 10% 20% 30% 40%
  • 11. Boost ARPDAU with New Ad Placements
  • 12. Case Study Fiveamp ● Wanted to boost monetization and ad engagement without disrupting user experience ● Added additional placement of RV ● Enhanced ad appeal and visibility by offering users the choice between 1 reward, or watching an ad and receiving 3 ● Benefits ○ ARPDAU increased x2.5 ○ 165% increase in revenue ○ 94% boost to ER Earnings Before Additional Placement Earnings with the Additional Placement Revenue Jumps 165% ● Revenue Growth
  • 13. Segmentation Not all users are equal, so don’t treat them like they are
  • 14. 1 2 3 Paying vs. non-paying users Engaged with ads vs. non engaged users Custom in-app event i.e. Level 5 reached
  • 15. Impressions * User quality for advertisers IPM Implementation - Placements, Flow Engagement Rate Usage Rate (Imp/engaged user) Visibility Attractiveness Timing Alignment with virtual economy eCPM Revenue =