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Measurable stuff.
                                                              Customer Acquisition
                                                  Customer Development
                                                              &
                                     Influencers      SEM                     Apps         Blog
                                             Paid Media    Social Networks          SEO


                                                                               Activation

  Retention Referral
                                                           Brand
         Events        Viral loops                   Landing Pages
          Blog            Email
         Email           Social
                                                    Product Features
                                                          Your Brand         Conversion


                                                                                    Revenue
Source: Dave McClure
Acquisition: Search Engine Marketing

        Customer Acquisition Cost ($) =
        Cost to get a user to your landing page.
        eg: $1.00 per click from SEM for keyword “X” on Google Adwords


        Customer Activation Rate =
        % of users that register for your site.
        eg: 10% of users that register for your site.


        Customer Conversion Rate =
        % of registered users that pay for your product.
        eg: 5% of users that pay for your product


        Actual User Acquisition Cost ($) =
        Cost of User / % Activation / % Conversion.

        eg: $1.00     / ( 0.10) / ( 0.05) = $200 per customer
Acquisition: Social Integration
          Customer Acquisition Cost ($) =
          Cost to get a user to your landing page.
          eg: $1.00 per click from a Facebook ad.

          Customer Referral Rate =
          # of users that get to your site through a friend.
          eg: 4 users on average are referred through a friend.

          Customer Activation Rate =
          % of users that register.
          eg: 10% of users that register for your site.

          Customer Conversion Rate =
          % of registered users that pay.
          eg: 5% of users pay for your product.

          Actual User Acquisition Cost ($) =
          Cost of User / User Referral / % Activation / % Conversion.

          eg: $1.00    / 4 / (0.10) / (0.05) = $50 per customer
Your Brand’s Growth Rate =
Users Acquired x Avg. # of referrals per user x Activation rate

 -------------------------------Not Viral------------------------------

Standard Growth:
1,000 users         x         0 referrals              x        5%=
50 new users enter the conversion funnel in generation 2 = Not Viral.

Social Growth:
1,000 users        x          2 referrals             x         15 % =
300 new users enter the conversion funnel in generation 2 = Not Viral.
Referral: A Viral Loop

Users Acquired x Avg. # of referrals per user x Activation rate


  1,000 users   x           5 referrals         x      20%    =


       1000 new users enter the viral loop in generation 2.


                           Viral!
                Every user refers a new user!

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Measurable stuff for customer acquisition

  • 1. Measurable stuff. Customer Acquisition Customer Development & Influencers SEM Apps Blog Paid Media Social Networks SEO Activation Retention Referral Brand Events Viral loops Landing Pages Blog Email Email Social Product Features Your Brand Conversion Revenue Source: Dave McClure
  • 2. Acquisition: Search Engine Marketing Customer Acquisition Cost ($) = Cost to get a user to your landing page. eg: $1.00 per click from SEM for keyword “X” on Google Adwords Customer Activation Rate = % of users that register for your site. eg: 10% of users that register for your site. Customer Conversion Rate = % of registered users that pay for your product. eg: 5% of users that pay for your product Actual User Acquisition Cost ($) = Cost of User / % Activation / % Conversion. eg: $1.00 / ( 0.10) / ( 0.05) = $200 per customer
  • 3. Acquisition: Social Integration Customer Acquisition Cost ($) = Cost to get a user to your landing page. eg: $1.00 per click from a Facebook ad. Customer Referral Rate = # of users that get to your site through a friend. eg: 4 users on average are referred through a friend. Customer Activation Rate = % of users that register. eg: 10% of users that register for your site. Customer Conversion Rate = % of registered users that pay. eg: 5% of users pay for your product. Actual User Acquisition Cost ($) = Cost of User / User Referral / % Activation / % Conversion. eg: $1.00 / 4 / (0.10) / (0.05) = $50 per customer
  • 4. Your Brand’s Growth Rate = Users Acquired x Avg. # of referrals per user x Activation rate -------------------------------Not Viral------------------------------ Standard Growth: 1,000 users x 0 referrals x 5%= 50 new users enter the conversion funnel in generation 2 = Not Viral. Social Growth: 1,000 users x 2 referrals x 15 % = 300 new users enter the conversion funnel in generation 2 = Not Viral.
  • 5. Referral: A Viral Loop Users Acquired x Avg. # of referrals per user x Activation rate 1,000 users x 5 referrals x 20% = 1000 new users enter the viral loop in generation 2. Viral! Every user refers a new user!