Diese Präsentation wurde erfolgreich gemeldet.
Wir verwenden Ihre LinkedIn Profilangaben und Informationen zu Ihren Aktivitäten, um Anzeigen zu personalisieren und Ihnen relevantere Inhalte anzuzeigen. Sie können Ihre Anzeigeneinstellungen jederzeit ändern.

2016 SparkLabs Global Year-End Review

7.084 Aufrufe

Veröffentlicht am

Year in review for SparkLabs Global Ventures, a seed-stage fund. We have invested in 60 companies across 6 continents.

Veröffentlicht in: Technologie
  • Als Erste(r) kommentieren

2016 SparkLabs Global Year-End Review

  1. 1. Public Report SparkLabs Global Ventures 2016 Year-End Review
  2. 2. 02 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Year-End Update We are a new type of seed-stage fund. We believe business is now truly global. Exceptional entrepreneurs, that are building strong, category defining companies at highly advantageous valuations – can be found anywhere. We are a team highly experienced in finding such talent and helping our entrepreneurs to develop, grow, network, and scale into other markets throughout the world. Entrepreneurs Growing Entrepreneurs
  3. 3. Entrepreneurs Growing Entrepreneurs “SparkLabs Global has been not only instrumental to 88 RISING’s launch and success in 2016 as a seed investor, but they have been critical to our ongoing growth because of their hands on approach to helping 88 RISING in all aspects of our business. Whether it has been strategic counsel, legal advice, resourcing us with connections in media, investment firms, or other helpful ways, SparkLabs Global is truly not just a smart investment group but valuable operational support to 88 RISING. We could not be more grateful and honored for SparkLabs Global to be our shareholder and partner in 88 RISING.” 88rising.com www.youtube.com/88rising www.facebook.com/88rising Jaeson Ma Co-founder of 88 Rising 03 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Year-End Update
  4. 4. Summary of Investment Activities: GEOGRAPHY US 28 EUROPE 14 ASIA 13 ISRAEL 3 LATIN AMERICA 1 AFRICA 1 04 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I 47% 24% 21% 5% 2% 2% Year-End Update Since December 2013, we have invested in 60 companies. Our global approach means that we can pick the best deals in the right geographies where the sectors are hottest. For example, London has become the leader in fintech, deep tech is growing fast in Scandinavia and South Korea, cybersecurity in Israel and ecommerce in Asia.
  5. 5. Summary of Investment Activities: INDUSTRIES FINTECH 13 *One company was counted twice in IoT and Digital Health MOBILE APPLICATION 7 ONLINE GAMING 7 INTERNET OF THINGS 7 COMMERCE 6 DIGITAL HEALTH 5 OTHERS 16 05 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Since December 2013, we have invested across most sectors besides capital intensive startups (i.e. biotech, pharma, cleantech), but have concentrated on 6 general areas: FinTech, Mobile App, IoT, Online Gaming, Ecommerce, and Digital Health sectors. Year-End Update
  6. 6. Co-Investors 06 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Year-End Update
  7. 7. Entrepreneurs Growing Entrepreneurs “During 2016, the SparkLabs Global team continued their close involvement with Petnet’s fundraising, making introductions that directly led to $12 million of the $17 million we have raised to date.” www.petnet.io Carlos Herrera Co-founder & CEO of Petnet 07 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Year-End Update
  8. 8. News SparkLabs Global 08 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund II Limited Partner Update
  9. 9. William Chu is a Venture Partner at SparkLabs Global Ventures and the Managing Partner for SparkLabs FinTech in Hong Kong, which will be a new accelerator that we are launching under SparkLabs. William joins us from Zheng He Capital, a Hong Kong based private equity firm with a focus on fintech and healthcare. He spearheaded the firm’s lead investor role in the US$500 million Series A Round financing of Ping An Good Doctor, a Ping An Insurance subsidiary tasked with building an online health ecosystem in China. William was also involved in Zheng He’s lead investor role in the US$500 million Series A Round and the subsequent US$1.2 billion Series B Round of Lufax, another Ping An Insurance subsidiary that has become the world’s largest online financial asset exchange. 09 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I News New Venture Partner William Chu Year-End Update
  10. 10. 10 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I News Portfolio Exits in 2016 Year-End Update ACQUIRED BY ACQUIRED BY Sector: HR Tech Product: Online career assessment Location: San Francisco, CA Co-investors: Norwest, Playfair Capital,Techstars Sector: Mobile App, Online Music Product: Music discovery app Location: Dublin, Ireland Co-investors: Mark Cuban, ACTVentures
  11. 11. Highlights for 2016 portfolio 11 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund II Limited Partner Update
  12. 12. Portfolio Highlights: Memebox 12 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Year-End Update $126Million USD in Series C & Extension $100M in annual Sales
  13. 13. Portfolio Highlights: Andela $24Million USD 13 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I SERIES B Year-End Update
  14. 14. Portfolio Highlights: Payoff 14 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Year-End Update $47Million USD SERIES C
  15. 15. Portfolio Highlights: Lifesum $10Million USD 15 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund II SERIES B Health Startup Lifesum raises $10M round led by Nokia Growth Partner s Year-End Update
  16. 16. Portfolio Highlights: PetNet 16 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I $10Million USD SERIES A Petnet raises $10M round led by Petco Year-End Update
  17. 17. Portfolio Highlights: 17 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Blend Aire Social Media FinTech Blend raised Series A extension from Thomas Tull (Oct 2016)   Aire raised $2M seed round (Oct 2016)   Year-End Update
  18. 18. Portfolio Highlights: 18 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Health2Sync Healthcare / IoT Spinlist Social Music Spinlist Launches New Playlist App (Nov 2016)   Health2Sync Raised $3M Series A led by WI Harper (August 2016)   Year-End Update
  19. 19. Portfolio Highlights: 19 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund II v KnowRe DoubleMe Castle.io Education Technology Virtual Reality Cyber Security Year-End Update
  20. 20. The Power of SparkLabs Our separate but affiliated startup accelerator, SparkLabs, continues to extend its influence and brand across Asia. We believe our approach is unique in relation to our global seed fund, SparkLabs Global Ventures. 20 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Leading Accelerator in Asia 01 Each accelerator program stands on its own, and doesn’t need investment from our Global seed fund. For Seoul, this accelerator fund has a NAV of 199% and up 6x. No Negative Signaling 02 76% follow-on rate is 2nd only after Y Combinator. Our first entity in Seoul has invested in 65 companies with only 12 investments from SparkLabs Global Stronger Deal Flow 03 Even our accelerator in Seoul attracts startups from over 20 countries and has an average raise over $400,000 prior to joining. IoT’s 1st batch continues to validate our growing brand. Increasing Brand & Influence 04 Strong demand for our accelerator has come from Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Germany and other major markets. We will expand with judicious swiftness. Year-End Update
  21. 21. The Power of SparkLabs * Not a complete breakdown 21 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Demoday NO.7 Participants total 1834 Government & Academia 224 358 746 40 Media Investors Startups & Corporates * Not a complete breakdown DemoDay5 became the largest startup demo day in the world with over 1,400 attendees. DemoDay6 had over 1,500 and DemoDay7 this past June 22, 2016 had over 1,800 with attendees from the U.S., China, Japan, Indonesia, Taiwan, Singapore, Hong Kong and others. In 2016, we expanded our accelerator with a new IoT & Smart City program based in Songdo, Korea. In 2017, we are launching SparkLabs Beijing and a new FinTech program in Hong Kong. Year-End Update
  22. 22. 22 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Our Honorary Advisors for SparkLabs Year-End Update
  23. 23. 23 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I •  $35 billion smart city built from ground up. •  2nd largest private real estate development in history. •  80,000 apartment units •  Currently over 36,000 residents •  50 million square feet of office space and 10 million square feet of retail space •  SparkLabs is the exclusive IoT test bed partner SONGDO: Smart City of the Future Year-End Update The Power of SparkLabs: SparkLabs IOT & Smart City Accelerator 6-month long Internet of Things program for seed to early-stage entrepreneurs from anywhere across the globe. This program will be located in Songdo, South Korea. Also selected startups will benefit from support by the Cisco Global Center of Excellence (GCoE), Cisco Innovation Center at Songdo to further mature their solutions with local technical support available under the GCoE’s Solution Incubation Program.
  24. 24. 24 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Internet of things Open Data Smart Agriculture Smart Home Smart Grid/Energy Smart Government Smart Retail Smart Health Smart Mobility SONGDO: Smart City of the Future The Power of SparkLabs: Exclusive Startup Partnership Songdo will be an amazing test bed for consumer, industrial, hardware, and other IoT startups. Our 1st batch launch in November 2016, and has 14 startups (5 from the U.S., 4 from South Korea, 1 from Ireland, 1 from Switzerland, 1 from India, 1 from Australia, and 1 from Taiwan) with an average raise of $2.8 million prior to joining our program. Year-End Update
  25. 25. The Power of SparkLabs SparkLabs Beijing will be launching at the end of 2016 in partnership with CITIC Guoan Academy. Guoan Academy is a subsidiary of CITIC Guoan Group, which is the largest industrial subsidiary of CITIC Group. CITIC Group is a leading state-run financial institutional in China with over US$514 billion in assets under management. Guoan Academy is the largest and leading professional knowledge service provider in China's startup ecosystem. Beyond China, we have been approached to expand our accelerator to Taipei, Tokyo and considering Jakarta, Tel Aviv, Stockholm and other locations in the coming years. 25 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Beijing Year-End Update
  26. 26. Our Entrepreneurs What They Say 26 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I “SparkLabs team was extremely value-add - they provided strategic advice, brokered relationships, and was 100% committed to supporting us in building our company. They opened more doors for us than any other investor. SparkLabs is an extension of your team. I would work with them in a heartbeat.” “YJ and I, along with the entire team at KnowRe are ecstatic to be a part of the SparkLabs family, beginning from our days in the accelerator. As an investor and mentor, SparkLabs brings a partnership that truly embodies the characteristics of a family - being involved, bringing to bear ALL of one's resources, a genuine concern for someone that goes far beyond self-interest. This type of partnership invariably leads to a deep trust. As entrepreneurs turned investors, SparkLabs has a distinct understanding of both tectonic shifts in industry and the needs of, say a junior marketing employee. This unique vertical acumen is extremely valuable and a critical component to growth.” “Love working with these guys. Gives ‘sweat capital’ an entirely new meaning, going to all lengths around the world to get us what we need.” Akash Nigam, Co-founder & CEO of Blend Somrat Niyogi, Co-founder & CEO of Stitch *acquired by SugarCRM David Joo, Co-founder & Co-CEO of KnowRe Year-End Update
  27. 27. 27 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I “SparkLabs has been an amazing partner for us - they set the bar high, but have helped us every step of the way. Not only has the SparkLabs team provided market-vetted advice and feedback, but they’ve been out front in making key introductions and resources. Iodine is proud to be part of the SparkLabs clan.” “The partners at SparkLabs are amazing people and have been a motivating force since the early days of Petnet. They are forward thinking in the way they think about the internet of things and how it will shape they way people shop for consumables. They have an expansive global network of executives, advisors, and investors who are ready to help in any form necessary. SparkLabs is an essential team member for companies who are looking to expand their brand globally.” “SparkLabs is an amazing team of investors. The partners are experienced operators from around the globe who have helped us with not only key business issues, but also bouncing new ideas. Everyone is intelligent and charismatic, so it's easy to see why the fund has such an expansive network of founders, senior executives, and advisors who are always there to help. If you're a founder who cares about scale, international expansion, or just adding an awesome extension to your team - SparkLabs is your fund.” Cathy Han, Co-founder & CEO of 42 (YC W14) Thomas Goetz, Co-founder & CEO of Iodine Carlos Herrera, Co-founder & Co-CEO of Petnet Year-End Update Our Entrepreneurs What They Say
  28. 28. 28 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I “MangoPlate exists today due to the amazing advice and guidance we received from SparkLabs Global Ventures. They are entrepreneurs themselves so they provide extremely practical and realistic guidance. We fully trust that they will always provide guidance from the entrepreneurial perspective, thus we continue to seek their advice regarding all aspects of MangoPlate from vision, HR, operations and to funding. Their team has been nothing short of amazing for MangoPlate and we are so blessed to be a part of the SparkLabs family.” “The partners at SparkLabs are connected. Globally. They have unmatched entrepreneurial hustle and are raising the bar for value-add from an investor.” “Suffice it to say that SparkLabs has played a significant role in the Squirrel story! Heck, they were even involved before we became known as Squirrel! SparkLabs has taken on the role of investor, mentor, facilitator, talent source, sounding board and all-round supporter of everything Squirrel as of day 1. Their commitment to our success has come through in every interaction with the outspoken Frank Meehan and team at SparkLabs, and they've been a great partner on our amazing journey so far. I look forward to continuing to see that partnership flourish as they help us work towards making financial freedom a reality in the UK and beyond!” Mutaz Qubbaj, Co-founder & CEO of Squirrel Joon Oh, Co-founder & CEO of MangoPlate Scott Saunders, Co-founder & Co-CEO of Payoff Year-End Update Our Entrepreneurs What They Say
  29. 29. 29 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I “Code Kingdoms is delighted to part of the SparkLabs family. The partners understand entrepreneurs because they are entrepreneurs themselves - the guidance and support provide is always insightful, relevant and timely. Having SparkLabs as an investor has been a significant contributor to the growth of our c ompany and also provided immense learning opportunities from fellow portfolio companies and wider network.” “SparkLabs' passion for Memebox inspired us to go global and expand to Silicon Valley. Their support was felt every step of the way as we launched the Silicon Valley office and graduated from Y Combinator. Since their involvement we've successfully closed both a Series A and B funding round, within a year. It has been a rewarding experience having SparkLabs Global Ventures as our investor and partner as we continue to share our products with the global audience.” “The team at SparkLabs have struck a read chord with everyone here at Soundwave due to the fact that, first and foremost, they are all entrepreneurs. We've really enjoyed tapping into their experience as we navigate our way through building and scaling Soundwave. It’s reassuring to know that they are always on the other end of the phone, email, sms, IM or Skype!” Brendan O’Driscoll, Co-founder & CEO of Soundwave *acquired by Spotify Ross Targett, Co-founder & CEO of Code Kingdoms Dino Ha, Co-founder & Co-CEO of Memebox (YC W14) Year-End Update Our Entrepreneurs What They Say
  30. 30. Portfolio Companies Select 30 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Limited Partner Update
  31. 31. EducationCommerce FinTech Select Portfolio Companies By Sector 31 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Internet of Things Mobile Gaming Healthcare Social Market Place HR VR Project Management Platform Security CyGov Year-End Update
  32. 32. Ireland Select Portfolio Companies By Country 32 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I USA Korea England SingaporeNigeria IsraelPeru Sweden CyGov Year-End Update
  33. 33. 33 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Andela www.andela.com Andela is a global talent accelerator that produces world-class developers and connects them with top employers. Andela finds the brightest young people in Africa and gives them the training and mentorship needed to thrive as full-time, remote developers for companies around the world. Andela has been recognized by Inc. magazine as “10 Tech Companies Shaking Up Their Industries” and VentureBeat’s list of “14 startups that will change our everyday life”. Andela raised seed funding from Steve Case, Omidyar Network, Founder Collective, Learn Capital, Melo7 Tech Partners and Chris Hughes. Sector HR, Social Enterprise Location New York City, NY & Lagos, Nigeria Product Online Platform Co-Investors Spark Capital, Steve Case, Omidyar Network Year-End Update
  34. 34. 34 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Lifesum www.lifesum.com Lifesum is a Stockholm-based digital health startup that offers its users a flexible platform to support and encourage a healthy, balanced lifestyle. Lifesum wants to make people healthier and happier by helping users to forge good habits on their journey towards a better lifestyle, as well as an improved overall quality of life. Recognized among the best apps in the App Store 3 years in a row (2013-2015), top ten in free and paid among Health & Fitness apps in the U.S., and featured in Apple’s keynote talk on their healthkit launch. Lifesum was also a launch partner for Google Fit and Google Now, and was the most downloaded app in November 2015 on Samsung Gear S2 watch. Lifesum raised $6.7 million of funding from Bauer Media and SparkLabs Global Ventures in their Series A round, and recently closed a $10M Series B from Nokia Growth and DFJ Esprit. Sector Healthcare, Mobile Location Stockholm, Sweden Product Health & Fitness App Co-Investors Bauer Media, Nokia Growth, DFJ Esprit Year-End Update
  35. 35. 35 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Petnet www.petnet.io Petnet’s first product, the SmartFeeder programs its elf around your life and the wellness of your pet. SmartFeeder assesses the dietary requirements of your pet, creates a custom feeding regimen to me et those requirements, alerts you when your pet has been fed and even reminds you to purchase more food when you run low. From your smartphone, tablet or computer, you and all your pet’s caregivers can monitor and/or adjust feeding schedules, compare your pet’s diet to other similar pets, order food, and more. In 2013, spending in the U.S. hit an estimated $55.53 billion for pet care, with most of that amount, or $21.26 billion, going toward food. Sector Internet of Things / Hardware Location Los Angeles, CA Product Smart Feeder Co-Investors Grishin Robotics, Kima Ventures, Bolt Petnet raised a seed round from Grishin Robotics, Kima Ventures, and SparkLabs Global Ventures. Petnet received initial funding while participating in Bolt, a seed- stage fund and incubator in Boston for h ardware startups. Recently closed a $10M Series A with Petco as the lead. Year-End Update
  36. 36. 36 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Genoplan www.genoplan.com Sector Healthcare, Genomics Location Seoul, Korea, New York City, NY and Fukuoka, Japan (HQ) Product Weight management, skin care Co-Investors Softbank Ventures Korea, Samsung Ventures Genoplan provides a genetic-code-based solution which helps people manage their weight. Their solution analyzes a person’s unique genetic characteristics and provides personalized weight management solution. Since Genoplan uses saliva to analyze genetic characteristics, its process is simpler, quicker and cheaper than existing solutions in the market. Genoplan also guarantees high accuracy by using equipment from Roche Diagnostics, one of the world's top medical device makers in this space. Genoplan graduated from Sparklabs accelerator program’s 5th class and recently raised $5 million from Softbank Ventures Korea, Samsung Ventures, and SparkLabs Global. Year-End Update
  37. 37. 37 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Payoff www.payoff.com Founded in 2009, Payoff is a technology-enabled, consumer-focused financial services company. Payoff builds transparent and empowering financial products with the custom er’s best interest in mind. Payoff is backed by top tier venture capital firms and some of the most prominent individuals in financial services. Payoff wants to build a global consumer financial services brand, starting with a Peer-to -Peer (P2P) loan product designed to pay off higher interest rate credit card debt. Payoff enhances people’s intrinsic motivation to achieve financial goals through rewards and by illustrating the connection between short-term financial behaviors and long- term goals. They want to help more people sleep better with funded savings and lighter debt loads Payoff recently closed a $46M Series C from Anthemis Group, Tencent and others. Sector FinTech Location Costa Mesa, CA Product Peer-to-Peer Lending, Financial Wellness Co-Investors Mohamed El-Erian (Former PIMCO CEO), FirstMark Capital, Anthemis Group, Tencent Year-End Update
  38. 38. 38 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I KnowRe www.knowre.com KnowRe is an education technology company with an innovative cloud-based adaptive learning program for middle and high school math. KnowRe assesses a student’s strengths and weaknesses, algorithmically creates a personalized curriculum targeting that individual’s gaps in learning, and engages students through gamified learning and beautiful graphics. Through its Teacher Dashboard, KnowRe provides teachers with data on each student’s progress and highlights where an individual, or the entire class, may be struggling. KnowRe was named winner of “Best Instructional App” in the NYC Schools 2013 Gap App Challenge and was Grand Prize winner of Google’s Global K-Startup. It was also listed in Fast Company's Most Innovative Companies 2014 series as one of "The World's Top 10 Most Innovative Companies in Education.” KnowRe’s Series A round was $6.8 million led by SoftBank Ventures Korea, with participation from KTB Network Partners Fund, Partners Investment, and SparkLabs Global Ventures. Sector Education Tech Location New York City & Seoul Product Adaptive Learning Platform Co-Investors SoftBank Ventures Year-End Update
  39. 39. Code Kingdoms is an online platform for kids to learn to code. They believe that kids should be give n the opportunity to learn one of the essential creative skills for the 21st century - code literacy. They believe children should have the chance to be creative with code and use it to build things they love. Code Kingdoms built their code editor so that kids can ‘mod’ existing games, like MinecraftⓇ, build their own and program the BBC micro:bit using the best technology available. Their team of developers and teachers have seen success in schools with their first prototype game: 75,000 students and 1500 teachers have used Code Kingdoms. In partnership with the BBC, the company extended their reach in schools in 2016. One million 11-12 year olds in the UK received a small programmable computer, the BBC micro:bit, which can be coded using their code editor. 39 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Code Kingdoms www.codekingdoms.com Sector Education Tech Location London, UK Product Gamified Learning Platform Co-Investors Initial Capital, Charles Mindenhall, Manoj Badale Hugh Collins Co-founder Co-founder Ross Targett Year-End Update
  40. 40. 40 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Castle www.Castle.io Castle is the easiest way to protect your users in web and mobile apps. By analyzing device, location and usage patterns we make sure the behavior is consistent for each user. Every user that comes to the site is scored according to Castle’s machine learning algorithms which look at unique device characteristics, keystrokes, site browsing history, and hundreds of other properties. The developer can then choose what to do with the information, whether they’d like to send a notification to the user, or immediately lock the account and force a password reset. Or if they want Castle to do all of that automatically for them. Castle was considered by TechCrunch as a “top 7 startups from Y Combinator Winter '16 Demo Day 1”. SparkLabs Global invested in their initial seed round prior to being accepted into Y Combinator. Sector CyberSecurity Location Malmö, Sweden & San Francisco Product Security Software Co-Investors Fredrik Nylander, Hampus Jakobsson, First Round Capital, Y Combinator, F-Prime Johan Brissmyr Co-founder & CEO Sebastian Wallin Co-founder & CTO Year-End Update
  41. 41. 41 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Memebox www.memebox.com Year-End Update Launched in 2012, Memebox is an e-commerce beauty retailer launched in Seoul, Korea, and now headquartered in San Francisco, California. They seek to provide the best beauty experience by creating high-quality and effective services and products catered to all types of women, in collaboration with the hottest beauty icons who share their beauty tips and tricks using our products. Originally founded as a beauty subscription box company, Memebox evolved to be Korea’s first Fast Beauty Brand which utilizes technology and e-commerce platform data analytics to disrupt the traditional beauty industry. Memebox raised $800,000 from SparkLabs Global Ventures, Y Combinator and others. After graduating SparkLabs’ accelerator’s 1st class in Korea, Memebox became the first Korean company to be accepted into Y Combinator’s accelerator. Closed their Series A and Series B rounds totaling $29 million with Formation 8, Goodwater Capital, Pejman Mar Ventures, Cowboy Ventures and others, and a recent $66M Series C. Sector E-Commerce, Beauty Location San Francisco & Seoul, Korea Product Subscription Box & E-Commerce Co-Investors Y Combinator, Formation 8, Good Water
  42. 42. SparkLabs Global Team Palo Alto Bernard Moon London Frank Meehan Tel Aviv Net Jacobsson Mumbai HanJoo Lee San Francisco Rob DeMillo Seoul Jimmy Kim HanJoo Lee Eugene Kim San Jose Peter Chang SingaporeJay McCarthy Hong KongWilliam Chu 42 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Year-End Update Stockholm
  43. 43. 43 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team Net Jacobsson is a former Facebook executive, entrepreneur and investor with vast international experience from many pioneering companies. Net started out in Sweden Ericsson Mobile Communications (now SonyEricsson) in 1998 with user interface design but then moved into different start-up product, business development and marketing roles. In Israel Net led international business for Icq/AOL and then joined Chinese browser company, Maxthon in 2005 as partner & SVP. Net put Maxthon on the world map and brought in CRV and Google as investors. Today, Maxthon has over 1 billion downloads. In 2007 Net joined Facebook as the head of International business development with focus on new user acquisitions, new markets and early M&A opportunities. In addition Net was responsible for Facebook's mobile business and led a number of deals with mobile operators and handset manufacturers. Since 2009 Net has been involved an advisor and investor in Crowdstar, OpenFeint (sold to GREE for $104M), Playhopper (Founder), P1 (Board of Directors), and Deeplink. Net has also served as an advisor to King.com. Frank Meehan is a Co-Founder & Partner at SparkLabs Global Ventures and a Partner at SparkLabs, Asia’s premier accelerator based in Seoul. Frank is also the Co-Founder and CEO at SmartUp.io, a fast-growing Micro-Learning platform used by startups, business schools and corporates. SmartUp has been featured in “Best New Apps” by Apple UK and US in July and October 2015. Frank was selected as part of the 2012 Wired UK Top 100 in tech, and Vanity Fair's The Next Establishment list 2010. Led early investments in DeepMind and Siri. Previously Frank was with Horizons Ventures (HK), representing them on the boards of Spotify, Siri, Summly, Affectiva, Bitcasa, Fixmo, DoubleTwist, Ginger, Desti and Magisto. He also is the founder of Kuato Studios, a leading educational games studio, and INQ Mobile which was an early pioneer in mobile internet, winning Best Handset at Mobile World Congress 2009. Net Jacobsson Co-founder & Partner Frank Meehan Co-founder & Partner ›❯ ›❯ Year-End Update
  44. 44. 44 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team Bernard Moon is a Co-founder & Partner at SparkLabs Global Ventures. He is also a Co-founder & Partner at SparkLabs, a startup accelerator in Korea. Previously, he was Co-founder & CEO of Vidquik, a web conferencing & sales solutions platform. Bernard was a Managing Director at the Lunsford Group, which is a private investment firm with holdings in real estate, healthcare and other industries. Bernard was Co-founder & VP of Business Development of GoingOn Networks, a social media platform for companies, and also led their product development where BusinessWeek recognized them in their "Best of the Web" list. Previously, Bernard was a Director at iRG, a leading boutique investment bank in Asia, where he focused on TMT companies. He is a frequent guest writer to various technology journals, such as VentureBeat, Mashable, TechCrunch, and ReadWrite. John Lee is Co-founder & Partner at SparkLabs Global Ventures. He is also a Co-founder & Partner at SparkLabs, a startup accelerator in Korea. John is a co- founder & EVP of Corporate Development and Strategy of Hostway. Hostway was acquired by Littlejohn & Co in 2014. He served additional responsibilities as CEO of Hostway Korea and Hostway India, where he is actively in volved today. John and his fellow co- founders bootstrapped Hostway into a top 5 web hosting company in the world with over 700 employees. Hostway is a multinational web hosting company headquartered in Chicago, and serves more than 600,000 customers worldwide. He is currently responsible for overall corporate strategy, strategic alliances, and mergers and acquisitions. Previously, he has held positions in every department of the company, including leading global marketing and sales and overall P&L for North America. John was born and raised in Korea and immigrated to the United States at age 13. He holds a BA in Biology from the University of Chicago. Bernard Moon Co-founder & Partner John Lee Co-founder & Partner ›❯ ›❯ Year-End Update
  45. 45. 45 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team Jimmy Kim is Co-founder and President of N3N, an IoT platform company and Cisco’s first global IoT investment. They service numerous Fortune 500 companies and governments, such as Samsung Electronics, POSCO, Port of Singapore, The North Face, and Hyundai Motors. He previously served as N3N’s CEO. Previously , Jimmy was CEO of Nexonova, a game development studio of Nexon Corp that specializes in Social Network Games. He was also Nexon’s first CFO for many years (Nexon, Market Cap: $6 billion). Jimmy also served as Executive Vice President of Nexon Corp, and Head of Nexon’s Portal and Web Services. Nexon is one of the most successful online gaming providers, with games such as Maple Story, Dungeon and Fighter, Combat Arms, and Kart Rider. Nexon services over 20 games across 60 countries to an audience of 300 million. Jimmy was the founding investor and active deal adviser of Studio Ex, an online gaming studio that was acquired by Disney in 2012. Jimmy received his B.S. in Biomedical Engineering from Northwestern University, and also a M.S. in Biomedical Engineering from Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST). Jay McCarthy has more than 22 years’ experience in Asia. Currently, as a Managing Partner of Pacific Advisers, he has advised, financed and invested in a range of deals in Asia across industries, principally mining & energy, technology, luxury consumer and property. In recent years, Jay has focused on originating investment mandates for PA to invest its own capital in both publicly listed and private companies. Such origination leads to co-investment opportunities selectively with the hedge fund and institutional investor communities. Jay has significant experience with structuring deals and working with the relevant investor, industry and service (legal and advisory) counterparts. Previously, Jay served as an Executive Director in the Equity Division at Morgan Stanley and worked in the Tokyo, HK, Beijing and Singapore offices over a 16- year period. Within this time, Jay served 2 years as Morgan Stanley’s “secondee” to China International Capital Corporation, their JV Chinese Investment Bank, as the Dealing Director in charge of the Equity Division in Hong Kong and Beijing. Jimmy Kim Co-founder & Partner Jay McCarthy Co-founder & Partner ›❯ ›❯ Year-End Update
  46. 46. 46 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team Eugene Kim is currently a Partner of SparkLabs accelerator and manages the day–to-day operations of the SparkLabs accelerator program. Eugene previously served as a Director of Global Business Development at Tencent Korea. He was responsible for the sourcing of Korean game titles to China and Tencent’s global publishing network, headed the global sales of Tencent game titles, and he managed relationships with Tencent’s global publishing partners. Prior to Tencent, Eugene was Director of Business Development and Marketing at Podotree, an online educational app developer in Korea. He was responsible for their marketing and launch effort into the U.S. Previously, he was with Vertigo Games as the Group Manager of the Overseas Business Group. Eugene led all overseas sales and service support, and all business development and game engine licensing activities. Eugene was a Manager and Group Head of the Quality Assurance and Localization Group for NHN USA. Rob DeMillo is a Venture Partner at SparkLabs Global, and CTO of StudioNow, a video production marketplace. Prior to StudioNow, Rob was the CTO of Discovery Digital Networks which he came through via Discovery's acquisition of Revision3. DeMillo is also the Co-Founder of VidQuik, a customer relationship management company. In 2013, DeMillo was named to Econtent’s “Fabulous 15: The Top Digital Media Influencers” along with Steve Jobs, Jeff Bezos and Mark Zuckerberg. DeMillo was the Chief Technology Officer & Co-founder of Transpera, where he was responsible for the technology and operational aspects of the company and serves as the technical liaison to mobile operators, video content providers and ad agencies globally. Prior to Transpera, DeMillo was the CTO for Third Screen Media, a mobile advertising company that was acquired by AOL in 2007. DeMillo also served as SVP of Mobile Technology at VeriSign, following the acquisition by Verisign of m-Qube where DeMillo was SVP of Engineering and managed over 1,000 engineers. Eugene Kim Principal Rob DeMillo Venture Partner ›❯ ›❯ Year-End Update
  47. 47. 47 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team Christine Aum is a Senior Associate at SparkLabs Global Ventures. Christine was previously an equity analyst at Mirae Asset Securities and has experience of analyzing Korea's two biggest industries, Automobile and IT sectors. She was responsible for forecasting the market and share prices of the companies that are listed in Korea’s stock market, and published analyst reports, which involves analyzing data and fundamentals of the relevant industries and companies. She also managed relationships with IR teams of various companies in Korea and investors in Seoul, Hong Kong, New York and London. Christine graduated from the University of Michigan with BA degree in Economics and Chinese language. Christine loves traveling and collecting new electronic gadgets. She also enjoys playing games, online shopping, exploring new entertainment (movies/music/games) and reading blogs on new electronic products in her free time to keep up with new trends in culture and technology. In 2016, Forbes named Christine as “30 Under 30 Asia in Finance and Venture Capital Sector." Peter Chang is a Venture Partner and technical adviser at SparkLabs Global Ventures. Peter Chang is co-founder and CTO of N3N, an IoT platform company and Cisco’s first global IoT investment. He is currently leading the product development of INNOWATCH which is a C4 level command and control center solution. Existing customers include G20 Summit Seoul, Nuclear Summit Seoul, Samsung, Hyundai, Posco, and LG. Peter has broad experiences in business planning and technology development in telecommunication, IT, CATV, physical security and automobile industries. Previously, he was Co-founder and CTO of HeyAnita Korea, an interactive voice portal service backed by Softbank. Peter was also co-founder and CTO of ViewPlus, an video-on- demand system for cable and satellite services. Peter received his masters and bachelor degrees in computer and electrical engineering from POSTECH and Brown University respectively. Christine Aum Senior Associate Peter Chang Venture Partner ›❯ ›❯ Year-End Update
  48. 48. 48 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team William Chu is a Venture Partner at SparkLabs Global Ventures and the Managing Partner for SparkLabs FinTech in Hong Kong. He was Director of Lawman Group International, an apparel company with business in Greater China and the US. In 2014, William joined Zheng He Capital, a Hong Kong based private equity firm with a focus on fintech and healthcare, where he served as Executive Director. During this time, he spearheaded the firm’s lead investor role in the US$500MM A Round financing of Ping An Good Doctor, a Ping An Insurance subsidiary tasked with building an online health ecosystem in China. He was also actively involved in Zheng He’s role as lead investor in the US$500MM A Round and the subsequent US$1.2BN B Round of Lufax, another Ping An Insurance subsidiary that has become the world’s largest online financial asset exchange. Prior to Zheng He, William was President of Lawman Group where he ran the US and China Operations. In addition to the eponymous Lawman brand, William launched the apparel lines Petrol and Heart of Stone in the North American market, and built distribution across the US and Canada. William graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in East Asian Studies from Harvard University. William Chu Venture Partner ›❯ Year-End Update
  49. 49. 49 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team John Pleasants is EVP, Media Solutions of America at Samsung Electronics. John Pleasants is a dynamic, high-tech internet executive that has led public and private companies to implicit market capitalization and investor gains of more than $5 billion over the past 15 years. As a CEO and President, Pleasants has built and run start-ups as well as divisions of worldwide media and Internet conglomerates. Pleasants served as Co-President of Disney Interactive. Previously, Pleasants served as CEO of Playdom and as President of Publishing and COO of Electronic Arts. Seong Ohm is SVP, Merchandise Business Services at Sam`s Club. Prior to this assignment, Seong was responsible for leading the Entertainment SBU for Walmart US, which includes CE, Media and Wireless and Photo businesses. She led the team to gain market share in all categories and was awarded the Retailer of the Year for excelling in TVs, Content and Digital. Seong spent 20 months in Japan as the SVP/GMM of General Merchandise and Consumables business at Walmart Japan/ Seiyu for its 386 stores. Seong was named 15 Top Innovative Women in Business by Pink Magazine and also top 100 MBAs by the Diversity Magazine. John Pleasants Advisor Seong Ohm Advisor ›❯ ›❯ Year-End Update
  50. 50. 50 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team Greg Badros earned bachelors degrees in Mathematics and Computer Science from Duke University. He started graduate school and earned his masters and doctoral degrees in Computer Science and Engineering from the University of Washington in Seattle. Since then, he worked at Google for over six years where he was a Sr. Director of Engineering. From mid 2009 to October 2013, Greg worked at Facebook where he was VP Engineering & Products and led numerous teams including Ads, Search, Photos, Messages, and Data Science. After his nearly 4.5 years at Facebook, he founded Prepared Mind Innovations and now acts as an advisor to several startup companies. Jonathan Teo is a Founder and Managing Director at Binary . Previously, Jonathan was a General Partner at General Catalyst Partners and invested in both new and existing technology businesses. His areas of special interest include: enterprise software/infrastructure and social media. He currently advises or sits on the boards of Chloe + Isabel, Couchsurfing, Nodejitsu, and Snapchat (angel investor) Jonathan was a Principal at Benchmark Capital where his investments include Twitter and Instagram. Prior to Benchmark, he served as an Engineering PM in the Search Properties and Enterprise Products groups at Google. Greg Badros Advisor Jonathan Teo Advisor ›❯ ›❯ Year-End Update
  51. 51. 51 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team Yoky Matsuoka is the former VP of Technology at Nest. Previously, she joined Google [x] as one of the three founding members. She was a professor at Carnegie Mellon University and later at the University of Washington developing robotic devices for rehabilitating and assisting the human body and brain. This work led her to the MacArthur Award and being named one of “The Brilliant Ten” by Popular Science Magazine and one of the “Top 10 Women to Watch in 2010” by Barbie. Recent (2015) honors include "The Next List" by Wired Magazine and The Excellence in Achievement Award from UC Berkeley. Brian Behlendorf is Executive Director of Hyperledger at the Linux Foundation. Previously, he was a Managing Director at Mithril Capital Management. He has had stints in startups, government, and international organizations, focusing the positive impact that open technologies can have on society. He was a primary developer of the Apache Web server, the most popular web server software on the Internet, and started the Apache Software Foundation. Previously, Brian was the CTO at the World Economic Forum, where he rebooted a 30 year old legacy environment with open software and open thinking. Brian is on the Boards of Director at the Electronic Frontier Foundation, Mozilla Foundation, Benetech, and CollabNet. Yoky Matsuoka Advisor Brian Behlendorf Advisor ›❯ ›❯ Year-End Update
  52. 52. 52 SparkLabs Global Ventures Fund I Team Maurice Werdegars joined WTI in 2001 and is currently President and CEO at the oldest & largest venture debt firm in the U.S. He led investments in companies including Facebook, Palantir, Youku, Quantcast, Invensense, 3PAR, IronPort, CV Ingenuity, PEAK Surgical, Merced Systems, Oscar Health, StitchFix, PlayStudios, and Volcano Technologies. His background includes positions as a Venture Partner at Outlook Ventures, an early stage venture firm, and Chief Investment Officer at MetaMarkets, an online mutual fund company. Mr. Werdegar also founded and served as CEO of Left at Albuquerque, a venture-backed chain of restaurants. Maurice Werdegars Advisor ›❯ Year-End Update

×