Diese Präsentation wurde erfolgreich gemeldet.
Wir verwenden Ihre LinkedIn Profilangaben und Informationen zu Ihren Aktivitäten, um Anzeigen zu personalisieren und Ihnen relevantere Inhalte anzuzeigen. Sie können Ihre Anzeigeneinstellungen jederzeit ändern.

Stages of Change

13.703 Aufrufe

Veröffentlicht am

Stages of change Prochaska/ DiClemente (addiction) model and Elisabeth Kübler-Ross model (grief).

Veröffentlicht in: Gesundheit & Medizin
  • Very useful and makes a great training resource. Because we enjoyed this and rate it so highly, we've embedded this in our MTL Course Plans on ManageTrainLearn and on our online courses on My Learning Log so it's available to a bigger audience. Thanks!
    Sind Sie sicher, dass Sie …  Ja  Nein
    Ihre Nachricht erscheint hier

Stages of Change

  1. 1. Stages of Change “Change can be made by you or made to you.” Gavin Webber LUCIA MERINO, LCSW NOVEMBER 2012
  2. 2. Stages of Change:DiClemente and Prochaska Model Pre-contemplation: Not aware. Can’t see the problem. Contemplation: Problem acknowledgment. Thinking about changing. No specific plans in place. Preparation: Focus on solution (vs. problem) and future (vs. past). Small behavioral changes. Action: Observable behavioral changes Maintenance: Old behavior is still a temptation (possible relapse).
  3. 3. Pre-contemplationCharacteristics: The person is not even considering changing. They may be "in denial" about their problem, or not consider it serious. They may have tried unsuccessfully to change so many times that they have given up.Strategies: Education on risks versus benefits and positive outcomes related to change
  4. 4. ContemplationCharacteristics: The person is ambivalent about changing. During this stage, the person weighs benefits versus costs or barriers (e.g., time, expense, bother, fear, loneliness).Strategies: Identify barriers and misconceptions Address concerns Identify support systems
  5. 5. PreparationCharacteristics: The person is prepared to experiment with small changes.Strategies: Develop realistic goals and timeline for change Provide positive reinforcement
  6. 6. Action Characteristics: The person takes definitive action to change behavior.Strategies: Provide positive reinforcement
  7. 7. Maintenance & Relapse PreventionCharacteristics: The person strives to maintain the new behavior over the long term.Strategies: Provide encouragement and support
  8. 8. Seven Stages of Change Elisabeth Kübler-Ross Model
  9. 9. Shock This reaction is usually immediate and it can be within a few hours of getting the news of the need for a change. Even if you have planned this change, the fact that it is actually upon you will give you a strange feeling of disorientation. This stage will last longer if it is unexpected.
  10. 10. Disbelief/Denial You have usually managed to get back to everyday life at this point. Intellectually, you know that the change has happened and what may happen, however emotionally, you may block out the new reality from daily life. You will probably be processing this new reality in your sub- conscious mind. Cognitive Dissonance usually occurs at this stage, and you are more likely to get stuck in this phase if you are change resistant.
  11. 11. Self Doubt This is a very  You may doubt as to uncomfortable stage. Old whether you have made the habits and beliefs are no right decision or whether longer relevant, as are you are up for the job. You some of the things that also may want to seek used to be important to isolation to mull it over you. Your sense of identity further, and at the same will be shattered. You feel time feel unmotivated. a sense of nothingness until you develop a new way of being. Your confidence will be low, and you may be fearful of the future, become angry, depressed, and have an overwhelming sense of guilt.
  12. 12. Acceptance You have come to the decision to accept the change and face the future. By letting go of the past reality, the pain goes away and finding your new way of being becomes exciting and a challenge rather than a loss. Your energy levels will be going up, as this stage usually begins just after rock bottom on the emotional scale. You still might not know what you are going to do, but at least you know that your reality has changed.
  13. 13. Experimentation You try something new from the new paradigm, but dont be surprised if you cant stick to the plan. You could be all over the place, trying little changes to fit with your new reality. You will still be working it out in your mind, however your energy levels continue to rise. Try little things before attempting any major change at this stage, because you may slip back to self-doubt if a large experiment goes pear shaped.
  14. 14. Search for Meaning When you have embarked on your journey towards your new reality, you may start to appraise where you were before the change occurred, what has happened since, and why. You will begin to fit your experience into your "life story" and re-examine your view of yourself and the world around you. You will start to make sense of it all.
  15. 15. Integration At the end of the change process, and all being well, you will be comfortable, confident, a nd a feeling that you belong or are seeking belonging in your new way of life.
  16. 16. And remember that:“Change can be made by you or made to you.”
  17. 17. Where are you in your process of change?
  18. 18. Sources http://www.thepursuitofsassiness.com/2012/02/06 /stages-of-change/ http://www.greeningofgavin.com/2012/07/the- seven-stages-of-change.html http://www.adultmeducation.com/FacilitatingBehav iorChange.html