2. 1. Brand Overview
2. Goals
3. SEO & SEM Strategy
4. Content Strategy
5. Social Media Strategy
6. Measurement Plan
7. Retargeting
8. Budgeting
9. Things for the Future
10. Conclusion
Agenda
6. Brand Overview
Elevator Pitch
For the video game maker who has the need to
better understand what his gamers like, don’t like,
need and want. Maybe gamers don’t care much
about graphics but instead want a deeper story or
better gameplay. That’s where Innervate comes
into play. Innervate is a player relationship
management tool that helps game makers build
better relationships with their gamers. Unlike
Lithium, the software that covers too many
product and service categories to understand the
video game industry.
7. Our players care a lot more about the other players they are
connecting with, rather than the content they’re taking part in.
EA CEO Andrew Wilson
Brand Overview
8. MVP - Minimal Viable Personality
1
How can you change a
customer’s life?
We advance gaming by providing
video game companies with tools
to help them prosper and delight
their customers by providing better
game experiences.
2
What do you stand for?
We want more games to be
successful and to give
gamers a better
experience.
3
Who and what do you
hate?
We hate Zynga (game
companies that treat their
gamers like numbers and
not people.)
Brand Overview
You can’t just have a good product; you need a compelling personality behind the product
9. Think and Feel
• Wants to make a game loved and engaged by gamers
• Needs to speak and listen to his gamers
• Finds company like Blizzard remarkable based on its
interaction with gamers, resulting in increased game
quality and profit
• Doesn’t want to spend time creating online forums for
his game
Hear
• Influenced by other video game developers, publishers,
and industry trends
• Interested in how to make his game more profitable
• Hears pressure from his investors: “Why isn’t your
awesome game making more money?”
• May not be open to change
See
• Customer environment is mostly digital
• Mark is sharply following online message boards and
forums, video game news sites, and industry newsletters
• He lives in a high-tech urban area and sees screens and
monitors everywhere
Say and Do
• Mark wants to grow and retain users
• He wants happy gamers
• However, he doesn’t have the time and resources to
make and maintain an active community for his game
• He lives on his computer and spends all day online (PC
and mobile); he is on the cutting edge of all technology
Customer Empathy Map
Example: Mark, Indie Video Game Lead Developer and CEO, 30-Years-Old
Brand Overview
17. Goals
Goals Strategies Tactics
1. Increase new visitors to website by
20% every month
• Generate continuous quality
content on site
• Social media growth with links
• Search engine marketing
• Search engine optimization
• 2 blog posts per week
• 8 FB posts per day
• 10 Twitter Tweets/Retweets per day
• SEM: Increase AdWord traffic by
improving quality score
• SEO: Increase quality of web site
2. Increase ”button click” goal
conversion rate from nearly 0 to
10%
• Landing page optimization • Optimize form
• A/B testing with buttons
• Strong CTAs (call to actions) on site
3. Increase contact form submissions
from target audience (video game
CEOs, CTOs, CMOs, Developers,
Founders, Presidents, etc.)
• Continue to connect with target
audience on social media
• Retargeting
• Use programs like Mention to follow
who’s talking about our interests
• Facebook ads
• Display ads
Three goals can help take on that challenge
18. SEO & SEM Strategy
Since the implementation of AdWords, 1/3 of Innervate’s traffic now comes from organic search
19. SEO & SEM Strategy
Because the real estate is prime, and right now, we have an average position of 2.5 on search terms
Why use paid search?
20. Structure campaigns into similar ad groups1
Optimize keyword ad copy2
Target landing pages with same keywords3
How can we increase AdWords quality score?
SEO & SEM Strategy
21. Structure campaigns into similar Ad Groups1
SEO & SEM Strategy
2 Campaigns 54 Keywords in each Ad Group7 Ad Groups in each Campaign
22. Optimize AdWords copy2
Test several versions of ads
2 examples
SEO & SEM Strategy
Community Group Ad Forum Group Ad
23. Target landing page with same keywords3
A/B testing: change “Community” to “Forum” for inbound links from “Forum” ad group
SEO & SEM Strategy
24. Blog
Posts
Facebook
posts
Twitter
posts
LinkedIn
Posts
Social
media
ads
Google
AdWords
Content
Partners
PR
outreach
Going to
events
Email White
papers
Frequency 2 per
week
5 per day 10 per day 3 per week Recurrent Recurrent 2 per week Recurrent 1 per
month
1 per
month
2 per year
Cost Free Free Free Free $5/day to
$6/click
$5/day Free Free Free Free Free
Target Inbound
traffic
Followers Followers
and
retweets
of game
makers
Tech
industry
Video
game
industry
Video
game
industry
Video
game
media
sites
Tech
media
sites
Conventio
ns,
meetups
Subscriber
list
Video
game
developers
and
publishers
Strategy Percepti
ons of
games
and
industry
Share from
other sites
and own
blog posts
Target
specific info
about
gaming
community
Valuable
info about
community
and
engagement
Target
community
managers
at game
companies
A/B
testing/tra
cking with
word
groups
Share
relevant
articles on
own site
and vice
versa
Make
Innervate
more
recognizable
name in
game
industry
Network
with video
game
makers
locally and
regionally
Maintain
and
engage
current
subscriber
list
Establish
credibility
and
educate as
industry
leader
Content Calendar
Content Strategy
26. Example Blog: relevant industry info that will paint Innervate as industry
expert and bring target audience back to page for useful tips
Content Strategy
27. Use an optimization plugin like Yoast to maximize SEO for each post
Content Strategy
29. Social Media Strategy
Despite 39,000 Twitter followers and 2,400 Facebook likes, only 3.5% of traffic is coming from social media
30. Facebook has over 1 billion active users every month
Social Media Strategy
We can initiate conversations and increase our brand presence with a variety of posts
31. Social Media Strategy
Facebook Ad strategy
Target as narrowly as possible: for example, with our free t-shirt campaign, we only want
community managers who are attending the 2016 Game Developers Conference
32. Social Media Strategy
Facebook Ad strategy
Test different versions: for example, the left CTA is “Contact Us” and the right is “Learn More”
33. Twitter is used heavily by the games industry
Social Media Strategy
1. Twitter users are 72% more likely to talk about gaming than the average internet user
2. 50% of Twitter users say gaming is part of who they are
3. 25% of Twitter users play video games every day
4. 46% of Twitter users will buy video games this Christmas
5. 48% of Twitter users like to keep up to date with upcoming game releases
6. 20% of Twitter users say they are often asked for their opinion on game consoles
6 stats support that claim
34. Social Media Strategy
Twitter post strategy
Stay active in every game community conversation possible; also retweet influencers and customers
35. Social Media Strategy
Twitter Ad strategy
For our free t-shirt campaign, only target users who mentioned some form of GDC16
36. Social Media Strategy
Twitter Ad strategy
The audience won’t be large, but will be hyper-specific to meet our need
Those keyword targets don’t
put us in Twitter’s “suggested
range,” but we only want the
stronger leads anyway
$5 per day will yield these engagements
37. LinkedIn strategy: more formal and informational
Social Media Strategy
Targeted to video game industry leaders with relevant information
38. LinkedIn ads: sponsored campaigns
Social Media Strategy
Targeted to specific roles in “computer games” industry
Cost? $6 per click
39. Use social media tools to listen to keywords and reach out to potential customers
Social Media Strategy
40. Measurement Plan
How will we measure the strategies of goals?
Strategies Measurement Budget
Generate continuous quality content on site Track which type of content generates clicks and follow trends
learned from data
Free
Social media growth Track which type of posts and retweets generate interest and
follow trends
Free
Search engine marketing 2 week periods with AdWord groups
Use A/B testing to monitor effective groups
$70 for 2-week
segments
Search engine optimization 2 week periods tracking quality score improvements or
diminishment
Free
Landing page optimization 1 week periods tracking click rates, bounce rates, and overall
behavior
Free
Continue to connect with target audience
on social media
1 week segments tracking slight variations in ad copy and
audience
$50 for 1-week
segments
Retargeting 24 hour segments tracking 2nd touch conversion rate $0.25-$0.60 per click
41. Measurement Plan
• Measure what works and what doesn’t
• Eliminate the ineffective ads and channels
• Keep refining what works to optimize
Specific examples of measurement execution
Use UTMs to track effectiveness of ads
43. Retargeting
Create second touch-point in next 24 hours
Retargeted customers are about 70% more likely to complete a purchase.
Use a program like AdRoll to create display ads for users who meet the
following criteria:
• Spent at least one minute on landing page but didn’t click to “Contact Form”
page (average time on landing page is two minutes)
• Clicked to “Contact Form” page but didn’t convert to “Contact Form
Completion” (average time on contact form is 45 seconds)
44. Retargeting
Show ads on game dev websites and social media
To be less intrusive, these can even be content
marketing blog posts to educate our audience
45. Budgeting
How did we arrive at AdWords estimates?
The goal return-on-investment is 50%
There were 476 new visitors in past month
But just 3 “contact form submissions” for a
.63% conversion rate
Aiming to acquire 12 new customers/leads
We need 1,905 visits for 12 new customers
1,905 clicks * $4 cost per click = $7,620
12 new customers * ($250/mo.) = $3,000
monthly revenue
$3,000/$7,620 = 39% ROI
46. Budgeting
Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn ads don’t allow as much precision
We can set a daily budget, measure, then refine
$5 per day
will yield 5-7 daily
engagements
$6 per click
(minimum daily
budget of $10)
$5 per day
will reach about 80
people
47. Things for the future
Once we increase our user base, email marketing and CRM
48. Conclusion
Innervate wants its target audience to come to www.innervate.us,
spend time on the webpage, and become customers
To accomplish that goal, we will employ a variety of digital marketing techniques
• SEO and SEM
• Content Marketing
• Social Media Marketing
• Retargeting
Then measure what works, what doesn’t, and continue to improve and innovate