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Is measuring the
effectiveness of your digital
marketing also one of the
greatest company
challenges?
2	
AGENDA
2 Minutes Commercial Break
1.  Challenges for marketers in Asia
2.  Evolution of Marketing & Customer Behaviour
3.  Tracking performance
4.  Social Impact on the Asian Consumer & where to get
your ROIs
5.  The rise of E-commerce in SEA
6. The $$$ Value of Email Marketing & Its ROIs
7.Conclusion
Q&A/ Discussion 2
Hello, I’m Daniël
4	
Engage Asia. Go Digital.
Locations:
Singapore, India
Indonesia &
Philippines
5
Our Notable Clients
6
2Stallions
Digital Services
		 7
Enterprise Level software:
Digital Marketing & Social Media Training
8
Branded Content Campaign Websites for CNN
9
1. Challenges for
Marketers in Asia
		 10
Most Important KPIs for Marketers in Asia
		 11
1.  Converting contracts/leads to customers
2.  Growing traffic to the website
3.  Providing the ROI of your marketing activities
Source:	State	of	Inbound	2017	report
Marketers Inbound Marketing Priorities
		 12
Source:	State	of	Inbound	2017	report
13
- Econsultancy and Google, Analytics and measurement survey 2017 -
95% of Leading Marketers agree that “to truly
matter, marketing analytics’ KPIs must be tied
to broader business goals”
Great we have our focus now! How about the
Business Goals?
2. Evolution of
Marketing & Customer
Behaviour
		 14
15
Marketing, The Story So Far
1995-2004 | Traditional Marketing + Web 2005-2009 | Web-centric Marketing
Company
Website,
Video
& Mobile
News-
paper
Direct
Mail
TV
Email
WEBRadio
PPC
Outdoor
SEO
Company
News-
paper
Direct
Mail
TV
WEB
Radio
Outdoor
Beginnings of engagement‘Good’ old days
16
Engagement & Conversion	
2010| Modern Marketing
buyers are already
through their
buying cycle when
they approach
vendors.
60%
Why Digital Marketing is important
Company
Website,
Video
& Mobile
News-
paper
Direct
Mail
Social
TV
Marketing
Auto
WEB
Media
Buy
PPC
Outdoor
SEO
17
The Customer Journey is Changing (1)
18
The Customer Journey is Changing (2)
Source:http://on-the-mark.com/omnichannel-organization-designs-biggest-test/
19
The Customer Journey is Changing
20
PURCHASEINTENTHIGHLOW
Social
Post
Website
/ Online
Potential Leads
Goal: Brand Awareness
1.
Direct
Contact
Leads
Goal: Product Knowledge
2.
Opportunities
Goal: Closed Deal
3.
Traffic & lead generation: The 3-Step Guide to
Generate More Leads & Active Customers
3.Tracking
Performance
		 21
EVERYONE KNOWS WHAT ANALYTICS is
and has at least Google Analytics installed.
Assumption
		 22
•  To get the best out of your analytics, your
objectives should be top of your mind.
What are your Objectives ?
		 23
e.g. If you want to establish thought leadership, your demographics, social
shares and sessions would be important for an overall picture.
•  Your analytics are meant to inform you
based on your objectives.
Content Marketing KPIs
		 24
•  Traffic On Site
v  Number of unique site visitors
v  Return visits to website Shows your content is sought after/
attractive
v  Bounce Rate
•  (Micro) Conversions to Mailing List
Readership that can become advocates & future sales
•  Sales
Advertising / eCommerce/Off line Sales
Important Traffic Metrics
		 25
Traffic Sources
•  Direct: visit based on type url
•  Search: visit based on search query
•  Referral: visit based on mention on another site
•  Social: visit from social media platforms
•  Campaign: traffic from the various campaigns SEM,
Social etc.
•  Mobile traffic : visit from mobile phone
Success Indicators Search (1)
		 26
1.  Number of lead conversions assisted by organic search
2.  Number of customer conversions assisted by organic
search
3.  Percentage of traffic associated with branded keywords
(related to your brand e.g. heineken)
4.  Percentage of traffic associated with unbranded
keywords (best beer in the world)
Success Indicators – Web (2)
		 27
1.  An increase in volume from any traffic source, while
maintaining consistent traffic from other channels.
2.  A high or improving goal conversion rate related to
any traffic source.
Success Indicators Social (3)
		 28
1.  A high level of (social) engagement that corresponds
to the completion of key marketing objectives.
2.  Viral posts that require little or no nurturing on your
behalf.
3.  Sustained engagement over a long period of time.
29
Case Study: Wavin Group Asia Pacific
30
Case Study: Wavin Group Asia Pacific
Objective: The Everlasting Customer Funnel!
		 31
4. Social Impact on the
Asian Consumer
& where to get your
ROIs
		 32
33
4. Connecting Social Asia
34
4. Connecting Social Asia
35
4. Connecting Social Asia
36
Social Content ROIs (1)
Important Updates to Facebook since 2017:
1.  Longer videos with higher completion rates will
be ranked more highly on newsfeed
A video that is watched at least halfway identifies the content as “compelling.” A
longer video with this weight metric also indicates a bigger commitment
Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
37
Social Content ROIs (2)
Important Updates to Facebook since 2017:
2.  Authentic posts will rank more highly on the
newsfeed
According to Facebook, authenticity is based on user behavior. If your posts have
received a lot of negative feedback (i.e. people unliking your page; hiding your posts
or hiding all posts from your page), it will be deemed as less authentic.
Asking for likes, comments, or shares is a no-no and this update will also likely
penalize you whether or not the content you share is authentic.
Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
38
Social Content ROIs (3)
Important Updates to Facebook since 2017:
3.  Facebook newsfeed will prioritize timely posts
While a post’s recency is already a criterion in the ranking system, the company is
adjusting the signals it uses to identify posts that might be of immediate interest at
any given moment.
For instance, it will temporarily upgrade posts that relate to currently trending topics,
such as an ongoing sporting event involving a team you’re interested in.
It will also boost posts that a lot of people are commenting on or liking at the
moment, at the expense of other posts that might have gotten a flurry of
engagement several hours ago.
Note: Simply generate good content which people will engage with. This will not only improve your
visibility in your audiences’ newsfeed but also ultimately lead to a lower COS and CPM when you
boost these posts
Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
39
Social Content ROIs (4)
Important Updates to Facebook since 2017:
4.  Faster Loading Webpages to Get Priority in
News Feed
Following Google’s lead in ranking sites, Facebook will now prioritize websites with
faster loading times in the News Feed. Users have expressed frustration after clicking
on a link in Facebook only to find themselves waiting for a site or page to properly
load.
Studies show that as many as 40% of users abandon the website after a three-
second delay. Companies, businesses, and content sites would be wise to invest in
faster loading pages on their sites. Not only will Google penalize slow sites, but now
Facebook will as well.
Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
40
Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
Social Content ROIs (5)
Important Updates to Facebook since 2017:
5.  Overshared, Sketchy Links to Be Demoted
Facebook is now after spammers, those who publish multiple posts a day, often
sharing sketchy links to clickbaity-type sites. While Facebook won’t suspend an
account for sharing 50+ false or clickbaity news articles in a day, it will begin
demoting these posts so that this type of content becomes buried in a user’s News
Feed.
41
Social Content ROIs (6)
Important Updates to Facebook since 2017:
6. Splitting the Newsfeed into two
Earlier	in	the	month,	Facebook	ended	its	experiment	of	splitting	the	news	feed	in	two;	one	for	posts	from	
friends,	and	one	–	dubbed	‘explore’	–	for	publishers	and	brands.	When	news	about	the	split	news	feed	first	
surfaced,	it	
sparked	concerns	about	the	growing	power	of	the	social	media	giant,	and	how	publishers	would	be	
affected.
5.The rise of E-
Commerce in SEA
Should you invest?
		 42
23
E-Commerce Developments Amazon
44
E-Commerce Developments Alibaba China
45
E-Commerce Developments Lazada
46
E-Commerce Developments Tokopedia (Indonesia)
47
4. The true importance of E-commerce in more developed
countries
6.The $$$ Value of
Email Marketing & Its
ROI’S
		 48
Marketers just love leads but how about existing
customers?
		 49
Awareness
The target audience gets
exposed to the brand via
touch points. Consideration
The target audience
evaluates the brand. Provide
information they need to
make the decision to
evaluate.Purchase
The target audience selects the
brand and makes the purchase.
Advocacy
The customer shares their
experience and views, effectively
championing the brand.
Why Email Marketing?
•  There are expected to be 4.9Billion email
accounts by 2017, which is 3x the number of ALL
social media users
•  Open rates for email marketing messages
range from 10-30% with click-through averaging at
2-3%.
•  A user that’s opted in to your emails is much more
receptive and likely to take an action
50
Marketers just love leads but how about existing customers?
51
The true Value$$$ of an Email address
52
Email marketing Value $$$
Email	marketing	has	an	ROI	of	around	4,300%	according	to	the	Direct	Marketing	
Association	
	
1.  The	true	value	lies	in	building	your	email	lists	
When	it	comes	to	purchases	made	from	marketing,	email	has	the	highest	
conversion	rate	(66%),	when	compared	to	social,	direct	mail	and	more.	
	
2.	Basic		email	marketing	
	
Sending	these	1,000	qualified	folks	an	email	with	an	offer	to	buy	a	new	product	for	
$10	costs	you	$0.	You	just	have	to	spend	the	time	creating	the	offer.	
	
81%	of	those	customers	will	likely	purchase	a	product	directly	from	that	email.	
	
That’s	an	additional	$8,100	from	one	email	blast!
53
Email Marketing campaign example
This	campaign	will	either	be	a	single	email	blast	or	a	series	of	emails.		
Here's	the	equation	to	finding	the	revenue	generated	by	an	email	campaign:	
1.#	of	Contacts	X	Sales	Conversion	Rate	X	Average	Order	Value	=	Revenue	
	
Here's	an	example	using	a	very	low	conversion	rate	for	email	marketing:	
	
1000	Contacts	X	2%	CVR	of	email	campaign	X	$10	Average	order	=	$2,000	
generated	
	
2.	Revenue	generated	/	#	of	contacts	in	campaign	=	Revenue	per	email	
lead	
	
In	our	example:	
	
$2,000	/	1000	contacts	=	$2	revenue	per	email	lead	
	
$2	per	lead	isn't	too	shabby.	However,	its	totally	reasonable	to	see	revenue	
per	lead	between	$5	and	$8.
54
What else can I do with an valuable Email Address?
1.  Retargeting	on	GOOGLE	Display	Network	
	
2.  Retargeting	on	GOOGLE	and	create	a	custom	audience	to	Look	A	like	
audience	
3.  Retargeting	in	FACEBOOK	and	create	a	custom	audience	to	Look	A	like	
audience	
	
4.  Gauging	Customer	Satisfaction	
	
5.  Ask	for	ratings/testimonials	from	existing	customers	
	
6.  Ask	for	referrals	from	existing	customers	
	
7.  Remind	a	customer	about	an	abandoned	shopping	cart		
	
And	many	more	things…….
Generate Repeat Business via email
		 55
1
A sale isn’t a one-time event. You want a customer to buy again—and again and again, especially if
you sell a recurring service or a product.
	
	
	
	
The probability of selling to an existing customer is:
The probability of selling to an existing customer is	
Selling to an
Existing customer
New Prospect
60 to 70%
5 to 20%
7. Conclusion
		 56
57
Own your owned Media & Data
Email	&	CRM
Daniël Heerkens
+65 9155 4446
daniel@2stallions.com
2stallions.com
Get in touch with me!
		 21

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American Chamber of Commerce talk: Is measuring the effectiveness of your digital marketing also one of the greatest company challenges?

  • 1. Is measuring the effectiveness of your digital marketing also one of the greatest company challenges?
  • 2. 2 AGENDA 2 Minutes Commercial Break 1.  Challenges for marketers in Asia 2.  Evolution of Marketing & Customer Behaviour 3.  Tracking performance 4.  Social Impact on the Asian Consumer & where to get your ROIs 5.  The rise of E-commerce in SEA 6. The $$$ Value of Email Marketing & Its ROIs 7.Conclusion Q&A/ Discussion 2
  • 4. 4 Engage Asia. Go Digital.
  • 8. Digital Marketing & Social Media Training 8
  • 9. Branded Content Campaign Websites for CNN 9
  • 11. Most Important KPIs for Marketers in Asia 11 1.  Converting contracts/leads to customers 2.  Growing traffic to the website 3.  Providing the ROI of your marketing activities Source: State of Inbound 2017 report
  • 12. Marketers Inbound Marketing Priorities 12 Source: State of Inbound 2017 report
  • 13. 13 - Econsultancy and Google, Analytics and measurement survey 2017 - 95% of Leading Marketers agree that “to truly matter, marketing analytics’ KPIs must be tied to broader business goals” Great we have our focus now! How about the Business Goals?
  • 14. 2. Evolution of Marketing & Customer Behaviour 14
  • 15. 15 Marketing, The Story So Far 1995-2004 | Traditional Marketing + Web 2005-2009 | Web-centric Marketing Company Website, Video & Mobile News- paper Direct Mail TV Email WEBRadio PPC Outdoor SEO Company News- paper Direct Mail TV WEB Radio Outdoor Beginnings of engagement‘Good’ old days
  • 16. 16 Engagement & Conversion 2010| Modern Marketing buyers are already through their buying cycle when they approach vendors. 60% Why Digital Marketing is important Company Website, Video & Mobile News- paper Direct Mail Social TV Marketing Auto WEB Media Buy PPC Outdoor SEO
  • 17. 17 The Customer Journey is Changing (1)
  • 18. 18 The Customer Journey is Changing (2) Source:http://on-the-mark.com/omnichannel-organization-designs-biggest-test/
  • 19. 19 The Customer Journey is Changing
  • 20. 20 PURCHASEINTENTHIGHLOW Social Post Website / Online Potential Leads Goal: Brand Awareness 1. Direct Contact Leads Goal: Product Knowledge 2. Opportunities Goal: Closed Deal 3. Traffic & lead generation: The 3-Step Guide to Generate More Leads & Active Customers
  • 22. EVERYONE KNOWS WHAT ANALYTICS is and has at least Google Analytics installed. Assumption 22
  • 23. •  To get the best out of your analytics, your objectives should be top of your mind. What are your Objectives ? 23 e.g. If you want to establish thought leadership, your demographics, social shares and sessions would be important for an overall picture. •  Your analytics are meant to inform you based on your objectives.
  • 24. Content Marketing KPIs 24 •  Traffic On Site v  Number of unique site visitors v  Return visits to website Shows your content is sought after/ attractive v  Bounce Rate •  (Micro) Conversions to Mailing List Readership that can become advocates & future sales •  Sales Advertising / eCommerce/Off line Sales
  • 25. Important Traffic Metrics 25 Traffic Sources •  Direct: visit based on type url •  Search: visit based on search query •  Referral: visit based on mention on another site •  Social: visit from social media platforms •  Campaign: traffic from the various campaigns SEM, Social etc. •  Mobile traffic : visit from mobile phone
  • 26. Success Indicators Search (1) 26 1.  Number of lead conversions assisted by organic search 2.  Number of customer conversions assisted by organic search 3.  Percentage of traffic associated with branded keywords (related to your brand e.g. heineken) 4.  Percentage of traffic associated with unbranded keywords (best beer in the world)
  • 27. Success Indicators – Web (2) 27 1.  An increase in volume from any traffic source, while maintaining consistent traffic from other channels. 2.  A high or improving goal conversion rate related to any traffic source.
  • 28. Success Indicators Social (3) 28 1.  A high level of (social) engagement that corresponds to the completion of key marketing objectives. 2.  Viral posts that require little or no nurturing on your behalf. 3.  Sustained engagement over a long period of time.
  • 29. 29 Case Study: Wavin Group Asia Pacific
  • 30. 30 Case Study: Wavin Group Asia Pacific
  • 31. Objective: The Everlasting Customer Funnel! 31
  • 32. 4. Social Impact on the Asian Consumer & where to get your ROIs 32
  • 36. 36 Social Content ROIs (1) Important Updates to Facebook since 2017: 1.  Longer videos with higher completion rates will be ranked more highly on newsfeed A video that is watched at least halfway identifies the content as “compelling.” A longer video with this weight metric also indicates a bigger commitment Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
  • 37. 37 Social Content ROIs (2) Important Updates to Facebook since 2017: 2.  Authentic posts will rank more highly on the newsfeed According to Facebook, authenticity is based on user behavior. If your posts have received a lot of negative feedback (i.e. people unliking your page; hiding your posts or hiding all posts from your page), it will be deemed as less authentic. Asking for likes, comments, or shares is a no-no and this update will also likely penalize you whether or not the content you share is authentic. Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
  • 38. 38 Social Content ROIs (3) Important Updates to Facebook since 2017: 3.  Facebook newsfeed will prioritize timely posts While a post’s recency is already a criterion in the ranking system, the company is adjusting the signals it uses to identify posts that might be of immediate interest at any given moment. For instance, it will temporarily upgrade posts that relate to currently trending topics, such as an ongoing sporting event involving a team you’re interested in. It will also boost posts that a lot of people are commenting on or liking at the moment, at the expense of other posts that might have gotten a flurry of engagement several hours ago. Note: Simply generate good content which people will engage with. This will not only improve your visibility in your audiences’ newsfeed but also ultimately lead to a lower COS and CPM when you boost these posts Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
  • 39. 39 Social Content ROIs (4) Important Updates to Facebook since 2017: 4.  Faster Loading Webpages to Get Priority in News Feed Following Google’s lead in ranking sites, Facebook will now prioritize websites with faster loading times in the News Feed. Users have expressed frustration after clicking on a link in Facebook only to find themselves waiting for a site or page to properly load. Studies show that as many as 40% of users abandon the website after a three- second delay. Companies, businesses, and content sites would be wise to invest in faster loading pages on their sites. Not only will Google penalize slow sites, but now Facebook will as well. Source: newsroom.fb.com/news
  • 40. 40 Source: newsroom.fb.com/news Social Content ROIs (5) Important Updates to Facebook since 2017: 5.  Overshared, Sketchy Links to Be Demoted Facebook is now after spammers, those who publish multiple posts a day, often sharing sketchy links to clickbaity-type sites. While Facebook won’t suspend an account for sharing 50+ false or clickbaity news articles in a day, it will begin demoting these posts so that this type of content becomes buried in a user’s News Feed.
  • 41. 41 Social Content ROIs (6) Important Updates to Facebook since 2017: 6. Splitting the Newsfeed into two Earlier in the month, Facebook ended its experiment of splitting the news feed in two; one for posts from friends, and one – dubbed ‘explore’ – for publishers and brands. When news about the split news feed first surfaced, it sparked concerns about the growing power of the social media giant, and how publishers would be affected.
  • 42. 5.The rise of E- Commerce in SEA Should you invest? 42
  • 47. 47 4. The true importance of E-commerce in more developed countries
  • 48. 6.The $$$ Value of Email Marketing & Its ROI’S 48
  • 49. Marketers just love leads but how about existing customers? 49 Awareness The target audience gets exposed to the brand via touch points. Consideration The target audience evaluates the brand. Provide information they need to make the decision to evaluate.Purchase The target audience selects the brand and makes the purchase. Advocacy The customer shares their experience and views, effectively championing the brand.
  • 50. Why Email Marketing? •  There are expected to be 4.9Billion email accounts by 2017, which is 3x the number of ALL social media users •  Open rates for email marketing messages range from 10-30% with click-through averaging at 2-3%. •  A user that’s opted in to your emails is much more receptive and likely to take an action 50 Marketers just love leads but how about existing customers?
  • 51. 51 The true Value$$$ of an Email address
  • 52. 52 Email marketing Value $$$ Email marketing has an ROI of around 4,300% according to the Direct Marketing Association 1.  The true value lies in building your email lists When it comes to purchases made from marketing, email has the highest conversion rate (66%), when compared to social, direct mail and more. 2. Basic email marketing Sending these 1,000 qualified folks an email with an offer to buy a new product for $10 costs you $0. You just have to spend the time creating the offer. 81% of those customers will likely purchase a product directly from that email. That’s an additional $8,100 from one email blast!
  • 53. 53 Email Marketing campaign example This campaign will either be a single email blast or a series of emails. Here's the equation to finding the revenue generated by an email campaign: 1.# of Contacts X Sales Conversion Rate X Average Order Value = Revenue Here's an example using a very low conversion rate for email marketing: 1000 Contacts X 2% CVR of email campaign X $10 Average order = $2,000 generated 2. Revenue generated / # of contacts in campaign = Revenue per email lead In our example: $2,000 / 1000 contacts = $2 revenue per email lead $2 per lead isn't too shabby. However, its totally reasonable to see revenue per lead between $5 and $8.
  • 54. 54 What else can I do with an valuable Email Address? 1.  Retargeting on GOOGLE Display Network 2.  Retargeting on GOOGLE and create a custom audience to Look A like audience 3.  Retargeting in FACEBOOK and create a custom audience to Look A like audience 4.  Gauging Customer Satisfaction 5.  Ask for ratings/testimonials from existing customers 6.  Ask for referrals from existing customers 7.  Remind a customer about an abandoned shopping cart And many more things…….
  • 55. Generate Repeat Business via email 55 1 A sale isn’t a one-time event. You want a customer to buy again—and again and again, especially if you sell a recurring service or a product. The probability of selling to an existing customer is: The probability of selling to an existing customer is Selling to an Existing customer New Prospect 60 to 70% 5 to 20%
  • 57. 57 Own your owned Media & Data Email & CRM
  • 58. Daniël Heerkens +65 9155 4446 daniel@2stallions.com 2stallions.com Get in touch with me! 21