2. Schedule changes
Reminder we are switch search and testing topics
DATE TOPIC READING: Assignment Due:
Kaushik
Chapters
Mar 28 Class introductions and Digital 1
Landscape
Apr 4 Tagging, Digital Media, Site Metrics 3&5
Apr 11 Measurement Tools, Site Metrics Cont. 2 Measurement Tool
Presentations
Apr 18 SEO, SEM, and CXM 11
Apr 25 Social strategies 9
May 2 Social measurement Social Tool
Presentations
May 9 Building out a measurement plan 10
May 16 Testing and Optimization 6&7
May 23 Implementation, tag management tools,
Big Data, Privacy Issues, Ethics
May 30 Final presentations Measurement Plan
Jun 6 Graduation Banquet No Class
4. What is Search Engine Marketing?
“A form of internet marketing that involves the
promotion of websites by increasing their visibility in
search engine results pages (SERPs) through
optimization as well as through advertising”
5. The Evolution of SEM
1994 1995 1997
• Webcrawler, one of the • Yahoo! • GoTo.com launches
first search engines launches, banners sold text based CPC
launches on CPM basis targeting system
search terms • 2003 bought by Yahoo!
1998 2000 2005
• Google launches a • Google begins selling • Microsoft launches
different kind of search ads on a CPM model adCenter
engine
2009 2010 2012
• Microsoft launches • MSN & Yahoo join adCenter is renamed -
bing.com forces to create a Bing Ads
Search Alliance
6. Search Engine Traffic Share
3% 2%
14%
15%
66%
Google Bing Yahoo Ask AOL
Comscore qSearch
Analysis, March 2012
10. SEM - Pay Per Click (PPC):
Paying to make your website‟s ads appear on the top or side of the page
• Immediate impact
• On/off quickly
• Performance-based pricing
• KW, landing page, and messaging flexibility
10
11. Search Engine Optimization (SEO):
Optimizing your website to make it appear in organic or natural search results
• Low out of pocket cost
• Typically lower cost traffic
• Less on/off flexibility
• Garners higher click-thru-rates than paid
11
12. Paid Search User Journey
She types „New She sees ads from She clicks on a Jane completes an
Jane is interested in Zealand Vacation‟ into TNZ pays Google for
advertisers who Tourism New Zealand action on the site, Atlas
taking a vacation that click
Google “bought” the keyword ad records
13. How SEM is Managed
Google AdWords & bing Ads (formerly Microsoft adCenter)
• Publishers tools used to create & manage campaigns of keywords & ads
• Provide reporting on traffic and conversions*
13
14. The Integrated Search Toolset
A unique search solution for enterprise marketing
Ad Servers Bid Management
Display impressions, clicks, conversions, cookie ID‟s Bidding algorithms and engine API
and date/time stamps connectivity
Tier 1
Tier 2
Tier 3
15. How Razorfish Does It
Atlas – ad server
• Allows for integrated tracking with display campaigns
• Uploads data to Marin on a daily basis
15
16. How Razorfish Does It
Marin Software – bid management
• Centralized campaign management & reporting for all search engines
• Automated bidding algorithms
• Helps save time and improve efficiency
16
17. Razorfish Tracking System (RTS)
1
2
3
Allows us to manage Atlas conversions in Marin
1. Marin sends keywords to Atlas
2. Atlas creates placements, sends redirects back to Marin
3. Marin uploads keywords with Atlas redirects to engines
18. Search can be tracked from Impression to Conversion
Jane conducts a search, an Jane clicks on the ad to go Jane makes a purchase, the
ad appears, an impression is to the website, a click is conversion is recorded in
recorded in Google recorded in Google & ATLAS ATLAS
18
19. Data and Reporting Sources
Google &
Metrics Atlas Marin
Bing
Impressions
Clicks
Average Position
Cost
Conversions
19
21. 1. The Keyword back pain
Selection mattress
pillow
support pillow
tempur pedic
memory foam
mattress
mattress for lower
back pain
tempurcloud
supreme twin
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22. Keyword Match Types
Broad Ad shows on similar phrases and relevant variations
• Would show up for: mattress, serta mattress, memory foam bed
Phrase Ad shows for close variations of the phrase, word order matters
•Would show up for: buy a memory foam mattress, memory foam mattresses
•Wouldn‟t show up for: memory mattress, mattress foam
Exact Ad shows for searches that that match your keyword exactly
• Would ONLY show up for: memory foam mattress
• Would not show up for ANY other search.
22
24. 2nd Component- Campaign Structure
CAMPAIGN AD GROUP KEYWORDS
Mattress mattress, mattresses
foam
Mattresses Foam mattress, memory
foam mattress
ergo
Ergonomic mattress, ergonomic
mattresses
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25. Campaign Settings – Search Targeting
• Language Targeting: target users based on language preference.
• GEO Targeting: geographically target a specific region or location
• Device Targeting: Desktop, Tablet or Phone and OS
• Google – select carriers and / or wifi and even phone models!
• Demographic Targeting:
•bingAds - incremental bidding on gender & age ranges
•Google - recently launched gender & age targeting
26. Why Campaign Structure is Important
Campaign structures give you the ability to:
• Control budgets
• Separately control and report by:
• geographic region
• device type
• demographics
• Ensure ad copy is relevant to keyword groups
• Send users to their desired landing page*
26
27. 3rd Component & Optimization Lever – Ad Copy
Ad Copy Creation & Testing:
• Can utilize dynamic keyword insertion
• Test different headlines, description lines, display URLs
• Include a call to action
• Determining factor is usually CTR
vs.
27
29. 4th Component & Lever – Landing Page Testing
Landing Pages:
• Test different images, copy, calls to action on landing pages
• Test different landing pages along the purchase path
• Determining factor is usually
conversions or conversion rate
29
30. 5th Component & Optimization Lever - Bidding
Some bidding definitions:
• Max CPC:
• The absolute highest you‟re willing to pay for a click
• Actual CPC:
• What you actually end up paying, usually lower than max CPC
• Quality Score influences this cost
• Min CPC / Min Bid:
• The minimum you have to bid to be part of the auction for a keyword
• For competitive keywords, this can be pretty high
30
31. 5th Component & Optimization Lever - Bidding
Quality Score X Max CPC = Position
Quality Score factors:
CTR
Historical Keyword Performance
$5.00 x 9 = 45
Ad Text Relevance
$7.00 x 6 = 42
Other Relevancy Factors
Landing page quality & relevancy
31
32. 5th Component & Optimization Lever - Bidding
• Bids can be changed manually or automatically by using Marin algorithms
• Normally updated on a daily basis.
• The auction happens in real time
• The auction is “blind”
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35. Top SEO Engines
Google:
•Largest index
•Favors “authority” sites (domain age, back links, type of domain).
•Personalizes search results based on search history and user location
Bing:
•Places emphasis on on-page elements (keywords in page titles, content,
anchor text, URLs).
•Integrates with Facebook, Twitter and social media within search results
Yahoo:
•Powered by Bing algorithm.
•Format varies from Bing, but majority of listings are the same.
35
36. Recap…
What’s the difference?
Paid Search
•Advertisers pay for placement in search results
•Some control over rank and frequency within search listings
•Control of ad copy and landing pages
•Commonly referred as “Pay-Per-Click” and “PPC”
Organic Search
•Unpaid listings (FREE)
•Advertisers/websites appear based on relevancy
•Less control over copy and landing page
•Also known as “Search Engine Optimization”, “SEO” and “Natural Search”
36
37. What is SEO?
• Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of improving the volume and
quality of traffic to a web site from search engines via the natural/organic/non-paid
search results.
• As an internet marketing strategy, SEO considers how search engines work and
what people search for. Optimizing a website to both increase its relevance for
specific keywords and to remove barriers to the indexing activity of search engines
involves editing its:
• Content
• Architecture
• Link profile
37
38. Why Do SEO?
Recent eye-tracking studies show searchers
spend more time looking at organic search
results
Compare:
•10.7 – 14.7 seconds viewing organic listings
•0.7 – 2.9 seconds viewing everything else
Source: “Eye Tracking Bing vs. Google: A Second
Look”, UserCentric.com, January 27, 2011 Why Do SEO?
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41. Search Engines:
What Are They? How Do They Work?
• Crawling the Web – Search engines crawl the web
using “search engine spiders” or “bots.”
• Indexing Documents – Search engines Index
crawled documents into database storage
.
• Processing Queries - All relevant URLs are retrieved
from the index when a search is performed.
• Ranking Results - A ranking algorithm is applied on
the above to determine which are most relevant to the
query terms.
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42. Influence of Search Engines
• Every page is now a landing page
• The home page is no longer the main
entry point
• On a well-optimized site, more traffic will
enter on the deeper, more focused
pages
• Every page must meet multiple objectives
• Establish / build brand
• Drive visitor to the desired action
• Communicate value proposition
• Deliver the relevant content to the
searcher (product, service, or
information)
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49. What an Engine Sees is Not What We See
Search engines work to the lowest common denominator
• Crawlers do not fully support images, flash, javascript or ajax
• Content needs to be in format accessible and crawlable to search engines
50. Navigation – Image Navigation
• Site navigation is the main access point for search engines and users
to deeper site pages
• Navigation should be crawlable; image based navigation and drop
downs should be avoided.
51. URLs with Parameters
URLs influence how a search engine crawls a site
• Spiders have trouble with long, parameter-
filled URLs, especially with:
• Stop Characters: ? # &
• Tracking codes and navigational
parameters
• Google thinks of each distinct URL as a
distinct page
• “Dynamic” sites are OK if URLs are short
and persistent
52. Duplicate Versions of Website
Serving the same piece of content under different URLs can make it
difficult to rank for target keywords for three main reasons:
• Internal competition
• Indexing issues
• Diluted link value
Same content, different URLs:
• http://www.invescopowershares.com/
• http://invescopowershares.com/
54. Keywords
Keywords are words or phrases that people use in their online
searches
• Keyword research is done to determine relevant keywords to target for
a website
• Properly identified keywords are the cornerstone to a successful SEO
strategy
• Several factors are considered to when choosing which keywords to
target:
• Keyword Popularity
• Keyword Relevance
• Keyword Competitiveness
• Searcher Intent
55. Title Tags
Title Tags tells the search engines the subject of the page
• The Tag is the first line of any search result and the title of the
webpage
• “Keywords” valued heavily in the algorithms
• Should be unique to each page
• Size & order are crucial
56. Meta Description Tags
Meta Description Tags will typically be used for the “snippet” under the
organic search result‟s link (title tag)
• The tag provides context to a search result
• No value from the search engines, however it‟s important to be
leveraged in reinforcing
• Marketing call-to-action verbiage improves click rates
• Should be unique per page
57. Meta Keywords
• Meta keywords are not a primary crawl data source
• Google gives very little to no weight of these in
their algorithm
• Bing still factors it in at a minimal level
• Good way to capture variants and misspellings of
primary and secondary keywords
• Avoid overstuffing keywords
58. Header Tags
• H1, H2…H6 tags are used to „format‟ headers
• H1 and H2 tags carry weight in algorithm calculations
• Like Title Tag, H1 is a good search term indicator
59. Body Content
Primarily paragraph content
• Crawlers read from top to bottom, left to right
• Balance writing for humans with keyword density
• Without body content, the title tag and other factors must be
strongly optimized in order to be relevant for primary keywords
60. Images, ALT Tags, and Captions
• Crawlers can‟t “see” picture files (.jpg, .gif, etc.)
• Communicate search terms with:
• HTML „near‟ images (captions, write-ups)
• ALT and TITLE entities within IMG tags
61. SEO Friendly URLs
• URLs should incorporate relevant keywords and targeted terms.
• Use at least one keyword phrase in your file/directory names, preferably at the
beginning.
• Use hyphens to separate the words in your file and directory names. Instead of using
“InvestorCenter/” use “Investor-Center/”
• Abbreviate directory name if it does not target keyword terms, in order to keep the
URL length short.
62. Internal Links
• Internal Linking allows
search engines to determine
the relevancy of page topic
and its relation to other
pages
• Use internal links within the
content that is intuitive and
guide visitors to the next
step
• Using keyword rich text
(anchor text) improves the
ability of target pages to
rank for targeted keyword
term
63. Links
What is a “link”?
• Any direct hyperlink from a web page pointing to your web page
• Typical link sources include:
• Directories, web sites, blogs, news sites, social network sites, etc
Backlink (inbound link):
• Link from one site pointing to another. Backlinks are an important part of SEO, and should
be relevant to the content of your site in order to be effective.
64. Link Popularity
• The concept that made Google famous…
• Inbound links have proven extremely valuable
• Every link is a vote
• Iterative process of determining page popularity through link statistics
• Quality of the sites linking to yours is critical
• Anchor text of links is also important
65. Why is Link Building Important?
• Building strong inbound links to your Web site is one of the best ways to gain high search
rankings.
• Search engines rank websites based on perceived value
• High-ranked sites get more visits
• Reputable, inbound links endorse the value of your site
• Inbound links serve as an alternate path for spiders to access a site
• Inbound links can increase the frequency a site is crawled
• Inbound links have a high value in the Google algorithm
• Search engines use links as a measurable indicator of search relevance and authority
• Inbound links to your site from trusted web pages will build your site‟s authority and
importance
66. Link Development Overview
Off-site optimization is critical for search engine success
Key Link Acquisition Tactics
• Direct Request
• Link Reclamation
• Directory Submissions
• Internal Link Optimization
• Premium Content Syndication (Content Barter)
• Link Baiting/Viral Campaigns
• Optimized Press Releases
• Optimized Articles
• Site Sponsorships
• Social Bookmarking
67. Directory Listings
Check top directories, submit if not listed
• DMOZ, Open Directory Project
• Yahoo! Directory
• Business.com
• Librarians‟ Internet Index (only informational)
• BOTW
Check for topic-specific directories
• Use searches like “topic” directory
Find sites with the specific purpose of listing and
categorizing the web
68. Off-site Optimization
Search engines are evolving to show universal results for per query, including social pages and
real-time content from social platforms. Distributing content off-site and optimize it gives it a
larger chance of resulting in additional places on the SERP besides the website.
Distribution Benefits:
• Dominate the SERP
• Increase Exposure
• Build Incoming Links
• Manage Reputation
• Push Down Competitors
69. Social Sharing Optimization
Make it easy for users to subscribe to Invesco content feeds, “vote
for”, bookmark or share content with friends. This improves distribution and
increases exposure, making it more likely that:
• Other sites will link to your content, helping natural search rank
• The external content on your sites, Digg, Reddit, ect. ranks on the SERP
70. Video Optimization
• Optimize tags/body content around videos in order to help spiders understand what the
video content is about and effectively rank it for targeted keywords
• Video optimization could include the creation of a Custom YouTube Channel to better
distribute your brand‟s video content and occupy more SERP real estate
71. Common Misconceptions of SEO
• SEO is code tweaks
• SEO starts at wireframes
• SEO starts after the product is launched, as an enhancement
• SEO can be done post-launch, as clean-up
• 1 conversation with SEO means “We did SEO”
• SEO isn‟t part of my job
• Organic optimization isn‟t a “set it-n‟-forget it” tactic
73. Email tracking
At a minimum most email vendors should be able to set up
tracking to record:
• Delivery & Delivery Rate
• Open & Open Rate
• Email clicks
• Unsubscribes
74. Email metrics
Common Email metrics:
Delivery & Delivery Rate – Number of emails that were successfully
delivered to their email recipients. This helps email marketers track
how “clean” their lists are.
Opens & Open Rate - Number of emails that were opened by an email
recipient. This number is also typically used to measure the reach of a
campaign. Can also indicate or test the effectiveness of a email‟s
subject line.
Case Study: For each campaign the Office team would send out several
test emails to a small sample of the email list to see which subject line drew
the most opens. The winning subject line would then be used for the fill list
of customers.
75. Email metrics (cont.)
Common Email metrics:
Clicks – Number of link or button clicks made within an email
Click Through Rate (CTR) = Clicks / Emails Delivered – Used to
track how effective an email campaign has been in driving conversions
off of the email list.
Click to Open Rate = Clicks / Open – Used to measure and optimize
how effective the content within an email is.
Unsubscribe Rate – Number of email recipients who clicked on the
unsubscribed link and asked to be unsubscribed from the email list.
Too many unsubscribes is a big red flag! Most people just ignore
emails, unsubscribing is a very intentional act.
76. Email end actions
Note: most email vendors stop tracking after the click through, but a
user‟s data can be passed to other tracking systems through redirect
links or web analytics campaign IDs
77. History of CXM
Started out as database Became database marketing
marketing for direct mail… for e- mail…
(aka SPAM)
(aka Junk mail)
78. History of CXM (cont.)…
Database marketing expanded to CRM is now becoming CXM, where
other channels becoming CRM… brands and companies interact with you
on a one-to-one basis…
E-mail Purchase
history
Direct mail
Customer care
CRM Website and email content along with sales
promotions, and even customer care scripts
are now tailored to a specific customer or
customer profile.
79. CRM Optimization
A lifecycle strategy approach focuses on individualizing experiences based on a user‟s current
needs based on where they are in the customer lifecycle.
Blending personalized content across email,
social, and site side experiences creates a
seamless, compelling, and satisfying
experiences that compliments each developer‟s
specific needs.
CRM is a key and integral component of the
overall targeting and optimization strategy
already mentioned in pervious slides.
80. CXM case study
Microsoft Office 365
Razorfish worked with the Office CXM team to develop a customized, behavior-based framework with over 550
email versions. The emails and their content are dynamically served based on a variety of behaviors, attributes
and languages.
81. CXM case study
MGM Resorts: Personalization & Efficiency
Razorfish worked across business units to create and
implement a scalable digital RM strategy and framework
to serve the needs of all 17+ MGM properties.
Collaborated with IT, marketing, and technology partners
to evolve platforms, data, and teams to sustain the RM
strategy and drive continuous improvement.
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TODAYSearch results integrate product listings, social and local
ATLAS data integratedCan bid to a CPA due to ATLAS integration
RTS solved an industry-wide problem by integrating a flexible keyword-management console to a third-party ad serving and tracking platform.
A conversion is recorded - based on how it is defined (site visit, email submission, purchase / transation)(a purchase would be the confirmation page) once she gets to the “thank you” pageHere a “free kit” conversion is when someone signs up to receive a TP kit in the mail with a foam sample and info about their products
Speak to GA, Marin tracker and omniture types of productsGoogle & Bing conversion tracking products
Some considerations:Who is the audience?What might they search for?What is the goal & budget?
Would – COULDPhrase – close variations DO include misspellings and plurals
Campaign structures give you the ability to:Control budgets Separately control and report by: geographic regiondevice typedemographicsEnsure ad copy is relevant to keyword groupsSend users to their desired landing page*
Versus content or GDN (mention but don’t go into)
Tips & Guidelines:Headline 25 characters, 2 description lines of 25 charactersCan utilize dynamic keyword insertionInclude a call to actionMust be within character limitsEXCESSIVE CAPS are not allowed!!!! Can’t user superlatives like “#1” “largest”, etc. unless you can back it up
QS * Max CPC = rank / position
Started out by creating segments etc.Email started to get more sophisticated because you could do more with tracking
As more data is collected the theory is the more targeted marketers can get
Making CXM really happen is more than doable but there are a lot of technological and even more political hurdles to overcome to make it truly seamless to the customer.