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Online Marketing
                                  Forward to Basics


                                      Elias Dabbas
                            MediaMe Forum - December 4, 2012




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Main Online Measures / Metrics


                                  Page Views                    Ad Impressions
              Visits
                                    Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
                            CPA
                             Unique Visitors       Bounce Rate
                     CPC
                                       Conversions                CPM




                                                                                 2

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Page Views

     heat map, showing
     the eye fixations
     on the page




	

 	

        Number of times a page was served / “viewed”
                                                              3

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ad Impressions




       Number of times an ad was served “viewed”
       Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page)
                                                                                   4

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Visits & Unique Visitors
       • Visits:
             Number of times a “session” is started at a site

       • Unique Visitors:
             Number of people (computers) that visited your site
             Example:
            I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique
            visitor



                                                                    5

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Pages / Visit




       	

 Average page views per visit
       	

 Total page views ÷ total visits	





                                                6

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Bounce Rate




                                          7

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Bounce Rate




   • Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view)

                                                         7

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Bounce Rate




   • Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view)
   • 1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate
                                                         7

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)




                                                        8

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)




       • Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc.
         compared to total views (impressions)

                                                              8

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)




       • Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc.
         compared to total views (impressions)
       • Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR
                                                              8

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Visits per Visitor
       • Average times a visitor comes to the site within a
         certain period of time

       • Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor

       • Important measure of loyalty




                                                               9

Wednesday, December 5, 12
CPx
       • CPC: cost per click

       • CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions

       • CPL: cost per lead

       • CPA: cost per action (acquisition)


                                              10

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Conversions



          Conversions




                                          11

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Conversions



          Conversions




     • Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site.
       Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc



                                                                            11

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Conversions



          Conversions




     • Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site.
       Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc



                                                                            11

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Conversions



          Conversions




     • Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site.
       Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc

     • Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate

                                                                            11

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Page Views                   Ad Impressions
                 Visits
                                     Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
                              CPA
                               Unique Visitors     Bounce Rate
                        CPC
                                        Conversions                CPM




                                                                                  12

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign Lifecycle




                                                 13

Wednesday, December 5, 12
14

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000
             impressions




                            14

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000
             impressions




                            14

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000     20,000
             impressions     clicks




                                      14

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000     20,000
             impressions     clicks




                                      14

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000     20,000       400
             impressions     clicks   conversions




                                                    14

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000     20,000       400
             impressions     clicks   conversions




       • Total Spend: $10,000




                                                    14

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000           20,000       400
             impressions           clicks   conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR
       •   Conversion Rate
       •   CPM
       •   CPC
       •   CPA
                                                          15

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000        20,000        400
             impressions        clicks    conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate
       •   CPM
       •   CPC
       •   CPA
                                                        16

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000        20,000        400
             impressions        clicks    conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate
       •   CPM
       •   CPC
       •   CPA
                                                        17

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000        20,000              400
             impressions        clicks          conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%
       •   CPM
       •   CPC
       •   CPA
                                                              18

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000        20,000              400
             impressions        clicks          conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%
       •   CPM
       •   CPC
       •   CPA
                                                              19

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000         20,000                 400
             impressions         clicks             conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%
       •   CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10
       •   CPC
       •   CPA
                                                                  20

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000         20,000                 400
             impressions         clicks             conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%
       •   CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10
       •   CPC
       •   CPA
                                                                  21

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000         20,000                 400
             impressions         clicks             conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%
       •   CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10
       •   CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5
       •   CPA
                                                                  22

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000         20,000                 400
             impressions         clicks             conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%
       •   CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10
       •   CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5
       •   CPA
                                                                  23

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000         20,000                 400
             impressions         clicks             conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%
       •   CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10
       •   CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5
       •   CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
                                                                  24

Wednesday, December 5, 12
1,000,000         20,000                 400
             impressions         clicks             conversions




       •   Total Spend: $10,000
       •   CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%
       •   Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%
       •   CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10
       •   CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5
       •   CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
                                                                  25

Wednesday, December 5, 12
“Digital Media”

                            What industry do
                             you work in?




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Digital - Non Digital




Wednesday, December 5, 12
“Digital” “Media”




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Digital


                            Online (Internet)
                               Digital > Online
                             Digital can be offline



Wednesday, December 5, 12
“Media”

                 Digital Media describes only the kind of media
                 we deal with (broadcast, print, outdoor, digital)

                  Assumes the campaign starts and ends on the
                         publication or medium itself

                            Doesn’t have a place for The Click



Wednesday, December 5, 12
Media


                            Marketing



Wednesday, December 5, 12
Digital Media


                            Online Marketing



Wednesday, December 5, 12
Digital Media         Online Marketing



                                                     It’s “online”, “live”,
                                It’s “digital”
                                                    “interactive”, “now”

                                                   Conversion / Funnel /
                            Banner / Rich Media
                                                        Process

                                                     Optimization and
                            Planning and Buying
                                                  Continuous Improvement



Wednesday, December 5, 12
Media Planning / Buying

                                Planning   Buying Reporting

                      Start                           End




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign / Account
       Management                             Plan


                            Change                          implement




                                 Optimize               Test


                                       Continuous process
                            Testing / optimization are essential parts
                              Flexible / muddling through strategy


Wednesday, December 5, 12
Demographics




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Baby Products Target Audience
Wednesday, December 5, 12
Would you target these people for baby products?


Wednesday, December 5, 12
These are a pregnant woman’s:




                            Father               Cousin             Best friend
                                                                  Brother
                                                    Grandmother
                  Sister




                 They all want to buy presents for the pregnant woman’s baby
                           They are in the market for baby products
                                Would you like to target them?
Wednesday, December 5, 12
The Power of Content
                            (Contextual Advertising /
                                  Targeting)



Wednesday, December 5, 12
How might a user end up on a
                          certain page?




                                                  41

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Directly entering URL




                  You know where you are going
                                                    42

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Clicking on a search result / ad




                  You know where you are going
                                                     43

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Clicking on an ad




                  You know where you are going
                                                 44

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Clicking on a text link




                  You know where you are going
                                                      45

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Exceptions

                               Misleading text / ad
                               Clicking by mistake
                            Extremely impulsive users



                                                        46

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Let’s say in 70-80% of times, users
           go to a page knowing / expecting a
               certain outcome / content

           Targeting people while they are
         reading a certain type of content is
        an extremely powerful way to reach
         interested people at the right time
                                                 47

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Targeting the Home Page


Wednesday, December 5, 12
Extremely diverse set of interests
                     You cannot know what the user is
                           intending to do now
Wednesday, December 5, 12
It’s a springboard to other more specific section pages
                                The user is in a hyper mode
                   The user didn’t find what they want to consume yet



Wednesday, December 5, 12
- The article page is the most specific place that indicates
               users’ interest
               - This is when they release the mouse and start sipping
               	

 their coffee
               - This when they are most receptive to information
               - You can advertise for something relevant


Wednesday, December 5, 12
“Awareness”




                                          52

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Do you know the iPad?
       A. No, I don’t

       B. Yes, I heard about it
       C. Yes, I played with it once at the
          electronics shop
       D. Yes, I own one, and I’ve been
          using it for two months

                                                    53

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Do you know website XYZ?
       A. No, I don’t

       B. Yes, I heard about it
       C. Yes, I visited it 2-3 times
       D. Yes, I’m subscribed to their
          newsletter and buy stuff every
          now and then

                                                  54

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Do you know Jordan?

       A. No, I don’t

       B. Yes, I heard about it
       C. Yes, I visited it 2-3 times
       D. Yes, I’ve been living here 23 years


                                                  55

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Person D:

       • Knows the most about the product
       • Is familiar with all the +ve and -ve
                  ‘surprises’ it has
       •          Can talk confidently about it
       •          Is the authority about the brand
       •          Is the brand’s ambassador (+ve or -ve)

         Awareness of D = 10xC = 100xB = 1,000xA

                                                           56

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Awareness




                                        57

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Awareness

       • Cannot be treated as one thing




                                          57

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Awareness

       • Cannot be treated as one thing
       • Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal




                                           57

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Awareness

       • Cannot be treated as one thing
       • Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal
       • It makes sense to invest more in deeper
                  awareness (you get multiple rewards)




                                                         57

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Awareness

       • Cannot be treated as one thing
       • Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal
       • It makes sense to invest more in deeper
                  awareness (you get multiple rewards)
       •          Product purchase, sampling, experience
                  are way more effective for awareness
                  than buying impressions


                                                           57

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Generate Awareness for New Pizza


       Option 1:

            Spend $50,000 on billboard campaign to
                      “raise awareness”




                                                     58

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Generate Awareness for New Pizza

       Option 2:

        Reward loyal customers by sending them a
         free sample of the new pizza, whenever
         they want, without obligations, using the
                      same $50,000


                                                 59

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Option 2




                                       60

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Option 2

       •Utilize existing call center




                                       60

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Option 2

       •Utilize existing call center
       •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza




                                                     60

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Option 2

       •Utilize existing call center
       •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza
       •You give loyal customers a reason to love you




                                                     60

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Option 2

       •Utilize existing call center
       •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza
       •You give loyal customers a reason to love you
       •“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with
       it?” it’s optional...




                                                     60

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Option 2

       •Utilize existing call center
       •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza
       •You give loyal customers a reason to love you
       •“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with
       it?” it’s optional...
       •Give them the ability to gift the pizza to a
       friend if they want



                                                       60

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Option 2

       •Utilize existing call center
       •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza
       •You give loyal customers a reason to love you
       •“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with
       it?” it’s optional...
       •Give them the ability to gift the pizza to a
       friend if they want
       •Make them proud and happy members /
       ambassadors of your brand
                                                       60

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Media Evaluation




                                               61

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Media Evaluation




                            Which one is the best?

                                                     61

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Media Evaluation    Campaign Evaluation




        Above average


        Below average




                                              62

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Media Evaluation               Campaign Evaluation




        Above average


        Below average




                  Keep the good and stop the bad. Repeat
                                                           62

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign Evaluation




                                                  63

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign Evaluation


       •Averages across the account are dangerous




                                                    63

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign Evaluation


       •Averages across the account are dangerous
       •Go deeper to averages per campaign, ad
       version, ad size etc, and optimize accordingly




                                                        63

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign Evaluation


       •Averages across the account are dangerous
       •Go deeper to averages per campaign, ad
       version, ad size etc, and optimize accordingly

       •Keep guidelines in mind but decide based on
       results


                                                        63

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ranking / “Top 10”




                                                 64

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ranking / “Top 10”


       •How do you prioritize your campaigns,
       keywords, placements, countries, customers,
       etc?




                                                     64

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ranking / “Top 10”


       •How do you prioritize your campaigns,
       keywords, placements, countries, customers,
       etc?
       •Do you focus on the top 3, 5, 10, 25 ??



                                                     64

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign 1                                     Campaign 2                                          Campaign 3                                 Campaign 4
          Domain            Impressions                  Domain            Impressions                       Domain            Impressions              Domain            Impressions
 bbc.co.uk                          95242   alwakeelnews.com                       29824   aksalser.com                              191933    alrai.com                        237112
 alwatan-libya.com                  24302   alwakeelnews.com                       13354   aksalser.com                              139269    alrai.com                        146523
 bbc.co.uk                          12128   panoramajo.com                         10378   habbabi.com                                 75561   christian-dogma.com                30585
 alwatan-libya.com                   9456   saidaonline.com                         9577   alquds.com                                  16588   christian-dogma.com                27018
 linkat-online.com                   7875   3alamnews.com                           5078   habbabi.com                                 11847   jo24.net                           18242
 masreat.com                         7160   bsbslove.com                            3935   te3p.com                                     5197   okaz.com.sa                         9727
 allofjo.net                         5276   tanitpress.net                          3755   alquds.com                                   5047   jo24.net                            7411
 masreat.com                         4170   al-dreams.net                           3117   ask.fm                                       4831   okaz.com.sa                         4168
 al-tagheer.com                      3271   gornalak.com                            2957   akhbar-misr.com                              3992   jaridat.com                         1526
 allofjo.net                         2998   syrian-soccer.com                       2385   4flying.com                                   3730   mazareta.com                        1333
 dafatir.net                         2994   alamiya.org                             2340   addiwannews.com                              3250   wikiwaw.com                         1331
 wikimapia.org                       2900   egypty.com                              2080   akhbarna.net                                 2726   car100100.com                       1038
 alahale.net                         2483   souss24.com                             1999   taiz-press.net                               1447   albrq.net                           1004
 wikimapia.org                       1976   s-oman.net                              1745   taiz-press.net                               1365   albrq.net                            885
 alahale.net                         1890   s-oman.net                              1648   yemensaeed.com                               1305   elahmad.com                          863
 blogspot.fr                         1442   panoramajo.com                          1535   arabseyes.com                                1270   kataeb.org                           852
 a5barasrar.com                      1412   etl3mnrasi.com                          1499   dailymotion.com                              1260   sahafa.com                           851
 nakshaat.com                        1401   assdae.com                              1463   te3p.com                                     1087   wunderground.com                     687
 akhersa3a.com                       1277   saidaonline.com                         1457   blogspot.co.uk                               1074   soft-ar.info                         587
 jimdo.com                           1063   stadelahly.com                          1023   rwa2an.org                                   1020   wikiwaw.com                          453
 dafatir.net                         1054   gornalak.com                             941   akhbar-misr.com                              1007   elahmad.com                          441
 carsemsar.com                        933   etl3mnrasi.com                           837   shbabelyom.com                                923   kataeb.org                           428
 kermalkom.com                        924   mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati             822   mz-mz.net                                     908   yabiladi.com                         414
 al-tagheer.com                       880   alamiya.org                              702   yemensaeed.com                                797   ustream.tv                           360
 blogspot.fr                          858   saadahpress.net                          654   sahafah.net                                   786   dalil-rif.com                        314
 akhersa3a.com                        843   masrmotors.com                           645   blogspot.co.uk                                769   thaqf-nfsk.com                       266
 nakshaat.com                         654   egypty.com                               566   aljumhor.net                                  658   banatmodern.com                      253
 kermalkom.com                        616   reyada.com                               511   shbabelyom.com                                604   9ori.com                             252
 zamalektoday.com                     576   speedym.com                              495   moroccoeyes.com                               502   xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com              242
 a5barasrar.com                       464   koora.com                                440   real.com                                      458   al3ab24.com                          214
 jimdo.com                            449   souss24.com                              399   iraqim.com                                    433   fildonia.com                          178
 tagged.com                           442   assdae.com                               383   konyonsa.com                                  360   sat213.com                           167
 l7al9a.net                           435   stadelahly.com                           368   addiwannews.com                               349   aljamaheir.net                       167
 jordansun.com                        319   elnogooom.com                            343   ilmaroc.org                                   325   bayanonline.com                      162




                                                                                                                                                                           65

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign 1                                     Campaign 2                                          Campaign 3                                 Campaign 4
          Domain            Impressions                  Domain            Impressions                       Domain            Impressions              Domain            Impressions
 bbc.co.uk                          95242   alwakeelnews.com                       29824   aksalser.com                              191933    alrai.com                        237112
 alwatan-libya.com                  24302   alwakeelnews.com                       13354   aksalser.com                              139269    alrai.com                        146523
 bbc.co.uk                          12128   panoramajo.com                         10378   habbabi.com                                 75561   christian-dogma.com                30585
 alwatan-libya.com                   9456   saidaonline.com                         9577   alquds.com                                  16588   christian-dogma.com                27018
 linkat-online.com                   7875   3alamnews.com                           5078   habbabi.com                                 11847   jo24.net                           18242
 masreat.com                         7160   bsbslove.com                            3935   te3p.com                                     5197   okaz.com.sa                         9727
 allofjo.net                         5276   tanitpress.net                          3755   alquds.com                                   5047   jo24.net                            7411
 masreat.com                         4170   al-dreams.net                           3117   ask.fm                                       4831   okaz.com.sa                         4168
 al-tagheer.com                      3271   gornalak.com                            2957   akhbar-misr.com                              3992   jaridat.com                         1526
 allofjo.net                         2998   syrian-soccer.com                       2385   4flying.com                                   3730   mazareta.com                        1333
 dafatir.net                         2994   alamiya.org                             2340   addiwannews.com                              3250   wikiwaw.com                         1331
 wikimapia.org                       2900   egypty.com                              2080   akhbarna.net                                 2726   car100100.com                       1038
 alahale.net                         2483   souss24.com                             1999   taiz-press.net                               1447   albrq.net                           1004
 wikimapia.org                       1976   s-oman.net                              1745   taiz-press.net                               1365   albrq.net                            885
 alahale.net                         1890   s-oman.net                              1648   yemensaeed.com                               1305   elahmad.com                          863
 blogspot.fr                         1442   panoramajo.com                          1535   arabseyes.com                                1270   kataeb.org                           852
 a5barasrar.com                      1412   etl3mnrasi.com                          1499   dailymotion.com                              1260   sahafa.com                           851
 nakshaat.com                        1401   assdae.com                              1463   te3p.com                                     1087   wunderground.com                     687
 akhersa3a.com                       1277   saidaonline.com                         1457   blogspot.co.uk                               1074   soft-ar.info                         587
 jimdo.com                           1063   stadelahly.com                          1023   rwa2an.org                                   1020   wikiwaw.com                          453
 dafatir.net                         1054   gornalak.com                             941   akhbar-misr.com                              1007   elahmad.com                          441
 carsemsar.com                        933   etl3mnrasi.com                           837   shbabelyom.com                                923   kataeb.org                           428
 kermalkom.com                        924   mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati             822   mz-mz.net                                     908   yabiladi.com                         414
 al-tagheer.com                       880   alamiya.org                              702   yemensaeed.com                                797   ustream.tv                           360
 blogspot.fr                          858   saadahpress.net                          654   sahafah.net                                   786   dalil-rif.com                        314
 akhersa3a.com                        843   masrmotors.com                           645   blogspot.co.uk                                769   thaqf-nfsk.com                       266
 nakshaat.com                         654   egypty.com                               566   aljumhor.net                                  658   banatmodern.com                      253
 kermalkom.com                        616   reyada.com                               511   shbabelyom.com                                604   9ori.com                             252
 zamalektoday.com                     576   speedym.com                              495   moroccoeyes.com                               502   xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com              242
 a5barasrar.com                       464   koora.com                                440   real.com                                      458   al3ab24.com                          214
 jimdo.com                            449   souss24.com                              399   iraqim.com                                    433   fildonia.com                          178
 tagged.com                           442   assdae.com                               383   konyonsa.com                                  360   sat213.com                           167
 l7al9a.net                           435   stadelahly.com                           368   addiwannews.com                               349   aljamaheir.net                       167
 jordansun.com                        319   elnogooom.com                            343   ilmaroc.org                                   325   bayanonline.com                      162




         •Where do you go from here?
                                                                                                                                                                           65

Wednesday, December 5, 12
66

Wednesday, December 5, 12
•Plot your customers on a graph


                                         66

Wednesday, December 5, 12
•Plot your customers on a graph
       •Draw a line where the head ends and the tail
       begins

                                                       66

Wednesday, December 5, 12
100000



               75000



               50000



               25000



                  0
                  bbc.co.uk   wikimapia.org   kermalkom.com jordansun.com   boxzik.org   jothoor.com   q8rashaqa.com 123people.com fkihbensalah.net




                                                                                                                                                      67

Wednesday, December 5, 12
100000



               75000



               50000



               25000



                  0
                  bbc.co.uk   wikimapia.org   kermalkom.com jordansun.com   boxzik.org   jothoor.com   q8rashaqa.com 123people.com fkihbensalah.net




       •Campaign 1 plotted on a graph
                                                                                                                                                      67

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign         Total       80%          Top Campaigns
                            Impressions                  Forming 80%
                        1        202,564    162,051.2          8
                        2        114,484     91,587.2         14
                        3        488,112    390,489.6          3
                        4        497,865      398,292        2-3




                                                                        68

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign         Total       80%          Top Campaigns
                            Impressions                  Forming 80%
                        1        202,564    162,051.2          8
                        2        114,484     91,587.2         14
                        3        488,112    390,489.6          3
                        4        497,865      398,292        2-3




                •Find out how many customers are
                responsible for 80% of results
                                                                        68

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign 1                                     Campaign 2                                          Campaign 3                                 Campaign 4
         Domain            Impressions                  Domain            Impressions                       Domain            Impressions              Domain            Impressions
bbc.co.uk                          95242   alwakeelnews.com                       29824   aksalser.com                              191933    alrai.com                        237112
alwatan-libya.com                  24302   alwakeelnews.com                       13354   aksalser.com                              139269    alrai.com                        146523
bbc.co.uk                          12128   panoramajo.com                         10378   habbabi.com                                 75561   christian-dogma.com                30585
alwatan-libya.com                   9456   saidaonline.com                         9577   alquds.com                                  16588   christian-dogma.com                27018
linkat-online.com                   7875   3alamnews.com                           5078   habbabi.com                                 11847   jo24.net                           18242
masreat.com                         7160   bsbslove.com                            3935   te3p.com                                     5197   okaz.com.sa                         9727
allofjo.net                         5276   tanitpress.net                          3755   alquds.com                                   5047   jo24.net                            7411
masreat.com                         4170   al-dreams.net                           3117   ask.fm                                       4831   okaz.com.sa                         4168
al-tagheer.com                      3271   gornalak.com                            2957   akhbar-misr.com                              3992   jaridat.com                         1526
allofjo.net                         2998   syrian-soccer.com                       2385   4flying.com                                   3730   mazareta.com                        1333
dafatir.net                         2994   alamiya.org                             2340   addiwannews.com                              3250   wikiwaw.com                         1331
wikimapia.org                       2900   egypty.com                              2080   akhbarna.net                                 2726   car100100.com                       1038
alahale.net                         2483   souss24.com                             1999   taiz-press.net                               1447   albrq.net                           1004
wikimapia.org                       1976   s-oman.net                              1745   taiz-press.net                               1365   albrq.net                            885
alahale.net                         1890   s-oman.net                              1648   yemensaeed.com                               1305   elahmad.com                          863
blogspot.fr                         1442   panoramajo.com                          1535   arabseyes.com                                1270   kataeb.org                           852
a5barasrar.com                      1412   etl3mnrasi.com                          1499   dailymotion.com                              1260   sahafa.com                           851
nakshaat.com                        1401   assdae.com                              1463   te3p.com                                     1087   wunderground.com                     687
akhersa3a.com                       1277   saidaonline.com                         1457   blogspot.co.uk                               1074   soft-ar.info                         587
jimdo.com                           1063   stadelahly.com                          1023   rwa2an.org                                   1020   wikiwaw.com                          453
dafatir.net                         1054   gornalak.com                             941   akhbar-misr.com                              1007   elahmad.com                          441
carsemsar.com                        933   etl3mnrasi.com                           837   shbabelyom.com                                923   kataeb.org                           428
kermalkom.com                        924   mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati             822   mz-mz.net                                     908   yabiladi.com                         414
al-tagheer.com                       880   alamiya.org                              702   yemensaeed.com                                797   ustream.tv                           360
blogspot.fr                          858   saadahpress.net                          654   sahafah.net                                   786   dalil-rif.com                        314
akhersa3a.com                        843   masrmotors.com                           645   blogspot.co.uk                                769   thaqf-nfsk.com                       266
nakshaat.com                         654   egypty.com                               566   aljumhor.net                                  658   banatmodern.com                      253
kermalkom.com                        616   reyada.com                               511   shbabelyom.com                                604   9ori.com                             252
zamalektoday.com                     576   speedym.com                              495   moroccoeyes.com                               502   xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com              242
a5barasrar.com                       464   koora.com                                440   real.com                                      458   al3ab24.com                          214
jimdo.com                            449   souss24.com                              399   iraqim.com                                    433   fildonia.com                          178
tagged.com                           442   assdae.com                               383   konyonsa.com                                  360   sat213.com                           167
l7al9a.net                           435   stadelahly.com                           368   addiwannews.com                               349   aljamaheir.net                       167
jordansun.com                        319   elnogooom.com                            343   ilmaroc.org                                   325   bayanonline.com                      162




                                                                                                                                                                           69

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign 1                                     Campaign 2                                          Campaign 3                                 Campaign 4
         Domain            Impressions                  Domain            Impressions                       Domain            Impressions              Domain            Impressions
bbc.co.uk                          95242   alwakeelnews.com                       29824   aksalser.com                              191933    alrai.com                        237112
alwatan-libya.com                  24302   alwakeelnews.com                       13354   aksalser.com                              139269    alrai.com                        146523
bbc.co.uk                          12128   panoramajo.com                         10378   habbabi.com                                 75561   christian-dogma.com                30585
alwatan-libya.com                   9456   saidaonline.com                         9577   alquds.com                                  16588   christian-dogma.com                27018
linkat-online.com                   7875   3alamnews.com                           5078   habbabi.com                                 11847   jo24.net                           18242
masreat.com                         7160   bsbslove.com                            3935   te3p.com                                     5197   okaz.com.sa                         9727
allofjo.net                         5276   tanitpress.net                          3755   alquds.com                                   5047   jo24.net                            7411
masreat.com                         4170   al-dreams.net                           3117   ask.fm                                       4831   okaz.com.sa                         4168
al-tagheer.com                      3271   gornalak.com                            2957   akhbar-misr.com                              3992   jaridat.com                         1526
allofjo.net                         2998   syrian-soccer.com                       2385   4flying.com                                   3730   mazareta.com                        1333
dafatir.net                         2994   alamiya.org                             2340   addiwannews.com                              3250   wikiwaw.com                         1331
wikimapia.org                       2900   egypty.com                              2080   akhbarna.net                                 2726   car100100.com                       1038
alahale.net                         2483   souss24.com                             1999   taiz-press.net                               1447   albrq.net                           1004
wikimapia.org                       1976   s-oman.net                              1745   taiz-press.net                               1365   albrq.net                            885
alahale.net                         1890   s-oman.net                              1648   yemensaeed.com                               1305   elahmad.com                          863
blogspot.fr                         1442   panoramajo.com                          1535   arabseyes.com                                1270   kataeb.org                           852
a5barasrar.com                      1412   etl3mnrasi.com                          1499   dailymotion.com                              1260   sahafa.com                           851
nakshaat.com                        1401   assdae.com                              1463   te3p.com                                     1087   wunderground.com                     687
akhersa3a.com                       1277   saidaonline.com                         1457   blogspot.co.uk                               1074   soft-ar.info                         587
jimdo.com                           1063   stadelahly.com                          1023   rwa2an.org                                   1020   wikiwaw.com                          453
dafatir.net                         1054   gornalak.com                             941   akhbar-misr.com                              1007   elahmad.com                          441
carsemsar.com                        933   etl3mnrasi.com                           837   shbabelyom.com                                923   kataeb.org                           428
kermalkom.com                        924   mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati             822   mz-mz.net                                     908   yabiladi.com                         414
al-tagheer.com                       880   alamiya.org                              702   yemensaeed.com                                797   ustream.tv                           360
blogspot.fr                          858   saadahpress.net                          654   sahafah.net                                   786   dalil-rif.com                        314
akhersa3a.com                        843   masrmotors.com                           645   blogspot.co.uk                                769   thaqf-nfsk.com                       266
nakshaat.com                         654   egypty.com                               566   aljumhor.net                                  658   banatmodern.com                      253
kermalkom.com                        616   reyada.com                               511   shbabelyom.com                                604   9ori.com                             252
zamalektoday.com                     576   speedym.com                              495   moroccoeyes.com                               502   xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com              242
a5barasrar.com                       464   koora.com                                440   real.com                                      458   al3ab24.com                          214
jimdo.com                            449   souss24.com                              399   iraqim.com                                    433   fildonia.com                          178
tagged.com                           442   assdae.com                               383   konyonsa.com                                  360   sat213.com                           167
l7al9a.net                           435   stadelahly.com                           368   addiwannews.com                               349   aljamaheir.net                       167
jordansun.com                        319   elnogooom.com                            343   ilmaroc.org                                   325   bayanonline.com                      162




                    •Top sites for each campaign: 8, 14, 3, 3
                                                                                                                                                                           69

Wednesday, December 5, 12
70

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Search and Search Partners




                                                         71

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Search Partners




       • Search engines using Google technology
       • Sites having a custom search powered by Google
                                                          72

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Content (Display) Network

       • Automated way for publishers to “sell”
         advertising on their site

       • Publishers place a piece of code on pages and
         Google automates the process of bidding,
         placement, pricing, payments, etc…



                                                         73

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Content (Display) Network




                                                    74

Wednesday, December 5, 12
75

Wednesday, December 5, 12
76

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Types of Ads

             • Text
             • Image
             • Display Ad Builder
             • Video
             • Mobile (web)
             • Mobile (call)


                                           77

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Text Ads



        • Headline: 25 characters
        • Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters
        • Display URL: 35 characters
        • Destination URL: 1,024 characters
              –Destination and display URLs can be different, but the
               domain has to be the same
                                                                        78

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Image Ads



       Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf
       Sizes:
       468 x 60 Banner
       728 x 90 Leaderboard
       250 x 250 Square
       200 x 200 Small square
       336 x 280 Large rectangle
       300 x 250 Inline rectangle
       120 x 600 Skyscraper
       160 x 600 Wide skyscraper
                                                 79

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Display Ad Builder




       • Customize your own ad online
                                                 80

Wednesday, December 5, 12
81

Wednesday, December 5, 12
• Automatic resizing for all available sizes
                                                      82

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Video Ads (Click to Play)




                                                        83

Wednesday, December 5, 12
84

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Mobile Ads – Smart Phones




                                                        85

Wednesday, December 5, 12
WAP Text Ads




                                           86

Wednesday, December 5, 12
WAP Image Ads




                                            87

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Account Structure
             • Campaigns
             • Ad groups
             • Ads
             • Keywords
             • Destination URLs
             • Bids




                                                88

Wednesday, December 5, 12
AdWords Account Structure

                                                                                   Account
                                                    Website1.com




                                                                                   Campaigns
                                      Restaurants                  Concerts




                                                                                   Ad Groups
                            Order Online       Information         Rock Concerts




    Great Deals             Unbeatable         Order food
    from great
    restaurants.
    Order now
                            Prices from
                            great
                            restaurants.
                                               Food online
                                               Order pizza                         Ads & Keywords
    Website.com/            Order now
    orders                  Website.com/    Bids              Destination
                            orders                            URLs




                                                                                                    89

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Account
       • One Google account
       • Accessible / manageable by several accounts
       • Different access levels
             • Admin
             • Standard
             • Read Only
             • Email Only


                                                       90

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign (Settings)
       • Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups
         function
             –Language
             –Network(s)
             –Geography
             –Daily Budget
             –Device
             –Scheduling


                                                     91

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Language Targeting




                                                 92

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Language Targeting




    Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages
    that use similar scripts




                                                                                                92

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Language Targeting




    Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages
    that use similar scripts
    Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)




                                                                                                92

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Language Targeting




    Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages
    that use similar scripts
    Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)
    Ad text can produce different responses




                                                                                                92

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Geographical Targeting




                                                     93

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Time of the Day / Day of the Week




                                          94

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Campaign Best Practices
       • Use a consistent naming convention
             –Make sure campaign name includes as many useful
              parameters as possible
              E.g.     AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search
                       EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search
                       EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display
       • Separate search and content (display)
       • Separate PCs and mobiles


                                                                95

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ad Groups
       • Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of
         keywords

                                   Keywords:

                                   used cars
                                   buy used cars
                                   used cars for sale
                                   used car dealers




                                                          96

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ad Group Best Practices
       • Keywords as closely related to each other as
         possible
       • Always test more than one ad
       • Make sure you have a good relevant landing
         page(s) for each ad group




                                                        97

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types




                                                  98

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types
       Exact: [coffee beans]




                                                  98

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types
       Exact: [coffee beans]
       Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of
         characters is searched for




                                                           98

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types
       Exact: [coffee beans]
       Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of
         characters is searched for




                                                           98

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types
       Exact: [coffee beans]
       Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of
         characters is searched for

       Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’




                                                           98

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types
       Exact: [coffee beans]
       Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of
         characters is searched for

       Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’
       Exact string with other keywords before or after




                                                           98

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types
       Exact: [coffee beans]
       Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of
         characters is searched for

       Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’
       Exact string with other keywords before or after
       Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee
         beans

                                                           98

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types




                                                  99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types




                                                  99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types

       Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew




                                                  99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types

       Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew
       Similar keywords using the same stem




                                                  99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types

       Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew
       Similar keywords using the same stem
       Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries




                                                  99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types

       Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew
       Similar keywords using the same stem
       Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries




                                                  99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types

       Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew
       Similar keywords using the same stem
       Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

       Broad match: coffee beans




                                                  99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types

       Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew
       Similar keywords using the same stem
       Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

       Broad match: coffee beans
       Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms


                                                         99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types

       Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew
       Similar keywords using the same stem
       Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

       Broad match: coffee beans
       Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms
       Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop

                                                          99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Keyword Match Types

       Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew
       Similar keywords using the same stem
       Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

       Broad match: coffee beans
       Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms
       Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop

                                                          99

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Negative: -cappuccino
       Helps make sure you are eliminating content you
        don’t have




                                                         100

Wednesday, December 5, 12
Writing Effective Ads
       Ads relevant to
           specific keywords
       Features
       Benefits
       Calls to action
       Using keywords in ads
       Test different landing pages



Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ads Relevant to Keywords




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ads Relevant to Keywords
       Each ad group should be focused on a topic




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ads Relevant to Keywords
       Each ad group should be focused on a topic




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Ads Relevant to Keywords
       Each ad group should be focused on a topic

       Ads should communicate messages specifically
        according to keywords




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Benefits




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Benefits
       Main point of interest




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Benefits
       Main point of interest
       They are what your product achieves for the user




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Benefits
       Main point of interest
       They are what your product achieves for the user
       They are what users care about




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Benefits
       Main point of interest
       They are what your product achieves for the user
       They are what users care about




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Benefits
       Main point of interest
       They are what your product achieves for the user
       They are what users care about

       Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing
         10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing
         a good future for your kids (good ROI on
         investment plan), etc…




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Features




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Features
       How your product helps me achieve the benefits




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Features
       How your product helps me achieve the benefits
       Specific evidence about your product




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Features
       How your product helps me achieve the benefits
       Specific evidence about your product
       Points of differentiation




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Features
       How your product helps me achieve the benefits
       Specific evidence about your product
       Points of differentiation




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Features
       How your product helps me achieve the benefits
       Specific evidence about your product
       Points of differentiation

       Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real
         leather shoes, etc…




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Calls to Action




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Calls to Action
       Leads user to a specific thing to do




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Calls to Action
       Leads user to a specific thing to do
       Generates enthusiasm in the moment




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Calls to Action
       Leads user to a specific thing to do
       Generates enthusiasm in the moment
       Filters users




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Calls to Action
       Leads user to a specific thing to do
       Generates enthusiasm in the moment
       Filters users




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Calls to Action
       Leads user to a specific thing to do
       Generates enthusiasm in the moment
       Filters users

       Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for
         our newsletter, share with your friends, join the
         community, etc…



Wednesday, December 5, 12
AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)




Wednesday, December 5, 12
AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)
       Targeting
       Keywords
       Geography
       Language
       Keyword match type
       Time of day / Day of
          week
       Search / search partners
       Content: automatic and
          managed
       Devices
       Demographics




Wednesday, December 5, 12
AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)
       Targeting                  Effective Ads
       Keywords                   Ads relevant to
       Geography                      specific keywords
       Language                   Features
       Keyword match type         Benefits
       Time of day / Day of       Calls to action
          week                    Using keywords in ads
       Search / search partners   Test different landing
       Content: automatic and        pages
          managed
       Devices
       Demographics




Wednesday, December 5, 12
AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)
       Targeting                  Effective Ads            Measurment
       Keywords                   Ads relevant to          CTR
                                                           Cost per
       Geography                      specific keywords
                                                           conversion
       Language                   Features                 Analytics
       Keyword match type         Benefits                  Post-click
       Time of day / Day of       Calls to action          performance
          week                    Using keywords in ads
       Search / search partners   Test different landing
       Content: automatic and        pages
          managed
       Devices
       Demographics




Wednesday, December 5, 12
Thank You



                            Elias Dabbas
                            Slideshare.net/eliasdabbas

                            elias@media-supermarket.com
                            +971 55 953 18 26




                                                          107

Wednesday, December 5, 12

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Online Marketing Metrics Explained

  • 1. Online Marketing Forward to Basics Elias Dabbas MediaMe Forum - December 4, 2012 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 2. Main Online Measures / Metrics Page Views Ad Impressions Visits Click-Through Ratio (CTR) CPA Unique Visitors Bounce Rate CPC Conversions CPM 2 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 3. Page Views heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page Number of times a page was served / “viewed” 3 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 4. Ad Impressions Number of times an ad was served “viewed” Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page) 4 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 5. Visits & Unique Visitors • Visits: Number of times a “session” is started at a site • Unique Visitors: Number of people (computers) that visited your site Example: I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor 5 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 6. Pages / Visit Average page views per visit Total page views ÷ total visits 6 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 7. Bounce Rate 7 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 8. Bounce Rate • Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view) 7 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 9. Bounce Rate • Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view) • 1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate 7 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 10. Click-Through Ratio (CTR) 8 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 11. Click-Through Ratio (CTR) • Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions) 8 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 12. Click-Through Ratio (CTR) • Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions) • Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR 8 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 13. Visits per Visitor • Average times a visitor comes to the site within a certain period of time • Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor • Important measure of loyalty 9 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 14. CPx • CPC: cost per click • CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions • CPL: cost per lead • CPA: cost per action (acquisition) 10 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 15. Conversions Conversions 11 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 16. Conversions Conversions • Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc 11 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 17. Conversions Conversions • Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc 11 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 18. Conversions Conversions • Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc • Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate 11 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 19. Page Views Ad Impressions Visits Click-Through Ratio (CTR) CPA Unique Visitors Bounce Rate CPC Conversions CPM 12 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 20. Campaign Lifecycle 13 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 22. 1,000,000 impressions 14 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 23. 1,000,000 impressions 14 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 24. 1,000,000 20,000 impressions clicks 14 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 25. 1,000,000 20,000 impressions clicks 14 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 26. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions 14 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 27. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 14 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 28. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 15 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 29. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 16 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 30. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate • CPM • CPC • CPA 17 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 31. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA 18 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 32. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM • CPC • CPA 19 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 33. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA 20 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 34. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC • CPA 21 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 35. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA 22 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 36. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA 23 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 37. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25 24 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 38. 1,000,000 20,000 400 impressions clicks conversions • Total Spend: $10,000 • CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2% • Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2% • CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5 • CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25 25 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 39. “Digital Media” What industry do you work in? Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 40. Digital - Non Digital Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 42. Digital Online (Internet) Digital > Online Digital can be offline Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 43. “Media” Digital Media describes only the kind of media we deal with (broadcast, print, outdoor, digital) Assumes the campaign starts and ends on the publication or medium itself Doesn’t have a place for The Click Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 44. Media Marketing Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 45. Digital Media Online Marketing Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 46. Digital Media Online Marketing It’s “online”, “live”, It’s “digital” “interactive”, “now” Conversion / Funnel / Banner / Rich Media Process Optimization and Planning and Buying Continuous Improvement Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 47. Media Planning / Buying Planning Buying Reporting Start End Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 48. Campaign / Account Management Plan Change implement Optimize Test Continuous process Testing / optimization are essential parts Flexible / muddling through strategy Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 50. Baby Products Target Audience Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 51. Would you target these people for baby products? Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 52. These are a pregnant woman’s: Father Cousin Best friend Brother Grandmother Sister They all want to buy presents for the pregnant woman’s baby They are in the market for baby products Would you like to target them? Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 53. The Power of Content (Contextual Advertising / Targeting) Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 54. How might a user end up on a certain page? 41 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 55. Directly entering URL You know where you are going 42 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 56. Clicking on a search result / ad You know where you are going 43 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 57. Clicking on an ad You know where you are going 44 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 58. Clicking on a text link You know where you are going 45 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 59. Exceptions Misleading text / ad Clicking by mistake Extremely impulsive users 46 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 60. Let’s say in 70-80% of times, users go to a page knowing / expecting a certain outcome / content Targeting people while they are reading a certain type of content is an extremely powerful way to reach interested people at the right time 47 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 61. Targeting the Home Page Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 62. Extremely diverse set of interests You cannot know what the user is intending to do now Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 63. It’s a springboard to other more specific section pages The user is in a hyper mode The user didn’t find what they want to consume yet Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 64. - The article page is the most specific place that indicates users’ interest - This is when they release the mouse and start sipping their coffee - This when they are most receptive to information - You can advertise for something relevant Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 65. “Awareness” 52 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 66. Do you know the iPad? A. No, I don’t B. Yes, I heard about it C. Yes, I played with it once at the electronics shop D. Yes, I own one, and I’ve been using it for two months 53 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 67. Do you know website XYZ? A. No, I don’t B. Yes, I heard about it C. Yes, I visited it 2-3 times D. Yes, I’m subscribed to their newsletter and buy stuff every now and then 54 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 68. Do you know Jordan? A. No, I don’t B. Yes, I heard about it C. Yes, I visited it 2-3 times D. Yes, I’ve been living here 23 years 55 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 69. Person D: • Knows the most about the product • Is familiar with all the +ve and -ve ‘surprises’ it has • Can talk confidently about it • Is the authority about the brand • Is the brand’s ambassador (+ve or -ve) Awareness of D = 10xC = 100xB = 1,000xA 56 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 70. Awareness 57 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 71. Awareness • Cannot be treated as one thing 57 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 72. Awareness • Cannot be treated as one thing • Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal 57 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 73. Awareness • Cannot be treated as one thing • Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal • It makes sense to invest more in deeper awareness (you get multiple rewards) 57 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 74. Awareness • Cannot be treated as one thing • Not all ‘awarenesses’ are equal • It makes sense to invest more in deeper awareness (you get multiple rewards) • Product purchase, sampling, experience are way more effective for awareness than buying impressions 57 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 75. Generate Awareness for New Pizza Option 1: Spend $50,000 on billboard campaign to “raise awareness” 58 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 76. Generate Awareness for New Pizza Option 2: Reward loyal customers by sending them a free sample of the new pizza, whenever they want, without obligations, using the same $50,000 59 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 77. Option 2 60 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 78. Option 2 •Utilize existing call center 60 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 79. Option 2 •Utilize existing call center •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza 60 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 80. Option 2 •Utilize existing call center •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza •You give loyal customers a reason to love you 60 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 81. Option 2 •Utilize existing call center •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza •You give loyal customers a reason to love you •“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with it?” it’s optional... 60 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 82. Option 2 •Utilize existing call center •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza •You give loyal customers a reason to love you •“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with it?” it’s optional... •Give them the ability to gift the pizza to a friend if they want 60 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 83. Option 2 •Utilize existing call center •Minimal additional cost of producing the pizza •You give loyal customers a reason to love you •“Would you like a salad, wedges, drinks with it?” it’s optional... •Give them the ability to gift the pizza to a friend if they want •Make them proud and happy members / ambassadors of your brand 60 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 84. Media Evaluation 61 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 85. Media Evaluation Which one is the best? 61 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 86. Media Evaluation Campaign Evaluation Above average Below average 62 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 87. Media Evaluation Campaign Evaluation Above average Below average Keep the good and stop the bad. Repeat 62 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 88. Campaign Evaluation 63 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 89. Campaign Evaluation •Averages across the account are dangerous 63 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 90. Campaign Evaluation •Averages across the account are dangerous •Go deeper to averages per campaign, ad version, ad size etc, and optimize accordingly 63 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 91. Campaign Evaluation •Averages across the account are dangerous •Go deeper to averages per campaign, ad version, ad size etc, and optimize accordingly •Keep guidelines in mind but decide based on results 63 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 92. Ranking / “Top 10” 64 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 93. Ranking / “Top 10” •How do you prioritize your campaigns, keywords, placements, countries, customers, etc? 64 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 94. Ranking / “Top 10” •How do you prioritize your campaigns, keywords, placements, countries, customers, etc? •Do you focus on the top 3, 5, 10, 25 ?? 64 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 95. Campaign 1 Campaign 2 Campaign 3 Campaign 4 Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions bbc.co.uk 95242 alwakeelnews.com 29824 aksalser.com 191933 alrai.com 237112 alwatan-libya.com 24302 alwakeelnews.com 13354 aksalser.com 139269 alrai.com 146523 bbc.co.uk 12128 panoramajo.com 10378 habbabi.com 75561 christian-dogma.com 30585 alwatan-libya.com 9456 saidaonline.com 9577 alquds.com 16588 christian-dogma.com 27018 linkat-online.com 7875 3alamnews.com 5078 habbabi.com 11847 jo24.net 18242 masreat.com 7160 bsbslove.com 3935 te3p.com 5197 okaz.com.sa 9727 allofjo.net 5276 tanitpress.net 3755 alquds.com 5047 jo24.net 7411 masreat.com 4170 al-dreams.net 3117 ask.fm 4831 okaz.com.sa 4168 al-tagheer.com 3271 gornalak.com 2957 akhbar-misr.com 3992 jaridat.com 1526 allofjo.net 2998 syrian-soccer.com 2385 4flying.com 3730 mazareta.com 1333 dafatir.net 2994 alamiya.org 2340 addiwannews.com 3250 wikiwaw.com 1331 wikimapia.org 2900 egypty.com 2080 akhbarna.net 2726 car100100.com 1038 alahale.net 2483 souss24.com 1999 taiz-press.net 1447 albrq.net 1004 wikimapia.org 1976 s-oman.net 1745 taiz-press.net 1365 albrq.net 885 alahale.net 1890 s-oman.net 1648 yemensaeed.com 1305 elahmad.com 863 blogspot.fr 1442 panoramajo.com 1535 arabseyes.com 1270 kataeb.org 852 a5barasrar.com 1412 etl3mnrasi.com 1499 dailymotion.com 1260 sahafa.com 851 nakshaat.com 1401 assdae.com 1463 te3p.com 1087 wunderground.com 687 akhersa3a.com 1277 saidaonline.com 1457 blogspot.co.uk 1074 soft-ar.info 587 jimdo.com 1063 stadelahly.com 1023 rwa2an.org 1020 wikiwaw.com 453 dafatir.net 1054 gornalak.com 941 akhbar-misr.com 1007 elahmad.com 441 carsemsar.com 933 etl3mnrasi.com 837 shbabelyom.com 923 kataeb.org 428 kermalkom.com 924 mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati 822 mz-mz.net 908 yabiladi.com 414 al-tagheer.com 880 alamiya.org 702 yemensaeed.com 797 ustream.tv 360 blogspot.fr 858 saadahpress.net 654 sahafah.net 786 dalil-rif.com 314 akhersa3a.com 843 masrmotors.com 645 blogspot.co.uk 769 thaqf-nfsk.com 266 nakshaat.com 654 egypty.com 566 aljumhor.net 658 banatmodern.com 253 kermalkom.com 616 reyada.com 511 shbabelyom.com 604 9ori.com 252 zamalektoday.com 576 speedym.com 495 moroccoeyes.com 502 xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com 242 a5barasrar.com 464 koora.com 440 real.com 458 al3ab24.com 214 jimdo.com 449 souss24.com 399 iraqim.com 433 fildonia.com 178 tagged.com 442 assdae.com 383 konyonsa.com 360 sat213.com 167 l7al9a.net 435 stadelahly.com 368 addiwannews.com 349 aljamaheir.net 167 jordansun.com 319 elnogooom.com 343 ilmaroc.org 325 bayanonline.com 162 65 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 96. Campaign 1 Campaign 2 Campaign 3 Campaign 4 Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions bbc.co.uk 95242 alwakeelnews.com 29824 aksalser.com 191933 alrai.com 237112 alwatan-libya.com 24302 alwakeelnews.com 13354 aksalser.com 139269 alrai.com 146523 bbc.co.uk 12128 panoramajo.com 10378 habbabi.com 75561 christian-dogma.com 30585 alwatan-libya.com 9456 saidaonline.com 9577 alquds.com 16588 christian-dogma.com 27018 linkat-online.com 7875 3alamnews.com 5078 habbabi.com 11847 jo24.net 18242 masreat.com 7160 bsbslove.com 3935 te3p.com 5197 okaz.com.sa 9727 allofjo.net 5276 tanitpress.net 3755 alquds.com 5047 jo24.net 7411 masreat.com 4170 al-dreams.net 3117 ask.fm 4831 okaz.com.sa 4168 al-tagheer.com 3271 gornalak.com 2957 akhbar-misr.com 3992 jaridat.com 1526 allofjo.net 2998 syrian-soccer.com 2385 4flying.com 3730 mazareta.com 1333 dafatir.net 2994 alamiya.org 2340 addiwannews.com 3250 wikiwaw.com 1331 wikimapia.org 2900 egypty.com 2080 akhbarna.net 2726 car100100.com 1038 alahale.net 2483 souss24.com 1999 taiz-press.net 1447 albrq.net 1004 wikimapia.org 1976 s-oman.net 1745 taiz-press.net 1365 albrq.net 885 alahale.net 1890 s-oman.net 1648 yemensaeed.com 1305 elahmad.com 863 blogspot.fr 1442 panoramajo.com 1535 arabseyes.com 1270 kataeb.org 852 a5barasrar.com 1412 etl3mnrasi.com 1499 dailymotion.com 1260 sahafa.com 851 nakshaat.com 1401 assdae.com 1463 te3p.com 1087 wunderground.com 687 akhersa3a.com 1277 saidaonline.com 1457 blogspot.co.uk 1074 soft-ar.info 587 jimdo.com 1063 stadelahly.com 1023 rwa2an.org 1020 wikiwaw.com 453 dafatir.net 1054 gornalak.com 941 akhbar-misr.com 1007 elahmad.com 441 carsemsar.com 933 etl3mnrasi.com 837 shbabelyom.com 923 kataeb.org 428 kermalkom.com 924 mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati 822 mz-mz.net 908 yabiladi.com 414 al-tagheer.com 880 alamiya.org 702 yemensaeed.com 797 ustream.tv 360 blogspot.fr 858 saadahpress.net 654 sahafah.net 786 dalil-rif.com 314 akhersa3a.com 843 masrmotors.com 645 blogspot.co.uk 769 thaqf-nfsk.com 266 nakshaat.com 654 egypty.com 566 aljumhor.net 658 banatmodern.com 253 kermalkom.com 616 reyada.com 511 shbabelyom.com 604 9ori.com 252 zamalektoday.com 576 speedym.com 495 moroccoeyes.com 502 xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com 242 a5barasrar.com 464 koora.com 440 real.com 458 al3ab24.com 214 jimdo.com 449 souss24.com 399 iraqim.com 433 fildonia.com 178 tagged.com 442 assdae.com 383 konyonsa.com 360 sat213.com 167 l7al9a.net 435 stadelahly.com 368 addiwannews.com 349 aljamaheir.net 167 jordansun.com 319 elnogooom.com 343 ilmaroc.org 325 bayanonline.com 162 •Where do you go from here? 65 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 98. •Plot your customers on a graph 66 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 99. •Plot your customers on a graph •Draw a line where the head ends and the tail begins 66 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 100. 100000 75000 50000 25000 0 bbc.co.uk wikimapia.org kermalkom.com jordansun.com boxzik.org jothoor.com q8rashaqa.com 123people.com fkihbensalah.net 67 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 101. 100000 75000 50000 25000 0 bbc.co.uk wikimapia.org kermalkom.com jordansun.com boxzik.org jothoor.com q8rashaqa.com 123people.com fkihbensalah.net •Campaign 1 plotted on a graph 67 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 102. Campaign Total 80% Top Campaigns Impressions Forming 80% 1 202,564 162,051.2 8 2 114,484 91,587.2 14 3 488,112 390,489.6 3 4 497,865 398,292 2-3 68 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 103. Campaign Total 80% Top Campaigns Impressions Forming 80% 1 202,564 162,051.2 8 2 114,484 91,587.2 14 3 488,112 390,489.6 3 4 497,865 398,292 2-3 •Find out how many customers are responsible for 80% of results 68 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 104. Campaign 1 Campaign 2 Campaign 3 Campaign 4 Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions bbc.co.uk 95242 alwakeelnews.com 29824 aksalser.com 191933 alrai.com 237112 alwatan-libya.com 24302 alwakeelnews.com 13354 aksalser.com 139269 alrai.com 146523 bbc.co.uk 12128 panoramajo.com 10378 habbabi.com 75561 christian-dogma.com 30585 alwatan-libya.com 9456 saidaonline.com 9577 alquds.com 16588 christian-dogma.com 27018 linkat-online.com 7875 3alamnews.com 5078 habbabi.com 11847 jo24.net 18242 masreat.com 7160 bsbslove.com 3935 te3p.com 5197 okaz.com.sa 9727 allofjo.net 5276 tanitpress.net 3755 alquds.com 5047 jo24.net 7411 masreat.com 4170 al-dreams.net 3117 ask.fm 4831 okaz.com.sa 4168 al-tagheer.com 3271 gornalak.com 2957 akhbar-misr.com 3992 jaridat.com 1526 allofjo.net 2998 syrian-soccer.com 2385 4flying.com 3730 mazareta.com 1333 dafatir.net 2994 alamiya.org 2340 addiwannews.com 3250 wikiwaw.com 1331 wikimapia.org 2900 egypty.com 2080 akhbarna.net 2726 car100100.com 1038 alahale.net 2483 souss24.com 1999 taiz-press.net 1447 albrq.net 1004 wikimapia.org 1976 s-oman.net 1745 taiz-press.net 1365 albrq.net 885 alahale.net 1890 s-oman.net 1648 yemensaeed.com 1305 elahmad.com 863 blogspot.fr 1442 panoramajo.com 1535 arabseyes.com 1270 kataeb.org 852 a5barasrar.com 1412 etl3mnrasi.com 1499 dailymotion.com 1260 sahafa.com 851 nakshaat.com 1401 assdae.com 1463 te3p.com 1087 wunderground.com 687 akhersa3a.com 1277 saidaonline.com 1457 blogspot.co.uk 1074 soft-ar.info 587 jimdo.com 1063 stadelahly.com 1023 rwa2an.org 1020 wikiwaw.com 453 dafatir.net 1054 gornalak.com 941 akhbar-misr.com 1007 elahmad.com 441 carsemsar.com 933 etl3mnrasi.com 837 shbabelyom.com 923 kataeb.org 428 kermalkom.com 924 mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati 822 mz-mz.net 908 yabiladi.com 414 al-tagheer.com 880 alamiya.org 702 yemensaeed.com 797 ustream.tv 360 blogspot.fr 858 saadahpress.net 654 sahafah.net 786 dalil-rif.com 314 akhersa3a.com 843 masrmotors.com 645 blogspot.co.uk 769 thaqf-nfsk.com 266 nakshaat.com 654 egypty.com 566 aljumhor.net 658 banatmodern.com 253 kermalkom.com 616 reyada.com 511 shbabelyom.com 604 9ori.com 252 zamalektoday.com 576 speedym.com 495 moroccoeyes.com 502 xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com 242 a5barasrar.com 464 koora.com 440 real.com 458 al3ab24.com 214 jimdo.com 449 souss24.com 399 iraqim.com 433 fildonia.com 178 tagged.com 442 assdae.com 383 konyonsa.com 360 sat213.com 167 l7al9a.net 435 stadelahly.com 368 addiwannews.com 349 aljamaheir.net 167 jordansun.com 319 elnogooom.com 343 ilmaroc.org 325 bayanonline.com 162 69 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 105. Campaign 1 Campaign 2 Campaign 3 Campaign 4 Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions Domain Impressions bbc.co.uk 95242 alwakeelnews.com 29824 aksalser.com 191933 alrai.com 237112 alwatan-libya.com 24302 alwakeelnews.com 13354 aksalser.com 139269 alrai.com 146523 bbc.co.uk 12128 panoramajo.com 10378 habbabi.com 75561 christian-dogma.com 30585 alwatan-libya.com 9456 saidaonline.com 9577 alquds.com 16588 christian-dogma.com 27018 linkat-online.com 7875 3alamnews.com 5078 habbabi.com 11847 jo24.net 18242 masreat.com 7160 bsbslove.com 3935 te3p.com 5197 okaz.com.sa 9727 allofjo.net 5276 tanitpress.net 3755 alquds.com 5047 jo24.net 7411 masreat.com 4170 al-dreams.net 3117 ask.fm 4831 okaz.com.sa 4168 al-tagheer.com 3271 gornalak.com 2957 akhbar-misr.com 3992 jaridat.com 1526 allofjo.net 2998 syrian-soccer.com 2385 4flying.com 3730 mazareta.com 1333 dafatir.net 2994 alamiya.org 2340 addiwannews.com 3250 wikiwaw.com 1331 wikimapia.org 2900 egypty.com 2080 akhbarna.net 2726 car100100.com 1038 alahale.net 2483 souss24.com 1999 taiz-press.net 1447 albrq.net 1004 wikimapia.org 1976 s-oman.net 1745 taiz-press.net 1365 albrq.net 885 alahale.net 1890 s-oman.net 1648 yemensaeed.com 1305 elahmad.com 863 blogspot.fr 1442 panoramajo.com 1535 arabseyes.com 1270 kataeb.org 852 a5barasrar.com 1412 etl3mnrasi.com 1499 dailymotion.com 1260 sahafa.com 851 nakshaat.com 1401 assdae.com 1463 te3p.com 1087 wunderground.com 687 akhersa3a.com 1277 saidaonline.com 1457 blogspot.co.uk 1074 soft-ar.info 587 jimdo.com 1063 stadelahly.com 1023 rwa2an.org 1020 wikiwaw.com 453 dafatir.net 1054 gornalak.com 941 akhbar-misr.com 1007 elahmad.com 441 carsemsar.com 933 etl3mnrasi.com 837 shbabelyom.com 923 kataeb.org 428 kermalkom.com 924 mobileapp::2-com.mosalsalati 822 mz-mz.net 908 yabiladi.com 414 al-tagheer.com 880 alamiya.org 702 yemensaeed.com 797 ustream.tv 360 blogspot.fr 858 saadahpress.net 654 sahafah.net 786 dalil-rif.com 314 akhersa3a.com 843 masrmotors.com 645 blogspot.co.uk 769 thaqf-nfsk.com 266 nakshaat.com 654 egypty.com 566 aljumhor.net 658 banatmodern.com 253 kermalkom.com 616 reyada.com 511 shbabelyom.com 604 9ori.com 252 zamalektoday.com 576 speedym.com 495 moroccoeyes.com 502 xn----ymcae0df5a6fo.com 242 a5barasrar.com 464 koora.com 440 real.com 458 al3ab24.com 214 jimdo.com 449 souss24.com 399 iraqim.com 433 fildonia.com 178 tagged.com 442 assdae.com 383 konyonsa.com 360 sat213.com 167 l7al9a.net 435 stadelahly.com 368 addiwannews.com 349 aljamaheir.net 167 jordansun.com 319 elnogooom.com 343 ilmaroc.org 325 bayanonline.com 162 •Top sites for each campaign: 8, 14, 3, 3 69 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 107. Search and Search Partners 71 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 108. Search Partners • Search engines using Google technology • Sites having a custom search powered by Google 72 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 109. Content (Display) Network • Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site • Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc… 73 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 110. Content (Display) Network 74 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 113. Types of Ads • Text • Image • Display Ad Builder • Video • Mobile (web) • Mobile (call) 77 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 114. Text Ads • Headline: 25 characters • Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters • Display URL: 35 characters • Destination URL: 1,024 characters –Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same 78 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 115. Image Ads Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf Sizes: 468 x 60 Banner 728 x 90 Leaderboard 250 x 250 Square 200 x 200 Small square 336 x 280 Large rectangle 300 x 250 Inline rectangle 120 x 600 Skyscraper 160 x 600 Wide skyscraper 79 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 116. Display Ad Builder • Customize your own ad online 80 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 118. • Automatic resizing for all available sizes 82 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 119. Video Ads (Click to Play) 83 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 121. Mobile Ads – Smart Phones 85 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 122. WAP Text Ads 86 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 123. WAP Image Ads 87 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 124. Account Structure • Campaigns • Ad groups • Ads • Keywords • Destination URLs • Bids 88 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 125. AdWords Account Structure Account Website1.com Campaigns Restaurants Concerts Ad Groups Order Online Information Rock Concerts Great Deals Unbeatable Order food from great restaurants. Order now Prices from great restaurants. Food online Order pizza Ads & Keywords Website.com/ Order now orders Website.com/ Bids Destination orders URLs 89 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 126. Account • One Google account • Accessible / manageable by several accounts • Different access levels • Admin • Standard • Read Only • Email Only 90 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 127. Campaign (Settings) • Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function –Language –Network(s) –Geography –Daily Budget –Device –Scheduling 91 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 128. Language Targeting 92 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 129. Language Targeting Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts 92 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 130. Language Targeting Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English) 92 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 131. Language Targeting Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scripts Keywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English) Ad text can produce different responses 92 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 132. Geographical Targeting 93 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 133. Time of the Day / Day of the Week 94 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 134. Campaign Best Practices • Use a consistent naming convention –Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible E.g. AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display • Separate search and content (display) • Separate PCs and mobiles 95 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 135. Ad Groups • Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords Keywords: used cars buy used cars used cars for sale used car dealers 96 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 136. Ad Group Best Practices • Keywords as closely related to each other as possible • Always test more than one ad • Make sure you have a good relevant landing page(s) for each ad group 97 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 137. Keyword Match Types 98 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 138. Keyword Match Types Exact: [coffee beans] 98 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 139. Keyword Match Types Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for 98 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 140. Keyword Match Types Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for 98 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 141. Keyword Match Types Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ 98 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 142. Keyword Match Types Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ Exact string with other keywords before or after 98 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 143. Keyword Match Types Exact: [coffee beans] Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’ Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee beans 98 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 144. Keyword Match Types 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 145. Keyword Match Types 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 146. Keyword Match Types Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 147. Keyword Match Types Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 148. Keyword Match Types Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 149. Keyword Match Types Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 150. Keyword Match Types Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries Broad match: coffee beans 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 151. Keyword Match Types Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries Broad match: coffee beans Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 152. Keyword Match Types Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries Broad match: coffee beans Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 153. Keyword Match Types Modified Broad Match: coffee +brew Similar keywords using the same stem Brewing, brewer, brewery, breweries Broad match: coffee beans Similar keywords, plurals, variations, synonyms Coffee bean, great coffee bean shop, coffee shop 99 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 154. Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have 100 Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 155. Writing Effective Ads Ads relevant to specific keywords Features Benefits Calls to action Using keywords in ads Test different landing pages Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 156. Ads Relevant to Keywords Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 157. Ads Relevant to Keywords Each ad group should be focused on a topic Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 158. Ads Relevant to Keywords Each ad group should be focused on a topic Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 159. Ads Relevant to Keywords Each ad group should be focused on a topic Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 161. Benefits Main point of interest Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 162. Benefits Main point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 163. Benefits Main point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user They are what users care about Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 164. Benefits Main point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user They are what users care about Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 165. Benefits Main point of interest They are what your product achieves for the user They are what users care about Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc… Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 167. Features How your product helps me achieve the benefits Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 168. Features How your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 169. Features How your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Points of differentiation Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 170. Features How your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Points of differentiation Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 171. Features How your product helps me achieve the benefits Specific evidence about your product Points of differentiation Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc… Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 172. Calls to Action Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 173. Calls to Action Leads user to a specific thing to do Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 174. Calls to Action Leads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 175. Calls to Action Leads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Filters users Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 176. Calls to Action Leads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Filters users Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 177. Calls to Action Leads user to a specific thing to do Generates enthusiasm in the moment Filters users Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc… Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 178. AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary) Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 179. AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary) Targeting Keywords Geography Language Keyword match type Time of day / Day of week Search / search partners Content: automatic and managed Devices Demographics Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 180. AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary) Targeting Effective Ads Keywords Ads relevant to Geography specific keywords Language Features Keyword match type Benefits Time of day / Day of Calls to action week Using keywords in ads Search / search partners Test different landing Content: automatic and pages managed Devices Demographics Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 181. AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary) Targeting Effective Ads Measurment Keywords Ads relevant to CTR Cost per Geography specific keywords conversion Language Features Analytics Keyword match type Benefits Post-click Time of day / Day of Calls to action performance week Using keywords in ads Search / search partners Test different landing Content: automatic and pages managed Devices Demographics Wednesday, December 5, 12
  • 182. Thank You Elias Dabbas Slideshare.net/eliasdabbas elias@media-supermarket.com +971 55 953 18 26 107 Wednesday, December 5, 12