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SEO Uncovered:
The 7 Secrets Every
Business Must Know to
LEGALLY STEAL Floods of
FREE Google Traffic From
Your Competition
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
What is SEO?
Search en gine opt i mi za tion (noun)
Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process
of improving the visibility of a website or a web
page in search engines via the unpaid (“natural”
or “organic”) search results.
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
SEO is inbound marketing
• Getting your products and services in front of prospective
customers at the moment they are actively looking
• SEO doesn‟t interrupt
• With SEO you are earning and building trust
Misconceptions
• SEO is free marketing!
• SEO doesn‟t work
• SEO is black magic
• SEO is rocket science
• SEO is illegal
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
REALITY:
SEO is a legitimate marketing strategy
practiced by almost all of the world‟s most
successful companies
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
Who cares?
• There are over two billion people online
• 93% of online experiences begin with a search engine
• The majority of web traffic is driven by the „Big Three‟ search
engines-Google, Bing and Yahoo
(Search Engine Journal)
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
Who cares?
• 77% of search engine users choose organic over paid listings1
• 67% choose organic search engine results when purchasing2
• Organic click-through generates 25% higher conversion rates
than PPC3
(1,2,3 Search Metrics)
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
High rankings in the search engines
are VERY valuable!
How valuable?
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
Keyword phrase: “Auto Insurance”
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
Cost-per-click
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
Keyword phrase: “Auto Insurance”
Search volume = 110,000
CPC = $66.31
Total value = $6,964,100
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
Traffic by Google Ranking
Keyword phrase: “Auto Insurance”
Search volume = 110,000
CPC = $66.31
Total value = $6,964,100
x 42%
= $2,924,922 in organic traffic monthly!
Benefits of SEO
• Boost website traffic
• Increase visibility among target audience
• Build relationships and influence
• Increase conversions (subscribers, members, etc.)
• Increase sales (gain new customers0
• Measurable results
• The big guys can‟t out bid you!
Downsides of SEO
• Can be slow to get results
• Somewhat our of your control
• Requires consistent effort over time
• No guarantees
How can SEO work for your business?
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
The 7 Secrets Every Business
Must Know…
1. It all starts with keywords
• Knowing your target keywords is your first step
• Choose your battles
• Don‟t spread yourself too thin
2. Content is King
• Search engines “feed” on content
• Train Google to keep crawling and indexing your site
• Don‟t worry about keywords; just keep things relevant (most of
the time)
• “Naturally” include your keywords in your content
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
3. Have an active social media presence
• Social is becoming more important to search engines
• Add sharing buttons to your website to promote sharing!
“[The] lines of SEO and Social Media continue to be blurred”
(Jen Lopez, Community Manager at SEOMoz)
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
4. Get links from other high value
sites
• A link is like a vote for your site
• Some votes matter more than others
• More links = GOOD
5. VIDEO!
• Google LOVES video!
• Roll the camera regularly!
• Use your keywords in the video and the video title
6. Channels refer to major “authority”
sites
• Examples include:
- YouTube
- Amazon
- Craig‟s List
- Pinterest
- Et. Al
• Get your content on them
• They will rank!
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
7. If you are local, optimize for local
• Include local keywords throughout content and site
• Add your local address to your site
• Add your local phone number
• Get listed in all local directories
• Create local videos
• Get links from local organizations and businesses
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
*BONUS SECRET*
8. Create content for people
• Not for search engines
• If people like your content, Google will take note…
• Make it personal-share your story
*BONUS SECRET*
9. Be consistent over time
• SEO is a marathon, not a sprint
Example
Example
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
Frequently Asked
Questions
Is SEO a good marketing strategy for
my particular business?
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
How much time will I need to spend
each week on SEO?
How can I avoid common mistakes that
businesses make with SEO?
How important is keyword research?
How important is link building?
Should I hire an SEO consultant to do
all of this stuff for me?
If I‟m redesigning my website, when
should I start thinking about SEO?
What things will get me in trouble with
the search engines?
If I hire someone, how can I be sure
they won‟t use black hat techniques?
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
How else can I improve my rank?
• Ask Google for advice!*
• Keep things “white hat” in nature
• Install Google Analytics on your site (if you haven‟t already)
*Google’s Webmaster Guidelines tell you virtually everything you need to know.
SEO: Not a Slam Dunk
1. Time commitment ($)
2. Complexity
3. Content creation
4. Established competition (breaking in)
5. Link building (can be laborious, slow)
6. Time required to achieve results
7. Finding consultants you can trust
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
SEO: It‟s worth it!
• The ROI of SEO is well documented
• A highly ranked website works 24/7, when your sales team is
asleep
• A well-ranked website is a very sellable asset
Small biz survey
“If you had to put all your marketing time and
budget into only one channel, what would it be?”
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
Survey says…
Answer: SEO!
SEO is considered the single most important
marketing channel for SMBs.
(MerchantCircle/Reply.com survey of 2,500 US
small businesses)
Questions?
We’d love to help.
• Just get in touch!
www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
(213) 607-9100

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The 7 Secrets Every Business Must Know

  • 1. SEO Uncovered: The 7 Secrets Every Business Must Know to LEGALLY STEAL Floods of FREE Google Traffic From Your Competition www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 2. What is SEO? Search en gine opt i mi za tion (noun) Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of improving the visibility of a website or a web page in search engines via the unpaid (“natural” or “organic”) search results.
  • 4. SEO is inbound marketing • Getting your products and services in front of prospective customers at the moment they are actively looking • SEO doesn‟t interrupt • With SEO you are earning and building trust
  • 5. Misconceptions • SEO is free marketing! • SEO doesn‟t work • SEO is black magic • SEO is rocket science • SEO is illegal www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 6. REALITY: SEO is a legitimate marketing strategy practiced by almost all of the world‟s most successful companies www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 7. Who cares? • There are over two billion people online • 93% of online experiences begin with a search engine • The majority of web traffic is driven by the „Big Three‟ search engines-Google, Bing and Yahoo (Search Engine Journal) www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 8. Who cares? • 77% of search engine users choose organic over paid listings1 • 67% choose organic search engine results when purchasing2 • Organic click-through generates 25% higher conversion rates than PPC3 (1,2,3 Search Metrics) www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 9. High rankings in the search engines are VERY valuable!
  • 11. Keyword phrase: “Auto Insurance” www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 13. Keyword phrase: “Auto Insurance” Search volume = 110,000 CPC = $66.31 Total value = $6,964,100 www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 14. Traffic by Google Ranking
  • 15. Keyword phrase: “Auto Insurance” Search volume = 110,000 CPC = $66.31 Total value = $6,964,100 x 42% = $2,924,922 in organic traffic monthly!
  • 16. Benefits of SEO • Boost website traffic • Increase visibility among target audience • Build relationships and influence • Increase conversions (subscribers, members, etc.) • Increase sales (gain new customers0 • Measurable results • The big guys can‟t out bid you!
  • 17. Downsides of SEO • Can be slow to get results • Somewhat our of your control • Requires consistent effort over time • No guarantees
  • 18. How can SEO work for your business? www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 19. The 7 Secrets Every Business Must Know…
  • 20. 1. It all starts with keywords • Knowing your target keywords is your first step • Choose your battles • Don‟t spread yourself too thin
  • 21. 2. Content is King • Search engines “feed” on content • Train Google to keep crawling and indexing your site • Don‟t worry about keywords; just keep things relevant (most of the time) • “Naturally” include your keywords in your content www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 22. 3. Have an active social media presence • Social is becoming more important to search engines • Add sharing buttons to your website to promote sharing! “[The] lines of SEO and Social Media continue to be blurred” (Jen Lopez, Community Manager at SEOMoz)
  • 24. 4. Get links from other high value sites • A link is like a vote for your site • Some votes matter more than others • More links = GOOD
  • 25. 5. VIDEO! • Google LOVES video! • Roll the camera regularly! • Use your keywords in the video and the video title
  • 26. 6. Channels refer to major “authority” sites • Examples include: - YouTube - Amazon - Craig‟s List - Pinterest - Et. Al • Get your content on them • They will rank! www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 27.
  • 28. 7. If you are local, optimize for local • Include local keywords throughout content and site • Add your local address to your site • Add your local phone number • Get listed in all local directories • Create local videos • Get links from local organizations and businesses www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 29. *BONUS SECRET* 8. Create content for people • Not for search engines • If people like your content, Google will take note… • Make it personal-share your story
  • 30. *BONUS SECRET* 9. Be consistent over time • SEO is a marathon, not a sprint
  • 34. Is SEO a good marketing strategy for my particular business? www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 35. How much time will I need to spend each week on SEO?
  • 36. How can I avoid common mistakes that businesses make with SEO?
  • 37. How important is keyword research?
  • 38. How important is link building?
  • 39. Should I hire an SEO consultant to do all of this stuff for me?
  • 40. If I‟m redesigning my website, when should I start thinking about SEO?
  • 41. What things will get me in trouble with the search engines?
  • 42. If I hire someone, how can I be sure they won‟t use black hat techniques? www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 43. How else can I improve my rank? • Ask Google for advice!* • Keep things “white hat” in nature • Install Google Analytics on your site (if you haven‟t already) *Google’s Webmaster Guidelines tell you virtually everything you need to know.
  • 44. SEO: Not a Slam Dunk 1. Time commitment ($) 2. Complexity 3. Content creation 4. Established competition (breaking in) 5. Link building (can be laborious, slow) 6. Time required to achieve results 7. Finding consultants you can trust www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 45. SEO: It‟s worth it! • The ROI of SEO is well documented • A highly ranked website works 24/7, when your sales team is asleep • A well-ranked website is a very sellable asset
  • 46. Small biz survey “If you had to put all your marketing time and budget into only one channel, what would it be?” www.losangeleswebstrategies.com
  • 47. Survey says… Answer: SEO! SEO is considered the single most important marketing channel for SMBs. (MerchantCircle/Reply.com survey of 2,500 US small businesses)
  • 49. We’d love to help. • Just get in touch! www.losangeleswebstrategies.com (213) 607-9100