AdWords is Google’s flagship advertising product which offers pay-per-click (PPC) and site-targeted advertising for text, banner and rich-media ads. In this session you will get basic overview of the AdWords and how to use it to better optimize your advertisement on the internet and get more leads from your web site.
Transcript: #StandardsGoals for 2024: What’s new for BISAC - Tech Forum 2024
Google Ad words
1. Google Confidential and Proprietary 1
AdWords – Key Concepts
Search Advertising 101
Filip Hracek
Account Strategist
2. Google Confidential and Proprietary 2
Content
1 Key Concepts of AdWords
2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search
3 The Google Display Network
4 Q & A
6. Google Confidential and Proprietary 6
Why is search impotant?
87%of visitors to a website come from search engines
source: Google internal
7. Google Confidential and Proprietary 7
Buying a new
laptop
laptop
How does marketing via Google work?
8. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google.com => Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary 8
One search box
for all questions…
Web results
Video results
(Steve’s famous Stanford
commencement speech)
News results
(Articles about Steve and Apple)
News archives
Images
9. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Online consumers use keywords to search for information
Google Search… and ads
10. Google Confidential and Proprietary
flights to barcelona
Online consumers use keywords to search for information.
Google Search… and ads… our core business
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Headline: 25 characters
Description line 1: 35 characters
Description line 2: 35 characters
Display URL: 35 characters
Destination URL: 1024 characters
11. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Where do the ads show?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
12. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Search Property
13. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Search Partner
Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
14. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Search Partners in Europe
NorwayNetherlands
Belgium
Germany
ItalySpain
France
Portugal Turkey
UK
Switzerland
Denmark
Finland
Poland
Czech Republic
Bulgaria
Austria
15. Google Confidential and Proprietary
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Content Property
Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
16. Google Confidential and Proprietary
AdSense site
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Content Partner
Ads are contextually matched to the theme of the page
AdWords Ads
17. Google Confidential and Proprietary 17
Contextual & placement targeting
Keyword / Contextual Targeting
Uses your keywords to match the theme
of your Ad Group to the theme of
content pages
1
2 ‘Placement’ targeting
The advertiser specifies the websites that
they want to show their ads on.
18. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Largest global advertising network
The Google Content Network UK
• Reach over 80% of Internet Users
• 1 Billion Daily Ad Exposures
• 27 Million Monthly Visitors
• Thousands of Publishers
Source: comScore Custom Analysis, Nov 07
20. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Search engine marketing
20
Search engine marketing
can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.
relevant
targeted
measurable
inexpensive
irrelevant
too broad
“spontaneous”
expensive
21. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Search engine marketing
21
Books at Amazon
Millions of titles, new & used.
Free 2-Day Shipping w/Amazon Prime!
Amazon.com/books
BOOQ Laptop bags
Vypers, Boas, Pythons, Mambas
We’ve got them all. Fast shipping!
www.pivotgear.com
Search engine marketing
can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.
22. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)
23. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)
Charged up to max CPC
24. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Ranking formula
CPC – Cost per Click
CTR – The ratio of the number of times an ad is clicked divided by the number of times an ad is viewed (Impressions)
Max CPC
AdWords is based on an auction designed to reward relevance
25. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Ad rank = maximum CPC x Quality Score
£2.50 x 6 = 15
£2 x 6 = 12
£3 x 3.5 = 10.5
£5 x 2 = 10
£2 x 4 = 8
£2 x 3.5 = 7
£0.5 x 8 = 4
26. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Rewarding relevance
£2.50 x 6 = 15
£3 x 3.5 = 10.5
£5 x 2 = 10
27. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Rewarding relevance through Quality Score
QS determined by:
• Click-through-rate (CTR)
• Relevance of ad text to keyword
• Historical keyword performance
• Landing page assessment
• Other relevancy factors
28. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Science of Search
Maximise profitable results from Google Search
29. Google Confidential and Proprietary
The Google Account Structure
AdWords account
Campaign Campaign
Ad group Ad group Ad group
Keywords Keywords Keywords
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad
Text
Ad group level
• CPC bids
Campaign level
• Daily budget
• Country and language targeting
• Network options
• Start and end dates
Keyword level
• Keyword CPCs
• Keyword URLs
• Position preferences
Keywords
Ad group
Account Level
• Login Details
• Billing information
30. Google Confidential and Proprietary 30
Account Limits
Level Limits
Active Campaigns 25
Ad Groups/Campaign 100
Keywords/Ad Group 2,000
Text ad/Ad Group No limit
Images/Account 50
Overall Account Keyword Limit 50,000
31. Google Confidential and Proprietary 31
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
32. Google Confidential and Proprietary 32
Landing Page Quality
Search: Cheap Holidays
• Easy to navigate
• Relevant to ad text
• Unique content
• Display product details
Cheap Holidays
Great deals on all destinations.
Lowest prices in the UK guaranteed!
www.holidays.com
33. Google Confidential and Proprietary 33
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
34. Google Confidential and Proprietary 34
Structuring Ad Groups
Create separate ad groups/campaigns for:
• Specific themes
• Best selling products
• Brand/Company
• Products/Services
• Long-tail traffic
Ideas for structures:
• Match the website
• Match the products you sell
• Organise by brand
35. Google Confidential and Proprietary 35
Official Google Products
Great prices on Google
Merchandise – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Beach towel
Google towels
Golf umbrella
Google umbrella
Google golf kit
Golf accessories
Blue umbrella
Travel mug
Flask
Google flask
Alarm clock
Alarm clocks
Google clock
Google beach towels
Blue travel flask
Lava lamp
Google lava lamps
Travel alarm clock
Red clock
Golf umbrellas
Usb stick
Usb drive
Google backpacks
Laptop backpacks
Laptop bag
Google rucksacks
Laptop case
Google pens
Google pencils
Mouse pad
Mini mouse
Usb extender
Pen sets
Google speaker
Vase speaker
Small computer mouse
Google mouse
Memory stick
Google office equipment
Modem cord
Cycling jersey
Cycling top
Google hoody
Google hoodie
Grey hooded top
Google hooded jumper
Hooded tops
Cycling clothing
Google clothing
Arm warmer
Google tshirt
Google t-shirt
Google t shirt
Tracksuit bottoms
Jogging top
Baseball cap
Google hat
Fleece vest
White t-shirt
Polo shirts
Group Keywords
36. Google Confidential and Proprietary 36
Beach towel
Google towels
Golf umbrella
Google umbrella
Google golf kit
Golf accessories
Blue umbrella
Travel mug
Flask
Google flask
Alarm clock
Alarm clocks
Google clock
Google beach towels
Blue travel flask
Lava lamp
Google lava lamps
Travel alarm clock
Red clock
Golf umbrellas
Usb stick
Usb drive
Google backpacks
Laptop backpacks
Laptop bag
Google rucksacks
Laptop case
Google pens
Google pencils
Mouse pad
Mini mouse
Usb extender
Pen sets
Google speaker
Vase speaker
Small computer mouse
Google mouse
Memory stick
Google office equipment
Modem cord
Cycling jersey
Cycling top
Google hoody
Google hoodie
Grey hooded top
Google hooded jumper
Hooded tops
Cycling clothing
Google clothing
Arm warmer
Google tshirt
Google t-shirt
Google t shirt
Tracksuit bottoms
Jogging top
Baseball cap
Google hat
Fleece vest
White t-shirt
Polo shirts
Group Keywords - Better
Google Accessories
Great prices on Google
Accessories – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google Office Equipment
Great prices on Google
Office Equipment – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google Wearables
Great prices on Google
Clothing and gear – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
37. Google Confidential and Proprietary 37
Group Keywords - Best
Google Beach Towel
Great prices on Google
Beach Towels – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Beach towel
Google towels
Google Bike Jersey
Great prices on Google
Bike Shorts – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Cycling jersey
Cycling top
Google USB Stick
Great prices on Google
USB Sticks – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Usb drive
Usb sticks
Google Golf Umbrellas
Great prices on Google
Golf Umbrellas – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Golf umbrella
Google umbrella
Google golf kit
Golf accessories
Blue umbrella
Google Laptop Backpacks
Great prices on Google
Laptop Backpacks – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google backpacks
Laptop backpacks
Laptop bag
Google rucksacks
Laptop case
Google Hoodie
Great prices on Stylish
Google Hoodies – Shop now!
www.googlestore.com
Google hoody
Google hoodie
Grey hooded top
Google hooded jumper
Hooded tops
38. Google Confidential and Proprietary 38
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
39. Google Confidential and Proprietary 39
Keyword Matching Options
Match
Type
How it must be
entered in AdWords
The ad will
show when
The ad will show when a
user types the following
Broad Caribbean Cruise
All words containing this
word or combination of
words in any order is used
as the query
Caribbean holiday Cruises
Cruise holiday in the
Caribbean
Phrase “Caribbean Cruise”
Keywords are typed in the
exact order specified. But
have other words before or
after
Cheap Caribbean Cruise
Caribbean Cruise deals
Luxury Caribbean Cruise
Exact [Caribbean Cruise]
Keywords must be only &
exactly what the user
types in
Caribbean Cruise
Negative
Also
Negative
Phrase, &
Negative
Exact
- Tom
- “Tom Cruise”
- [Tom Cruise]
Ads will not appear when
this search term is entered in
the query
Add will not show if
someone types:
Tom Cruise
40. Google Confidential and Proprietary 40
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
41. Google Confidential and Proprietary 41
Choose all the right keywords
• Core terms
• Root & stem model
• Singular & plural
• Common misspellings (separate ad group)
42. Google Confidential and Proprietary 42
General Rules on Keyword Selection
What you don’t need to consider What you need to bear in mind
• Keywords case (upper/lower)
Upper and lower case variations are not
counted as separate keywords
• Plurals may not be included in
match types
• Replication of keywords will lead to
self-competition
• Variations on accents not included
• Misspellings not included
43. Google Confidential and Proprietary 43
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
44. Google Confidential and Proprietary 44
Writing Ad Text
Be specific!
• Refer to USPs
• Refer to location if needed
• Use Dynamic Keyword Insertion
Create a Specific Ad Title
• Have a brand presence
• Include your best performing
KW’s in the ad’s title.
Create Multiple ads and test, tweak & test
45. Google Confidential and Proprietary 45
1. USPs: special offers, free / fast delivery
2. Brand
3. Prices
4. Calls to Action
5. 2 – 4 creatives per ad group → auto-
optimization
6. Dynamic Keyword Insertion
Buy Google Beach Towel
White cotton towel with full colour
Google logo. Buy for under £15!
www.googlestore.com/uk
64MB Google USB Drive
Sleek, silver-tone USB thumb drive
Ultra-portable. Only £15 – Buy now!
www.googlestore.com/uk
Buy Google USB Drive
64MB USB drive with Google logo
Free delivery within 3 working days
www.googlestore.com/uk
{KeyWord:Google Memory Stick}
64MB, ultra-portable USB drive
Buy now at Google’s Official Store
www.googlestore.com/uk
Official Google Towels
100% 2-ply woven cotton beach towel
36”x70” with Google logo. Buy now!
www.googlestore.com/uk
{KeyWord:Google Towels}
100% cotton heavyweight beach towel
Receive 25% discount on 3 or more!
www.googlestore.com/uk
Hot tips for Creatives
46. Google Confidential and Proprietary 46
{KeyWord:Google Products}
Great prices on Google
Merchandise – Shop now!
www.GoogleStore.com
Cycling jersey
Cycling top
Google hoody
Google hoodie
Grey hooded top
Google red logo hooded jumper
Hooded tops
Cycling clothing
Google clothing
Arm warmer
Google tshirt
Google t-shirt
Google t shirt
Tracksuit bottoms
Jogging top
Baseball cap
Dynamic Keyword Insertion
• Use the appropriate format:
{KeyWord: Default Text}
Upper case will determine format of
inserted keyword.
Default text will be displayed when
keyword isn’t allowed (e.g.
character restriction)
48. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Differentiate budgets by category of product / service
Measure performance (CPA) by product category and
adjust budgets and bids to meet your goals
Campaign A Campaign B
BudgetProfit BudgetProfit
49. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position
• Typically Click Through Rate (CTR)
increases with position
• As CTR increases, more customers
come to your site from the same
number of impressions
• Work out the highest profitable
position for your ad text to achieve
target volume and profit
50. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Budget for maximum return
Users search and convert at all times of day, every day of the week, and every
month of the year. As long as they are searching for you or your products,
you should always be found
The most efficient way of doing this is to raise your budgets and control
your spend through CPC bidding
52. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Bid according to marketing goal
CPC
for conversions
CPM
for branding
CPMs needs to be high enough to win the auction for placement on a selected
site as they compete with CPC automatic placements, they are therefore the most powerful
bidding option for branding campaigns with the goal of visibility vs. clicks.
53. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Know the value of a click / impression
PC World
Pink laptop
Coloured
Laptop
Dell
PC World
Cheap
Laptops
Laptops
Currys
Tablet Laptops
Toshiba
Portege
m400-11h
PCWorld
Laptops
Laptops
Coloured
Laptops
Pink Laptops
Comet
0 15 22 26 30 37 43 47 48 62 66
PCWorld
Dell
DealTime
Amazon
PCWorld
Dell
Shopping.com
eBay
Comet
Kelkoo
Pixmania
Dixons
eBay
Pixmania
Bizrate
MicroDirect
Misco
Currys
Amazon
Bizrate
Dell
Lenovo
Toshiba
PCWorld
Dell
Ebuyer
Comet
Currys
PCWorld
Sony Style
Nextag
Dell
Pixmania
eBay
PCWorld
PriceRunner
ebuyer
From “PC World” to laptop purchase at ebuyer in 66 days
First Search Purchase
VisitsSearchesDays
54. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Know the value of a click / impression
Last click attribution undervalues crucial ‘assist’ clicks
All the glory All the work
AssistLast click conversion
56. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Use multiple creatives
Running 2-4 creatives can yield the
optimal CTR for your account as
AdWords can assess the
best performing ads and
give them priority
57. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Tailor your ad text to the user’s needs
Ad texts are your chance to attract customers as well as set realistic
expectations as to what the user will find if they click through to your site.
Book London Flights
Great savings to be made on flights
Out of London. Limited time only.
www.londonflightsite.co.uk
Call To Action Special Offer
Save On Holidays
Latest discounts, codes & offers!
Up to 40% off high street prices
www.holidaysite.com/specialoffer
Prices
Buy DVDs Online
Get top box-sets and all the
Latest movies from just £9.99
www.dvdstoresite.co.uk
Dynamic Keyword Insertion (DKI)
Low Apr Credit Cards
Get 16.9% typical APR variable when
You apply online, plus rewards
www.creditsite.co.uk/cards
58. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Keep trialling different creatives
User behaviour is dynamic and responsive to many external factors, e.g.:
offline messaging, current affairs, the economic environment.
Changing your creative message at regular intervals allows you to showcase
different product USPs and to differentiate yourself from the competition.
Trialling different creatives allows the creative to remain dynamic and may lead to
uplifts in CTR (Click Through Rate).
Book London Flights
Great savings to be made on flights
Out of London. Limited time only.
www.advertisera.co.uk
Save On Holidays
Latest discounts, codes & offers!
Up to 40% off high street prices
www.advertisera.com/specialoffer
59. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Mirror your website to structure your AdWords account
AdWords Campaign
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Website
62. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Key Takeaways
Add more keywords
Always check for new keywords.
Match your ads to your website and advertising content
Monitor your site and conversion activity to determine value of keywords
Optimize bids and daily budgets
Differentiate budgets by category of product / service
Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position
Budget for maximum return
Optimise creatives and structure
Use multiple creatives
Tailor your ads to the consumers needs
Copy your website structure when building campaign structure
63. Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Display Network
The Performance Network
The Performance Network
64. What is the Google Display Network?
YouTube and Google Sites Doubleclick Ad Exchange Partner Sites
Sites Games Social Media VideoFeeds Mobile
65. The Biggest Ad Network in UK*
84%
83% 83%
82%
79%
74% 74%
73%
68%
64%
Google Content
Network
Microso: Media
Network
AOL AdverAsing
(AdverAsing.com)
Yahoo! Network Specific Media 24/7 Real Media Unanimis
Network Aggregate
ValueClick Media
(vcmedia)
TradeDoubler Adconion Media
Group
*By Unique Users
Source: Comscore Media Metirx UK, April 2010
84% Internet User Reach
36M Monthly Unique Users
453 Average Impressions per User per Month
Hundreds of thousands of sites
66. No penalties
for late submission or campaign
withdrawals
No contracts
ever
No premiums
on different formats (like image, video,
rich-media) OR remarketing
Price set by market
Ensures that you only pay the minimum
needed for your ad position; No fixed, inflated
pricing, you chose the level to start off at
You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
67. Precise targeting to reach your goals
Contextual Targeting
Placement Targeting
Remarketing
Where They Are Where They Have Been
Category Targeting
68. Contextual Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on the content they’re reading using the
most powerful contextual technology in the world
Google uses
keywords and
themes to find the
right placements,
showing your ads
on pages that are
the most suitable
match for your
message
69. Category Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on our categorisation of thousands of sites
Choose from over 600 categories
Luxury Goods
Luxury Auto Sites Travel Sites
Golf Sites
70. Placement Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on specific sites on the Google Display Network
You can select
specific web
pages, online
videos, games,
RSS feeds, and
mobile sites to
show your ads
AdPlanner allows
you to search for
specific sites
based on the
audience that you
are targeting
71. Remarketing
97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target
those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site.
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
72. Remarketing
‘Our largest finance client has seen
tremendous results from the GDN for a long
time now. We were one of the first to use
Google's remarketing technology, and it has
been a boon to the operation. It has taken
the overall performance to another level.’
Jessica Bender
Digital Campaign Manager, PHD
97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target
those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site.
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
73. Remarketing drove the highest conversion rate and the lowest CPA for
Nexus One Display Campaign
• Conversion rate for remarketing was 2.3x higher
than the account average and CPA was 2.4x lower
• Display ads performed the best. Remarketing
display had 3.2x higher conversion rate than the
account average for display.
• Due to high performance, the team roughly tripled
the remarketing budget in 3 months
Remarketing Case Study
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
74. Google Display Network
Our recommended solution for your marketing need
Direct Response Branding
Goal
• Drive Purchase, Downloads,
Sign-ups and Leads
• Create Awareness
• Generate Interest
Targeting
• Category Targeting
• Contextual Targeting
• Remarketing
• Placement Targeting
• Category Targeting
Bidding • CPC • CPM
Ad Format
• Text
• Image, Promoted Video
• Rich Media
• Image and CTP Video
• Rich Media
• InStream Video
How to get started today
1. Speak to your Display Sales representative about your campaign
2. Let us suggest the best way to access the network based on your objectives
3. We will help to build and execute an amazing campaign on the UK’s biggest ad-network!
75. Add a different quote
We use the Google Display Network for one of
our largest Direct Response advertisers and it
is consistently one of the best performing
networks on our plan.
Tamara Cross
Strategy Director, MG OMD
76. Google Confidential and Proprietary 76
Content
1 Key Concepts of AdWords
2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search
3 The Google Display Network
4 Q & A
80. Our Vision for Display Advertising
Performance OpenSimplify
81. Buyer logs in to AdWords
or DFA, and specifies
desired inventory or reviews
available opportunities
Seller makes inventory
eligible for purchase
An auction matches each piece of eligible inventory
to the highest bidding buyer. Alternately, buyers may
purchase reserved
Ad Exchange – What is it?
Ad ExchangeMedia Buyer Publisher
Auction
83. Overview of Targeting Options
Targeting Option How to use it When to use it
Available Ad
Formats
Goal
Contextual
Targeting
Select keywords to target
ads to web content
You want to reach people
engaged with pages
focused on particular topic
Text, Image, Flash, Click-
to-play video, 3PAS, Local
business
Direct Response
Placement
Targeting
Manually select
placements on pages
where you want your ads
to appear
You want to reach a
targeted audience in a
specific set of
environments
Text, Image, Flash, Click-
to-play video, InStream
Video, InVideo, 3PAS
Branding
Category
Targeting
Select categories to target
ads to groups of web
pages with content
focused on a specific
subject
You want to reach a broad
audience interested in
certain types of content
Text, Image, Flash, Click-
to-play video, 3PAS
Branding,
Direct Response
Remarketing
Target people who visited
your website but didn’t
convert
You want to reconnect to
build brand loyalty and
cement your brand
message
Text, Image, Flash, Click-
to-play video, 3PAS
Direct Response &
Longer-term branding
84. Audience Selection
DoubleClick AdPlanner
AdWords Placement Tool
YouTube Video Targeting Tool
Find relevant Sites & Videos
AdWords Keyword Tool
Search-Based Keyword Tool
Google Wonder Wheel
Develop keyword themes
Google Insights for Search
DoubleClick AdPlanner
GDN Planning tool
Find insights about your audience
Plan your
campaigns with
the largest data set
of audience behavior
on the internet
85. • Target people who have visited your website but didn’t convert
• Re-advertise to these people with a different message
• Bring them back to your website - engage them again
• 97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit*
• Target them on a network with more reach, scale & efficiency than any other
• 84% of the UK online population can be reached on the Google Display Network
• You only target hot prospects that have previously engaged with your site
• No premium for Remarketing on the Google Display Network
*Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Remarketing
86. Step 3: Start serving ads to your hot prospects
• Create Text, Display or Video ads
• Ads should be designed to persuade hot prospects to return
• Upload ads to AdWords
• Set the cost you are prepared to pay to get them to return (CPC)
• Check if you want to exclude any sites, categories or topics
• Go live!
Step 1: Set clear objective and tag your site
• Start with a simple strategy
• “Homepage” and “Thank You” page are a good place to begin
• Google Account Manager will email you 2 tags (a few lines of code)
• Copy and paste the tags onto the two pages
• You’re now collecting hot prospects!
Step 4: Reap rewards and scale up
• Test, learn and scale
Step 2: Google collects a hot prospects list
• Tags drop cookies on “Homepage” and “Thank You” page visitors
• Within 48h Google creates a list of visitor cookies for each site
• “Homepage” list - “Thank You” page list = “Hot prospects” list
• These hot prospects visited your Homepage but didn’t convert
Remarketing / How does it work
87. Control the Environment with Brand Safety Features
Negative Keywords
Use keywords to prevent your sites from appearing on
particular themes of page content.
Site, Topic & Category Exclusions
Prevent your ads from appearing on specific sites or
types of Google Display Network pages.
Above the Fold Targeting
Exclude placements that may appear in a lower part
of a website requiring the user to scroll.
Ad Planner 1000
Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers that
are one of the largest 1000 publishers on the web.
Brand Select Filter
Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers
algorithmically determined by Google as brand safe
based on site quality.
Target IASH Bundle*
Target an IASH approved bundle of sites on the
Google Display Network using Category Targeting.
* IASH bundle not yet available for targeting
89. Full set of creative options to engage with users
Ad Format Sizes
Standard Image
(JPG or GIF)
Standard Flash
Rich Media Flash
In-Unit Video
Click-to-play
Video Ads
Banner: 468 x 60
Square: 250 x 250
Small Square: 200 x 200
Leaderboard: 728 x 90
Medium Rectangle: 300 x 250
Large Rectangle: 336 x 280
Skyscraper: 120 x 600
Wide Skyscraper: 160 x 600
91. You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
CPCCPM
What?
Pay whenever the
ad appears
Pay when users click
trough to your site
When?
Campaigns in which you care
about visibility and track metrics
such as impressions, reach,
frequency and search uplift
Campaigns in which you care
about clicks and track metrics such
as sales, leads and sign ups
The auction system guarantees the best possible price
Conversion tracking and optimisation products are available at no extra cost
92. Real-time Reporting and Controls to Maximize Results
Automate Optimization
• Set your maximum CPA –
let Conversion Optimizer
do the rest
• On average, a 21%
increase in conversions and
a 14% decrease in CPA*
• Provide creative, budget and
target CPA and let Auto
Optimizer* drive
conversions
• Bid more on what works
• Exclude what doesn’t work
• Focus on profitable demos
• Invest more in profitable hours
• Manage frequency,
maximize reach
Optimize Manually
* Source: Google Internal Analysis. This analysis compares the performance of Conversion Optimizer campaigns with a control set of
campaigns and represents the average impact of Conversion Optimizer. The actual impact will vary from campaign to campaign.
Get daily
reports on:
Site by site performance
Reach and Frequency
Conversions
95. Google Display Network Sites
Sample categories
Travel
Source: Google AdPlanner, Oct 2010, UK
Entertainment & Games News & Classified
Health & Beauty Finance Communities