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Digital Download
Thursday, 2 October 2008


Dominique Hind
http://dominiquehind.wordpress.com
Before we start
 Who is the single largest music retailer on the planet?
           Apple                            A Computer Company

 Who is the worlds largest camera manufacturer ?
           Nokia                            A Mobile Phone Manufacturer

 Who represents the largest threat to the Television & Movie Industries?
           Hulu & Joost                     Online networks

 Who is the largest & fastest growing media company on the planet?
           Google                           A Search Engine

 Who has the 5th largest GDP on the Planet?
           eBay
Before we start
 I email useful information to colleagues

 I send photos to friends

 I use instant messenger

 I have participated in a poll

 I have submitted a book review on Amazon

 I have submitted seller feedback on ebay

 I read or contribute to discussion groups

 I contribute personal opinions to websites

 I write my own blog

 I create multimedia content & put it on the internet
Today

1.    Short introduction to the Internet
2.    Customers online: a paradigm shift
3.    Advertising today
4.    Online advertising
5.    Search consumption (SEM & SEO)
6.    Blogs
7.    Social networks
8.    Website
9.    Email                         Not covering
                                    - Mobile
10.   Benchmarks & ROI              - RSS
11.   Top 3 online trends           - Indepth web development
                                    - Driving traffic (social marketing)
A short history of the internet
In the beginning……

                 Geeks




     Military            Academics
Tim Berners-Lee

The first
Browser
 1990




            The first
            website
             1991
The First Banner Ad

 When:             October 1994
 Where:            HotWired
 Size:             468 x 60 pixels
 Client:           AT&T
 Copy:
 Have you ever clicked your mouse right here? You will.
User-friendly browser

 When:       1995
 What:       Netscape launched
 Why:        Easy platform to search the Internet
The Madness….
Increased Online Focus
What else is happening?

 1,463,632,361 internet users globally
   (www.InternetWorldStats.com 30 June 2007)


 100,316,360 TDL domains registered
   (http://www.zooknic.com/Domains/counts.html 15 April 2008)


 2,869,632 blogs registered through authoring tools
   (http://www.blogcensus.net 29 September 2008)
Internet usage by region
Internet penetration by region
Online Delivering Big Numbers

                                                             As at Feb 2008:

                                                                Active Digital Universe:
                                                                10,927,000

                                                                Accessing Broadband at Home:
                                                                9,395,296

                                                                Ave Time Spent Online p/m:
                                                               19 hrs : 43 min : 02 sec



Source: Nielsen Online NetView Home and Work February 2008
No. of Home Access Users
                                                                                            Monthly Time Online (hh:mm:ss)




                                                              0:00:00
                                                                        2:24:00
                                                                                  4:48:00
                                                                                             7:12:00
                                                                                                         9:36:00
                                                                                                                   12:00:00
                                                                                                                              14:24:00
                                                                                                                                         16:48:00
                                                                                                                                                               19:12:00
                                                                                                                                                                          21:36:00
                                                                                                                                                                                     0:00:00
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            0
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       1,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               2,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 3,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   4,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      5,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  6,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              7,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          8,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            9,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              10,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            11,000,000
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            12,000,000
                                                    Jan-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jan-05
                                                    Feb-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Feb-05
                                                    Mar-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Mar-05
                                                    Apr-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Apr-05
                                                    May-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        May-05
                                                    Jun-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Jun-05
                                                     Jul-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Jul-05
                                                    Aug-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Aug-05
                                                    Sep-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Sep-05
                                                    Oct-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Oct-05
                                                    Nov-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Nov-05
                                                    Dec-05                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Dec-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jan-06
                                                    Jan-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Feb-06
                                                    Feb-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Mar-06
                                                    Mar-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Apr-06
                                                    Apr-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  May-06
                                                    May-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jun-06
                                                    Jun-06                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Jul-06
                                                     Jul-06                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Aug-06




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Month
                                                    Aug-06                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Sep-06
                                                    Sep-06                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Oct-06
                                                    Oct-06                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Nov-06
                                                    Nov-06                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Dec-06
                                                    Dec-06                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Jan-07




                                                                                                                                                                                               Time Spent per Month
                                                    Jan-07                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Feb-07




Source: Nielsen Online NetView Home February 2008
                                                    Feb-07                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Mar-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Apr-07
                                                    Mar-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  May-07
                                                    Apr-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jun-07
                                                    May-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Jul-07
                                                    Jun-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Aug-07
                                                     Jul-07                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Sep-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Home Broadband Penetration Australia - from January 2005




                                                    Aug-07                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Oct-07
                                                    Sep-07                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Nov-07
                                                    Oct-07                                                                                                                                                            Average Time Spent Online per Month. January 2005 - February 2008           Dec-07
                                                    Nov-07                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Jan-08
                                                    Dec-07                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Feb-08                                                                                                                                                  9,395,296
                                                    Jan-08




                                                                                                                                                    19:43:02
                                                    Feb-08




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               % of Home Access Users
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            0%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            10%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           20%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             30%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     40%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  50%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   60%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      70%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        80%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           90%
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            100%




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jan-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Feb-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Mar-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Apr-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              May-05
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                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Jul-05
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                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Oct-05
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                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Dec-05
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jan-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Feb-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Mar-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Australian Time Spent Online




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Apr-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              May-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jun-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Jul-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Aug-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Month




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Sep-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Oct-06
                                                                                                            penetration




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Nov-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Dec-06
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jan-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Feb-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Mar-07
                                                                                                        growth in broadband




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Apr-07
                                                                                                       Increasing in line with
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 homes connected to the Internet .




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              May-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Broadband = access speed > 56K.




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jun-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Jul-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Aug-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 all active Internet Users within Australian
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Nielsen Online: Broadband penetration of




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Sep-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Home Broadband Penetration Australia - from January 2005




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Oct-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Nov-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Dec-07
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Jan-08
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   89.80%




                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Feb-08
Consumers online
A paradigm shift
Evolution of the online consumer




     ‘New to Net’
                              Communications         Services            Retail    Contributor
        User
   First activities           Email              Online banking   CDs/Books        Blogs
   Get to know ISP            Message services   Simple travel    Complex travel   Comments & posting
   Information search         Photo sharing      Lodge tax        eBay             Customer reviews
   LOTS of time browsing      Social networks    Book concerts    Groceries        Ratings




Source: Nielsen//NetRatings
Young consumers more active online




           Common features:
           1. User-generated content over
              corporate content
           2. Communities
           3. Music
           4. Keeping in touch
Older consumers are functional




          Common features:
          1. Information rich
          2. News
          3. Staying in touch
Consumers ecosystems
Users are more than just users




Source: http://darmano.typepad.com/
Kids are growing up with technology

           The top five online chores for 8-14 year olds:
                  38% share pictures & emails with relatives
                  38% get movie listings
                  36% invitations & party planning stuff
                  36% plan vacations/travel
                  35% get driving directions
                  14% helped their parents prepare their income tax return




Source: YPulse Friday, 11 May 2007
Tween & teen online behaviour
      Globally, the average young person connected to digital technology has:
             94 phone numbers in his or her mobile phone.
             78 people on a messenger buddy list &
             86 people in his or her social networking community.
      Digi-kids are not geeks
             59% of 8 to 14 yrs still prefer their TV to their PCs
             Only 20% of 14 to 24 yrs globally admitted to being quot;interestedquot; in technology.
      Climate impacts on digital technology.
             In countries with a strong outdoor culture, such as Italy, Brazil & Australia, young
             people use mobiles for arranging to meet, flirt & take pictures of their friends.
      Online activity
             70% said the first thing they did after turning on their computer was to check IM.
             14-17 girls spend the least time online -- 21 hrs/wk
             22-24 males spent the most time online -- 31 hrs/wk
             100% of those surveyed said they communicate every time they go online.


Source: MTV, Nickelodeon & Microsoft study
http://sev.prnewswire.com/multimedia-online-internet/20070724/NYTU10924072007-1.html
Multi-tasking is becoming normal

          50% of Australian Internet users say that for at
          least half the amount of time they are online at
          home they also have the television on.




Source: ninemsn Media Usage Study
Broadband users do more

 Broadband users spend between 3 & 9 times
 more time online than dialup users
 AND they use more entertainment services
Broadband impacts user behaviour
 IM:                49% bb vs. 29% dial-up
 Chat groups:       25% bb vs. 16% dial-up
 Music downloads:   44% bb vs. 35% dial-up
 Video downloads:   24% bb vs. 11% dial-up
 Online radio:      26% bb vs. 15% dial-up
 Creating blogs:    13% bb vs. 6% dial-up
 Reading blogs:     21% bb vs. 10% dial-up
 Podcasting:        10% bb vs. 3% dial-up
Five key Consumer take outs

1. More time online
      Consumers are consuming more online, it is becoming a
      down time tool (engaging, but functional content)
2. Kids as teachers
      Kids are teaching their parents how to use the computer &
      internet
3. Divided attention
      Multi-tasking is common & we are competing for attention
4. Lots of noise
      Everyone is talking about online – consumers, agencies &
      the media
5. Consumers are multi-dimensional
      Users are more than just users
Advertising today
Messenger
                              Trigger comms
                   Display
                                              iPhone apps


     Streaming




                                                     Ambassadors




Online WOM
                                                     Microblogging



Video - YouTube



                     SEO

                                    Widgets
Customer Journey

  Attract               Engage               Transact            Retain                 Grow
  (how do we            (what is going          (how do we       (what ongoing         (what ongoing
 attract people           to make              get them to       comms are we          comms sre we
     & drive            them engage         transact, either     going to use to      going to use to
awareness of the      with the brand         financially        keep the brand       keep growing the
   campaign)            or site)          or pzersonally)      top of mind)        consumer trans)




   ATL               Microsite           Shop online              DM                    DM
   POS             Landing page            Register              eDM                   eDM
  Online             Website             eDM sign-up             Call                  Call
   OTM                                     Instore
   DM                                     In-branch            Microsite            Microsite
   eDM                                    Call centre
  WOM

                           Measurement & Optimisation
How business approach marketing?



             Campaign activity


             Base line activity
    (consistency & presence in market)
How we should approach it?


              Base line activity
     (consistency & presence in market)


              Campaign activity
Online advertising
Attract
Online Advertising Definition

 Any paid-for or free space on a website or in an
 email, including:
   Referrals
   Keyword Search (SEM)
   Classifieds
   Sponsorships
   Display Ads
   Email
Digital Segment Terminology


                                           Online Advertising

General Advertising         Online Classifieds             Paid Search                 Directories

Display advertising (e.g.   Automotive                 Pay Per Click Search        Online directories (e.g.
Banners)                                               Engine revenue             Yellow pages online, city
                            Real estate
                                                                                  search
Sponsorships                                           Pay per Click Contextual
                            Employment
                                                       Search revenue             Local Search
Affiliate Advertising
                            Personals
Email Advertising
                            General Classifieds
                            Online Auction listings
Big Spenders: Finance, Computer & Auto




IAB Online Advertising Expenditure Report Dec 07
Online Ad Expenditure




Source: IAB Online Advertising Expenditure Report Dec 07
Top Australian Networks
                                                                                     9.5 million unique users

                                     Ninemsn: 7.86 million unique users
                                       • 9MSN TV show sites, ACP Magazine Sites, Hotmail, MSN Messenger, Hoyts, 9MSN Finance & Travel.


                                     Sensis Media Smart/Telstra: 6.77 million unique users
                                       • Yellow Pages, White Pages, Where Is, Sensis.com.au, School Friends, Trading Post, City Search,
                                         Travel.com.au, Lastminute & Bigpond.


                                    Yahoo! 7: 4.96 million unique users
                                       • Y! Mail & Messenger, Channel 7 Sites (Sunrise, Today Tonight), Pacific Publication Sites (Better Homes &
                                         Gardens, Girlfriend).

                                                                                       4.4 million unique users
                                     News Digital: 3.70 million unique users
                                       • News.com.au, Fox Sports, Career One, Aus IT & News Corp papers.


                                     Fairfax Digital: 3.46 million unique users
                                       • SMH, The Age, AFR, Trading Room, Money Manager, My Career, Drive & RSVP.


Source: Nielsen Online NetView Home & Work April 2008
Expanding & Streaming
Over The Page
Dynamic Ads (RSS)
MSN Messenger
Creative presentation
Common Internet Advertising
Terminology

   Impressions: The number of times an internet ad is displayed.

   Clicks: Number of times users have clicked on an internet ad.

   Unique user reach: Number of unique users an internet
   advertising campaign has reached (different from impressions
   as one unique user may be delivered several ad impressions
   during a campaign).

   Click through rate (CTR): Percentage of users who have click
   on an internet ad. This is the metric commonly used to
   measure initial effectiveness of creative concepts & ad
   placements. An average CTR is 0.20% but this varies by
   creative size (a text link for example will have a much lower
   CTR while a large format banner will have a much larger CTR).
          Eg. 50 clicks from 10,000 impressions = 50/10,000 = 0.5% CTR.
Common Internet Advertising
Terminology

   CPA: Cost per acquisition (acquisition usually a sale, sign up or
   lead) is calculated by dividing cost of advertising by number of
   sales/sign ups.
      Is also a metric for buying online media. Very rarely available, sometimes
      offered by publishers as a way of generating revenue via un-sold inventory.

   CPM: Metric for buying online media, stands for cost per
   thousand impressions (this cost of course varies between
   publisher, placement & ad format).

   CPC: Metric for judging online media, stands for cost per click.
   Standard buying metric for search media but not as widely
   available as CPM is across other publishers & sites however
   offered sometimes for less targeted activity.
Common Internet Advertising
Terminology

   Site Activities: Internet advertising tracking not only allows
   advertisers to see impressions, clicks & click through rate for
   creative concepts & ad placements but also activities of their
   choice past this initial impression & click stage.

   Ad-server: Technology that facilitates the running of internet
   advertisements on websites & in turn keeps track of
   impressions, clicks, click rate & post impression/click
   activities.
Quick Exercise
Do you notice online advertising?
  Why?
     Funny
     Your ads
     Competitor ads
  What types?
     Video
     Static
     Interaction
  Why not?
     Too focused
     Not interested
Five key Online advertising take outs

1. More than display
     Need to think about classifieds, messenger & search
2. Investment is growing
     Clients are spending more money advertising online
3. Accountability
     Need to define what is brand & what is direct upfront
4. Creative
     Think about the environment that the advertising will live in
5. Measurement
     What does success look like? What are the benchmarks?
Search Consumption
Attract
What does a search engine do?

 A user perspective
   Ask a question, get an answer


 A search engine perspective
   Find all the answers
   Give you the best ones…RANKED
   Measure the human interaction with it’s logic



 If you are not the answer, someone else is
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Searcher strategy




          SEO              SEM


                Products
                Handsets
                 Offers
                Networks
Google Universal
Google Flights
Google Teleporting
Miserable Failure
Google’s Golden Triangle
Google’s Universal Eye Tracker
Google’s Universal Eye Tracker
2008 Market Forecast
 According to Frost & Sullivan (Australian online search study 2008), Information &
 Communication Technology sector (ICT’s) is expected to increase search budgets:
     57% of Consumer ICTs to increase their search budget
          47% increase it by 10-30%
          29% by 30-50%,
          6% will increase it more than 90%


     43% of Business ICTs to increase their search budget
          54% increase it by 10-30%
          15% by 30-50%
          8% will increase it by more than 90%


 Of these extra budgets the planned allocation is as followed:
     62% increase search engine keyword budgets
     31% increase online directory budgets
     28% increase contextual search budgets
     16% increase mobile search budgets

 Telstra set to implement large focus on search for 2008
Consumer Activity Online
        Telco specific




       Attract                    Engage                     Transact                      Retain                        Grow

  Generic Keywords       Generic & Product         Brand Terms                   Brand Related Terms
                         Keywords
  (Mobiles, Nokia,                                 (Optus Mobile,                (Optus Mobile, My Optus)
  Sony Ericsson, Cap     (W880i, Skypephone,       Optus,
                                                                                 with Low Avg. CPCs, High Avg. CTRs, Low
  Plans)                 N95)                      Optus.com.au)
                                                                                 Conversion Rates
  with High Avg.         with High Avg.            with Low Avg.
  CPCs, Low CTRs,        CPCs, Medium Avg.         CPCs, High Avg.
  Low Conversion         CTRs, Medium to           CTRs, High
  Rates                  Low Conversion            Conversion Rates
                         Rates


 64% learn more about    76% compare prices of         40% purchased/                    31% return to where they purchased a
 new telecommunication   new telecommunication       subscribed to a new             telecommunications products for accessories &
    products online         products online      telecommunications product                             service
                                                   after researching it online



Source: MediaScreen Telecommunications Survey. July 2006
Keyword bible

                                     Brand terms
                                    (Optus, Fusion)

                                    Generic terms
               Campaign 2   (Mobile, Broadband, Fixed Line)




                                          Campaign 3




                                                              Campaign 4
  Campaign 1




                                                                           Campaign 5
All segments search on generic terms
Landing Page Guidelines

      SEM (paid)                  Affiliate (paid)                    SEO (organic)
      Broadband                     Broadband                          Broadband



                               Special deal for visitors          What to look for from a           Common features
We have a great deal
                               of X/Y/Z                           Broadband provider?
for people who want to
                                                                                                    Specific copy specific
connect their                  Call/order now & enjoy an          The top 10 things to know         copywriters
broadband services             exclusive offer                    when you are looking for
                                                                  broadband.
                               Optus can offer you as a visitor                                     Conversion driven
Call now!
                               of X/Y/Z a 10% extra download      Many people have a lot of
                               package on all broadband           questions about choosing the      Integrated approach
Or leave your name to go in
                               services ordered today.            best broadband provider. What     (1+1=3)
the draw for a free Internet   We will also send an email with    are the key things to look for?
Security Pack, available       information on the Internet        Download limits, costs,
exclusively from Optus         Security Pack…                     restrictions.                     Based on searcher
                                                                                                    demand - keywords
    Campaign driven              Measurable conversion               Keyword compliance
     Clear conversion              Personal approach                  1 per red keyword
         DM style                  Funnel by affiliate                  Leader –guru
           Short                  Provide info content                   Create trust
    SEO not main aim                “Exclusive” deal                   SEO is main aim
      Written to sell                Written to sell                  Written to inform
Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)
Search Engine Optimisation

 Definition
    The process of choosing targeted keyword phrases related to
    a site, and ensuring that the site places well when those
    keyword phrases are part of a web search.
     www.marketingterms.com

 The process has two major components:
    “On page” optimisation
       site technology & accessibility
       site content
    “Off page” optimisation
       link popularity
       link reputation
Best Practice SEO: Design

                       Several on page elements are taken into
                       account by Spiders (not limited to):
                                Page Titles
                                Meta Description & Keywords
                                Page Copy (Body Content)
                                Image Alt Text
                                Internal Link Anchor Text
                                File names
                                Search Friendly Navigation
                                Site Map
                                Heading Tags
                       A clearly distinguishable site architecture
                       & navigation structure can help with
                       inclusion & improving rankings.
Best Practice SEO: Content

 Content is King!
    The Internet is mainly a source of information & that is what search
    engines look for. So the more content the better.


 Consider how people would find information
    By brand
    By product capability
    By Issue

 Develop content around the selected keywords
    (Or Augment the existing content to cover target terms)

 Fresh content is favored by search engines
    Blogs, Press Releases, community areas
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Keyword in title
Keyword in directory



Content tab

Keyword in H1



Keyword body spread


Hyperlinked text



Keyword meta tags
Ego search
Ego search




             Gav is an older, American
             comic actor born in 1931
Ego search




             Hamish’s name has been
             automatically respelt, is an
             American soul musician, formally
             in The Average White Band
Ego search




             Megan is Megan, but there is a
             lot of room for her to own her
             name
Submit your site
Register your trademark
Quick Exercise
What can you do to increase your profile/presence
online?
What type of sites?
What is your action plan?
IAG Unworry Exercise
Five key Search take outs

1. Constant
     Search isn’t just a campaign, it must be on 100%
2. Nurture
     Search must be nurtured, whether it is paid or organic
3. Integration
     Search must be integrated into campaigns. Only 2% of
     people remember URLs shown in TVCs or other activity.
4. Optimisation
     Search can be optimised real-time, campaigns can be tested
     & learnings taken out immediately
5. Measurement
     What does success look like? What were the take outs from
     the campaign (ATL elements)?
Blogs
Attract, Engage & Participate
Blogging thoughts




Source: http://darmano.typepad.com/
State of the Blogosphere
          comScore MediaMetrix (August 2008)
                 Blogs: 77.7 million unique visitors in the US
                 Facebook: 41.0 million
                 MySpace 75.1 million
                 Total internet audience 188.9 million


          eMarketer (May 2008)
                 94.1 million US blog readers in 2007 (50% of Internet users)
                 22.6 million US bloggers in 2007 (12%)


          Universal McCann (March 2008)
                 184 million WW have started a blog | 26.4 US
                 346 million WW read blogs | 60.3 US
                 77% of active Internet users read blogs


Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
•
Blogging demo & geographic details




Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
•
Personal vs corporate blogs




Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
•
Most popular blog topics




Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
•
Why blog?




Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
•
Elements used within the blog




Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
•
Driving traffic to blogs




Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
•
Measuring blog success




Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/
•
Source: http://darmano.typepad.com/
Blog statistics




Source: http://dominiquehind.wordpress.com
Why is blogging important to
        companies?
It all started with a post




Source: http://www.buzzmachine.com/archives/cat_dell.html
And gained momentum




Source: http://www.buzzmachine.com/archives/cat_dell.html
And even more momentum
Leading to dedicated haters
Phase 1 – Dell blog
One-way information push with moderated postings & comments
Phase 2 – Inviting participation
Collaborative environment
Dell’s three year progression
IdeaStorm redesign
Direct2Dell redesign
Dell tracking IdeaStorm
Dell staff listen to blogs
My Starbucks Idea
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Quick Exercise

 How should Optus use a blog?
 Is We Hear You enough?
 How should customer
 feedback flow through
 Optus?
   Process
   Profile
Five key Blogging take outs

1. Consistent message
      Ensure messaging is consistent with online activities
2. Open communication
      Transparent two-way dialogue is essential in authentic
      communication
3. Onsite promotion
      Idea promotion onsite allows the company to meet customer
      needs & wants
4. Company wide buy in
      Must be ingrained in the company with all departments
      actively engaged with regular posts
5. Focus
      Site needs to have one single, specific focus to drive posts
Social networking
Attract, Engage & Participate
Social Marketing
Definition

   It is a platform for connection between like minded
   people or those that have a personal connection.

   Communities or groups are initially formed on physical
   connections & social networks radiate outwards
   based on common interests between people (MGM).

   Social networking provides the platform for people to
   engage & find other like minded individuals.
Social Marketing
A question

         Where does social marketing fit in a
                marketing context?

   Consumers expect to see commercial
   messaging on portals & sites.
   BUT on social network sites, without relevance
   & context, it has the ability to possibly devalue
   & detract from a brands relevance, stature &
   esteem.
Social Network 7 Building Blocks




Source: http://nform.ca/publications/social-software-building-block
Types of social marketing
2007
                                              Movies Politics




                                                                                                                U4Prez
                                                                Enhancements




                                                                                      2006




                                                                                                                Yacht6, Twitter, Pounce
                            Corporate Monkeys




                                                                               2005
                                       Artic




                                                                                                                Bebo, Yahoo360
                                                                                       2003 2004
                              REM




                                                                                                                Dogster, orkut, Facebook
                                                                                                                LinkedIn, Hi5, MySpace
Social networking history




                                                                                                    2002




                                                                                                                Friendster
                                                                                                   2001
                                                                                         1999 2000
                                                                                                                SixDegrees closes
                                                                                                    1997 1998
                                                                                                                AsianAvenue




                                                                                               1996
                                                                                                                SixDegrees




                                                                                                    1988 1995
                                                                                                                Classmates
                                                                                                                AOL
Most popular Social Networks




                        Twitter, Jaiku, Pownce, 8apps,
                        Facebook, MySpace, Gleamd,
                        Zaadz, Ning, Benny Bixs fave,
                              Dogster, YouTube
Most popular Social Networks
Social Network Contributors

           0.16% of all visitors to YouTube upload videos to it
           0.2% of visitors to Flickr upload photos
           4.6% of all visits to Wikipedia pages are to edit entries on the
           site




Source: http://customerevangelists.typepad.com/blog/2006/05/charting_wiki_p.html
Top 100 Twitters




Source: http://www.twitterholic.com
Barack Obama’s Twitter stats
Barack Obama’s Twitter page




Source: http://twitter.com/BarackObama
US elections




Source: http://election.twitter.com/
Confess your Sins
Twitter vision
Why is social marketing important
         to companies?
How to Kill a Brand?
Customers taking control

                       Yum Brands has
                       closed a number
                       of restaurants that
                       had rats running
                       wild.

                       The NYC inspector
                       who'd given the
                       restaurant a
                       passing grade is in
                       trouble, too.
User generated sites vs corporate sites
IT Audience spending time online
               Executive-level decision makers spend nearly 3.5hrs per week
               consuming or participating in social media.

                     “How many hours per week do you spend online consuming or
                             participating in the following media types?”




Source: Marketing Charts
http://www.marketingcharts.com/interactive/it-execs-social-media-most-trusted-source-for-purchasing-decisions-619)
IT Audience trust social media

       IT professionals cite social media as the most trustworthy
       online source of information when making purchasing
       decisions.
                 “What information sources do you trust the most for your
                            company’s purchasing decisions?”




Source: Marketing Charts
(http://www.marketingcharts.com/interactive/it-execs-social-media-most-trusted-source-for-purchasing-decisions-619)
Consumer reviews
Profiles of companies involved in
         social networks
Five characters of Social Marketing




              The Confused                 The Hopeful




The Experimenter         The Participant                 The Insightful
The Confused
Profile




             It’s an interesting place to be
                           BUT
          I don’t really know why I am here.
The Confused
Example
The Hopeful
Profile




             I don’t know how
                    BUT
          I hope this is effective.
The Hopeful
Example
The Hopeful
Example
The Hopeful
Example
The Experimenter
Profile




          I need to know how this works
               & have to be involved,
             regardless of the impact.
The Experimenter
Example
The Experimenter
Example
The Experimenter
Example
The Experimenter
Example
The Participant
Profile




          This is a digital congregation point
          for consumers of like mindedness
                  (our target audience).
The Participant
Example
The Participant
Example
The Participant
Example
The Insightful
Profile




           It just makes sense,

          Fish where the fish are.
The Insightful
Example
The Insightful
Example
The Insightful
Example
Quick Exercise

 How should Optus get involved with social
 networks?
   Campaign vs Brand?
 What social networks would
 be relevant for Optus?
Five key Social Marketing take outs

1. Absolute relevance
     Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should
2. Community
     Understand your audience & reason for being
3. Involvement
     Offer something your audience wants
4. Creative
     If it looks like an ad & smells like an ad, it won’t work in
     social networking
5. Measurement
     What does success look like? What is the economic value of
     the campaign?
Website
Engage & Participate
Websites: A thought

 People don't want to wait. And they don't want
 to learn how to use a home page. There's no
 such thing as a training class or a manual for a
 website.

 People have to be able to grasp the functioning
 of the site immediately after scanning the home
 page - for a few seconds at most.
                                   Jakob Nielsen
Web 1.0

 What is web 1.0?             What is wrong with web 1.0?
   One-way communications       People want human interaction
   Pretty postcards             The internet is NOT just another
   Brochureware websites        channel for broadcasting
   Internet is just another     The conversation went
   channel                      elsewhere
   Corporate speak
   Content created by few
   Static pages
   Digitisation of existing
   knowledge
Web 2.0

 Why it is different?
   Design
   Open source
   Communications
      Conversations (two-way)
   Collaborations
   Content creation by many
   Control of content by few is gone
   Mass participation
Types of Web 2.0 sites

 Social networks
 Blogs
 RSS
 Social bookmarking
 Wikis
 File-sharing
Why has there been the change?

 Consumers want a rich user experience
Blackmores - B your best
FMCG – giving a reason to visit
AMP’s Super Simulator
Web 1.5
Engagement in offline presence
Consumers want to be understood
Content online
Designs updated based on day
Degree of difficulty

Less complicated                 More complicated
 Price list                        eCommerce
 Static content                    Dynamic content
 Same website for all visitors     Personalised website
 “Contact Us” form                 Real-time chat & call back
 Public website                    Password protected


 Campaign microsite                Company website
Print vs Web
Mainstream                 Online:
  Images taken in before     Words taken in before images
  words                      Logo, top left
  Logo, bottom right         Designed for familiarity
  Designed for freshness     Visitor chooses to interrupt
  Interrupts their life      their life
  Trying to make money       Trying to save money


 TURN EVERYTHING YOU KNOW ON IT’S HEAD
How to create a website

1.   Never underestimate
2.   Create a site map
3.   Write a functional spec
4.   Creative design & content
5.   Technical development
6.   Test, test, test & launch
7.   Report, optimise, learn & refine
Free TV online




                 Friis & Zennstr - received part of
                 $2.6 billion cash payment when
                 eBay acquired Skype in 2005.
Joost – who has signed up

 Warner Music, Fox Studios, Indianapolis Motor
 Speedway Productions (Indianapolis 500,
 IndyCar Series) & production company Endemol.
 In 2007, Viacom entered into a deal with the
 company to distribute content from its media
 properties, including MTV Networks,BET & film
 studio Paramount Pictures.

 National Geo, MTV, Red Bull Xtreme channel,
 Swimsuit channel
Watching the web via your TV
Quick Exercise

 What type of audiences go to Optus?
 What questions should the
 Optus site ask when people
 arrive?
 How should Optus update
 it’s site to be more web 2.0?
Five key Website take outs

1. Make it easy
      Users want to get in & get out of a website (functional)
2. Understand the audience
      Understand why the audience is at the website & what they
      want
3. Involvement
      Offer something your audience wants
4. Content
      Content is king, it is what keeps users there & returning
5. Traffic
      How is traffic arriving at the site? What is pushing them
      there? Where are the islands?
Let’s Play
Engage & Participate
Second Life:
How to get started?
Teen Second Life
Second Life
Avatars




               43% women
          31 years old (averages)
           48% non-Americans
Second Life
    Orientation Island




Residents get inside SL through an Orientation Island
Second Life
Concept
3 key elements
Community
  Users can create their own avatars to live a new life in
  Second Life world.

User generation content
  Second Life citizens are owners of their own contents and
  have all legal rights over products, animations, art, scripts
  and everything they may create inside SL.

Market
  Economy is moved by users that buy and sell products using
  Linden Dollars (Second Life coin).
Second Life
Fast growth
 1,000 events per day
 275,000 different objects are bought & sold
 everyday

  2003                 2005              2006
Corporate eCommerce
in Second Life
Second Life
Case (BBC1)
Advergame stats

            50% of recipients play the advergame, for an
            average of 25 minutes.
            90% of players who receive a challenge from a
            friend play the game and respond back with
            their score or statistics.
            According to the Entertainment Software Assn.,
            42% of gamers say they play online games one
            or more hours per week.


Source: http://www.frontnetwork.net/advergame/
eBay examples
Quick Exercise

 Can you see a practical use for any of our
 clients?
 How would you measure ROI?
 Would you use SecondLife?
Five key Gaming take outs

1. Constantly changing
     Constantly evolving industry
2. Online advertising
     Similar purchasing & specifications as online advertising
3. Audience
     This isn’t for every audience
4. Creative
     Simple, simple creative similar to billboards (limited
     animation)
5. Measurement
     This is a brand activity rather than direct response
Email
Attract, Retain & Grow
Why email?

 Over half of Internet users check or send email daily
 Specific types of interaction with messages can trigger
 other messages to be automatically delivered
 Specific types of interaction with messages can trigger
 other events such as updating the profile of the
 recipient to indicate a specific interest category
 GREEN
    Email marketing is GREEN with almost no impact whatsoever
    on the environment
 No limit to personalisation
Popular email uses
 Opt-in based / profile driven comms
 MGM
 Viral
 RM based communications
 Sales promotions
 Newsletters
 Alerts
 Time-based reminders
 Trigger based (actions for segments)
 New Product launches
 Product user/support groups
 Sales transaction
 Base Transactions - statements / invoices etc
Why people open an email?

                 What prompts user to open & respond to
                 emails?
                         54%: Products or services featured
                         40%: Written copy
                         35%: Subject line
                         33%: Compelling offers (e.g. discounts, free shipping)
                         12%: A single large image
                         9%: Multiple smaller images
                         6%: Search box within the email
                         3%: Recipients get text-only email

Source: http://www.emaillabs.com/tools/email-marketing-statistics.html#popularsenddays
Recipe for email success

              Audience




     Time                Message
What you need for an email campaign
 Email requirements
     MIME (text & HTML)
     Text only
     HTML only
 Envelope details
     From
     Valid from email address
     Reply email address
     Email subject
 Client list of testers
 Customer data delivery & quality
 Email blast:
     Staged or staggered
     One send
 Reporting required
 Level of personality
 Management of opt-out responses
Technical Hints for emails

 Link to web version of the email:
   All HTML emails should have a link to a hosted page
   All text emails produced include a link through to hosted page
 Email concepts:
   Concepts are optimised for print & will appear different on the
   computer screen
 Text emails:
   Not extensive formatting available use symbols to tailor
   Links appearing will appear in the IP/number format.
 Preview window:
   Ensure key information & offer is at the top.
Technical Hints for emails
 File size:
    Standard file size of HTML emails are between 14K – 60K.
 Email size:
    HTML emails are designed to fit 550 x 800 screen resolution &
    be viewed in standard email clients.
 File types:
    HTML emails can’t be produced as .jpg or as an attachments.
 Flash in email:
    All emails are unable to incorporate rich media within them.
    Animated gifs are acceptable.
 Email clients:
    Web based such as Hotmail, Gmail or Yahoo! and others are
    software packages like Outlook, Lotus Notes or Groupwise.
    Each email client renders HTML emails differently, so it is
    important you test in multiple versions.
Email related internal review questions
Briefing
   Why is the client sending this email? Acquisition or retention?
   What does the client want it to achieve?
       What will we be measured on?
   What is the client’s understanding about email?
       Do they know what standards they should be adhering to?
Concepts
   What does the concept look like in a preview window? Can you see the
   message in the preview window?
   What is the subject line? Is it under 50 characters? Does it describe what the
   email is about?
   Is the most important message (offer) at the top of the email?
   Is there a clear call to action?
   Is there an allowance for disclaimer & opt-out in the email?
   Has the email been layed out insitu? With the email envelope at the top of the
   screen?
Email related internal review questions

 Develop
    Is there any animation in the email? Is it working correctly?
    Has the personalisation been included in the email?
 Testing
    What email client does the client use? Has it been tested in this client?
    What email clients has this been tested in? Web based or software clients?
    How does the HTML email render in the major email clients?
 Reporting
    Has this campaign met the clients objectives?
    What else needs to be achieved?
 Optimisation
    Was there any creative testing done? Subject line? Headlines?
    What can be learnt from the campaign that can be used in the next
    campaign?
Coles emails




          No consistent subject line format   No one send day or time

                                                       No consistent file size
Coles emails
ALDI emails




          Changed subject line approach   Always sent on Friday
          ALDI – theme - date                   File size more consistent
Tesco emails




          Consistent subject line for each email   Consistent for each email
          Always include Tesco & short                   Very inconsistent file size
E-Marketing Toolbox

TIER ONE


               +                 +              +                  +
 Rich e-mail       Data              Manage         Data Capture        Metrics
                   Integration       Response



TIER TWO


               +                 +              +                  ++                 +                  +
 Rich e-mail       Data              Manage         Data Capture       Landing page       Lead                Metrics
                   Integration       Response                          Micro-site         Distribution



TIER THREE


               +                 +              +                  ++                 +                  +                  +
 Rich e-mail       Data              Manage         Data Capture       Landing page       Lead               Optimisation       Metrics
                   Integration       Response                          Micro-site         Distribution
Cleaning up your inbox
Cleaning up your inbox
Reducing the need for email
Quick Exercise

 Do you read all of your emails?
 How many newsletters do you
 subscribe to?
 When you receive an email, what
 do you want it to be?
   Brief
   Funny
   Hastily written
   Ill-considered
   Thoughtless
   Regrettable
   Long
Five key Email take outs

1. Communicate if you ask for info
      If you ask for an email address, communicate
2. Personalisation
      Ensure emails are personalised based on behaviour or
      purchase information
3. Test, test, test (& debug)
      There are so many email clients, so make sure to test the
      developed email
4. Test, test, test (& learn)
      So many things to test: creative, subject, times, offers, etc –
      don’t forget the control group
5. Checklist
      Develop a best practice checklist & ensure all emails meet
      everything
Benchmarks & ROI
Campaign summary
Measurement Benchmarks
 Online advertising (banner ads)   Email
     Direct response                  Bounce rates
         Click through rates          Open rates
         Interaction rates            Click through rates
         Post impression clicks       Most popular articles
     Brand response                   Number of forwards
         Impressions served        Search
 Websites                             Keywords
                                      Position
     Visitors
                                      Cost per click
     Time spent on site
                                      Cost per lead
     Number of pages viewed           Cost per sale
     Sign-ups/Registrations        Blogs
     Most popular pages               Views
     Internal searches                Comments
     Paths through site               Linking to
     Returning traffic                Search terms
                                      Referring sites
It’s not just about clicks, because it’s not
just about websites
What we need to consider

                                                                                    1,000,000 people exposed to
                                                                                    campaign


                                     300,000 will possibly click (0.3%)
                                                                                                     Direct
                                                                                                    response
        6,000 clicks (at 0.2% CTR)




                                                                    610,000 will possibly visit
                                                                    your site later                  Brand
                                                                                                    response
                                                                    670,000 will possibly visit a
                                                                    store later


Source: DartMail research, 2008
Classifying objectives gives a greater
        understanding of the data & performance

      Business                          Marketing                 Communication
      objectives                        objectives                  objectives

Deliver sales & revenue targets   Build brand awareness        Maintain our reputation for x
Generate quality leads            Maintain brand awareness &   campaigns

Maintain a cost per lead of $X    online presence              Establish strong links with
                                  Create an online community   audience
Establish brands in the market
Increase market share
Campaign optimisation


           Revise                          Run




                             Review

 Run   Review       Revise
                                                    Improvement
        Run         Review        Revise

                     Run         Review    Revise

                                   Run     Review        Revise
Considered test plan/matrix

 Multi-variable matrix is a grid showing each variable in
 your test.
    If you have two possible headlines & two possible product
    pho-tographs, you'd create a two-by-two matrix.
 You need significant numbers to make it statistically
 relevant.

 What can you test?
    Copy: subject lines, introductions
    Creative: landing page, search, online advertising, email
    Offers: product, discounts
    Time: dispatch, load
Client health check
Website health check
Website health check
Blog health check
Campaign health checks

 Free trail to help submit your sites
 http://www.trafficgeneratorsite.com/
 Understand the noise
 http://www.touchgraph.com/
 Website information
 http://www.quarkbase.com/
 Website stats & information
 http://www.quantcast.com
 Blog & RSS overview
 http://www.aiderss.com
Five key Benchmark take outs

1. Measures
      Different measures & standards across all things online.
      Looking for interaction, participation or engagement.
2. Define objectives
      Don’t just define the campaign objectives, look at the
      business & marketing objectives
3. Consider Response & Brand
      The best & worst thing about interactive is it’s accountability
4. Test, test, test
      Define what you want to test upfront & make sure you test
      everything
5. Checklist
      Develop a best practice checklist for optimsation & ensure
      everything is continually measured against it.
Top 3 Online Trends
1. Consumers have more control



“A new generation of media
consumers has risen
demanding content delivered
when they want it, how they
want it and very much as
they want it”
1. Consumers have more control




Mass Communication     Mass Customisation
1. Consumers have more control
     1968                 1988                                2008
   Newspapers           Newspapers           Newspapers                 Podcasts

   Broadcast TV        Broadcast TV           Magazines              Download Movies

    Magazines           Magazines           Broadcast TV             PC Video Games

  Broadcast Radio     Broadcast Radio          Cable TV                   Blogs

    Eight Track       Cassette Tapes            Radio                  Online Video

                         Walkman              CD Player                Mobile Video

                           VCR            Personal Computer          MMORP Games

                         Cable TV         Satellite Television    Instant Messaging

                     Personal Computer         Internet                    Tivo

                    Console Video Games      DVD Players                 Slingbox

                      PC Video Games        Satellite Radio                iPod

                                             MP3 Players              Mobile Internet
Digital channels are the bulk of                 SMS             Console Video Games
our communication /                              Email                Mobile Games
entertainment / information mix             Mobile Phone             Social Networks
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training
Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training

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Digital Marketing 101 - Interactive Training

  • 1. Digital Download Thursday, 2 October 2008 Dominique Hind http://dominiquehind.wordpress.com
  • 2. Before we start Who is the single largest music retailer on the planet? Apple A Computer Company Who is the worlds largest camera manufacturer ? Nokia A Mobile Phone Manufacturer Who represents the largest threat to the Television & Movie Industries? Hulu & Joost Online networks Who is the largest & fastest growing media company on the planet? Google A Search Engine Who has the 5th largest GDP on the Planet? eBay
  • 3. Before we start I email useful information to colleagues I send photos to friends I use instant messenger I have participated in a poll I have submitted a book review on Amazon I have submitted seller feedback on ebay I read or contribute to discussion groups I contribute personal opinions to websites I write my own blog I create multimedia content & put it on the internet
  • 4. Today 1. Short introduction to the Internet 2. Customers online: a paradigm shift 3. Advertising today 4. Online advertising 5. Search consumption (SEM & SEO) 6. Blogs 7. Social networks 8. Website 9. Email Not covering - Mobile 10. Benchmarks & ROI - RSS 11. Top 3 online trends - Indepth web development - Driving traffic (social marketing)
  • 5. A short history of the internet
  • 6. In the beginning…… Geeks Military Academics
  • 7. Tim Berners-Lee The first Browser 1990 The first website 1991
  • 8. The First Banner Ad When: October 1994 Where: HotWired Size: 468 x 60 pixels Client: AT&T Copy: Have you ever clicked your mouse right here? You will.
  • 9. User-friendly browser When: 1995 What: Netscape launched Why: Easy platform to search the Internet
  • 12. What else is happening? 1,463,632,361 internet users globally (www.InternetWorldStats.com 30 June 2007) 100,316,360 TDL domains registered (http://www.zooknic.com/Domains/counts.html 15 April 2008) 2,869,632 blogs registered through authoring tools (http://www.blogcensus.net 29 September 2008)
  • 15. Online Delivering Big Numbers As at Feb 2008: Active Digital Universe: 10,927,000 Accessing Broadband at Home: 9,395,296 Ave Time Spent Online p/m: 19 hrs : 43 min : 02 sec Source: Nielsen Online NetView Home and Work February 2008
  • 16. No. of Home Access Users Monthly Time Online (hh:mm:ss) 0:00:00 2:24:00 4:48:00 7:12:00 9:36:00 12:00:00 14:24:00 16:48:00 19:12:00 21:36:00 0:00:00 0 1,000,000 2,000,000 3,000,000 4,000,000 5,000,000 6,000,000 7,000,000 8,000,000 9,000,000 10,000,000 11,000,000 12,000,000 Jan-05 Jan-05 Feb-05 Feb-05 Mar-05 Mar-05 Apr-05 Apr-05 May-05 May-05 Jun-05 Jun-05 Jul-05 Jul-05 Aug-05 Aug-05 Sep-05 Sep-05 Oct-05 Oct-05 Nov-05 Nov-05 Dec-05 Dec-05 Jan-06 Jan-06 Feb-06 Feb-06 Mar-06 Mar-06 Apr-06 Apr-06 May-06 May-06 Jun-06 Jun-06 Jul-06 Jul-06 Aug-06 Month Aug-06 Sep-06 Sep-06 Oct-06 Oct-06 Nov-06 Nov-06 Dec-06 Dec-06 Jan-07 Time Spent per Month Jan-07 Feb-07 Source: Nielsen Online NetView Home February 2008 Feb-07 Mar-07 Apr-07 Mar-07 May-07 Apr-07 Jun-07 May-07 Jul-07 Jun-07 Aug-07 Jul-07 Sep-07 Home Broadband Penetration Australia - from January 2005 Aug-07 Oct-07 Sep-07 Nov-07 Oct-07 Average Time Spent Online per Month. January 2005 - February 2008 Dec-07 Nov-07 Jan-08 Dec-07 Feb-08 9,395,296 Jan-08 19:43:02 Feb-08 % of Home Access Users 0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% Jan-05 Feb-05 Mar-05 Apr-05 May-05 Jun-05 Jul-05 Aug-05 Sep-05 Oct-05 Nov-05 Dec-05 Jan-06 Feb-06 Mar-06 Australian Time Spent Online Apr-06 May-06 Jun-06 Jul-06 Aug-06 Month Sep-06 Oct-06 penetration Nov-06 Dec-06 Jan-07 Feb-07 Mar-07 growth in broadband Apr-07 Increasing in line with homes connected to the Internet . May-07 Broadband = access speed > 56K. Jun-07 Jul-07 Aug-07 all active Internet Users within Australian Nielsen Online: Broadband penetration of Sep-07 Home Broadband Penetration Australia - from January 2005 Oct-07 Nov-07 Dec-07 Jan-08 89.80% Feb-08
  • 18. Evolution of the online consumer ‘New to Net’ Communications Services Retail Contributor User First activities Email Online banking CDs/Books Blogs Get to know ISP Message services Simple travel Complex travel Comments & posting Information search Photo sharing Lodge tax eBay Customer reviews LOTS of time browsing Social networks Book concerts Groceries Ratings Source: Nielsen//NetRatings
  • 19. Young consumers more active online Common features: 1. User-generated content over corporate content 2. Communities 3. Music 4. Keeping in touch
  • 20. Older consumers are functional Common features: 1. Information rich 2. News 3. Staying in touch
  • 22. Users are more than just users Source: http://darmano.typepad.com/
  • 23. Kids are growing up with technology The top five online chores for 8-14 year olds: 38% share pictures & emails with relatives 38% get movie listings 36% invitations & party planning stuff 36% plan vacations/travel 35% get driving directions 14% helped their parents prepare their income tax return Source: YPulse Friday, 11 May 2007
  • 24. Tween & teen online behaviour Globally, the average young person connected to digital technology has: 94 phone numbers in his or her mobile phone. 78 people on a messenger buddy list & 86 people in his or her social networking community. Digi-kids are not geeks 59% of 8 to 14 yrs still prefer their TV to their PCs Only 20% of 14 to 24 yrs globally admitted to being quot;interestedquot; in technology. Climate impacts on digital technology. In countries with a strong outdoor culture, such as Italy, Brazil & Australia, young people use mobiles for arranging to meet, flirt & take pictures of their friends. Online activity 70% said the first thing they did after turning on their computer was to check IM. 14-17 girls spend the least time online -- 21 hrs/wk 22-24 males spent the most time online -- 31 hrs/wk 100% of those surveyed said they communicate every time they go online. Source: MTV, Nickelodeon & Microsoft study http://sev.prnewswire.com/multimedia-online-internet/20070724/NYTU10924072007-1.html
  • 25. Multi-tasking is becoming normal 50% of Australian Internet users say that for at least half the amount of time they are online at home they also have the television on. Source: ninemsn Media Usage Study
  • 26. Broadband users do more Broadband users spend between 3 & 9 times more time online than dialup users AND they use more entertainment services
  • 27. Broadband impacts user behaviour IM: 49% bb vs. 29% dial-up Chat groups: 25% bb vs. 16% dial-up Music downloads: 44% bb vs. 35% dial-up Video downloads: 24% bb vs. 11% dial-up Online radio: 26% bb vs. 15% dial-up Creating blogs: 13% bb vs. 6% dial-up Reading blogs: 21% bb vs. 10% dial-up Podcasting: 10% bb vs. 3% dial-up
  • 28. Five key Consumer take outs 1. More time online Consumers are consuming more online, it is becoming a down time tool (engaging, but functional content) 2. Kids as teachers Kids are teaching their parents how to use the computer & internet 3. Divided attention Multi-tasking is common & we are competing for attention 4. Lots of noise Everyone is talking about online – consumers, agencies & the media 5. Consumers are multi-dimensional Users are more than just users
  • 30. Messenger Trigger comms Display iPhone apps Streaming Ambassadors Online WOM Microblogging Video - YouTube SEO Widgets
  • 31. Customer Journey Attract Engage Transact Retain Grow (how do we (what is going (how do we (what ongoing (what ongoing attract people to make get them to comms are we comms sre we & drive them engage transact, either going to use to going to use to awareness of the with the brand financially keep the brand keep growing the campaign) or site) or pzersonally) top of mind) consumer trans) ATL Microsite Shop online DM DM POS Landing page Register eDM eDM Online Website eDM sign-up Call Call OTM Instore DM In-branch Microsite Microsite eDM Call centre WOM Measurement & Optimisation
  • 32. How business approach marketing? Campaign activity Base line activity (consistency & presence in market)
  • 33. How we should approach it? Base line activity (consistency & presence in market) Campaign activity
  • 35. Online Advertising Definition Any paid-for or free space on a website or in an email, including: Referrals Keyword Search (SEM) Classifieds Sponsorships Display Ads Email
  • 36. Digital Segment Terminology Online Advertising General Advertising Online Classifieds Paid Search Directories Display advertising (e.g. Automotive Pay Per Click Search Online directories (e.g. Banners) Engine revenue Yellow pages online, city Real estate search Sponsorships Pay per Click Contextual Employment Search revenue Local Search Affiliate Advertising Personals Email Advertising General Classifieds Online Auction listings
  • 37. Big Spenders: Finance, Computer & Auto IAB Online Advertising Expenditure Report Dec 07
  • 38. Online Ad Expenditure Source: IAB Online Advertising Expenditure Report Dec 07
  • 39. Top Australian Networks 9.5 million unique users Ninemsn: 7.86 million unique users • 9MSN TV show sites, ACP Magazine Sites, Hotmail, MSN Messenger, Hoyts, 9MSN Finance & Travel. Sensis Media Smart/Telstra: 6.77 million unique users • Yellow Pages, White Pages, Where Is, Sensis.com.au, School Friends, Trading Post, City Search, Travel.com.au, Lastminute & Bigpond. Yahoo! 7: 4.96 million unique users • Y! Mail & Messenger, Channel 7 Sites (Sunrise, Today Tonight), Pacific Publication Sites (Better Homes & Gardens, Girlfriend). 4.4 million unique users News Digital: 3.70 million unique users • News.com.au, Fox Sports, Career One, Aus IT & News Corp papers. Fairfax Digital: 3.46 million unique users • SMH, The Age, AFR, Trading Room, Money Manager, My Career, Drive & RSVP. Source: Nielsen Online NetView Home & Work April 2008
  • 45. Common Internet Advertising Terminology Impressions: The number of times an internet ad is displayed. Clicks: Number of times users have clicked on an internet ad. Unique user reach: Number of unique users an internet advertising campaign has reached (different from impressions as one unique user may be delivered several ad impressions during a campaign). Click through rate (CTR): Percentage of users who have click on an internet ad. This is the metric commonly used to measure initial effectiveness of creative concepts & ad placements. An average CTR is 0.20% but this varies by creative size (a text link for example will have a much lower CTR while a large format banner will have a much larger CTR). Eg. 50 clicks from 10,000 impressions = 50/10,000 = 0.5% CTR.
  • 46. Common Internet Advertising Terminology CPA: Cost per acquisition (acquisition usually a sale, sign up or lead) is calculated by dividing cost of advertising by number of sales/sign ups. Is also a metric for buying online media. Very rarely available, sometimes offered by publishers as a way of generating revenue via un-sold inventory. CPM: Metric for buying online media, stands for cost per thousand impressions (this cost of course varies between publisher, placement & ad format). CPC: Metric for judging online media, stands for cost per click. Standard buying metric for search media but not as widely available as CPM is across other publishers & sites however offered sometimes for less targeted activity.
  • 47. Common Internet Advertising Terminology Site Activities: Internet advertising tracking not only allows advertisers to see impressions, clicks & click through rate for creative concepts & ad placements but also activities of their choice past this initial impression & click stage. Ad-server: Technology that facilitates the running of internet advertisements on websites & in turn keeps track of impressions, clicks, click rate & post impression/click activities.
  • 48. Quick Exercise Do you notice online advertising? Why? Funny Your ads Competitor ads What types? Video Static Interaction Why not? Too focused Not interested
  • 49. Five key Online advertising take outs 1. More than display Need to think about classifieds, messenger & search 2. Investment is growing Clients are spending more money advertising online 3. Accountability Need to define what is brand & what is direct upfront 4. Creative Think about the environment that the advertising will live in 5. Measurement What does success look like? What are the benchmarks?
  • 51. What does a search engine do? A user perspective Ask a question, get an answer A search engine perspective Find all the answers Give you the best ones…RANKED Measure the human interaction with it’s logic If you are not the answer, someone else is
  • 54. Searcher strategy SEO SEM Products Handsets Offers Networks
  • 62. 2008 Market Forecast According to Frost & Sullivan (Australian online search study 2008), Information & Communication Technology sector (ICT’s) is expected to increase search budgets: 57% of Consumer ICTs to increase their search budget 47% increase it by 10-30% 29% by 30-50%, 6% will increase it more than 90% 43% of Business ICTs to increase their search budget 54% increase it by 10-30% 15% by 30-50% 8% will increase it by more than 90% Of these extra budgets the planned allocation is as followed: 62% increase search engine keyword budgets 31% increase online directory budgets 28% increase contextual search budgets 16% increase mobile search budgets Telstra set to implement large focus on search for 2008
  • 63. Consumer Activity Online Telco specific Attract Engage Transact Retain Grow Generic Keywords Generic & Product Brand Terms Brand Related Terms Keywords (Mobiles, Nokia, (Optus Mobile, (Optus Mobile, My Optus) Sony Ericsson, Cap (W880i, Skypephone, Optus, with Low Avg. CPCs, High Avg. CTRs, Low Plans) N95) Optus.com.au) Conversion Rates with High Avg. with High Avg. with Low Avg. CPCs, Low CTRs, CPCs, Medium Avg. CPCs, High Avg. Low Conversion CTRs, Medium to CTRs, High Rates Low Conversion Conversion Rates Rates 64% learn more about 76% compare prices of 40% purchased/ 31% return to where they purchased a new telecommunication new telecommunication subscribed to a new telecommunications products for accessories & products online products online telecommunications product service after researching it online Source: MediaScreen Telecommunications Survey. July 2006
  • 64. Keyword bible Brand terms (Optus, Fusion) Generic terms Campaign 2 (Mobile, Broadband, Fixed Line) Campaign 3 Campaign 4 Campaign 1 Campaign 5
  • 65. All segments search on generic terms
  • 66. Landing Page Guidelines SEM (paid) Affiliate (paid) SEO (organic) Broadband Broadband Broadband Special deal for visitors What to look for from a Common features We have a great deal of X/Y/Z Broadband provider? for people who want to Specific copy specific connect their Call/order now & enjoy an The top 10 things to know copywriters broadband services exclusive offer when you are looking for broadband. Optus can offer you as a visitor Conversion driven Call now! of X/Y/Z a 10% extra download Many people have a lot of package on all broadband questions about choosing the Integrated approach Or leave your name to go in services ordered today. best broadband provider. What (1+1=3) the draw for a free Internet We will also send an email with are the key things to look for? Security Pack, available information on the Internet Download limits, costs, exclusively from Optus Security Pack… restrictions. Based on searcher demand - keywords Campaign driven Measurable conversion Keyword compliance Clear conversion Personal approach 1 per red keyword DM style Funnel by affiliate Leader –guru Short Provide info content Create trust SEO not main aim “Exclusive” deal SEO is main aim Written to sell Written to sell Written to inform
  • 68. Search Engine Optimisation Definition The process of choosing targeted keyword phrases related to a site, and ensuring that the site places well when those keyword phrases are part of a web search. www.marketingterms.com The process has two major components: “On page” optimisation site technology & accessibility site content “Off page” optimisation link popularity link reputation
  • 69. Best Practice SEO: Design Several on page elements are taken into account by Spiders (not limited to): Page Titles Meta Description & Keywords Page Copy (Body Content) Image Alt Text Internal Link Anchor Text File names Search Friendly Navigation Site Map Heading Tags A clearly distinguishable site architecture & navigation structure can help with inclusion & improving rankings.
  • 70. Best Practice SEO: Content Content is King! The Internet is mainly a source of information & that is what search engines look for. So the more content the better. Consider how people would find information By brand By product capability By Issue Develop content around the selected keywords (Or Augment the existing content to cover target terms) Fresh content is favored by search engines Blogs, Press Releases, community areas
  • 74. Keyword in title Keyword in directory Content tab Keyword in H1 Keyword body spread Hyperlinked text Keyword meta tags
  • 76. Ego search Gav is an older, American comic actor born in 1931
  • 77. Ego search Hamish’s name has been automatically respelt, is an American soul musician, formally in The Average White Band
  • 78. Ego search Megan is Megan, but there is a lot of room for her to own her name
  • 81. Quick Exercise What can you do to increase your profile/presence online? What type of sites? What is your action plan?
  • 83. Five key Search take outs 1. Constant Search isn’t just a campaign, it must be on 100% 2. Nurture Search must be nurtured, whether it is paid or organic 3. Integration Search must be integrated into campaigns. Only 2% of people remember URLs shown in TVCs or other activity. 4. Optimisation Search can be optimised real-time, campaigns can be tested & learnings taken out immediately 5. Measurement What does success look like? What were the take outs from the campaign (ATL elements)?
  • 84. Blogs Attract, Engage & Participate
  • 86. State of the Blogosphere comScore MediaMetrix (August 2008) Blogs: 77.7 million unique visitors in the US Facebook: 41.0 million MySpace 75.1 million Total internet audience 188.9 million eMarketer (May 2008) 94.1 million US blog readers in 2007 (50% of Internet users) 22.6 million US bloggers in 2007 (12%) Universal McCann (March 2008) 184 million WW have started a blog | 26.4 US 346 million WW read blogs | 60.3 US 77% of active Internet users read blogs Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/ •
  • 87. Blogging demo & geographic details Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/ •
  • 88. Personal vs corporate blogs Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/ •
  • 89. Most popular blog topics Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/ •
  • 90. Why blog? Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/ •
  • 91. Elements used within the blog Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/ •
  • 92. Driving traffic to blogs Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/ •
  • 93. Measuring blog success Source: State of the Blogosphere 2008 http://technorati.com/blogging/state-of-the-blogosphere/ •
  • 96. Why is blogging important to companies?
  • 97. It all started with a post Source: http://www.buzzmachine.com/archives/cat_dell.html
  • 98. And gained momentum Source: http://www.buzzmachine.com/archives/cat_dell.html
  • 99. And even more momentum
  • 101. Phase 1 – Dell blog One-way information push with moderated postings & comments
  • 102. Phase 2 – Inviting participation Collaborative environment
  • 103. Dell’s three year progression
  • 107. Dell staff listen to blogs
  • 110. Quick Exercise How should Optus use a blog? Is We Hear You enough? How should customer feedback flow through Optus? Process Profile
  • 111. Five key Blogging take outs 1. Consistent message Ensure messaging is consistent with online activities 2. Open communication Transparent two-way dialogue is essential in authentic communication 3. Onsite promotion Idea promotion onsite allows the company to meet customer needs & wants 4. Company wide buy in Must be ingrained in the company with all departments actively engaged with regular posts 5. Focus Site needs to have one single, specific focus to drive posts
  • 113. Social Marketing Definition It is a platform for connection between like minded people or those that have a personal connection. Communities or groups are initially formed on physical connections & social networks radiate outwards based on common interests between people (MGM). Social networking provides the platform for people to engage & find other like minded individuals.
  • 114. Social Marketing A question Where does social marketing fit in a marketing context? Consumers expect to see commercial messaging on portals & sites. BUT on social network sites, without relevance & context, it has the ability to possibly devalue & detract from a brands relevance, stature & esteem.
  • 115. Social Network 7 Building Blocks Source: http://nform.ca/publications/social-software-building-block
  • 116. Types of social marketing
  • 117. 2007 Movies Politics U4Prez Enhancements 2006 Yacht6, Twitter, Pounce Corporate Monkeys 2005 Artic Bebo, Yahoo360 2003 2004 REM Dogster, orkut, Facebook LinkedIn, Hi5, MySpace Social networking history 2002 Friendster 2001 1999 2000 SixDegrees closes 1997 1998 AsianAvenue 1996 SixDegrees 1988 1995 Classmates AOL
  • 118. Most popular Social Networks Twitter, Jaiku, Pownce, 8apps, Facebook, MySpace, Gleamd, Zaadz, Ning, Benny Bixs fave, Dogster, YouTube
  • 119. Most popular Social Networks
  • 120. Social Network Contributors 0.16% of all visitors to YouTube upload videos to it 0.2% of visitors to Flickr upload photos 4.6% of all visits to Wikipedia pages are to edit entries on the site Source: http://customerevangelists.typepad.com/blog/2006/05/charting_wiki_p.html
  • 121. Top 100 Twitters Source: http://www.twitterholic.com
  • 123. Barack Obama’s Twitter page Source: http://twitter.com/BarackObama
  • 127. Why is social marketing important to companies?
  • 128. How to Kill a Brand?
  • 129. Customers taking control Yum Brands has closed a number of restaurants that had rats running wild. The NYC inspector who'd given the restaurant a passing grade is in trouble, too.
  • 130. User generated sites vs corporate sites
  • 131. IT Audience spending time online Executive-level decision makers spend nearly 3.5hrs per week consuming or participating in social media. “How many hours per week do you spend online consuming or participating in the following media types?” Source: Marketing Charts http://www.marketingcharts.com/interactive/it-execs-social-media-most-trusted-source-for-purchasing-decisions-619)
  • 132. IT Audience trust social media IT professionals cite social media as the most trustworthy online source of information when making purchasing decisions. “What information sources do you trust the most for your company’s purchasing decisions?” Source: Marketing Charts (http://www.marketingcharts.com/interactive/it-execs-social-media-most-trusted-source-for-purchasing-decisions-619)
  • 134. Profiles of companies involved in social networks
  • 135. Five characters of Social Marketing The Confused The Hopeful The Experimenter The Participant The Insightful
  • 136. The Confused Profile It’s an interesting place to be BUT I don’t really know why I am here.
  • 138. The Hopeful Profile I don’t know how BUT I hope this is effective.
  • 142. The Experimenter Profile I need to know how this works & have to be involved, regardless of the impact.
  • 147. The Participant Profile This is a digital congregation point for consumers of like mindedness (our target audience).
  • 151. The Insightful Profile It just makes sense, Fish where the fish are.
  • 155. Quick Exercise How should Optus get involved with social networks? Campaign vs Brand? What social networks would be relevant for Optus?
  • 156. Five key Social Marketing take outs 1. Absolute relevance Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should 2. Community Understand your audience & reason for being 3. Involvement Offer something your audience wants 4. Creative If it looks like an ad & smells like an ad, it won’t work in social networking 5. Measurement What does success look like? What is the economic value of the campaign?
  • 158. Websites: A thought People don't want to wait. And they don't want to learn how to use a home page. There's no such thing as a training class or a manual for a website. People have to be able to grasp the functioning of the site immediately after scanning the home page - for a few seconds at most. Jakob Nielsen
  • 159. Web 1.0 What is web 1.0? What is wrong with web 1.0? One-way communications People want human interaction Pretty postcards The internet is NOT just another Brochureware websites channel for broadcasting Internet is just another The conversation went channel elsewhere Corporate speak Content created by few Static pages Digitisation of existing knowledge
  • 160. Web 2.0 Why it is different? Design Open source Communications Conversations (two-way) Collaborations Content creation by many Control of content by few is gone Mass participation
  • 161. Types of Web 2.0 sites Social networks Blogs RSS Social bookmarking Wikis File-sharing
  • 162. Why has there been the change? Consumers want a rich user experience
  • 163. Blackmores - B your best
  • 164. FMCG – giving a reason to visit
  • 167. Consumers want to be understood
  • 170. Degree of difficulty Less complicated More complicated Price list eCommerce Static content Dynamic content Same website for all visitors Personalised website “Contact Us” form Real-time chat & call back Public website Password protected Campaign microsite Company website
  • 171. Print vs Web Mainstream Online: Images taken in before Words taken in before images words Logo, top left Logo, bottom right Designed for familiarity Designed for freshness Visitor chooses to interrupt Interrupts their life their life Trying to make money Trying to save money TURN EVERYTHING YOU KNOW ON IT’S HEAD
  • 172. How to create a website 1. Never underestimate 2. Create a site map 3. Write a functional spec 4. Creative design & content 5. Technical development 6. Test, test, test & launch 7. Report, optimise, learn & refine
  • 173. Free TV online Friis & Zennstr - received part of $2.6 billion cash payment when eBay acquired Skype in 2005.
  • 174. Joost – who has signed up Warner Music, Fox Studios, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Productions (Indianapolis 500, IndyCar Series) & production company Endemol. In 2007, Viacom entered into a deal with the company to distribute content from its media properties, including MTV Networks,BET & film studio Paramount Pictures. National Geo, MTV, Red Bull Xtreme channel, Swimsuit channel
  • 175. Watching the web via your TV
  • 176. Quick Exercise What type of audiences go to Optus? What questions should the Optus site ask when people arrive? How should Optus update it’s site to be more web 2.0?
  • 177. Five key Website take outs 1. Make it easy Users want to get in & get out of a website (functional) 2. Understand the audience Understand why the audience is at the website & what they want 3. Involvement Offer something your audience wants 4. Content Content is king, it is what keeps users there & returning 5. Traffic How is traffic arriving at the site? What is pushing them there? Where are the islands?
  • 178. Let’s Play Engage & Participate
  • 179. Second Life: How to get started?
  • 181. Second Life Avatars 43% women 31 years old (averages) 48% non-Americans
  • 182. Second Life Orientation Island Residents get inside SL through an Orientation Island
  • 183. Second Life Concept 3 key elements Community Users can create their own avatars to live a new life in Second Life world. User generation content Second Life citizens are owners of their own contents and have all legal rights over products, animations, art, scripts and everything they may create inside SL. Market Economy is moved by users that buy and sell products using Linden Dollars (Second Life coin).
  • 184. Second Life Fast growth 1,000 events per day 275,000 different objects are bought & sold everyday 2003 2005 2006
  • 187. Advergame stats 50% of recipients play the advergame, for an average of 25 minutes. 90% of players who receive a challenge from a friend play the game and respond back with their score or statistics. According to the Entertainment Software Assn., 42% of gamers say they play online games one or more hours per week. Source: http://www.frontnetwork.net/advergame/
  • 189. Quick Exercise Can you see a practical use for any of our clients? How would you measure ROI? Would you use SecondLife?
  • 190. Five key Gaming take outs 1. Constantly changing Constantly evolving industry 2. Online advertising Similar purchasing & specifications as online advertising 3. Audience This isn’t for every audience 4. Creative Simple, simple creative similar to billboards (limited animation) 5. Measurement This is a brand activity rather than direct response
  • 192. Why email? Over half of Internet users check or send email daily Specific types of interaction with messages can trigger other messages to be automatically delivered Specific types of interaction with messages can trigger other events such as updating the profile of the recipient to indicate a specific interest category GREEN Email marketing is GREEN with almost no impact whatsoever on the environment No limit to personalisation
  • 193. Popular email uses Opt-in based / profile driven comms MGM Viral RM based communications Sales promotions Newsletters Alerts Time-based reminders Trigger based (actions for segments) New Product launches Product user/support groups Sales transaction Base Transactions - statements / invoices etc
  • 194. Why people open an email? What prompts user to open & respond to emails? 54%: Products or services featured 40%: Written copy 35%: Subject line 33%: Compelling offers (e.g. discounts, free shipping) 12%: A single large image 9%: Multiple smaller images 6%: Search box within the email 3%: Recipients get text-only email Source: http://www.emaillabs.com/tools/email-marketing-statistics.html#popularsenddays
  • 195. Recipe for email success Audience Time Message
  • 196. What you need for an email campaign Email requirements MIME (text & HTML) Text only HTML only Envelope details From Valid from email address Reply email address Email subject Client list of testers Customer data delivery & quality Email blast: Staged or staggered One send Reporting required Level of personality Management of opt-out responses
  • 197. Technical Hints for emails Link to web version of the email: All HTML emails should have a link to a hosted page All text emails produced include a link through to hosted page Email concepts: Concepts are optimised for print & will appear different on the computer screen Text emails: Not extensive formatting available use symbols to tailor Links appearing will appear in the IP/number format. Preview window: Ensure key information & offer is at the top.
  • 198. Technical Hints for emails File size: Standard file size of HTML emails are between 14K – 60K. Email size: HTML emails are designed to fit 550 x 800 screen resolution & be viewed in standard email clients. File types: HTML emails can’t be produced as .jpg or as an attachments. Flash in email: All emails are unable to incorporate rich media within them. Animated gifs are acceptable. Email clients: Web based such as Hotmail, Gmail or Yahoo! and others are software packages like Outlook, Lotus Notes or Groupwise. Each email client renders HTML emails differently, so it is important you test in multiple versions.
  • 199. Email related internal review questions Briefing Why is the client sending this email? Acquisition or retention? What does the client want it to achieve? What will we be measured on? What is the client’s understanding about email? Do they know what standards they should be adhering to? Concepts What does the concept look like in a preview window? Can you see the message in the preview window? What is the subject line? Is it under 50 characters? Does it describe what the email is about? Is the most important message (offer) at the top of the email? Is there a clear call to action? Is there an allowance for disclaimer & opt-out in the email? Has the email been layed out insitu? With the email envelope at the top of the screen?
  • 200. Email related internal review questions Develop Is there any animation in the email? Is it working correctly? Has the personalisation been included in the email? Testing What email client does the client use? Has it been tested in this client? What email clients has this been tested in? Web based or software clients? How does the HTML email render in the major email clients? Reporting Has this campaign met the clients objectives? What else needs to be achieved? Optimisation Was there any creative testing done? Subject line? Headlines? What can be learnt from the campaign that can be used in the next campaign?
  • 201. Coles emails No consistent subject line format No one send day or time No consistent file size
  • 203. ALDI emails Changed subject line approach Always sent on Friday ALDI – theme - date File size more consistent
  • 204. Tesco emails Consistent subject line for each email Consistent for each email Always include Tesco & short Very inconsistent file size
  • 205. E-Marketing Toolbox TIER ONE + + + + Rich e-mail Data Manage Data Capture Metrics Integration Response TIER TWO + + + ++ + + Rich e-mail Data Manage Data Capture Landing page Lead Metrics Integration Response Micro-site Distribution TIER THREE + + + ++ + + + Rich e-mail Data Manage Data Capture Landing page Lead Optimisation Metrics Integration Response Micro-site Distribution
  • 208. Reducing the need for email
  • 209. Quick Exercise Do you read all of your emails? How many newsletters do you subscribe to? When you receive an email, what do you want it to be? Brief Funny Hastily written Ill-considered Thoughtless Regrettable Long
  • 210. Five key Email take outs 1. Communicate if you ask for info If you ask for an email address, communicate 2. Personalisation Ensure emails are personalised based on behaviour or purchase information 3. Test, test, test (& debug) There are so many email clients, so make sure to test the developed email 4. Test, test, test (& learn) So many things to test: creative, subject, times, offers, etc – don’t forget the control group 5. Checklist Develop a best practice checklist & ensure all emails meet everything
  • 212. Measurement Benchmarks Online advertising (banner ads) Email Direct response Bounce rates Click through rates Open rates Interaction rates Click through rates Post impression clicks Most popular articles Brand response Number of forwards Impressions served Search Websites Keywords Position Visitors Cost per click Time spent on site Cost per lead Number of pages viewed Cost per sale Sign-ups/Registrations Blogs Most popular pages Views Internal searches Comments Paths through site Linking to Returning traffic Search terms Referring sites
  • 213. It’s not just about clicks, because it’s not just about websites
  • 214. What we need to consider 1,000,000 people exposed to campaign 300,000 will possibly click (0.3%) Direct response 6,000 clicks (at 0.2% CTR) 610,000 will possibly visit your site later Brand response 670,000 will possibly visit a store later Source: DartMail research, 2008
  • 215. Classifying objectives gives a greater understanding of the data & performance Business Marketing Communication objectives objectives objectives Deliver sales & revenue targets Build brand awareness Maintain our reputation for x Generate quality leads Maintain brand awareness & campaigns Maintain a cost per lead of $X online presence Establish strong links with Create an online community audience Establish brands in the market Increase market share
  • 216. Campaign optimisation Revise Run Review Run Review Revise Improvement Run Review Revise Run Review Revise Run Review Revise
  • 217. Considered test plan/matrix Multi-variable matrix is a grid showing each variable in your test. If you have two possible headlines & two possible product pho-tographs, you'd create a two-by-two matrix. You need significant numbers to make it statistically relevant. What can you test? Copy: subject lines, introductions Creative: landing page, search, online advertising, email Offers: product, discounts Time: dispatch, load
  • 222. Campaign health checks Free trail to help submit your sites http://www.trafficgeneratorsite.com/ Understand the noise http://www.touchgraph.com/ Website information http://www.quarkbase.com/ Website stats & information http://www.quantcast.com Blog & RSS overview http://www.aiderss.com
  • 223. Five key Benchmark take outs 1. Measures Different measures & standards across all things online. Looking for interaction, participation or engagement. 2. Define objectives Don’t just define the campaign objectives, look at the business & marketing objectives 3. Consider Response & Brand The best & worst thing about interactive is it’s accountability 4. Test, test, test Define what you want to test upfront & make sure you test everything 5. Checklist Develop a best practice checklist for optimsation & ensure everything is continually measured against it.
  • 224. Top 3 Online Trends
  • 225. 1. Consumers have more control “A new generation of media consumers has risen demanding content delivered when they want it, how they want it and very much as they want it”
  • 226. 1. Consumers have more control Mass Communication Mass Customisation
  • 227. 1. Consumers have more control 1968 1988 2008 Newspapers Newspapers Newspapers Podcasts Broadcast TV Broadcast TV Magazines Download Movies Magazines Magazines Broadcast TV PC Video Games Broadcast Radio Broadcast Radio Cable TV Blogs Eight Track Cassette Tapes Radio Online Video Walkman CD Player Mobile Video VCR Personal Computer MMORP Games Cable TV Satellite Television Instant Messaging Personal Computer Internet Tivo Console Video Games DVD Players Slingbox PC Video Games Satellite Radio iPod MP3 Players Mobile Internet Digital channels are the bulk of SMS Console Video Games our communication / Email Mobile Games entertainment / information mix Mobile Phone Social Networks