Apidays Singapore 2024 - Building Digital Trust in a Digital Economy by Veron...
Boca chamber ppc and analytics joe laratro
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2. • 12 Years of Pure SEO / SEM
• Yahoo Strategic Provider Program, MSN Search
Council, Microsoft Certified Trainer
• WebmasterWorld’s Pubcon Advisory Board
• University of San Francisco’s Online Marketing
Master’s Certificate Program Instructor
• Former President of SFIMA
3. AdWords 101 & Analytics
Find out more about Google‘s products at:
www.google.com/services/
4. What is Google AdWords?
• AdWords is Google’s online advertising program
Advertisers select keywords; ads appear next to the search results
on Google.com
• Advertisers can also show ads on hundreds of thousands of websites
Ads are matched to Web pages relevant to advertisers’ keywords
5. The questions people ask
Is AdWords appropriate Which keywords
for my small business? should I use?
How do I get my ad How will I be
in the #1 position? charged?
How do I write a great ad? Where will my ads appear?
What questions do you have?
6. Before we begin... what are your goals?
I want to open my email every morning and
see at least 3 new orders.
I want five quality leads a day
for my sales team to call.
I’d like to get as many clicks as I can for
less than $0.80 per click.
I want to double my customer
base.
I’d like to increase sales by 15 percent.
I want at least 40 visits to my
website every day.
I want an ROI of 250 percent on all
sales coming from AdWords.
7. OK, now you know what you want
Where do ads
appear?
11. How does AdWords work?
Instant Auction
A live auction is run for every search
Ad Position = Quality x Your Bid
Quality Factors:
Clickthrough rate, keyword relevance, ad
relevance and historical performance
12. Everyone wants to be in position #1
The position of each ad is determined using a ranking formula.
13. The ad ranking formula
Maximum
Ad Rank
= Cost-Per-Click Bid
(Max. CPC)
x Quality Score
The Bottom Line:
If you have a great Quality Score, you can still show in a
high position with a low bid
14. The ranking formula - example
Alison, Scott and Jon are all bidding on the keyword ‘zipline kits.’
Based on their Max CPC and Quality Score, whose ad will show in first position?
Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score
Alison 2nd
8 = $1.00 x 8
Scott = $1.00 x 10 1st
10
Jon 7 = $2.35 x 3 3rd
15. How much do I actually pay?
Your actual CPC is the Ad Rank of the advertiser below, divided by your
Quality Score.
Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score Actual CPC
Scott 10 = $1.00 x 10 = (8/10) $.80
Alison 8 = $1.00 x 8 = (7/8) $.88
Juan 7 = $2.35 x 3 = minimum $min
16. So you’ll show in a higher position if...
• Your Quality Score is at least 7/10 for each keyword
• Your bids are competitive
• Both!
17. AdWords account structure
AdWords Account
Unique email address & password
Billing information
Campaign Campaign
Daily budget Daily budget
Location/language targeting Location/language targeting
Distribution preference Distribution preference
End date End date
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords
Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads
18. The WRONG way to structure an AdWords account
AdWords Account
“Furniture” Campaign
Furniture Ad Group
The Best Furniture
Great Selection, Made in USA
Free Shipping, 5 Year Warranty.
PlantationDesign.com
leather sectional leather loveseat leather chair
rugs patio furniture leather sofa
dining room table table lamp coffee table
kitchen table floor lamp end table
brass bed kids furniture lamp
leather headboard living room furniture ottoman
dresser bedroom furniture dining room table
leather couch desk media console
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19. A BETTER way to structure an account
AdWords Account
“Furniture” Campaign
“Leather Sectionals” “Leather Loveseats” “Leather Chairs”
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Leather Sectionals Leather Loveseats Leather Chairs
Leather Sectionals Made in USA Free Delivery When You Buy Before Handcrafted Leather Chairs
From $1,999 With 5 Year Warranty Christmas. Order Yours Today! Make a Statement. View Catalog!
plantationdesign.com/sectionals plantationdesign.com/loveseat plantationdesign.com/chairs
buy leather sectional suite buy leather love seats buy handmade leather chair
buy leather sectional suites buy leather loveseats buy handmade leather chairs
leather sectional suites buy leather love seat handmade leather chairs
leather sectional suite buy leather loveseat handmade leather chair
buy leather sectional leather loveseats buy leather chairs
buy leather sectional leather love seats buy leather chair
leather sectional leather love seat leather chair
leather sectionals leather loveseat leather chairs
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20. Building a keyword list
• Brainstorm business
• Review website
• Think like a customer
• Focus on what differentiates
• Include plural & singular versions
• Include spelling mistakes & variations
• Include product numbers & codes
21. Use the ‘Goldilocks principle’ to pick keywords
• Add all relevant keyword variations: singular/plural and synonyms
• Keyword combinations, accent marks (á, é, í, ó, ú, ñ, ü, etc.)
• Make keywords specific to your product or service
vacation florida vacation rental 3 br vacation rental grayton beach
tax tax preparation nashville tax preparation service nolensville rd
store dvd storage faux leather storage for dvd box sets
bags handmade leather bags handmade black croc leather handbags
accounting cheap accounting software accounting software for petsitting biz
Too General Just Right Too Specific
22. What happens if my keyword is too general?
Example keyword ‘vacation’ -- your ad might show for:
vacation rental The go-go’s vacation
vacation deals disney vacation club
vacation ideas pictures from our vacation by
lynne rae perkins
vacations for kids
vacation auctions
vacations for singles
vacation accrual policy
vacations for veterans
Vacation agent magazine
National lampoon’s european vacation
vacation air conditioning
permanent vacation lyrics
vacation anxiety
General keywords = low clickthrough-rate = low Quality Score
23. Keyword matching options
How keyword The ad will The ad will show when
Match Type
appears in AdWords: show when: a searcher types:
All words containing this
Caribbean holiday Cruises
word or combination of
Broad Caribbean Cruise
words in any order is used
Cruise holiday in Caribbean
Cruise in Carribean
as the query.
Keywords are typed in the
Cheap Caribbean Cruise
exact order specified. Can
“Phrase” “Caribbean Cruise”
have other words before
Caribbean Cruise deals
Luxury Caribbean Cruise
and/or after.
Keywords must be only &
[Exact] [Caribbean Cruise] exactly what the user Caribbean Cruise
types in
Ads will not appear when Add will not show if
-Negative - Tom this search term is entered someone types:
in the query Tom Cruise
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24. Ad text specifications
Ad title
(25 characters max,
including spaces)
Two description lines
(35 characters max each,
including spaces)
Display URL
(35 characters max,
including spaces)
Destination URL
(1024 characters max,
including spaces)
25. What is a good AdWords ad?
A good ad:
• Is relevant to the keywords in the ad group
• Gets a high clickthrough-rate (CTR)
• Effectively sells your product or service
• Stands out from your competitors
• Includes a call to action
26. What doesn’t work
Vague, irrelevant, unclear ads without useful information.
Ask yourself just 3 questions to help you write great ads!
27. 1. What sets your business apart?
Why would someone choose your business over a competitor?
Examples:
“We only sell products made in the USA” “We won an award in 2009”
“We have a money back guarantee” “All our products are custom made”
“We have 30 years experience” “We always show up on time”
“Free shipping if you buy two” “We’re open 7 days a week”
“We have lower prices”
“We offer free quotes”
This helps
“We’re having a sale” you write
useful ads
28. 2. Can you describe your products or services?
Describe specific or technical details of your products or services.
Examples:
“Made from recycled materials” “Evening classes available”
“Battery lasts up to 8 hours” “18 day all-inclusive tour”
“From $16 per square foot” “10 Nashville locations”
“Suitable for diabetics” “24/7 onsite support”
“Dishwasher safe” “On time or it’s free”
“Collectors item” “First class is free”
This helps you
“Sizes 8-16” “HIPPA compliant”
write useful
ads
29. 3. What is your call to action?
After someone clicks on your ad and visits your website, what is it you
want them to do next?
Examples:
“Call us to request a free quote” “Learn more about osteoporosis”
“Browse through all of our toys” “Order a copy of our brochure”
“Book your rental home online” “Call us and order a pizza”
“Download a 30-day free trial” “Request a call back”
“Sign up for our mailing list”
This helps you
write a call to
action
43. Thank You
Please take a card and send an email, if you’d like a copy of the
presentation.
Joe Laratro
President, Tandem Interactive
1700 E Las Olas Blvd.
STE 301
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
(954) 281-9995
jlaratro@tandem-interactive.com
@jlaratro