TEST BANK For Corporate Finance, 13th Edition By Stephen Ross, Randolph Weste...
Track c 1115_slidesharejuhlinmcnally
1. Best Practices for Bank Web Site Navigation
Best Practices and Methods
David Juhlin
Peter McNally
Bentley University
User Experience Center
2. Presentation Overview
2
• Why We Did This Research
• Marketing Survey
• Tree Testing with a Twist
• Guidelines
• Creation of our own IA
• The Business Case
• Appendices (depending on time)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
3. Why We Did This Research
3
• Main issue for clients
•
“10% of task attempts failed due to problems in IA”
-Jakob Nielsen, April 16, 2009
• Navigation difficulties
•
•
•
Structure/grouping of IA (mental model)
Labeling (comprehension)
Graphic layout (visibility)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
4. Our Research
4
• Survey
• Tree test on three different navigational menus
•
•
•
Blue Hills Bank
Cambridge Trust
Rockland Trust
• Used the insight to create our own navigation
•
User Experience Center Bank (UXC Bank)
• Of these banks, which one do you think performed
best?
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
6. The Survey
6
• Question
What information is important to find on a bank’s website?
• Sampling method
•
•
•
Email lists
Social media
Online classified ads
• Response rate
•
•
•
1331 started the survey
1132 completed (85%)
892 cleaned up responses (79%)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
7. Most important things on a bank website…
7
Percent Respondents Designating Items as "Most Important on a
Banking Website When Searching for a New Bank"
(Error bars represent 95% confidence interval)
80%
70%
Percent
60%
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
0%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
9. Tree Testing (basic method)
9
Optimal Workshop (www.optimalworkshop.com)
•
Early usability test of organization and labeling of IA
Primary Navigation
•
http://bentley.optimalworkshop.com/treejack/bank22
•
No visual distraction
•
Task success
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
10. The Three Banks Information Architecture
Blue Hills
Personal
Small Business
Commercial
Loans
Online & Mobile
Rates
Community
10
Top Level IA Options
Cambridge
Rockland
Personal Banking
Business Banking
Wealth Management
Customer Support
About Us
Personal
Small Business
Commercial
Investing
Planning Tools and Resources
Community Focus
About Us
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
11. The Three Banks Information Architecture
Blue Hills
Checking
Savings
CDs &IRAs
Money Market
Account Services
Financial Calculators
11
Navigation Within Personal
Cambridge
Rockland
Checking
Savings, CDs, IRAs
Online Banking
Mobile Banking
Mortgages
Home Equity
Credit Cards
Personal Loans
More Services
Overview
Online Banking*
Mobile Banking*
mDeposit*
Checking*
Debit Cards
Savings, CDs & IRAs*
Overdraft Options*
Mortgages*
Home Equity
Personal & Auto Loans
Investing
Insurance
Other Products & Services*
*Items had a third level
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
12. 12
Items on Each Level
Impact of Information Architecture Size
Number of Levels
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
13. Task Selection
13
Percent Respondents Designating Items as "Most Important on a
Banking Website"
(Error bars represent 95% confidence interval)
80%
- Supported
60%
Percent
70%
- Not Supported
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
0%
Item
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
14. TreeJack
14
• Implemented tasks and IAs
•
Tested the phrasing/wording of the tasks
• Between subjects design (one IA per participant)
• Sampling method
•
•
•
Email lists
Social media
Online classified ads
• Participation rates
•
•
•
700 (213, 232, 255) Started the test
595 (178, 209, 208) Completed 85% (84%, 90%, 82%)
440 (134, 167, 139) Cleaned up resp. 74% (75%, 80%, 67%)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
18. Weighting
18
• Weighting formula
•
•
𝑾𝒆𝒊𝒈𝒉𝒕𝒆𝒅 𝒔𝒄𝒐𝒓𝒆 = 𝑰𝒎𝒑𝒐𝒓𝒕𝒂𝒏𝒄𝒆 × 𝑺𝒖𝒄𝒄𝒆𝒔𝒔
More important tasks are valued higher than less important
tasks
• Some tasks are more important than others
•
Based on customers goals (what we did)
• Alternative approach
•
•
Based on business value
Combination of business value and customer goals
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
19. Weighted Success Rate
Tasks
Original average score
Top 5 average Score
Weighted Average Score
19
Weighted success rate
Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland
57%
78%
68%
71%
85%
78%
59%
69%
59%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
21. Guidelines
21
1. Replicate some pages/sections (or crosslink)
•
•
•
Retirement account information is beneficial to include
under both ‘Personal’ and ‘Investing’
Overdraft Options (‘Checking’-> ‘Overview’, ‘Compare
Accounts’, ‘Rates & Fees’)
Replicate ‘Open an a Account Online‘ at multiple places and
make sure it’s in close proximity to ‘Enroll in Online
Banking’
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
22. Data from Treejack
22
Task 11: Where do you expect to learn whether a bank offers services to help you
manage your retirement accounts?
Visited first
Cambridge
Personal Banking
Business Banking
Wealth Management
Customer Support
About Us
Rockland
Personal
Small Business
Commercial
Investing
Planning Tools and Resources
Community Focus
About Us
Visited first
Visited first
37%
2%
57%
4%
1%
Visited first
34%
1%
31%
35%
Visited during
53%
10%
74%
7%
3%
Visited during
38%
1%
1%
40%
45%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
23. Guidelines
23
2. Don’t use vague terms
•
•
•
•
‘Account Services’
‘Facts at a Glance’ (under ‘About Us’)
‘Other Products and Services’
‘Planning Tools & Resources’
3. Be careful of misleading terms
•
‘Rates’ Vs. ‘Fees’
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
24. Guidelines
24
4. Group items at the right level
•
•
•
Structure ‘Rates’ under ‘Personal’ and ‘Business’ instead of
as an option on the first level (and name it ‘Rates & Fees’)
‘Online & Mobile’ should be structured as an option on the
first level
‘Credit/Debit Cards’ can preferably be structured under
‘personal’ and ‘business’
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
25. Guidelines
25
5. Chunking matters
•
It is better to have an IA with more levels than a shallow IA
with many options on each level. Users will find it as long as
it is a clear logic path. (Don’t take it too far)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
27. Creation of our IA
27
• Copied and combined good parts from the other IAs
• Compromises based on importance level
• Implemented our insight and modified accordingly
Blue Hills
Personal
Small Business
Commercial
Loans
Online & Mobile
Rates
Community
51 items
Top Level IA Options
Cambridge
Rockland
Personal Banking
Business Banking
Wealth Management
Customer Support
About Us
53 items
Personal
Small Business
Commercial
Investing
Planning Tools and Resources
Community Focus
About Us
220 items
UXC
Personal
Small Business
Online & Mobile
Investing
About Us
Customer Service
150 items
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
28. The Information Architecture
28
Navigation Within Personal
Blue Hills
Checking
Savings
CDs &IRAs
Money Market
Account Services
Financial Calculators
Cambridge
Checking
Savings, CDs, IRAs
Online Banking
Mobile Banking
Mortgages
Home Equity
Credit Cards
Personal Loans
More Services
Rockland
Overview
Online Banking*
Mobile Banking*
mDeposit*
Checking*
Debit Cards
Savings, CDs & IRAs*
Overdraft Options*
Mortgages*
Home Equity
Personal & Auto Loans
Investing
Insurance
UXC
Checking*
Savings, CDs, IRAs*
Credit Cards*
Loans**
Retirement*
Membership Rewards
Other Products & Services*
*Items had a third level **Item had a forth level
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
29. TreeJack
29
• Replicated the same test with our IA
•
•
Same tasks
Did not retest the other IAs
• Slightly changed sampling method
•
•
•
Avoid learning bias
Mechanical Turk
Craigslist
• Participation Rates
•
•
•
210 Started the test
189 Completed (90%)
154 Cleaned up (81%)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
32. Weighted Success Rate
Tasks
Original average score
Top 5 average Score
Weighted Average Score
32
Weighted success rate
Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland
57%
78%
68%
71%
85%
78%
59%
69%
59%
UXC
88%
91%
89%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
33. The Replication
33
Task 11: Where do you expect to learn whether a bank offers services to help you
manage your retirement accounts?
Personal
Checking
Savings, CDs, IRAs
Credit Cards
Loans
UXC Bank
Personal
Small Business
Online & Mobile
Investing
About Us
Customer Service
Visited first
59%
1%
1%
36%
1%
2%
Visited during
61%
1%
1%
36%
1%
2%
Retirement
Membership Rewards
Investing
Overview
Rates & Fees
Personal Retirement
Business Retirement
Personal Wealth Management
Institutional Investment Management
Fiduciary Services
Trust Administration
Newsletters
Investment Offices
Our Team
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
35. Calculations
35
• Total revenue from the website
•
life time value/customer × amount of customers from site
$140 × 10,000= $1,400,000
• An improved website provides more customers
•
Original number of customers + increase of customers
10,000+1,000=11,000
• Total increased revenue over the websites life time
•
life time value/customer × Increased amount of customers
$140 × 1,000=$140,000
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
36. Calculations
36
• Increased amount of customers
Prospects
Bank Website
New Customers
$
𝑁𝑒𝑤 𝐶𝑢𝑠𝑡𝑜𝑚𝑒𝑟𝑠
Conversion rate =
𝑃𝑟𝑜𝑠𝑝𝑒𝑐𝑡𝑠
Lost prospects
• New customers from improvement
•
Prospects × conversion rate × improvement of conversion
500,000 × 0.02 × 0.05 = 500
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
37. Calculations
37
• Total increased value becomes
•
Prospects×Conversion×Improvement×Customer Value
• Estimates (over the website’s design’s lifetime)
•
•
•
•
Number of prospects: 500,000
Old conversion rate: 2%
Improvement: 5% (new conversion rate: 2.1%)
Average customer lifetime value: $140
• Total increased value
•
500,000 × 0.02 × 0.05× $140 = $70,000
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
38. Calculations
38
• Return of investment
•
ROI =
𝑮𝒂𝒊𝒏 𝒐𝒇 𝒊𝒏𝒗𝒆𝒔𝒕𝒎𝒆𝒏𝒕−𝑪𝒐𝒔𝒕 𝒐𝒇 𝑰𝒏𝒗𝒆𝒔𝒕𝒎𝒆𝒏𝒕
𝑪𝒐𝒔𝒕 𝒐𝒇 𝑰𝒏𝒗𝒆𝒔𝒕𝒎𝒆𝒏𝒕
• Estimates
•
•
Gain of investment: $70,000
Cost of investment: $30,000
• Return of investment
•
ROI =
$𝟕𝟎,𝟎𝟎𝟎−$𝟑𝟎,𝟎𝟎𝟎
$𝟑𝟎,𝟎𝟎𝟎
= 133%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
39. Other Considerations
39
• Market share gains
•
Competitors loose
• Late discovery of problems
•
•
•
Late development changes - “You can use an eraser on the
drafting table or a sledgehammer on the construction site.”
– Frank Lloyd Wright
Project delay
Might still need additional research to identify a better IA
• May have to choose
•
Expensive change vs. under preforming site
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
40. Other Type Of Calculations
40
• Intranet
•
•
•
Employee productivity
Training time
Cost of not finding the information
• Ecommerce site
•
•
•
Conversion rates
Higher profit/purchase
Returning customers
• Support site
•
•
Decreased support calls
Increased customer satisfaction
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
41. Your Project
41
• Create a business case
•
•
•
Varies for industries and type of site
Ballpark increase of task success: 5%
Not the same as increased conversion rate
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
43. Demographics – Age Distribution
43
Age Distribution of Study Respondents
70%
60%
Percent
50%
Survey
40%
Blue Hills
30%
Cambridge
Rockland
20%
UXC
10%
0%
18-25
26-34
35-54
55-64
65 or over
Age
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
44. Success Rate – Age Groups
44
Success Rate by Age Group
100%
90%
80%
70%
Success Rate
60%
18-25
26-34
50%
35-54
55-64
40%
65 or over
30%
20%
10%
0%
Blue Hills
Cambridge
Rockland
UXC
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
45. Demographics – Income Distribution
45
Income Distribution of Study Respondents
35%
30%
Percent
25%
20%
Survey
Blue Hills
15%
Cambridge
Rockland
10%
UXC
5%
0%
$0-$15,000
$16,000 –
$30,000
$31,000 –
$50,000
$51,000 –
$74,000
$75,000 –
$150,000
More than
$150,000
Prefer not to
answer
Income
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
46. Success Rate – Income Groups
46
Success Rate by Income
100%
90%
80%
70%
$0-$15,000
Success Rate
60%
$16,000 – $30,000
$31,000 – $50,000
50%
$51,000 – $74,000
$75,000 – $150,000
40%
More than $150,000
Prefer Not to Answer
30%
20%
10%
0%
Bluehills
Cambridge
Rockland
UXC
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
47. Mechanical Turk vs. Craig’s List
47
Success Rate by Participant Source
100%
90%
80%
Success Rate
70%
60%
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
0%
Craig's List
Mechanical Turk
Participant Source
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
48. Mechanical Turk vs. Craig’s List
48
• Number of cheating participants
•
•
Mechanical Turk: 18 of 116 (15%)
Craig’s List: 16 of 67 (24%)
• Cost per completion
•
•
Mechanical Turk: $0.5
Craig’s List: $1
• Issues with Craig’s list
www.bentley.edu/uxc | djuhlin@bentley.edu | 781-891-3142
pmcnally@bentley.edu | 781-891-2893
49. Thank you!
Questions?
David Juhlin
Usability Consultant
Bentley University
User Experience Center
djuhlin@bentley.edu
781-891-3142
Peter McNally
Senior Usability Consultant
Bentley University
User Experience Center
pmcnally@bentley.edu
781-891-2893